We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good spot and nice rooms”
Review of Baslertor Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Baslertor Hotel
Ranked #64 of 67 Hotels in Lucerne
Reviewed October 18, 2012

showed up at the train station and went to the tourist office to look for a room for myslef, wife, and three small children. had no choice but to book the room as the kiddies were losing it, and at just under 200$ a night it was the best deal going as far as looking online. great staff, the room was not large, but its Europe. the sheets and pillows were nice and the breakfast was great, especially since all my children could eat for free. and the location is the best. quiet , yet in the heart of old town. A nice little bar were locals hang out , the pool was cool but it was cold outside, but looks to be real nice in the summer. I would stay here again.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wncpermit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (152)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

52 - 58 of 152 reviews

Reviewed October 7, 2012

This hotel was recommended by Rick Steves and we were glad we followed his advice. Spent two nights at this very clean, comfortable, and quiet hotel in a great location in Luzern. Our room was large, roomy, and attractive with a very nice bathroom. The staff was pleasant and helpful, and we liked the owner, Roland. There is a pool in the back part of the hotel, plus a nice looking bar. We were within walking distance of most of the major sights in Luzern. We would definitely recommend this hotel to others. The only down side was the family that was staying in the room across from us...there were at least five of them in the room and they let their kids run rampant in the hallway, which included knocking on our door on more than one occasion. This of course, was not the fault of the hotel, just rude guests.

Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
Thank MiknMin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 17, 2012

We stayed last July for two nights. It´s an excellent location. 10 meters from the main river and on the spot for all main tourist attraction in the old town. 3 blocks from the train station. Breakfast is very good. The room we had was for 4. Not too big, but it has a terrace to go out. It´s so conveniently locate that we came for a break after lunch and used the swimming pool and jacuzzi for a while. It´s not a luxury hotel, but it has evrything you need to rest and leave early to know the city walking.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Valeria T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 12, 2012

Booked this hotel for central location at a reasonable price - which is what I got.

Room was small, bathroom small and with only decent ammenities. Bugs and flies in the room was a battle-before-bedtime that I could have been without. ALso, small tiny black flies was crawling around my bedsheets - not accaptable!. Never got access to the Wifi although the hotel claimed this was available (no APN, password was wrong)

Be aware - everything in Luzern/Lucerne is costly as this is basically a tourist city. So did the additional hotel breakfast (£18 - AVOID!) which the receptionist pushed quite heavily. at €18 it is NOT woth the money (for instance claiming 4 kinds of different coffee - its al the same machine!)
If you want your luggage stored for late checkout - €5, if you want additional beddings/towels - €5, if you need anything at this hotel - it costs money.

Great location for nearby lake, dinning in tourists attractions - - but thats it!

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MortenDK123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 9, 2012

Having stayed in two other hotels in Lucerne in the past this one is definitely better than the other two. The room was clean and bigger than the other places although not large. Shower in the short hall way behind the entrance door is "unique" but functional, leaving a very small "bathroom" for the toilet and wash basin. All in all still OK. No food allowed in the room which is a bit odd and therefore no room service which is also a bit odd for a hotel. No laundry service (not that we needed it). Breakfast was again OK but one of these rather odd systems where almost everything on offer is packaged and coffee dispensed from a what looked like a real coffee maker was all instant coffee with powdered milk. A real disappointment. At least the bread and fruit was not packed! As I said, compared to the other two places we have stayed this place is much better and we would stay here again. If you want more be prepared to pay more. It is that simple when it comes to accommodation in Lucerne.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank frankvassallo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 2, 2012

Switzerland is an expensive country to visit. And while it took some time to get over the sticker shock of our stay here, this hotel is one of the more reasonably priced with a great location in Lucerne.
Our room was comfortable but not fancy. We had great views from our windows overlooking the river area and old town. The bathroom with shower was relatively spacious.
The hotel is within easy walking distance (and a very scenic walk) from the train station, and close to the city center and city wall. There is a great little pastry shop next door. We skipped the hotel breakfast (not included with room) and enjoyed a great light breakfast there.
Overall, the hotel met our needs: clean, comfortable and centrally located place to sleep in a beautiful town.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ed-dest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 16, 2012

My family and I stayed here on our European vacation this summer and of all the places we stayed this was the least desirable. Upon finding the Roesli Guest house it was not difficult to find where to check in it was down the road a bit, bit it is not very intuitive that is for sure. When we finally found were we really needed to check it we walked in and were greeted by what I think was the owner. Well for starters he was very curt and abrupt to say the least even after my Dad presented him with a gift from our State of Utah in the United States. I felt like he was doing the bare minimum to get us on our way. We were then "upgraded" to a room in that building and I would hate to see what we were "upgraded" from. I realize that rooms are much smaller in Europe as I have been to Europe many times but this was even smaller than rooms we stayed in Italy. The pool area is nice and the hot tub is nice but make sure to bring your wetsuit as the pool is not heated and it was a bit cold that day and I got into the pool and remember in the movie Total Recall with Arnold in it and that part where he is exposed to the atmosphere of mars? Well that is what it felt like, if you don't know what I am talking about check it out. You are not allowed to have food in your room and the breakfast is very expensive. The price is reasonable and the the location is ok as well but if I had my way I would avoid this hotel and spend more money and try some place else.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank thepopcornpriest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lucerne hotels
0.0 mi away
Hotel Pension Rosli
Hotel Pension Rosli
#58 of 67 in Lucerne
102 reviews
0.4 mi away
Continental-Park Hotel
Continental-Park Hotel
#12 of 67 in Lucerne
578 reviews
2.3 mi away
Kurhotel Sonnmatt
Kurhotel Sonnmatt
#51 of 67 in Lucerne
26 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Krone Luzern
Hotel Krone Luzern
#17 of 67 in Lucerne
486 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Waldstatterhof
Hotel Waldstatterhof
#11 of 67 in Lucerne
1,084 reviews
0.7 mi away
Grand Hotel National
Grand Hotel National
#19 of 67 in Lucerne
432 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Baslertor Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Baslertor Hotel

Address: Pfistergasse 17, Lucerne 6003, Switzerland
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Lucerne > Lucerne
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #64 of 67 Hotels in Lucerne
Price Range: $126 - $308 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Baslertor Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Agoda, Orbitz, HostelWorld, Cancelon, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and TripOnline SA so you can book your Baslertor Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Baslertor Hotel Lucerne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing