We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel De la Paix
Nearby Hotels
$223
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
CASCADA Hotel(Lucerne)
$224
$217
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$267
$194
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$238
$229
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$385
$251
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$169
$162
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$438
$394
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$337
$240
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$327
$189
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$266
$259
HotelQuickly
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (362)
Filter reviews
362 results
Traveler rating
85
177
84
13
3
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
85
177
84
13
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviewslapinlion monumentgreat locationold towntrain stationambassador hotelroom was cleanattached restauranthalf boardno air conditioningan indian restauranta nice place to staywalking distancethe hotel's restaurantsmall balconybeautiful lakehot water
Filter
Updating list...
160 - 165 of 362 reviews
Reviewed July 6, 2013

We stayed three nights at the Hotel de la Paix, 6/13-6/15/2013, with a bed and buffet breakfast arrangement. We found the room clean and comfortable, the staff courteous, cheerful and helpful. We had an interior room on the 5th floor, with a restricted view of a courtyard, accessible by a very small elevator. If we stayed there again, we would ask for a room with a street view. The room was a bit stuffy in the afternoon with no air conditioning and only open windows and a fan for ventilation, but it was fine at night. The location is good with train station, lake front and old town within a few minutes walking distance. A shopping center is just a few meters up the street. We ate dinner three nights in the Lapin Restaurant, pricey by American standards but fine food and really excellent service. On the morning we left, the kitchen prepared sandwiches for us to carry because of our early departure. We had the pleasure of meeting and conversing with Mr. Ferdinand A. Zehnder, the owner, and briefly meeting his gracious mother. Although all staff members were commendable, we particularly remember Stephanie and Michelle at the front desk as helpful and Katinka, Florian and Maria in the restaurant as attentive.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a street view.
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Russell B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DelapaixSwitzerland, Inhaber at Hotel De la Paix, responded to this reviewResponded July 8, 2013

Grüezi
thank you for your nice review and so nice comments. We are so pleased you enjoyed you stay with us. It was a pleasure meeting you personally. We wish you a good time and hopefully you can make it back to Lucerne for another stay.
With best Regards
Ferdinand Zehnder and the De la Paix Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 3, 2013

The room was small but clean. The shower was tiny. The breakfast was good. The location was fine, near enough the centre to walk everywhere but far enough away to avoid a lot of the noise. Unfortunately there was quite a bit of noise from other guests. My personal bugbear - no fridge - was annoying but they did offer a cold drink at reception every day.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank K H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DelapaixSwitzerland, Owner at Hotel De la Paix, responded to this reviewResponded July 8, 2013

Grüezi
Thank you for your review. We are sorry for the missing fridge in the room, we offer a dring vending machine with a limited selection and cooling facility within the restaurant when it is open 07:00 - 24:00. Hopefully we can welcome you on another date in Lucerne.
With best Regards
Ferdinand Zehnder

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 2, 2013

Our Switzerland trip covered Interlaken, Grindelwald, Lucern and Zurich. We were in awe of the Swiss hospitality and natural landscapes till we reached lucern. The town is nice and has a good feel to it but a dissapointment when you are coming from Interlaken and Grindelwald. Hotel is average, rooms are decent, location is good (10 minutes walk from the raiway station and 5 mins from the the lion monument), plenty of shopping and restaurants nearby. No views of the lake though. Staff is nice and polite but not does not have the wow factor that we experienced in rest of Switerland. Breakfast is not great

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank vacations056
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DelapaixSwitzerland, Owner at Hotel De la Paix, responded to this reviewResponded July 2, 2013

Grüezi
Thank you for your review. We are sorry you have had expected lake view from the hotel Room. We are just 300m away from the lake, just a few steps to the shopping center. Hopefully we can do it better next time when you'll come to Lucerne
With best Regards
Ferdinand Zehnder

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 1, 2013

We stayed at Hotel de la Paix for one night, and were pleased to find a good value hotel so centrally located. We had a quad room on the main street, but it was surprisingly quiet. Just as we entered the room, the staff immediately noticed we were four, not three, so they gave us extra towels and an extra pillow. The location is excellent - right in the old town, within walking distance of the river and the train station. The breakfast was also very good. The room was a bit small for four, and it wasn't amazingly clean, but the service also provided a fan that night. Overall it was good for a short stay.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank VermontFamilyOfFour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DelapaixSwitzerland, Owner at Hotel De la Paix, responded to this reviewResponded July 2, 2013

Grüezi
Thank you for your review. We are pleased you have enjoyed your stay with us. We wish you a good summer holiday and who knows maybe we can welcome you again soon here in our Hotel De la Paix.
With best Regards
Ferdinand Zehnder

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 27, 2013

If you want a five-star hotel with five-star facilities, then the de la Paix is not for you. However if you are looking for more than value for money there can be none better. I have been staying at the de la Paix for ten years, and the level of service and food remains excellent. The choice and quality of menu, be it À la carte,or half board is wonderful, and this is perhaps why it is frequented by many locals. It is a family run hotel (for around 60 years),where you will always see members of the family talking to the guests in the Lapin restaurant. The attention to service is matched by the friendliness of the restaurant staff. As for the hotel's location, it is close to everything.. Bus stop, the lakeside, sights and shopping. For a few days or for a week, you will not get any better value..
David W.

Room Tip: Some rooms overlook a main road, but the rooms are double-glazed, so noise is not a problem. During very warm periods, fans are available. I always ask for a room overlooking the road.
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Swissfan131146
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DelapaixSwitzerland, Owner at Hotel De la Paix, responded to this reviewResponded June 29, 2013

Grüezi David

Thank you for your very nice review. Indeed we had a very good week. So many happy clients leaving our Hotel with good souvenirs. It is always a pleasure to welcome you back in our Hotel. We are looking to welcoming you again in Lucerne. Have a good summer Season in England.

Best Regards from the De la Paix Team
Ferdinand

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews