We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Picturesque views”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Grand Hotel National
Ranked #19 of 67 Hotels in Lucerne
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 8, 2014 via mobile

We splurged for a suite and it was worth every penny. The staff were very helpful and caring. The views from our room were picture perfect. We had two balconies, a sitting area with a couch and a huge marble bathroom. It was the nicest room I have ever been in. I highly recommend this hotel and do get a lake view room, trust me on that!

Stayed: August 2014, traveled as a couple
2  Thank Herbette1012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Julia A, Leiter Front Office at Grand Hotel National, responded to this reviewResponded October 7, 2014

Dear Herbette1012

Thank you very much for your positive feedback here on TripAdvisor and for the wonderful words about our hotel. We are glad to learn that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you like the hotel just as much as we do. We look forward welcoming you back one day.

Kind regards
Your GRAND HOTEL NATIONAL Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (432)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

157 - 163 of 432 reviews

Reviewed August 5, 2014 via mobile

This was our only 5 star hotel during our 2 week European trip. We expected much, though we had booked the less expensive room. Our room faced the street, not a quaint city view, just a loud street, lots of car traffic. We would have just closed the doors and windows, but much to our surprise (in a 5 star hotel) our room had no air conditioner! Only the rooms facing the lake have A/C. We spent two very uncomfortable stuffy nights. In addition, we had gotten used to breakfast being included, not here. Of course one was not promised but every other hotel we had been to on our trip included breakfast so just another small disappointment. In addition construction type work was being done in the hotel so that was loud during afternoon rest time. This is a lovely hotel with friendly professional staff. But if you cant afford the better rooms, I'd find another place.

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank VTtraveler43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Julia A, Leiter Front Office at Grand Hotel National, responded to this reviewResponded October 7, 2014

Dear VTtraveler43

First of all thank you very much for having taken the time to write a review about your recent stay at the Grand Hotel National. We regret to read that apparently you were not satisfied with the room you had booked with us. In Europe generally it is not very common to have air conditions in all the hotel rooms and we would like to clarify that in all brochures and advertisements it is clearly mentioned that the city side rooms only have an air circulation system. Furthermore we don't mention anywhere that the rooms would be overlooking the city but that the rooms are facing the city side. Actually we are proud to be located on such an exclusive spot directly on the lake front and very close to the city center at the same time. Keeping that in mind, certainly it cannot be avoided to have a busy road close to the hotel. We understand that you are disappointed about the not included breakfast but this always depends on the kind of booking you choose. We are happy to read that you liked the hotel in general and that you made a compliment about our staff which we gladly forwarded to all our team members. Therefore we would be delighted to welcome you back one day. You are more than welcome to contact us directly to make sure you will book the most suitable category for you.

Kind regards
Your GRAND HOTEL NATIONAL Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2014

Finally a hotel that measured up to what they advertised. On the high side of room costs but worth it. Right on Lake Lucerne and beautiful. Extra bonus was indoor pool and a staff that was knowledgeable and friendly. If you are lucky you will get "Nadine" who took care of our every need and helped plan our stay. Perfect location.

Room Tip: it's worth it to pay for the lake view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Kwheatleyiii
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dennis B, Leiter Front Office at Grand Hotel National, responded to this reviewResponded July 28, 2014

Dear Kwheatleyiii,

First of all we want to thank you very much for staying at the GRAND HOTEL NATIONAL and for the warm and charming words!

We are very happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and espacially Nadine was more than happy to read your comment about her services.

It would be a great pleasure to welcome you back soon in Lucerne!

Best regards

The GRAND HOTEL NATIONAL Team!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 19, 2014 via mobile

We had two rooms here, I will say that one was absolutely massive, maybe x1.5 the size of the other, but even the smaller room was quite big.

Nice room; great bed and stuff, a classic feel but really comfortable and the complimentary nesspresso machine (replenished daily) was pretty cool. Spacious and modern bathroom too with some funky lighting

Disappointed to get a room facing the road, but could still see quite a bit and the hotel is just on the lake anyway so you can just go down and in a few seconds you can sit on a bench and take in the amazing view

Best place I've stayed in Europe by far, highly recommend it.

The walk to the main pier/train station where everything happens is about ~1km but it's around the lake so it's quite nice.

The small downside is the price of breakfast and laundry, but you can easily find other means and most stuff in Switzerland is very expensive anyway


Would definitely stay here again

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Inspector36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dennis B, Leiter Front Office at Grand Hotel National, responded to this reviewResponded July 21, 2014

Dear Inspector36,

First of all we want to thank you for your recent stay with us and the very nice and warm review you just posted.

It is a pleasure to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and that the overall looking of the hotel as well as the behavior and friendlyness of our staff convinced you during your stay.

We would be very happy to welcome you and your family back soon at the GRAND HOTEL NATIONAL, this time in lake view rooms and remain

Kind regards

The GRAND HOTEL NATIONAL Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 7, 2014

We spent one night in Luzern last month and stayed at the Grand Palace. We were immediately impressed by the beauty of the hotel, the location of the property on Lake Luzern and the friendly and helpful reception staff. Our room was large and beautifully decorated with a lovely view of the lake. We enjoyed a lovely breakfast in the dining room and a late lunch on the beautiful cafe on the lake. The hotel is very close to the old town area and we never needed our car. The staff was, as noted above, wonderful at our arrival but extraordinary upon our departure. My wife could not find a ring which we were certain was in the room. Despite our frantic searches, it could not be found. When we checked out, one staff member told us that she would have room service imediately clean the room and look for the ring. Another staff person who had brought in our luggage on check-in said he would also take a look. Imagine our relief when he came back to the lobby about five minutes letter with my wife's ring! Needless to say, that was extraordinary service and a very happy conclusion to our short but thoroughly enjoyable visit to Luzern.

Room Tip: You want a room facing the lake.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dodger96
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dennis B, Verkaufsleiter at Grand Hotel National, responded to this reviewResponded July 7, 2014

Dear Dodger96,

First of all we thank you very much for staying with us at the GRAND HOTEL NATIONAL and the wonderful and charming review you posted!

It is a great pleasure to hear that you and your wife enjoyed the stay with us and that we could make your visit even better by finding back you wifes missed ring.

We would be more than happy to welcome you both back soon in Lucerne and we would appreciate if you choose again the GRAND HOTEL NATIONAL for your next stay.

With best regards

The GRAND HOTEL NATIONAL Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 1, 2014 via mobile

We toured several places in Switzerland and Lucerne was our final stop. Hubby stayed here before years ago and said it was fabulous so we booked it. Lucerne is a stunning place, the views, the lake, the boat trips and the mountain railways are all incredible but the hotel was just an anti- climax. The room was awful, the furniture was all chipped, cracked and tired, the marble was cracked all the way across the basins, many of the floor tiles were cracked or missing, the curtain rail had fallen down and the air conditioning didn't work. When my husband went to ask whether we could be moved, we were told that we could upgrade to the most expensive suite or stick it out :(
Considering how much we were paying for our room, we were not impressed. At other hotels, when we arrived or left, the concierge would help us with the pram, not here, they just watched us struggle up and down the stairs.
Moral of the story, if you are not flashing mega money, they don't want to know you. We will try somewhere different this year.

Stayed: July 2013
5  Thank Nicole M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dennis B, Verkaufsleiter at Grand Hotel National, responded to this reviewResponded July 7, 2014

Dear Nicole M.,

First off all we want to thank you for staying with us last summer and for giving a review about your stay. We appreciate your feedback as it is important to us in order to keep our high service level.

We regret that you did not enjoy your stay with us and that our hotel was not meeting your expectations. Regarding the rooms we can secure you that we are continuesly renovating the hotel but still want to keep the historical touch of this building also. The marble in some areas still is from the first opening in 1870 but also in a perfect condition. The marble in our guest rooms is much younger and damages are repared always immediately.
Air condition is only available in rooms with a lake view. All other rooms do provide an air circulation system what is not cooling. As we cannot see the exact dates when you stayed with us one year ago already we would appreciate to have your feedback earlier in order to be able to react immediately to your concerns and to also offer you solutions.

We regret that you left the hotel with a bad impression and would be more than happy to welcome you again in the future in order to convince you from our high service level.

With kind regards

Your GRAND HOTEL NATIONAL Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 27, 2014 via mobile

Hi we stayed at this hotel couple of days back for 3 nights !! The hotel in itself is very nice,comfortable and at a very prominent location in the city of lucerne. Reception staff is very friendly and helpful but the only negative about the hotel is that their room service is horrible.
We got some food packed from outside and asked them to heat it and it was more than an hour they didn't get our food back and then I kept calling the room service but they didn't bother to answer the phone and finally I had to go down at the restraunt and ask about our food..after spending nearly 2000$ fr 3 nights least we could expect wr clean rooms..bt unfortunately the housekeeping services were so average tht an average 2 star hotel Wud hv been better. N to top it all the staff used to open d door of our room as n wen they felt like..so much so tht one morning we woke up n saw tht our room door had been left open..
Being a 5 star hotel they just have 2 or 3 options in 24 hours menu lol and I'm sure they must be having a problem to serve that as well . My lil daughter wanted to have an ice cream and they refused at 11 pm and they call them selves a 5 star property !! Hv visited Switzerland couple of times but have never seen such a bad service
For 2000 dollars for 3 nights in india or any other part of world , the hotels will make u feel like a king and i think this hotel Should learn from Indian hospitality and then only should rate them 5 star property and they are part of so called world 500 hotels..they don't even replace water for the day ie heights
My only advice is please be more service friendly !! Next time in Lucerne me very sure not gonna stay wid them

Stayed: June 2014
2  Thank Rishi K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dennis B, Leiter Front Office at Grand Hotel National, responded to this reviewResponded July 3, 2014

Dear Mr. Rishi K.,

First of all we want to thank you for your feedback and your comments to your recent stay. It is important to us in order to continuesley improve our services.

We regret that the services provided did not met your expectations during your recent stay. Our room service is more than happy to serve you quickly the menus from our Room Service Card but needs more time to prepare the dishes you brought with you.

Regarding the housekeeping service we always take care to clean the rooms during hours you are not in the room and you also have the possibility to use the Do not disturb or Make up my room doorhangers provided at the room door.

We regret that your expectations were not met and we would appreciate to welcome you and your family back in Lucerne for another occasion.

With kind regards

Front Office
Grand Hotel National

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lucerne hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel Schweizerhof Luzern
0.6 mi away
Hotel des Balances
Hotel des Balances
#5 of 67 in Lucerne
1,130 reviews
0.2 mi away
Art Deco Hotel Montana Luzern
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel des Alpes
Hotel des Alpes
#10 of 67 in Lucerne
1,025 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Hotel Lucerne, Autograph Collection
0.6 mi away
Renaissance Lucerne Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel National? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel National

Address: Haldenstrasse 4, Lucerne 6006, Switzerland
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Lucerne > Lucerne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#12 Romantic Hotel in Lucerne
#14 Family Hotel in Lucerne
#14 Luxury Hotel in Lucerne
Price Range: $249 - $479 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Grand Hotel National 5*
Number of rooms: 41
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We endeavour to cater to your every wish by offering sophisticated, personalised service and a sense of hospitality embodied by every member of the hotel staff.The blend of tradition and modernity in our hotel is beyond compare. Inside, the legendary names of the founding fathers, César Ritz and Auguste Escoffier, the elegant neo-renaissance and new baroque architecture and a history stretching back almost 150 years come face to face with contemporary design and sophisticated flair.Our Grand Hotel has it all: luxury accommodation for the most fabulous holidays, the ideal place for social occasions, a springboard for travelling, a gourmet destination, an environment for inspirational events, a mirror of the world... and within our four walls, a lively, very welcoming microcosm.Indulge yourself in Lucerne! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Grand Hotel National reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Lucerne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing