We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely Gorgeous”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Grand Hotel National
Ranked #18 of 68 Hotels in Lucerne
Certificate of Excellence
dubai
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
“Absolutely Gorgeous”
Reviewed November 25, 2012

The Grand Hotel National is amazing and worth every cent. We stayed at the Junioe Suite and did not regret it. The staff were very nice and helpful at all times. The room was lovely with an amazing view of the mountains and lake. Very close to all touristic spots. Would definately stay here again and ABSOLUTELY reccomend it.

Room Tip: spoil yourself and get the junior suite!!! absolutely worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sparrow73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adriana L, Leiter Öffentlichkeitsarbeit at Grand Hotel National, responded to this review, November 28, 2012
Dear Sparrow73

Thank you so much for your nice feedback. We are happy to hear that you have enjoyed your stay with us and that you liked Lucerne.

We look forward to welcome you again to the Grand Hotel National and wish you all the best.

Warm regards

The Grand Hotel National Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

422 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    254
    91
    40
    25
    12
See reviews for
90
211
21
33
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (105)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Rockingham, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed November 8, 2012

The Grand Hotel National hotel is spectacular and just the history of the hotel is enough to make your jaw drop. The service is amazing, and when we checked in the staff had thoughtfully decorated our room with roses, rose petals and champagne! The view of lake Lucerne and the mountains in the background is stunning, as the hotel is situated right on the edge of the river. The hotel ground are exquisite and I only wish I had a few more nights there.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kelly M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adriana L, Leiter Öffentlichkeitsarbeit at Grand Hotel National, responded to this review, November 18, 2012
Dear KFletcher88

First of all we like to thank you for taking the time to share your experience on Tripadvisor.

It is always a pleasure to hear that our guests have enjoyed their stay with us. We have forwarded your nice comment regarding the amazing service to our staff.

We hope to welcome you back to the Grand Hotel National at another time and wish you all the best.

Warm regards from Lucerne

Your Grand Hotel National Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarasota, Florida, United States
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed October 26, 2012

Worth every cent...we upgraded to a balcony room. We overlook Lake Lucerne...HUGE room...hallway closet...large bathroom with tub and separate shower...gorgeous old world elegance while completely rennovated! Excellent service.....close to the old town and covered bridge and shopping...a view to die for...excellent breakfast buffet. And we loved hanging out in the Bar for a lovely light bite of supper and a glass of wine, listening to a fantabulous jazz piano player, making old standards come alive with new interpretations. Walking along the lake, shopping, taking the city tour in the tiny tram....all great! The weather did not allow us to go up Mt Pilatus, but no matter. We had a delicious time in Lucerne and at our Hotel. ..and the photos to prove it!

Room Tip: Balcony...kit size bed..on the Lake view side!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carolyn M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adriana L, Leiter Öffentlichkeitsarbeit at Grand Hotel National, responded to this review, October 31, 2012
Dear Carolyn M

Thank you for your nice feedback.
How great to read that you have enjoyed your stay with us in every way! We appreciate that you took the time to share your experiences here on TripAdvisor. Right now our guest can enjoy the amazing view over the snow covered Alps.

We would be more than happy to welcome you to the Grand Hotel National again.

Warm regards
The Grand Hotel National Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level 5 Contributor
77 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
Reviewed October 3, 2012

In the gentle care of the excellent management and staff of Grand Hotel National in Luzern, Switzerland, I spent a wonderful weekend of understated luxury with friends - the food, entertainment, service, quality of accommodation, leisure facilities and location of the hotel for access to the wonderful city are superb. Hearty thanks and congratulations to all at The Grand for keeping the tradition of quality service and classic style alive with such aplomb!

M Crowley

Room Tip: The junior suite Room 319 was gorgeous, massive balcony overlooking lake and a Nespresso machine in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Morgan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adriana L, Leiter Öffentlichkeitsarbeit at Grand Hotel National, responded to this review, October 5, 2012
Dear Morgan C

Thank you for sharing your great experiences with us. We are very happy to hear that you have enjoyed your stay with us and will forward your nice compliments to our team.
It is always our aim to keep the tradition and history of the hotel present and your comments show that we are successful.

We wish you all the best and it would be our great pleasure to welcoming you again to the Grand Hotel National in the near future.

Warm regards

The Grand Hotel National Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
Reviewed September 29, 2012

We went for honeymoon trip and they prepared beautifully decorated room for us. The hotel is very comfortable, nice view of the lake and very friendly + helpful staff. Highly recommend for people who visit Luzern as this the most memorable experience for us.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kenk3n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adriana L, Leiter Öffentlichkeitsarbeit at Grand Hotel National, responded to this review, October 5, 2012
Dear kenk3n

How nice to hear that the decorated room was a surprise for you and that you had a good stay with us. It is a great honor for us to be a part of your honeymoon memories. We wish you all the best for the future and many nice experiences.

Thank you that you stayed with us and took the time to give us your feedback. We are looking forward to welcoming you again to the Grand Hotel National.

Warm regards

The Grand Hotel National Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dixon, California
Level 6 Contributor
107 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed September 24, 2012

I started to miss this hotel before we even checked out. It is Grand in every sense of the word. We spent 3 fabulous days here soaking up the luxury and glorious charm established by Cesar Ritz in 1877. The property still feels like a Ritz. The hotel's history is fascinating and well worth the read in the literature. The location could not be better, we had a wonderful view of the lake and Mt. Pilatus. This hotel has been well cared for and has been updated in a way that only preserves the original character and beauty. We are already looking forward to our next trip to Lucerne and another stay at the Hotel Grand National Lucerne.

Room Tip: If you can swing it, do splurge for a room with a lake view, it is fabulous.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Blacktieranch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adriana L, Leiter Öffentlichkeitsarbeit at Grand Hotel National, responded to this review, September 26, 2012
Dear Blacktieranch

Thank you for your review here on TripAdvisor. What a great feedback for our traditional hotel. We are happy to hear that you have enjoyed your stay in every way with us.

It would be our great pleasure to welcoming you again to the Grand Hotel National in the future and we wish you all the best and a colorful autumn.

Warm regards

The Grand Hotel National Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kfar Saba, Israel
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 22, 2012

Although its not really grand (only 41 rooms) the hotel is amazing.
Grand rooms indeed, beatifual lobby, nice pool and amazing lake view.
We found friendly staff who put us a personal letter upon arrival and chocaltes each morning.

It is not a cheap stay, however through Booking.com we found 275 chf per night rate which is only slightly more expensive than 4 star hotels.

Located on a main street, 10 min walk from Luzern BHF and just across the casino this place is great!.

Room Tip: Ask for lake view. We got it for free since the hotel was not fully booked.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Assaf C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adriana L, Leiter Öffentlichkeitsarbeit at Grand Hotel National, responded to this review, September 26, 2012
Dear Assaf C

Thank you that you took the time to share your experience. Your compliments will be forwarded to our staff. It’s nice to hear that you have had a great time in Lucerne and keep it in good memory.

We look forward to welcoming you again to the Grand Hotel National and wish you all the best.

Warm regards

The Grand Hotel National Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lucerne hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel Schweizerhof Luzern
0.6 mi away
Hotel des Balances
Hotel des Balances
#5 of 68 in Lucerne
1,070 reviews
0.2 mi away
Art Deco Hotel Montana Luzern
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Renaissance Lucerne Hotel
0.4 mi away
Hotel des Alpes
Hotel des Alpes
#9 of 68 in Lucerne
970 reviews
0.7 mi away
CASCADA Hotel
CASCADA Hotel
#7 of 68 in Lucerne
920 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel National? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel National

Property: Grand Hotel National
Address: Haldenstrasse 4, Lucerne 6006, Switzerland
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Lucerne > Lucerne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#12 Romantic Hotel in Lucerne
#14 Family Hotel in Lucerne
#14 Luxury Hotel in Lucerne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Grand Hotel National 5*
Number of rooms: 41
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We endeavour to cater to your every wish by offering sophisticated, personalised service and a sense of hospitality embodied by every member of the hotel staff.The blend of tradition and modernity in our hotel is beyond compare. Inside, the legendary names of the founding fathers, César Ritz and Auguste Escoffier, the elegant neo-renaissance and new baroque architecture and a history stretching back almost 150 years come face to face with contemporary design and sophisticated flair.Our Grand Hotel has it all: luxury accommodation for the most fabulous holidays, the ideal place for social occasions, a springboard for travelling, a gourmet destination, an environment for inspirational events, a mirror of the world... and within our four walls, a lively, very welcoming microcosm.Indulge yourself in Lucerne! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Orbitz, Travelocity, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Hotwire, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Grand Hotel National reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Lucerne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing