We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A centrally located 3 star hotel”
Review of Hotel De la Paix

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel De la Paix
Ranked #20 of 66 Hotels in Lucerne
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 6, 2014

Management needs to replace the pillows. Even folding and triple folding yields little support. Front desk was happy to provide a second pillow and they even laugh how many people complain about the pillows.

Beds in some rooms are very narrow and there are no mattress box springs – so do not expect high quality sleep.

Be aware that during warm weather the hotel does not have room air conditioning. So even a spring day where it is comfortable outside could be uncomfortable in a room that does not get air circulation. Opening the windows is the only solution, but many rooms are street side and you are then faced with the noise of the city in your room.

Breakfast is very simple with breads, yogurt and cereal and limited fruit / cold cuts.

There is no desktop power for computers. In my room, I had to sake my power cord down a hole and then get on the floor, open a cabinet and plug inside the cabinet where the TV was connected.

No wired internet, only wireless. But the wireless signal is very good and the speeds are equally good.

They have a weird key system in which you have to exchange your room key each time you leave the hotel for a smaller lock key. It’s all self-service, but a tad odd.

No in room refrigerators or ironing boards / irons. If you want to Iron they direct you to the hotel next door where you can use the iron in a small room next to the receptionist. So be prepared to be on display as you iron things.

The only plugs in room are the Type J triple prong (similar to Euro plug except that it has an offset ground). These are common in Switzerland, but not in other places. So ensure to have adapters.

There is no shampoo, instead the shower and bathroom sink have liquid dispensers. They also provide a very tiny bar of soap. In my room, the liquid dispenser had black material inside along the sides. Not sure what it was, maybe mold?

Rooms and hotel are clean and well maintained. Front desk staff is very friendly and most helpful with anything you need.

Near the hotel you will find 2 grocery stores and plenty of places to eat.

Room Tip: Ask for courtyard to avoid the street noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank StarTraveler88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DelapaixSwitzerland, Inhaber at Hotel De la Paix, responded to this reviewResponded May 7, 2014

Grüezi
Thank you for your mail and valuable comments. We always appreciate the view of our clients and it helps us to improve our service an product. Hopefully we can welcome you on another occasion.

With best Regards from Lucerne

Ferdinand Zehnder and the De la Paix Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (350)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

128 - 134 of 350 reviews

Reviewed April 25, 2014

I stayed in this hotel for two nights and the room was fairly clean. The hotel is located near the train station (about 12 minutes). The staff were helpful and friendly and gave us tips on what attractions we could go to. Breakfast was decent but fresh juices would have been good. The T.V size in the room was small and it had a bad connection with only one or two English channels.

Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
Thank Osama A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DelapaixSwitzerland, Inhaber at Hotel De la Paix, responded to this reviewResponded May 4, 2014

Grüezi

thank you for your comment and review. We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us. Concerning the english TV Channels we are working on a seperate Satelite Dish, hopefully soon operating in order to have more variety for you on your next stay. Hopefully.

With best Regards from Lucerne
Ferdinand Zehnder and De la Paix Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 18, 2014 via mobile

Hotel de la paix, is right beside hotel ambassador. Its at the side of the building. very friendly staffs. Strictly no smoking in the hotel. Walking distance to the lake. And overlooking the mountain. Shops right below hotel. Very convenient. Bus station 3 stops away from central. Tram 1 and buses right beside hotel going to bahnof centrale. Train station is very nearby . Good location.

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jmapaul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DelapaixSwitzerland, Inhaber at Hotel De la Paix, responded to this reviewResponded May 4, 2014

Hello
Thank you for your review and nice comment. We are happy you have enjoyed your stay with us. We hope to be able to welcome you again here soon and wish you a good summer.

with best Regards
Ferdinand Zehnder and Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 12, 2014

Amazing location.very close to the main station and the beautiful lake.Extremely helpful and friendly staff. Rooms are slightly less great but the excellent service makes up for it. Fast free wifi.!! Close to restaurants and cafès. Would definately stay here again if we visited lucerne. Had a very pleasant stay.(3 days)

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dr_Tuhina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DelapaixSwitzerland, Inhaber at Hotel De la Paix, responded to this reviewResponded April 14, 2014

Grüezi
thank you very much for your great review. Pleased that you had enjoyed your stay with us. Yes indeed we do have a very good team on board. I will let them know and pass your comments on. Thank you again and maybe see you again.
With best Regards

Ferdinand Zehnder and Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2014

I stayed in this hotel on the 31st March 2014 for 4 nights. Location of hotel could not be better, however, as the hotel is on one of the busiest roads in Lucerne it can be very noisy until about 0100hrs and from 0500hrs (with the windows closed). The rooms were of a reasonable size and the rooms were cleaned every day and a fresh set of towels provided. The breakfast as expected was continental with various breads, cheese, cold meats, jams, eggs etc which was quite enjoyable. I did not eat in the Lapin (Rabbit) restaurant as I wanted to see as much of Lucerne and Basel as i could in the 4 days (restaurant busy at night), including a visit to Baselworld which is a must for anyone interested in watches and jewellery. I would say that this hotel would be ideal as a base for anyone intending to visit the surrounding towns and villages (Engelberg a must) in Lucerne. Finally, I would suggest that the Hotel De La Paix could benefit from air conditioning in the rooms (summer would be uncomfortable and noisy if you require to leave the windows open at night) and a small fridge would also be a bonus. Overall I found the staff to be very friendly and helpful during my short stay in Switzerland. Many thanks to all the staff of the De La Paix on our recent visit.

Room Tip: If you want a good nights sleep I would suggest a room that is not on the road, however, the rooms o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Robert24060712
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DelapaixSwitzerland, Inhaber at Hotel De la Paix, responded to this reviewResponded April 10, 2014

Grüezi
thank you for your review. We are happy you have over all enjoyed your stay in our Hotel and our City of Lucerene. We are sorry for the street noise. That is the otherside of the very very central location. We do not have air condition. In our over 100 year old Building it is very difficult to change the infrastructure setting. In the summer time we provide at least a Fan in every room to make our clients confortable and a free welcome Drink and Ice Tea will be always available in the lobby. We hope to be able to welcome you again here in Lucerne.
With best Regards
Ferdinand Zehnder and the De la Paix Team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 30, 2014

My wife and I recently stayed two nights in Lucerne and the Hotel de la Paix was a very good choice. The room was quite large and had a very big balcony which was very handy as Carnivale was on and the bands floats would pass by underneath. The breakfast room was very light and cheery and the breakfast was very good.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank davefitz007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DelapaixSwitzerland, Inhaber at Hotel De la Paix, responded to this reviewResponded April 3, 2014

Grüezi
thank you for your nice review. You are so lucky to stay with us on the carneval. One week of music and festival in our city. Thank you about your comments on the breakfast.. We recently changed the setup of the breakfast and happy to hear it's beeing successful.

We hope to be able to welcome you on another occasion.
With best Regards to Australia

Ferdinand Zehnder and De la Paix Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 25, 2014

We stayed 3 nights in March, 2014. The hotel location was perfect - convenient to shopping, Old Town, the river cruises and Lake Lucerne. The staff were friendly and helpful. The rooms were clean and quite comfortable. The wi-fi had excellent connectivity. The breakfasts were tasty and had a nice selection of breads, meats, cheeses and cereal. The hotel restaurant was good, although pricey but probably average for Switzerland. Overall, our stay was very enjoyable.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
2  Thank Jay R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DelapaixSwitzerland, Inhaber at Hotel De la Paix, responded to this reviewResponded March 27, 2014

Grüezi

thank you for your nice and lovely review. We are so glad you have enjoyed your stay with us. Even this winter was not so cold and our clients had a good time walking along the old town and along the lake. We are happy to hear your comments about our breakfast buffet, and Wifi. The new system shows improvement.
Thank you once again I shall pass on the comments to our team and we hope to see you again here in Lucerne.

With best Regards
Ferdinand Zehnder and De la Paix Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lucerne hotels
0.4 mi away
Ameron Hotel Flora Luzern
0.4 mi away
Hotel Krone Luzern
Hotel Krone Luzern
#16 of 66 in Lucerne
498 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel des Alpes
Hotel des Alpes
#10 of 66 in Lucerne
1,061 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hotel Waldstatterhof
Hotel Waldstatterhof
#11 of 66 in Lucerne
1,110 reviews
0.5 mi away
Renaissance Lucerne Hotel
0.6 mi away
Drei Konige Hotel Lucerne
Drei Konige Hotel Lucerne
#23 of 66 in Lucerne
463 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel De la Paix? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel De la Paix

Address: Museggstrasse 2, Lucerne 6004, Switzerland
Phone Number:
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Lucerne > Lucerne
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 66 Hotels in Lucerne
Price Range: $130 - $260 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel De la Paix 3*
Number of rooms: 39
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We’re certain you’ll feel at home at the Hotel De La Paix. Our room are in a quiet location and comfortably furnished. They all have a bath or shower and WC, direct dial telephone, TV and radio. And our staff will ensure a friendly and warm-hearted atmosphere. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, getaroom.com, Hotwire, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel De la Paix reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
De La Paix Luzern Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing