We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great location, very convenient for sightseeing” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Monopol Luzern

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Monopol Luzern
Ranked #10 of 69 Hotels in Lucerne
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
169 reviews
85 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
“Great location, very convenient for sightseeing”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 15, 2014

The hotel is just beside the main train station, the pier, and bus stops, so it's very convenient to move around! The room is also very spacious and clean. The staff are friendly and helpful, they even go to lengths of checking whether a tourist site is open, and recommends to ensure we stay warm in the cold weather.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Wendy V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

780 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    359
    260
    97
    31
    33
See reviews for
132
270
96
161
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (98)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
169 reviews
85 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 7, 2014

The hotel is just beside the main train station, and the pier, and so it's very convenient to move around! The room is also very spacious and clean. The staff are friendly and helpful, they even go to lengths of checking whether a tourist site is open, and recommends to ensure we stay warm in the cold weather.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Wendy V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
67 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 25, 2014

An hotel close the station was essential as I was arriving in an unknown city late on Sunday night.

I was pleasantly surprised by the size of the room, the fact that there is a small sofa and the cleanliness of the hotel. The decorations might be slightly old fashioned but everything is in very good condition.

Excellent comfortable beds and in the morning a view of the lake down the street.

My only complaint is that the rooms are a bit hot and I needed to keep the window open all night - however the traffic noise has not disturbed me.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MrBok
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 25, 2014

i recently stayed at Hotel Monopol, Luzern. Hotel is 100 years old & is very well maintained.
there was some confusion on my booking --as intially booked 2 single rooms & later wanted one triple room as some one dropped out of trip. This was sorted by staff in a minute for no extra charge. Must say its very well located, bang opposite to Lucerne main railway station & you cant miss it.. if you are on holiday in swiss make lucerne your base & go for Monopol.
breakfast is average & can be improved. rooms are good & spacious with wifi facility. check out was as simple & fast as check in. THANKS !

Room Tip: Take a lake view room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Shireeshkhare
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jurong, Singapore
Level Contributor
79 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 17, 2014 via mobile

Breakfast was okay, staffs was very kind greeted us with a warm good morning. The hotel floors feels cheap, creaking sound when we walk along. Triple sharing bed makes the room small. There was also a bathtub. Pillows was too soft for comfort.

My hotel room was facing the train station building. There was a day when there was 2 strong spotlights above the train station directly beaming the lights into our hotel room, making it difficult to get into sleep. There was shades blinds to cover the lights but it managed to reduce the brightness for about only 40%.

Overall it was a good 2 days stay on 13 and 14 Feb 2014. Near museum and a short walk away is the chapel bridge.

Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank ErY3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sur, Oman
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 16, 2014

We arrived to Lucern by train and this hotel is just next to the station. Very good rooms and service. The location is good as it is very near to the city's station and the market! The serive is good. Although we stayed for one night only, it was a memorable Swiss experience!
Overall very good!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Hunain S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashdod, Israel
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 20, 2014

Excellent location. Minute from train, 5 min from wood bridge, 10 min from old city. Very large and comfortable rooms and toilet - bathroom. Very good breakfast. Finally very good hotel and friendly staff. Recommended strongly for visiting Luzern.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alexander G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lucerne hotels
0.1 mi away
Ameron Hotel Flora Luzern
0.2 mi away
Hotel des Alpes
Hotel des Alpes
#12 of 69 in Lucerne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 883 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Waldstatterhof
Hotel Waldstatterhof
#11 of 69 in Lucerne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 993 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Continental-Park Hotel
Continental-Park Hotel
#9 of 69 in Lucerne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 480 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel des Balances
Hotel des Balances
#5 of 69 in Lucerne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 953 reviews
0.1 mi away
Renaissance Lucerne Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Monopol Luzern? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Monopol Luzern

Property: Hotel Monopol Luzern
Address: Pilatusstrasse 1 | Direkt beim Bahnhof Luzern, Lucerne 6003, Switzerland
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Lucerne > Lucerne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#10 Business Hotel in Lucerne
#10 Luxury Hotel in Lucerne
#11 Romantic Hotel in Lucerne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Monopol Luzern 4*
Number of rooms: 73
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A CORDIAL WELCOME to the Hotel **** MONOPOL Lucerne, directly at the railway station and the KKL Culture and Convention Centre, in the middle of the center, by the lake and the world famous Chapel Bridge, the tourist sites and in the old town. 73 Greatness rooms with bath/shower, toilet, hairdryer, telephone, minibar, safe, Sat-TV and radio. Enjoy the gastronomic experience pure in and around the Hotel MONOPOL. On the top of the hotel, there is the elegant lounge bar SUITE, with most beautiful panorama of the whole city Lucerne. It offers you a view of the lake, the mountains Pilatus, Rigi and Titlis. The special architecturally fascinating Hotel **** MONOPOL is the most historic fascinating hotel from the city. The baroque facade with rococo elements, stocked with the Savonniere stone in 1899 and the columns, the capitals of glided iron, the balcony railing and the beautiful copper dome, give to the hotel a inestimable majestic splendour and looks like a Parisian or Viennese palace. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Expedia so you can book your Hotel Monopol Luzern reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Monopol Swiss q Lucerne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing