We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location near train station”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Continental-Park Hotel
Ranked #12 of 67 Hotels in Lucerne
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 15, 2013

We enjoyed staying at this hotel. We did have an updated room with a small balcony on the corner of the building overlooking the park; however, from other reviews, there seems to be some rooms that are not updated. The room was a nice size and modern in décor. I appreciated the fact the room included an umbrella to use, robes and two blankets to use on the balcony if needed. We really enjoyed sitting on our balcony and sipping some wine, looking at the mountains. (You can buy wine at the Coop grocery store underneath the train station to have in the room if that's something you like to do.) The location is ideal if you are traveling by train. Actually, if you go out the small side exit of the station (down from the burger king and tourist info office, after the blue lockers) vs. the front of the building, you will barely have to walk one block. (Go left when you come out of this exit, and cross the street at the cross walk. The hotel is on the next street.) If you have to leave extra early, as we did, be sure to ask for a breakfast box the night before. At 6:00 a.m. it was waiting for us- filled with a sandwich, juice, water, yogurt, apple and granola bar!

Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Martha S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
continentalpark, Inhaber at Continental-Park Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 30, 2013

Dear Martha S

We thank you very much for your comment on Tripadvisor! Your comment helps us to improve our services.

Best Regards
Alessandro Pedrazzetti
Hotelier

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (578)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

292 - 298 of 578 reviews

Reviewed September 29, 2013

We had a fantastic stay, which was part business, part pleasure. Room was comfortable and very clean. Breakfast was very good (try the pretzel rolls), with made to order eggs and waffles. Our breakfast waiter was such a pleasant man, we enjoyed talking and joking with him each morning! The front desk was helpful. Location across from the train station and right near old town was perfect. Would stay here again.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Norma G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
continentalpark, Inhaber at Continental-Park Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 30, 2013

Dear Norma G

Thank you very much for your wonderful entry on Tripadvisor!

We have passed your entry to our staff.

Best regards from Lucerne

Alessandro Pedrazzett
Hotelier

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 25, 2013

Our one-night stay at the Continental Park Hotel in Luzern met and even surpassed our expectations with one exception, which I will address further in this review.

Located a half-block from the central train station, the hotel is located close enough to the Chapel Bridge and the historic center of Luzern to be able to easily explore on foot. A market is located in the train station so access to less expensive things like water, fruit, and snacks is close and easy. We arrived by auto, and checked in smoothly. Parking is available in the hotel’s underground parkade for a daily cost of CHF 24, which is an expensive rate everywhere in the world except Switzerland and New York City.

We were given a very nicely appointed newly renovated “Pilatus” room in the northwest side of the hotel overlooking the park. The room was large and stylis, featuring light-colored walls and ceiling and populated with wood-grain desk and leather furniture. Three windows opened out to a view of the park and Mt. Pilatus (thus, presumably, the name of the room). The room was quite warm when we arrived, and from what we understood Swiss laws do not allow arctic-like air conditioning, but after having the windows open for a while things cooled off. The modern bathroom featured a tub & shower, and housecoats and slippers were provided. Bed and pillows were quite comfortable, and should have led to a good night’s sleep. However, the room is also very close to the bell tower of the neighboring church and the ringing of the church bells four times an hour through the night did little to promote a good rest, especially if you are a light sleeper. I realize that this has nothing to do with the hotel, but had we known this detail we might have requested a room in a separate part of the hotel. Please understand this caveat when looking at how I rated sleep quality – it had nothing to do with the comfort of the beds or the temperature of the room.

Breakfast was excellent and plentiful, featuring a hot buffet but also including a wide variety of “continental” fare such as baking, cold cuts, fruits, and cereals.

Staff were friendly, and answered all our questions about Luzern with helpful information and advice.

Finally, upon our return to North America I began the process of going through our expenses, receipts, etc. when I noticed an irregularity with our booking with the Continental Park. When I booked the room through a popular booking site affiliated with Trip Advisor I had reserved a junior suite, and the booking was confirmed. I thought nothing of this during our stay, but upon reviewing the information available it became evident that we had been placed in a “Pilatus” room, but had paid for a junior suite when we checked out – a price difference of CHF 64. I contacted the hotel through their web site, and promptly received a return email acknowledging the mix-up. The difference in room price was credited to my credit card, and I consider this to be outstanding customer service.

To summarize, the location of the property combined with the excellent accommodations and superior customer service prompts me to recommend the Continental Park hotel without hesitation.

Room Tip: Note that the "Pilatus" room(s) are adjacent to the neighboring church's bell tower, w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Doug_Bowles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
continentalpark, Inhaber at Continental-Park Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 30, 2013

Dear Mr. Bowles

Thank you very much for your helpeful comment on Tripadvisor! wich gives us effort to be better every day!

Best Regards from Lucerne

Alessandro Pedrazzetti
Hotelier

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 20, 2013

Clean, comfortable hotel. Rooms are a little dated but nice enough. Breakfast is ok, mostly breads, cereals and some bacon etc. Great location, across the street fom the train station and a 5 minute walk to the historic centre and the lake where just about everything is. Free wifi which came in very handy. Would definitely stay here again, although it is on the expensive side. Only complaint, we had to pay 60 swiss francs extra each night because my daughter stayed in one of the rooms with us.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Cjkncat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
continentalpark, Inhaber at Continental-Park Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 30, 2013

Dear Cjkncat

Thank you for your entry on Tripadvisor, wich helps us to improve every day our services!

Best Regards

Alessandro Pedrazzetti
Hotelier

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 7, 2013

Let me start with good things first about this hotel. A few steps from the railway station is the key plus point. While the staff at the reception was just about ok in terms of courtesy, the staff at the restaurant (breakfast buffett time) was really superb.
Now the things that were not good about the hotel; our room was on top floor ... for sure a bad selction. Anyway the room was compact but incline on the top reduced the space further in the room. I had booked the room with an extra bed for the child and this kind of room allocation was uncalled for.

The room had mere basic amenities and definitely lacked the look and feel of a 4 star hotel.

Room Tip: Avoid the rooms on the top floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sandee143
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
continentalpark, Inhaber at Continental-Park Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 30, 2013

Dear Sandee

Thank you for your helpefoul comment on Tripadvisor wich we are taking very seriously!

Best Regards from Lucerne

Alessandro Pedrazzetti
Hotelier

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 15, 2013

I stayed in Continental Park for one night. The restaurant in the hotel was quite slow. Food took ages to come to my table. The service was quite average.

The beds were quite hard. I did not sleep too well.

Luggage handling was extremely slow. For a 4 star hotel I would have expected better.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank warpa95
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
continentalpark, Inhaber at Continental-Park Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 30, 2013

Dear warpa95

Thank you for your comment on Tripadvisor! It would be very helpfoul to know if you were travelling with a tour or as an individual traveler.
Our rooms have no old refurbishment. The mattress in the rooms are new and we know that not every guest has the same taste for hart or soft mattress.

Best Regards

Alessandro Pedrazzetti
Hotelier

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 12, 2013

We were traveling with our children - 5 and 7 - and booked the "family room," which was one of the few rooms that could accommodate four. We ordered a roll-away bed, which was an additional 30 Euros per night. We stayed for three neights at nearly $1K USD. This was not worth it. Our room was small and needed to be updated. There were spots on the rugs. My husband found a "junior suite" on-line that showed availability at the Hotel. However, when he spoke to the front desk, they indicated it was not available. Regardless of letting them know we weren't happy, the staff was not helpful. With a 48 hour cancellation policy, we were stuck there for our stay.

The breakfast buffet was good, though. Good location. The updated rooms may have been nicer.

Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
Thank Amy_loves_travels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
continentalpark, Inhaber at Continental-Park Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 29, 2015

Dear Amy_loves_travels, We would like to get back to your feedback and apologies for the late reply. We are happy to inform you that since April this year all rooms have been renovated. We are disappointed that the front desk team did not offer you the junior suite as an upgrade. However we do also have a lot of new employees since you stayed with us and offer them many intern and extern trainings to guarantee hospitality with heart! We hope to receive a second chance and welcoming you and your family again one day. Sunny regards from Lucerne, Alessandro Pedrazzetti, Hotelier & the Continental-Park team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lucerne hotels
0.1 mi away
Ameron Hotel Flora Luzern
0.2 mi away
CASCADA Hotel
CASCADA Hotel
#7 of 67 in Lucerne
960 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel des Alpes
Hotel des Alpes
#10 of 67 in Lucerne
1,025 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Renaissance Lucerne Hotel
0.3 mi away
Hotel des Balances
Hotel des Balances
#5 of 67 in Lucerne
1,131 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Waldstatterhof
Hotel Waldstatterhof
#11 of 67 in Lucerne
1,085 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Continental-Park Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Continental-Park Hotel

Address: Murbacherstrasse 4 | 6002 Luzern, Lucerne 6003, Switzerland
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Lucerne > Lucerne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Luxury Hotel in Lucerne
#12 Family Hotel in Lucerne
#15 Romantic Hotel in Lucerne
#21 Business Hotel in Lucerne
Price Range: $157 - $293 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Continental-Park Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 92
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The individual and seminar hotel Continental-Park is a modern and stylish establishment, family-owned, characterized by personal commitment and human warmth. Free W-Lan/WiFi with unlimited broadband throughout the hotel. Private garage. Excellent location opposite station and city park, 2 to 3 min. Walk to KKL and lake. 92 Bright, elegant and quiet rooms with air condition provide a feeling of wellbeing. The furnishing is impressive and deliberately adapted to the guests requirements. The well thought-out seminar and conference facilities impress with generous rooms, with a total of 460 sqm, without pillars, with flexible walls, daylight, expert advice and professional care. We are always on the ball when it comes to helping with the accompanying programme.In the "bellini Ristorante Ticinese" we take our guests to present-day Ticino. Here, you can enjoy original dishes and fine wines in a dignified atmosphere. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, World Independent Hotel Promotion, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Ctrip TA, Cancelon, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Continental-Park Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Continental Park Lucerne
Hotel Continental Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing