We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Hotel”
Review of Palace Luzern

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Palace Luzern
Ranked #2 of 67 Hotels in Lucerne
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 1, 2012

This is a very nice hotel. 5 star by American standards. They were very nice and helped us obtain our train passage to Paris. We stayed 2 nights. The spa was great! Best pedi ever! We were a bit disappointed that the room did not have A/C. It made this beautifully appointed room stuffy. Situated on the Lake with beautiful views. This hotel is located almost to the end of the lake circle. That was a bit of a bummer because you have to walk so far to all the attractions, shopping and food. All in all a nice place to stay. We were referred to stay here so didn't really shop for anything else. Shop around! This hotel is $400+ per night.

Room Tip: Shop around. Read reviews.
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NinaMarino
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PalaceLuzern, Sales & Marketing Coordinator at Palace Luzern, responded to this reviewResponded October 8, 2012

Dear NinaMarino
Thank you so very much for your beautiful review! The whole team appreciates it very much and it makes us happy to read you enjoyed your stay with us. As you know our beautiful lady is over a decade old, please do accept my apologies if you experienced any inconvienence in your room. We are currently renovating the last remaining rooms without air condition. It would be a great pleasure to have you back with us some time next year. There are still so many sights and locations to see around here. Have you had the chance to travel by boat over the Lake Lucerne?

If I can be of further assistance please do not hesitate to contact me.

All the best to Texas!

Kindest regards,

Sonia Grosso
Sales & Marketing Coordinator

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,124)
There are newer reviews for Palace Luzern
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

611 - 617 of 1,124 reviews

Reviewed September 30, 2012

It would be an understatement to say there aren't a lot of bargains in Switzerland. Even so, because Lucerne is such a leisurely destination, with an area that includes a majestic lake and the distant Alps, this is a place where you want to splurge on your hotel. The Palace Luzern is really a stunning place, with beautiful, inviting public areas, a proper formal staff, and large (for European hotels) comfortable rooms. Our three nights here were extremely comfortable, highlighted by the spectacular morning (and afternoon and evening) views of the lake, mountains, and town from our balcony; we could just sit out there any time of day and be perfectly content. When we did get out, pretty much everything was within walking distance from the lakeside path right outside that runs along the shore, including shopping, restaurants, and attractions such as the Chapel Bridge, Old Town, 9 Towers, the train station, lion monument and more -- even a band shell that had live authentic regional orchestras playing twice during our stay. From the restaurant to the front desk, the hotel staff was very accommodating. The concierge quickly and enthusiastically even arranged a round-trip excursion for us to Mt Pilatus, and within 20 minutes were cruising along the lake on our way. I don't think you can do better than this.

Room Tip: This is a luxury hotel, so it's going to be expensive no matter what. Paying a little extra for...
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tabeus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PalaceLuzern, Chef Concierge at Palace Luzern, responded to this reviewResponded October 9, 2012

Dear Tabeus-Npt
What a review!! Thank you so very much for taking your time to write it and for choosing our beautiful house in the first place. It is a great pleasure to read about the "wows" we were able to give you. It is our whole staff's every day goal to make you feel utterly content. How did you like your view from up the Mt. Pilatus? I hope you both enjoyed your shopping spree in town and the beautiful sights you found along the way. I hope it inspired you for a next visit. Do you already have plans for Christmas and New Year's? We have a fantastic program set for this year's Christmas Season.
Please do not hesitate to contact me if me and my team can be of further assistance.

I wish you a delightful autumn in Newport!

With my best regards,

Thierry Gavoille
Chef Concierge

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 21, 2012

We arrived on a Saturday evening during the Lucerne Festival at KKL at this hotel. Already the reception at the door was unpleasant. We were informed that due to "very important guests" we could not park in front of the hotel - not even for the time to check-in properly - since we were driving all day long and tired. So we had to park immediately in the garage of the hotel, we found this way of welcoming a guest in a 5* Leading Hotel of the World highly unprofessional, unfriendly and rude.

The check-in desk was friendly and quick, we had booked 2 rooms and one suite already weeks ago, the luggage arrived swiftly in the room.

When we entered our "room", we were in shock! This was beyond all expectations and not even the standard of a 3* hotel but more like a lumber-room that had been converted in a hurry as a hotel room. The room has been set up by somebody with the attitude "I could not care less"! Being of tubular shape, the room had a small entrance area with a closet, a long tube with a roof slope where a desk was sitting and another small area with two single beds but together. There was no air conditon, so you had to open the windows as it was very hot. Since this room was directly on the main street of Lucerne with a direct view into the neighbour's house and the street, it was so loud that it was impossible to sleep all night. The shutters of the window were supposed for sun protection only and did not reduce the noise at all - unfortunately they also did not close properly so we had sun in our room beginning at dawn. As the bed was not a proper king size bed but two single spare beds put together it moved during the night and there was a big distance in the middle. A small TV (which was one of the first flat screen models on the market and definitly over 10 years old) with a terrible corny picture had been put between the bed and the desk in - again - a careless manner. The cables had just been plugged in and put on the floor were they were running through the whole room.

The bathroom was another disaster. All bathrooms being described in the LHW 2012 catalouge as "all rooms have luxurious bathrooms in addition to modern decor", we found it very old and out of date, stained and definitly not luxurious. The tiles, toilet, sink and bathtube were old, we guess from the 1970s as was the shower curtain. It was almost impossible to shower with a size of 1,90m without bending forward. As an add-on, the hotel seems divide its guests into different classes. The guests that live in the shabby lumber-rooms with out-of-date bathrooms, no proper beds, no aircondition etc. are not supposed to have the same Molton Brown products as the "proper" rooms and Suites have but are supplied with cheaper no-name products by Green Park, never heard of ever before! Since the hotel did run out of cheap soap, the soap did not match the Green Park Set but had to be replaced by one by Molton Brown. Highly irritating.

As we were informed that the hotel was fully booked, it was of course not possible to get another "proper" room. As we were tired from travelling, we decided to eat in the hotel - we thought this should be no problem being even hotel guests - so wrong!

We did call the concierge and asked to book us a nice table in the garden with lake view. He told us this was impossible since they were fully booked out with waiting list due to the KKL Festival as all other restaurants and it will be impossible to find a place to eat. Eventually, he called back and told us he reserved a table in an ordinary restaurant which was not within walking distance. We therefore decided to call American Express Centurion Service to get a table reservation for this evening and hoped to have more luck.

While waiting in the room for the call back, we called the room service to order some cigarettes for the dinner later. In a 5* hotel, the person answering the room service just told us in a rude manner that this is not his problem and we should call the concierge! So we went downstairs to the concierge to buy cigarettes there, all he did was changing money into coins and giving us a hand-sign where to find the vending machine - we were absolutely speechless!
Back in the room, we decided to have an Aperitif and took out the bottle of white wine from the mini bar. When we wanted to open it, we saw that the seal of the screw cap was already broken and it had been opened before. We opened it nevertheless since it was full to see what that was - it was refilled with water. Since the price was around 35CHF for 37.5cl of Swiss local Wine, which costs in the shop no more than 5 CHF, you could at least expect the service in a 5* hotel to check the content of the mini bar carefully after each check out or take wines that are more expensive in the first place but do have a proper cork to avoid dangerous situations like this as anything could be refilled and a guest might not notice it and drink it!

In the meantime, American Express did offer us 5!! options within 15 minutes - but the best of it was that we were offered a table for 6 by American Express in our own hotel - which told us as house guests that they are absolutely fully booked and tried to send us to another restaurant far away! Within 2 minutes, we had the written confirmation for the table with American Express.

When we went to dinner at the hotel's restaurant JASPER, a beautiful table with lake view was waiting for us, almost all tables were still empty outside at 8.30pm although the restaurant was supposed to be fully booked, both inside and outside. We also informed by that time the hotel management of the "events" within the two hours of our arrival. An assistant was sent to our table and offered us 3 cokes, 1 glass of champagne and one Aperol - we thought this was a joke - unfortunately it was not!

The service and food was all in all ok, whereas the food for a one-Michelin-starred restaurant was not outstanding as expected. During the evening, some of the tables were occupied, one table by walk-in guests without reservation, but many stayed empty for the whole evening, the same situation inside, also various empty tables! We really had to ask ourselves why the hotel pretents to be fully booked and sends house guests away when reservations can be made through third parties and it turns out that half of the tables are empty for the whole evening...

In the morning we went to the breakfast buffet. The buffet itself was ok but not outstanding, the offer much smaller than in other 5* hotels we visited the days before. As the weather was nice, we decided to sit out in the sun. When we went to the table outside, we were informed by the waiter that he will not serve us outside but we should carry our tea, coffee, cutlery etc. ourselves to the table outside. Again, we were speechless! This has happened NEVER to us in any hotel before. To avoid a discussion we did carry napkins, cutlery etc ourselves to the table outside as did other guests who wanted to sit outside as well. The waiter then finally decided to come outside and asked what we would like to drink and presented us immediately in a very rude way with the bill for the breakfast - which of course is in this hotel not included in the room but 40 CHF per person.

The check-out was quick and smooth. All in all, the staff in this hotel was badly or not trained at all, very unfriendly and unhelpful and always giving you the feeling that they do you a favour in serving you and not that they are there to take good care of you as their paid guest!

All in all, this was an absolutely awful experience. We would not go back to this hotel and definitly not recommend it to anybody we know, especially if you consider that we paid only for our "room" 590 CHF, 80 CHF for breakfast for the two of us, 35 CHF for parking (14hours). For a total of over 700 CHF for a single night, you can definitly expect more. In total, including the other room, the suite, breakfast for 3 more guests, parking for 2 more vehicules and the dinner (which was another 600 CHF including only one bottle of not very expensive wine), we spent several thousand Swiss Francs in this hotel for one night and were treated really badly and unwanted.

For this price, THE HOTEL in Lucerne has nice new rooms and a superb restaurant with excellent service or similare on the lake you find outside of Lucerne the beautiful Parkhotel in Weggis, where the value for money is much better and you are treated as a guest!

This hotel is neither true 5* nor should it be member of Leading Hotels of the World. Neither the room nor the service does earn this. Also the reaction of the management was only poor. There is a lot of space for improvement.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank luxuryhotelsonly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PalaceLuzern, Verkaufsleiter at Palace Luzern, responded to this reviewResponded September 24, 2012

Dear "luxuryhotelsonly"

Firstly we would like to apologize for your experience at PALACE LUZERN.

We are sure you are happy to hear that we are currently refurbishing most of our rooms and will be outfitting them with a brand new air-conditioning system and bathrooms.

We would like to inform you that we fulfil all necessary standards set by Leading Hotels of the World and even exceed them. All these standards are carefully and regularly checked by mystery guests of the latter company. We also provide all services which the Swiss Hotel Association requires of us in order to be deemed a five star hotel.

All our employees are trained in order to uphold and improve these standards and provide a personal and intuitive service to all our guests.
If you feel like you were not properly attended to, as our focus that particular day was on certain VIP guests, we would like to apologize for this. However all guests at PALACE LUZERN are equally important and we are keen to treat everyone as a VIP guest.

Unfortunately our restaurant Jasper was fully booked for the time, which you had requested at first. However you ended up visiting our restaurant at a different time as previously requested at our Concierge desk, hence you had the impression that the whole restaurant was empty. During Lucerne Festival we reserve spaces at the restaurant before or after the day's concert in order to accommodate guests who have concert tickets. Therefore our restaurant Jasper normally has availability in between the various concerts.

In regards to the food not being up to standards for a Michelin-starred restaurant, we would like to inform you that the concept at Jasper has recently undergone some changes. We are no longer a Michelin-starred restaurant, but now offer a "modern casual dining" experience, as this has proven to be more fitting.

In regards to your experience at breakfast we apologize for the service, which was not up to your standards and expectations. The rate, which you had booked was an advance purchase rate, which is non refundable and is exclusive of breakfast.

Please rest assured that we always try to do our best in providing an exceptional service for our guests. This is confirmed every day by most of our residents, who are truly satisfied with PALACE LUZERN.

Dear "luxuryhotelsonly" I have personally spoken to many employees who have confirmed to me that they have always tried to promptly fulfil all your wishes.

I understand that you are not satisfied with the situation and your dissatisfaction will be recorded by all departments and used to evaluate guest satisfaction.
We surely hope that you will give us another chance and revisit PALACE LUZERN.

Christian Stein-Kalesky
Director of Sales

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 19, 2012

The history, beauty, service, and grandeur. Loved it. The amazing location, I am sure, helped the feeling. The corner suite on an upper floor was almost too much to take in, and the view was overwhelming. It was almost an unbelievable experience. I want to go back. The only negative was the front desk clerk in the morning at checkout was a little abrupt. It could have been cultural or the fact we didn't look like we belonged there (shorts, t-shirts, hiking boots), but it was still a little disappointing, but everyone else was friendly.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fattyOdaddyOndapatio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PalaceLuzern, Front Office Manager at Palace Luzern, responded to this reviewResponded September 24, 2012

Dear FattyOdaddyOnda…
What a fantastic review!! Thank you very much for taking your time and write down your thoughts. Our house is beautiful indeed on an amazing location with a spectacular view on the city, the Central Alps and the Lake Lucerne.
We truly apologize if you felt that you were treated rudely during your check-out, but please rest assured that my team does not judge our guests by their type of clothing.
It would be a pleasure having you back with us again. And if you are a fan of hiking there is a vast amount of many different hiking routes to explore. Please do not hesitate to contact us if we can be of assistance.

Kind regards,

Silva Reuther
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 6, 2012

We stayed 5 nights in this old palace hotel which is wonderful located on the shores of the Vierwaldstättersee in Luzerns. Please book a room or suite with lakefront because of the street noise. We enjoyed the friendly service from the waiters in the bar and the kind and attentive serice of the ladies during breakfast in Café Les Artistes. Breakfast is in buffet style. It is not lavish, but fine and you can order eggs any style. The conciërge is very attentive, friendly and helpful. The service on the terrace in front of the lake could be better as, at times, there was no one to attend to the clients. The hotel is beaufitful maintained, nice flowers in the lounge and the dinner at the Michelin starred restaurant Jasper is okay. We missed in Jasper the subtility regarding the dishes. It was all quite much, heavy and not really refined. But maybe that is typically Swiss. The quality was good. The staff is very friendly and the place is always packed with people. We found that some of the round tables are too big for 3 or 4 persons to create an intimate atmosphere. We enjoyed our room but missed airconditioning. Roomservice was great, Molton Brown amenities. The is a nice bar with. Great piano player in the evenings. We will come back in the future.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EmotionsTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PalaceLuzern, Chef Concierge at Palace Luzern, responded to this reviewResponded September 24, 2012

Dear EmotionsTraveler
Thank you so much for your great feedback and for choosing our beautiful house in the first place. We are glad you enjoyed your stay and that you were pleased with your room. We hope you took a few "wows" home back with you.
Last February we changed our Jasper from a Michelin starred to a Modern Dining restaurant.
As you may have noticed no more tablecloths but more experience, more curiosity and less complicated.
We would love to have you back with us. There are still so many things to experience and places to see. Our Concierge Team will be happy to help. Please feel free to contact us any time if we can be of further assistance.

