We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Classic elegance at Grand Hotel National”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Grand Hotel National
Ranked #20 of 68 Hotels in Lucerne
Certificate of Excellence
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
75 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
“Classic elegance at Grand Hotel National”
Reviewed October 3, 2012

In the gentle care of the excellent management and staff of Grand Hotel National in Luzern, Switzerland, I spent a wonderful weekend of understated luxury with friends - the food, entertainment, service, quality of accommodation, leisure facilities and location of the hotel for access to the wonderful city are superb. Hearty thanks and congratulations to all at The Grand for keeping the tradition of quality service and classic style alive with such aplomb!

M Crowley

Room Tip: The junior suite Room 319 was gorgeous, massive balcony overlooking lake and a Nespresso machine in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Morgan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adriana L, Leiter Öffentlichkeitsarbeit at Grand Hotel National, responded to this review, October 5, 2012
Dear Morgan C

Thank you for sharing your great experiences with us. We are very happy to hear that you have enjoyed your stay with us and will forward your nice compliments to our team.
It is always our aim to keep the tradition and history of the hotel present and your comments show that we are successful.

We wish you all the best and it would be our great pleasure to welcoming you again to the Grand Hotel National in the near future.

Warm regards

The Grand Hotel National Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

399 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    245
    81
    37
    24
    12
See reviews for
81
199
22
32
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (96)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
Reviewed September 29, 2012

We went for honeymoon trip and they prepared beautifully decorated room for us. The hotel is very comfortable, nice view of the lake and very friendly + helpful staff. Highly recommend for people who visit Luzern as this the most memorable experience for us.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kenk3n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adriana L, Leiter Öffentlichkeitsarbeit at Grand Hotel National, responded to this review, October 5, 2012
Dear kenk3n

How nice to hear that the decorated room was a surprise for you and that you had a good stay with us. It is a great honor for us to be a part of your honeymoon memories. We wish you all the best for the future and many nice experiences.

Thank you that you stayed with us and took the time to give us your feedback. We are looking forward to welcoming you again to the Grand Hotel National.

Warm regards

The Grand Hotel National Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dixon, California
Level Contributor
107 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed September 24, 2012

I started to miss this hotel before we even checked out. It is Grand in every sense of the word. We spent 3 fabulous days here soaking up the luxury and glorious charm established by Cesar Ritz in 1877. The property still feels like a Ritz. The hotel's history is fascinating and well worth the read in the literature. The location could not be better, we had a wonderful view of the lake and Mt. Pilatus. This hotel has been well cared for and has been updated in a way that only preserves the original character and beauty. We are already looking forward to our next trip to Lucerne and another stay at the Hotel Grand National Lucerne.

Room Tip: If you can swing it, do splurge for a room with a lake view, it is fabulous.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Blacktieranch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adriana L, Leiter Öffentlichkeitsarbeit at Grand Hotel National, responded to this review, September 26, 2012
Dear Blacktieranch

Thank you for your review here on TripAdvisor. What a great feedback for our traditional hotel. We are happy to hear that you have enjoyed your stay in every way with us.

It would be our great pleasure to welcoming you again to the Grand Hotel National in the future and we wish you all the best and a colorful autumn.

Warm regards

The Grand Hotel National Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kfar Saba, Israel
Level Contributor
16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 22, 2012

Although its not really grand (only 41 rooms) the hotel is amazing.
Grand rooms indeed, beatifual lobby, nice pool and amazing lake view.
We found friendly staff who put us a personal letter upon arrival and chocaltes each morning.

It is not a cheap stay, however through Booking.com we found 275 chf per night rate which is only slightly more expensive than 4 star hotels.

Located on a main street, 10 min walk from Luzern BHF and just across the casino this place is great!.

Room Tip: Ask for lake view. We got it for free since the hotel was not fully booked.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Assaf C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adriana L, Leiter Öffentlichkeitsarbeit at Grand Hotel National, responded to this review, September 26, 2012
Dear Assaf C

Thank you that you took the time to share your experience. Your compliments will be forwarded to our staff. It’s nice to hear that you have had a great time in Lucerne and keep it in good memory.

We look forward to welcoming you again to the Grand Hotel National and wish you all the best.

Warm regards

The Grand Hotel National Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hertfordshire
Level Contributor
50 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed September 14, 2012

I have always wanted to sample one of the traditional grand hotels of Europe. Normally my tastes are somewhat less extravagant. However, having decided to stay in Lucerne for three days at the end of a longer holiday in Switzerland, my wife and I decided to sample one of the traditional grand hotels on the lakefront. So after perusing Tripadvisor, we chose this one. On arrival we were persuaded to upgrade to a larger room than the one we had booked; apparently it also boasted a larger balcony. In retrospect I should have asked to see the two rooms before deciding,because when we were shown into the room it did not actually seem particularly large. On the other hand it was decidedly luxurious, with plush furnishings and a superb bathroom. And the balcony was indeed well worth paying extra for. It had a table and four chairs and an incomparable view of the lake with majestic Mount Pilatus beyond. During the course of the next three days we spent some considerable time just relaxing there.

Breakfast was buffet-style, with plenty to choose from, but I have to say that it was not markedly different from other Swiss hotels I have stayed in. We did not eat any other meals in the hotel.

On our third and final evening the toilet in our bathroom packed up. When we reported this to the front desk in the morning, it was immediately repaired whilst we had breakfast - and the upgrade cost for one of the three nights was refunded. That was a nice touch, and precisely what I would have asked for had it not been offered.

In summary, we enjoyed our stay in the Grand Hotel National, mainly on account of the superb balcony and its wonderful view. We were very lucky with the weather during our stay: clear blue skies and nice and warm, so we could really appreciate sitting there and gazing out over the lake, with boats coming and going all the time. Had it been dull and raining we may not have been so relaxed about the cost!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Puffin77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adriana L, Leiter Öffentlichkeitsarbeit at Grand Hotel National, responded to this review, September 21, 2012
Dear Puffin77

Thank you for staying with us. We are happy to hear that you have enjoyed the terrace and the beautiful view over the lake and the Alps from your balcony. Also we appreciate your nice feedback about our problem handling, it is always important for us to have our guests’ leaving the hotel in a happy way.

We wish you all the best and look forward to welcoming you again to the Grand Hotel National.

Warm regards

The Grand Hotel National Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Australia
Level Contributor
31 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed August 26, 2012

This is a beautiful hotel in a perfect location. Located on the lakefront with minutes walk to shops, restaurants and main sights makes the hotel a great choice. The welcome drink and fruit platter were a lovely surprise. The bathroom and amenities are some of the best I have seen in hotels. I would only stay in this hotel again if I booked a lakefront room as the city view room is very small with a view of the road and buildings - very disappointing and not worth the price we paid. Great service by reception staff but very poor service by restaurant staff.

Room Tip: Choose a lakefront room or choose a cheaper hotel as city view room is not worth the $
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cola125
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adriana L, Leiter Öffentlichkeitsarbeit at Grand Hotel National, responded to this review, August 31, 2012
Dear Cola125

Thank you that you took the time to share your experience here on TripAdvisor.

We appreciate your feedback which gives us the chance to improve our service quality to the highest level.

We look forward to welcoming you again to the Grand Hotel National and wish you all the best.

With warm regards

The Grand Hotel National
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Fremantle
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed August 21, 2012

A great hotel with wonderful views and excellent location. We had a wonderful greeting, with complimentary champagne on arrival, a welcoming fruit platter and an informative handover of our room and hotel facilities. The bed was huge and comfortable. Our only complaint was the doona was too hot and we had to turn on the air conditioner (noisy) to sleep comfortably at night. The room was spacious and the bathroom had a shower over the bath. The staff were attentive and very friendly. There was no DVD player or tea/coffee making facilities.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MaryandPeter74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adriana L, Leiter Öffentlichkeitsarbeit at Grand Hotel National, responded to this review, August 24, 2012
Dear MaryandPeter74

Thank you for your compliments and your kind review.

We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay and are keeping the good memories. It would be a great pleasure to welcome you again to the Grand Hotel National.

We wish you a wonderful summer and all the best.

Warm regards

The Grand Hotel National Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lucerne hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel Schweizerhof Luzern
0.6 mi away
Hotel des Balances
Hotel des Balances
#4 of 68 in Lucerne
1,023 reviews
0.2 mi away
Art Deco Hotel Montana Luzern
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel des Alpes
Hotel des Alpes
#9 of 68 in Lucerne
930 reviews
0.6 mi away
Renaissance Lucerne Hotel
0.6 mi away
The Hotel Lucerne, Autograph Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel National? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel National

Property: Grand Hotel National
Address: Haldenstrasse 4, Lucerne 6006, Switzerland
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Lucerne > Lucerne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#12 Romantic Hotel in Lucerne
#14 Family Hotel in Lucerne
#15 Luxury Hotel in Lucerne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Grand Hotel National 5*
Number of rooms: 41
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We endeavour to cater to your every wish by offering sophisticated, personalised service and a sense of hospitality embodied by every member of the hotel staff.The blend of tradition and modernity in our hotel is beyond compare. Inside, the legendary names of the founding fathers, César Ritz and Auguste Escoffier, the elegant neo-renaissance and new baroque architecture and a history stretching back almost 150 years come face to face with contemporary design and sophisticated flair.Our Grand Hotel has it all: luxury accommodation for the most fabulous holidays, the ideal place for social occasions, a springboard for travelling, a gourmet destination, an environment for inspirational events, a mirror of the world... and within our four walls, a lively, very welcoming microcosm.Indulge yourself in Lucerne! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Ctrip TA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Grand Hotel National reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Lucerne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing