We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Baslertor Hotel”
Review of Baslertor Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Baslertor Hotel
Ranked #62 of 68 Hotels in Lucerne
Santiago, Chile
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Baslertor Hotel”
Reviewed August 17, 2012

We stayed last July for two nights. It´s an excellent location. 10 meters from the main river and on the spot for all main tourist attraction in the old town. 3 blocks from the train station. Breakfast is very good. The room we had was for 4. Not too big, but it has a terrace to go out. It´s so conveniently locate that we came for a break after lunch and used the swimming pool and jacuzzi for a while. It´s not a luxury hotel, but it has evrything you need to rest and leave early to know the city walking.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Valeria T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

144 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    6
    39
    46
    22
    31
See reviews for
46
43
6
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Copenhagen
Level Contributor
189 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
Reviewed August 12, 2012

Booked this hotel for central location at a reasonable price - which is what I got.

Room was small, bathroom small and with only decent ammenities. Bugs and flies in the room was a battle-before-bedtime that I could have been without. ALso, small tiny black flies was crawling around my bedsheets - not accaptable!. Never got access to the Wifi although the hotel claimed this was available (no APN, password was wrong)

Be aware - everything in Luzern/Lucerne is costly as this is basically a tourist city. So did the additional hotel breakfast (£18 - AVOID!) which the receptionist pushed quite heavily. at €18 it is NOT woth the money (for instance claiming 4 kinds of different coffee - its al the same machine!)
If you want your luggage stored for late checkout - €5, if you want additional beddings/towels - €5, if you need anything at this hotel - it costs money.

Great location for nearby lake, dinning in tourists attractions - - but thats it!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MortenDK123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Lucerne hotels

Neumunster, Germany
Level Contributor
214 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed August 9, 2012

Having stayed in two other hotels in Lucerne in the past this one is definitely better than the other two. The room was clean and bigger than the other places although not large. Shower in the short hall way behind the entrance door is "unique" but functional, leaving a very small "bathroom" for the toilet and wash basin. All in all still OK. No food allowed in the room which is a bit odd and therefore no room service which is also a bit odd for a hotel. No laundry service (not that we needed it). Breakfast was again OK but one of these rather odd systems where almost everything on offer is packaged and coffee dispensed from a what looked like a real coffee maker was all instant coffee with powdered milk. A real disappointment. At least the bread and fruit was not packed! As I said, compared to the other two places we have stayed this place is much better and we would stay here again. If you want more be prepared to pay more. It is that simple when it comes to accommodation in Lucerne.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank frankvassallo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lawrence, Kansas
Level Contributor
124 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed August 2, 2012

Switzerland is an expensive country to visit. And while it took some time to get over the sticker shock of our stay here, this hotel is one of the more reasonably priced with a great location in Lucerne.
Our room was comfortable but not fancy. We had great views from our windows overlooking the river area and old town. The bathroom with shower was relatively spacious.
The hotel is within easy walking distance (and a very scenic walk) from the train station, and close to the city center and city wall. There is a great little pastry shop next door. We skipped the hotel breakfast (not included with room) and enjoyed a great light breakfast there.
Overall, the hotel met our needs: clean, comfortable and centrally located place to sleep in a beautiful town.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ed-dest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ogden, Utah
Level Contributor
22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed July 16, 2012

My family and I stayed here on our European vacation this summer and of all the places we stayed this was the least desirable. Upon finding the Roesli Guest house it was not difficult to find where to check in it was down the road a bit, bit it is not very intuitive that is for sure. When we finally found were we really needed to check it we walked in and were greeted by what I think was the owner. Well for starters he was very curt and abrupt to say the least even after my Dad presented him with a gift from our State of Utah in the United States. I felt like he was doing the bare minimum to get us on our way. We were then "upgraded" to a room in that building and I would hate to see what we were "upgraded" from. I realize that rooms are much smaller in Europe as I have been to Europe many times but this was even smaller than rooms we stayed in Italy. The pool area is nice and the hot tub is nice but make sure to bring your wetsuit as the pool is not heated and it was a bit cold that day and I got into the pool and remember in the movie Total Recall with Arnold in it and that part where he is exposed to the atmosphere of mars? Well that is what it felt like, if you don't know what I am talking about check it out. You are not allowed to have food in your room and the breakfast is very expensive. The price is reasonable and the the location is ok as well but if I had my way I would avoid this hotel and spend more money and try some place else.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank thepopcornpriest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ely, Cambs.
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed May 14, 2012

We've stayed in a dozen Lucerne hotels since 1955, and although this is the most modest, it's far from the worst. Our room was clean, the beds were comfortable, and though small, the room was full of light. Frankly it's about 50% of the quality of Des Balances or Wilde Mann, in the same interesting neighborhood, and 25% of the price. It's an old hotel and could do with a major makeover, but that would force a price change. The desk people were friendly to us and had good suggestions about parking and eating options. Lucerne is a great town that shouldn't be missed, but it has priced itself out of most middle-class traveler's budgets. The Baslertor is one of very few reasonable options left. Please don't rule it out without taking a look.

Room Tip: We arrived expecting to be treated as guests and we were. The women at the desk were fine, the man...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wyssor1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lucerne hotels
0.0 mi away
Hotel Pension Rosli
Hotel Pension Rosli
#59 of 68 in Lucerne
97 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Schlussel
Hotel Schlussel
#40 of 68 in Lucerne
40 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Stern Luzern
Hotel Stern Luzern
#33 of 68 in Lucerne
214 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Wilden Mann
Hotel Wilden Mann
#6 of 68 in Lucerne
440 reviews
0.2 mi away
Boutique Hotel weisses Kreuz
0.2 mi away
Hotel Magic
Hotel Magic
#44 of 68 in Lucerne
163 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Baslertor Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Baslertor Hotel

Property: Baslertor Hotel
Address: Pfistergasse 17, Lucerne 6003, Switzerland
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Lucerne > Lucerne
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #62 of 68 Hotels in Lucerne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Baslertor Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotel.de, Travelocity, Priceline, HostelWorld, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and HRS so you can book your Baslertor Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Baslertor Hotel Lucerne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing