We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent Swiss Value”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel De la Paix

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel De la Paix
Ranked #26 of 68 Hotels in Lucerne
Providence, Rhode Island
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Excellent Swiss Value”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 13, 2007

My husband and I spent seven nights and eight days in Lucerne, Switzerland, and stayed at the Hotel de la Paix. We found it to be very much as advertised and expected - a clean, comfortable, unassuming hotel with good value for the price.
We stayed in a non-smoking room on the fourth floor, reached by elevator from the main lobby. Check-in was efficient and friendly. We were reminded that there was a (free) breakfast available in the restaurant on the ground floor, "Le Lapin."
Our room included a double bed with those fantastic featherbeds, and a sofa for reading. We had two windows lookng out on the streets, and since it was March, we only opened the windows a bit in the evening for fresh air. I understand that some writers remarked on the noise from the street - yes, this could be a problem in the summer, but for us it posed no problem.
The bathroom was very clean and the bath/shower worked very well. We also had a hairdryer in the bathroom. I would suggest bringing a washcloth, because they are not supplied.
Breakfast was substantial and very good - a selection of sliced meats, cheeses, many kinds of breads, croissants, yogurt, cereals, and fruits - plenty of food to start the day!!
We would definitely stay here again - with the American dollar so weak against the Swiss franc these days, a good value is very important, and the Hotel de la Paix delivers!

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed March 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank MissFribourg1978
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

302 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    73
    137
    78
    11
    3
See reviews for
103
96
26
22
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ashburn, VA
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 14, 2006

I booked the suite at De La Paix for 4 ppl. It has a double bed and a sofa bed. The hotel was clean and minutes away on foot from the lake. The suite had 3 balconies which all faced the road but was good for the smokers. Tiny bathroom with no supplies. No A/C.
Free Internet Access!! We termed the front desk mgr "Sherlock Holmes" coz he was quite nosy and inquisitive.
Will stay here again.

Stayed September 2006
Helpful?
7 Thank vikram79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Faversham, England
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 20, 2006

Despite arriving late on a wet, dark Saturday evening, we were immediately catered for, a late meal made available and to our delight we were upgraded to the sister hotel, the Ambassador which is next door to the hotel's restaurant. Staff could not have been more helpful or charming at either hotel, even carrying our overnight bags to the new hotel in the rain. Our return through Switzerland gave us another chance to sample the hotel and again we were upgraded, (we got the biggest room on the floor this time) an excellent meal laid on and a completely different set of staff were equally charming and helpful the second time round. Faultless English spoken by all.
I am sorry that not everyone found the hotel charming, we have nothing but recommendation for it. It is in a busy area and therefore noisy if you have the windows open (no air conditioning!) but we felt it was good value for money, had a more than reasonable restaurant and we even ended chatting the hotel's owner. Secure underground carpark next door (but expensive). Very close to lake, shops and restaurants. beautiful views by the lake. Beware you won't get a lay in - the Swiss like to get up early - even on a Sunday!
No hesitation in staying there again.

Stayed August 2006
Helpful?
5 Thank Barry&Liz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
st.paul,mn
Level Contributor
45 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 18, 2006

I stayed at the De La Paix for 2 nights. I had a bad time trying to find the place. I spent 30 min. wandering around the general area of the hotel in the rain with my 40lb backpack which I had been carrying for the previous 4 months as I traveled around Europe. I gave up and asked a corner newsstand for directions and it turns out I walked in front of the hotel twice without knowing it.
I was warmly greeted by the desk staff despite my appearance and was given the key to my single room (#113). The room was small but adequate for my needs since I had been living in hostels for almost 1/2 a year. An added bonus was that my room was on the corner of the hotel right above the Swiss flag flying out front below my balcony.
The bed was comfortable, the room was decently lit with cable tv, a small writing desk and chair. The bathroom was small but decent sized for a one person room. The breakfast buffett was spread out on a large table and was very nice.
The location of the hotel is also a good deal. It is only one block from the Dying Lion sculpture, a short hop up the hill to the town wall/towers and 5 min. walk to the old town with the covered bridges and about a 10min. walk to the train station.

  • Liked — location, free internet access
  • Stayed April 2005, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
9 Thank peterodl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tanunda, Australia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 20, 2006

Fairly, standard hotel room right in the middle of Lucern. Room was clean and spacious with a small balcony. Breakfast was v.good buffet continental. Value for money.

  • Stayed March 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Shaun R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sandwich, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
45 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 4, 2006

Just returned from a 9 day worldwind tour of Switzerland. (Others in our group were here longer and stayed at this hotel twice for 2 nights each time. We were originally concerned about staying at this hotel based upon a previous review written on Tripadvisor. This hotel is nothing lavish, but it wasn't advertised as such. It was clean, quiet, inexpensive, good location, helpful courteous staff, had a really good restaurant that we couldn't even get a reservation at for dinner because it is so popular. Breakfast was typically Swiss/European. But hey, if you want to eat like an american......Stay HOME!!!!!! MY biggest disappointment was the fact that there was a "Starbucks" right next door to the Hotel. We stayed in a different hotel every other night while traveling to Zurich, Bern, Martigny and Lugano. Good hotel in each city. Hotel de la Paix wasn't the nicest, but it was just fine and the least expensive. 3 stars may be a stretch for this hotel, but we would stay here again and plan to do so in the Spring!

  • Stayed January 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Fool_for_travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 11, 2005

The room was okay. The free internet was convenient. The breakfast was the same as usual (bread, cold cuts, cheese, cereal, juice). I would rate it 2 stars. It's a good walk from the train station, but it's right at the edge of the city center which is nice.

  • Stayed September 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lucerne hotels
0.0 mi away
Hotel Ambassador
Hotel Ambassador
#39 of 68 in Lucerne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 183 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Krone Luzern
Hotel Krone Luzern
#17 of 68 in Lucerne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 446 reviews
0.6 mi away
Drei Konige Hotel Lucerne
Drei Konige Hotel Lucerne
#23 of 68 in Lucerne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 405 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hotel Alpina Luzern
Hotel Alpina Luzern
#29 of 68 in Lucerne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 330 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel des Alpes
Hotel des Alpes
#10 of 68 in Lucerne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 897 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Waldstatterhof
Hotel Waldstatterhof
#11 of 68 in Lucerne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,003 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel De la Paix? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel De la Paix

Property: Hotel De la Paix
Address: Museggstrasse 2, Lucerne 6000, Switzerland
Phone Number:
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Lucerne > Lucerne
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 68 Hotels in Lucerne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel De la Paix 3*
Number of rooms: 39
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We’re certain you’ll feel at home at the Hotel De La Paix. Our room are in a quiet location and comfortably furnished. They all have a bath or shower and WC, direct dial telephone, TV and radio. And our staff will ensure a friendly and warm-hearted atmosphere. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel De la Paix reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
De La Paix Luzern Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing