We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“"Love it!"”
Review of Hotel De la Paix

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel De la Paix
Ranked #21 of 67 Hotels in Lucerne
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 22, 2013

We had two night stay on Sept. 2013. It is a lovely hotel - perfect location, clean, comfortable, and good services. We had a corner room. It was spacious with nice view in the beautiful balconies. The breakfast had a large selections of meats, breads, fruits, and drinks. It is so nice to have a good breakfast while you are traveling. Also they have the fruit tea at the front, a nice touch for greeting the guests. The manager was very helpful. We had a dinner there and we loved the authentic Swiss food. Thank you Hotel De La Paix. If we ever come back, it will still be our choice!

Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
Thank Connie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DelapaixSwitzerland, Manager at Hotel De la Paix, responded to this reviewResponded October 12, 2013

Thank you for your nice review. We are glad you have enjoyed your stay in our Hotel. We thank you also for the good comments of our restaurant. Even the pictures - fabulous.
Hopefully you can make it back to lucerne. With best Regards

Ferdinand A. Zehnder
and the De la Paix Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (342)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

147 - 153 of 342 reviews

Reviewed September 21, 2013

The hotel was nothing special to remember other than the street noise and uncomfortable beds. The complimentary breakfast was OK. The parking was expensive even with the hotel discount. The one good thing about this hotel was the central location. We had accidentally left behind our charger, but the staff was unwilling to work with us to recover it from the room.

Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank Gene C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DelapaixSwitzerland, Inhaber at Hotel De la Paix, responded to this reviewResponded September 23, 2013

Thank you for your feedback. We always happy to receive guest comments even your experience with us was disturbed by the recovery of your adaptor. Spourned would be a hard word for my understanding. We would be happy to welcome you on another occasion in our city. With best Regards Ferdinand Zehnder and De la Paix Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 17, 2013

We (6 adults & 1 baby) spent 7 nights in August 2013 at this hotel, it was on a package with Thompsons & Crystal. We were met by the Manager he was very good and would turn up at dinner every night to see what we had been doing and offer advice about what we could do, very helpful. The rooms were all very good, basic but a very comfortable bed, the rooms were pretty quite, but due to the heat (no air con and only a fan) we had the window open and there was sometimes some noise outside. Plenty of hot water, shower gel and good toilet roll. The TV was reported to have 3 English channels but there was only BBC World news. The Food was excellent, we were on Breakfast and evening meal, breakfast was continental with plenty of choice and unlimited, dinner was always very good with salad then soup (plenty of fresh bread) main course and pudding, coffee was available but extra. The only issue we had wad that the service was very slow..... We ate early (because of the baby) and were often there for an hour and a half. Very nice if you have all evening but the baby wasn't always very impressed. The girls who looked after us were very pleasant and helpful and always smiling. If / when I go again I would stay in this hotel again, it was perfectly placed, in the old of town part 7 mins walk to the bus & train and boat quays.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JLJBK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DelapaixSwitzerland, Manager at Hotel De la Paix, responded to this reviewResponded August 19, 2013

Hello and Grüezi from Lucerne
Thank you very much for your nice report and review. It was a pleasure having you with us. Indeed you have had selected the hottest days of this summer season. We do look into the speed of service in the Restaurant - thank you for that point. We would be happy to welcome you again in our Hotel and our City of Lucerne.
Have a good time and best Regards
Ferdinand Zehnder & De la Paix Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2013

Lucerne, mid July. Sunny days...lakeside...You understandably want to dine al fresco. My suggestion is dine in at this hotel; the chef or chefs are good. The standard of presentation for main dish and dessert is high. Having stayed seven nights, I have plenty of evidence to base this comment on.

Having said that, breakfast is disappointing. It's 'continental'; well, that's fine but the range is limited. On several mornings, I had to ask for the coffee pot to be refilled; not sure why the two pots empty so fast. Which brings me on to staffing: the hotel seems to employ a lot given the size of the establishment. may be Swiss labour regulations necessitate this. In the restaurant, most staff wear a name badge and, so, you might encounter Florian or Michelle or Seline...

Turning to the bedrooms, it's worth pointing out that summer in Lucerne is hot. There is NO air-conditioning. A large portable fine is provided and mine had three speed settings. Only on two occasions, did I go for less than the maximum setting. Indeed, the window and/or balcony door can be left open although, on one occasion when I did this, there may be one or two of the mosquito family. On most evenings, I left the window open although it was closed overnight because traffic noise, especially sirens, does intrude. In the shower room (no bath tub), I discovered an intriguing way of keeping the extractor vent open a little further (see photograph - and the matchbox was in place before I arrived). What other room features? Well, there is good, free, high speed wifi. I believe there are two English language television channels but the machine was not turned on during my stay.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank plymouth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DelapaixSwitzerland, Owner at Hotel De la Paix, responded to this reviewResponded July 31, 2013

Grüezi and hello from Lucerne
Thank you for your review. thank you for staying 7 Nights with us. We are pleased that you have enjoyed your stay with us and your city of Lucerne. Thank you for your good and fair comments. It helps us to improve services. We will soon look into the breakfast with the coffee facilities to make shure more hot coffee will be available. Hopefully we can welcome you on another occasion.
With best Regards and have a good summer.

Ferdinand Zehnder

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 6, 2013

We stayed three nights at the Hotel de la Paix, 6/13-6/15/2013, with a bed and buffet breakfast arrangement. We found the room clean and comfortable, the staff courteous, cheerful and helpful. We had an interior room on the 5th floor, with a restricted view of a courtyard, accessible by a very small elevator. If we stayed there again, we would ask for a room with a street view. The room was a bit stuffy in the afternoon with no air conditioning and only open windows and a fan for ventilation, but it was fine at night. The location is good with train station, lake front and old town within a few minutes walking distance. A shopping center is just a few meters up the street. We ate dinner three nights in the Lapin Restaurant, pricey by American standards but fine food and really excellent service. On the morning we left, the kitchen prepared sandwiches for us to carry because of our early departure. We had the pleasure of meeting and conversing with Mr. Ferdinand A. Zehnder, the owner, and briefly meeting his gracious mother. Although all staff members were commendable, we particularly remember Stephanie and Michelle at the front desk as helpful and Katinka, Florian and Maria in the restaurant as attentive.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a street view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Russell B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DelapaixSwitzerland, Inhaber at Hotel De la Paix, responded to this reviewResponded July 8, 2013

Grüezi
thank you for your nice review and so nice comments. We are so pleased you enjoyed you stay with us. It was a pleasure meeting you personally. We wish you a good time and hopefully you can make it back to Lucerne for another stay.
With best Regards
Ferdinand Zehnder and the De la Paix Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 3, 2013

The room was small but clean. The shower was tiny. The breakfast was good. The location was fine, near enough the centre to walk everywhere but far enough away to avoid a lot of the noise. Unfortunately there was quite a bit of noise from other guests. My personal bugbear - no fridge - was annoying but they did offer a cold drink at reception every day.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank K H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DelapaixSwitzerland, Owner at Hotel De la Paix, responded to this reviewResponded July 8, 2013

Grüezi
Thank you for your review. We are sorry for the missing fridge in the room, we offer a dring vending machine with a limited selection and cooling facility within the restaurant when it is open 07:00 - 24:00. Hopefully we can welcome you on another date in Lucerne.
With best Regards
Ferdinand Zehnder

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 2, 2013

Our Switzerland trip covered Interlaken, Grindelwald, Lucern and Zurich. We were in awe of the Swiss hospitality and natural landscapes till we reached lucern. The town is nice and has a good feel to it but a dissapointment when you are coming from Interlaken and Grindelwald. Hotel is average, rooms are decent, location is good (10 minutes walk from the raiway station and 5 mins from the the lion monument), plenty of shopping and restaurants nearby. No views of the lake though. Staff is nice and polite but not does not have the wow factor that we experienced in rest of Switerland. Breakfast is not great

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank vacations056
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DelapaixSwitzerland, Owner at Hotel De la Paix, responded to this reviewResponded July 2, 2013

Grüezi
Thank you for your review. We are sorry you have had expected lake view from the hotel Room. We are just 300m away from the lake, just a few steps to the shopping center. Hopefully we can do it better next time when you'll come to Lucerne
With best Regards
Ferdinand Zehnder

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lucerne hotels
0.4 mi away
Hotel Krone Luzern
Hotel Krone Luzern
#16 of 67 in Lucerne
490 reviews
0.6 mi away
Drei Konige Hotel Lucerne
Drei Konige Hotel Lucerne
#26 of 67 in Lucerne
449 reviews
0.4 mi away
Ameron Hotel Flora Luzern
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 mi away
Hotel Ambassador
Hotel Ambassador
#40 of 67 in Lucerne
210 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Waldstatterhof
Hotel Waldstatterhof
#11 of 67 in Lucerne
1,094 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel des Alpes
Hotel des Alpes
#10 of 67 in Lucerne
1,031 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel De la Paix? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel De la Paix

Address: Museggstrasse 2, Lucerne 6004, Switzerland
Phone Number:
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Lucerne > Lucerne
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 67 Hotels in Lucerne
Price Range: $125 - $238 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel De la Paix 3*
Number of rooms: 39
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We’re certain you’ll feel at home at the Hotel De La Paix. Our room are in a quiet location and comfortably furnished. They all have a bath or shower and WC, direct dial telephone, TV and radio. And our staff will ensure a friendly and warm-hearted atmosphere. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotwire, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel De la Paix reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
De La Paix Luzern Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing