We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
2 people are viewing this hotel
Booking.com
$237
View deal
Free cancellation until 12/09/22
Priceline
$143
View deal
Destinia.com
$141
View deal
Vio.com$143
Trip.com$217
ZenHotels.com$165
View all 15 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,507)
Filter reviews
1,507 results
Traveler rating
799
441
155
52
60
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
799
441
155
52
60
Show reviews that mention
All reviews train station great location rooftop bar large windows view of the lake mcdonalds switzerland brigitte fans alpina luggage convenience bridge pilatus
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
598 - 603 of 1,507 reviews
Reviewed November 10, 2012

As I was staying 5 nights in Luzern in late October as a centre for rail travel throughout Switzerland, I needed a comfortable hotel near the railway station. The Monopol fitted this requirement perfectly; the room was spacious, comfortable and very clean and the breakfast gave plenty of choice, with effecient and friendly staff.

Date of stay: October 2012
  • Trip type: Traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Anthony S
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed November 3, 2012

We were undecided whether to give this hotel 3 or 4 stars. The location is great, and our triple room was large and clean. But the rooms have a very dated feel, with sombre decor. Also, the windows are not very soundproof, so it is quite noisy at night. The greatest shame of this hotel is that they have no lobby to speak of. It feels like entering a food court. The staff are friendly, and the breakfast was fine (but nothing special). We enjoyed our stay, but in terms of value for money, one could probably do better.

Room tip: Ask for a room with a view of the lake, if possible.
Date of stay: October 2012
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank newvila
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Hotel_MONOPOL_Luzern, Manager at Hotel Monopol Luzern, responded to this reviewResponded April 13, 2013

Dear the4newmans,

We thank you very much for your feedback. Our hotel rooms were renovated 10 years ago and these can not yet be out of date. The art of room furnishing is a matter of taste. However, it was seen in the rooms refurbishment that they are classically elegant. Perlmuth-colored light-colored walls, brown-gray furniture with gold border, beige-brown desk chairs, beige fauteuills and sofas, shiny mirrors behind wall lights, white bedding linen, white-bright day curtains, red carpets, light gray table tops, all in all not really too dark.

The windows are soundproof and heat isolating. When the windows are closed, it's quiet even at our central location. With the windows open, it is in the center of course not very quiet. But we have quiet courtyard rooms.

In two places, we have a lobby in our hotel. At the entrance to the right side, followed by the reception, and after the reception, it has a second lobby. By the entrance there is on the left hand side the Starbucks Coffee restaurant, which highly value our international guests.

Thanks for the good feedback that the staff was friendly and helpful. I am happy to inform them about your feedback.

The price-performance range corresponds Lucerne values. That the room in the world famous city of Lucerne can not compare with a mountain village, was founded with the very expensive land prices in Lucerne.

We would be very pleased to welcome you again in our hotel Monopol in Lucerne.

Very, very best wishes

Brigitte Heller
Hotel General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 30, 2012

I had read the reviews prior to booking, and hesitated to book, but I wanted something really close to the train station and this hotel fit the bill. The check in staff was very welcoming and everything went well with my check-in. We had a quiet room on the 6th floor, but our view was an interior view of the rooms on the other side of the hotel. It was a little loud from the rooftop lounge, but not too bad.

The room and bathroom were very generous in size. However, the decor is very dated. The room could definitely use some updating. There is a flat screen T.V. and a few English speaking stations. The bed was comfortable and the toiletries were adequate. There is a hair dryer, but you had to hold down the power button the whole time you used it which was annoying.

The breakfast was very average and if it wasn't included I wouldn't pay for it. There is no free wi-fi, but there is a Starbucks on the main floor and it was easy to access the internet from there.

The location was excellent. We were able to walk all over Lucerne and catch our excursion at the Travel Bureau at the train station. Staying here enable us to avoid taxi charges to/from the train station as it was right across the street.

Date of stay: October 2012
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Christine T
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed October 14, 2012

Spent 5 nights in this four star hotel, the rooms were generously sized and included a Bath in the bathroom. This hotel was clearly aimed at Business use and for this it was excellent, the location nest to the station and very close to the KKL was great. Breakfast was pretty average, and the atmostphere was not great. It suited my needs.

Room tip: Avoid rooms with a View - far too noisey at night
Date of stay: October 2012
  • Trip type: Traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ncompass
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed October 7, 2012

Date of stay: October 2012
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of Tripadvisor LLC nor of its partners. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
View more reviews