All the best,

Thierry Gavoille
Chef Concierge

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 29, 2012

We stayed here with our 2 year old, and we liked the hotel very much. We booked a large room with a view of the lake and were not disappointed. The staff members were all friendly and professional. Breakfast was a wide selection and well run. We ate in the restaurant but better value and food can be found elsewhere. We would return here for sure.

Room Tip: Book a room with a view of the lake.
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mellowdigger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PalaceLuzern, Sales & Marketing Coordinator at Palace Luzern, responded to this reviewResponded August 31, 2012

Dear Mellowdigger
Thank you for this very nice review and for taking your time to share it with us! It was a pleasure having you and your family staying with us at the PALACE LUZERN. The entire team is delighted to read about it, especially the breakfast service team, as it is said to be the most important meal of the day!
We are looking forward to welcoming you back soon again! Please do not hesitate to contact me if I can be of assistance.

With my best regards,

Sonia Grosso
Sales & Marketing Coordinator

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 24, 2012

I stayed there for a week in August and the weather was magnificent. The hotel is charming and comes across as having a bit of "history". Concierge service was so-so and check-in was reasonably quick except my room was not ready. I did arrive early so went for a walk around the village which was quite enjoyable. My room was quaint and the single window opened to the views of Lake Lucerne and the Swiss Alps which was great! They also provided me with 3 pieces of fruit a day which is a very nice touch. What I didn't like was their concierge which was a hit and miss. Sometimes I get someone when I call for them. A few times the phone just rang out. I felt their staffing is quite lean. The hotel is also very well located next to Lake Lucerne. Along the banks of the lake you'll a good mix of restaurants including a Thai restaurant. The walk will take you to the town. I'd rate the hotel 4 out of 5 and yes, I'd return there again just because it's such a charming place to stay.

Room Tip: Ensure the room faces Lake Lucerne and the mountains as the view is fantastic.
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank New2Langkawi2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PalaceLuzern, Sales & Marketing Coordinator at Palace Luzern, responded to this reviewResponded August 31, 2012

Dear New2Langkawi2
Thank you for taking your time sharing your feedback and for choosing the PALACE LUZERN for your business trip.
The view from our rooms over the lake and the Swiss Alps is indeed unique, we are glad to read you enjoyed your stay with us.
Please accept my apologies if you experienced any inconvenience contacting our Concierge.
At peak times it can occur that our Concierge team is fully engaged with guests on site or on the phone. They are trying to attend to all our guests' needs at the same time, which may cause delays when answering the phone.
Nevertheless it is great to read you had a delightful experience with us and trust the business was equally successful. It would be a pleasure to welcoming you back with us on your next trip - for holiday or business - our Concierge team already has the best recommendations ready for you! Please do not hesitate to contact me if I can be of assistance.

All the best,

Sonia Grosso
Sales & Marketing Coordinator

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lucerne hotels
0.5 mi away
Hotel Schweizerhof Luzern
0.1 mi away
Art Deco Hotel Montana Luzern
0.8 mi away
Hotel des Balances
Hotel des Balances
#5 of 67 in Lucerne
1,087 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Grand Hotel National
Grand Hotel National
#19 of 67 in Lucerne
423 reviews
0.8 mi away
CASCADA Hotel
CASCADA Hotel
#7 of 67 in Lucerne
936 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel des Alpes
Hotel des Alpes
#10 of 67 in Lucerne
992 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Palace Luzern? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Palace Luzern

Address: Haldenstrasse 10, Lucerne 6002, Switzerland
Phone Number:
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Lucerne > Lucerne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Lucerne
#2 Luxury Hotel in Lucerne
#3 Family Hotel in Lucerne
#4 Business Hotel in Lucerne
Price Range: $356 - $681 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Palace Luzern 5*
Number of rooms: 129
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Elegant lakefront hotel with elaborately carved stone facade, rooftop cupolas & spires; within walking distance to Old Town. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Palace Luzern reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Palace Luzern Lucerne
Palace Luzern Hotel Lucerne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing