We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (637)
Filter reviews
637 results
Traveler rating
157
265
144
52
19
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
157
265
144
52
19
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsrooftop barla cucinatrafalgar tourmodern hotelold towntrain stationchapel bridgetop floorfloor to ceiling windowsnespresso machine in the roomthe penthousewithin walking distancecentral locationcorner roomlarge bathroomtwo nightsbuffet breakfast
Filter
Updating list...
258 - 263 of 637 reviews
Reviewed November 8, 2015

Stayed two nights on a coach tour from Rome to Paris. Great room, with modern amenities, comfortable bed and useful bathroom. Lovely rooftop bar will be a little cold in winter! Near all attractions, across the featured old bridge from main shopping. Walking distance and safe area.

  • Stayed: October 2015, traveled as a couple
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dynaman50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
astorialuzern, Quality Management at Hotel Astoria, responded to this reviewResponded November 16, 2015

Dear dynaman50

Thank you for your detailed and interesting review about your experience at the Hotel Astoria. We are very happy that you appreciated our delivered service as a whole. It is our everyday passion to give guests a great time; starting at the entrance and finishing as a positive and memorable experience.

Once again we thank you for your great feedback and would be pleased to welcome you again at the Hotel Astoria Lucerne!

Yours sincerely,

Sheila
Quality Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 4, 2015

We had a corner room and it was about twice the size of our friends' room next to our room. They thought their room was nice - we thought our room was wonderful! The bed was nice, the sofa was pretty, but just the extra floor space was wonderful!

Room Tip: Ask for a corner room.
  • Stayed: July 2015, traveled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank janetrW7614FP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
astorialuzern, Quality Management at Hotel Astoria, responded to this reviewResponded November 16, 2015

Dear Janet R

Thank you for your wonderful feedback here on TripAdvisor and your stay at the Hotel Astoria. The Hotel Astoria team is happy to read, that you had an enjoyable time in our house.

We are looking forward to welcoming you soon again at the Hotel Astoria Luzern!

Best regards,

Sheila
Quality Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 3, 2015

This hotel only received average because of its location and a Nespresso maker in the room. The room itself is very basic, I was with a group.....compared to other hotels we've stayed in Switzerland, their "buffet" breakfast was not impressive at all.....just basic and the bacon was so under cooked it was jiggly
,

  • Stayed: November 2015, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank mykynoslady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
astorialuzern, Quality Management at Hotel Astoria, responded to this reviewResponded November 4, 2015

Dear mykynoslady

We would like to thank you for your stay at our Hotel Astoria in Lucerne and your feedback on TripAdvisor. We are glad that you enjoyed our central location and Nespresso maker. Even more we regret that the breakfast has not permitted you. We have already informed our Food & Beverage department.

Once again, we thank you for your honest words and hope to serve you again in one of our hotels or restaurants!

Yours sincerely,

Sheila
Quality Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 23, 2015

I am so disappointed that I couldn't give this hotel a better rating. It is in a great location, just a few minutes walk to town. There are lots of eating options around, the sleep quality is great, the room was spacious, it was clean, the bathroom roomy. The staff were friendly and efficient. The room even had a Nespresso machine. The room had a safe and the fridge still had room for your own things and wifi was included - so what's the problem -

No door on the the bathroom, and just frosted glass between the room and the bathroom toilet area.

Regardless of how trendy they think this is, this is a deal breaker - especially when their website and booking.com boasts 'private bathrooms'. The no door on the bathroom should be warned up front so people can make an informed decision. Once you are here it is pretty much too late to make a fuss.

If this standard feature (doors to the bathroom / toilet area) existed in this hotel it would be 4 , possibly 5 star. Such a shame.

Unless they were to fit bathroom doors, we would never consider staying here again.

  • Stayed: October 2015, traveled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nlhere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
astorialuzern, Quality Management at Hotel Astoria, responded to this reviewResponded October 27, 2015

Dear msdcairns

We would like to thank you for your stay at our Hotel Astoria in Lucerne and your feedback on TripAdvisor. We are glad that you enjoyed our central location and our service.

The intention of the star architects Herzog & de Meuron was to enlarge the room and create a special sense of being. We know that design is in the eye of the beholder and it always divides humanity into two parties. Therefore we are happy to inform you that on each floor we have seven rooms with bathroom door. For a future stay, please do not hesitate to mention by your reservation that you prefer a room with a bathroom door.

Once again, we thank you for your honest words and hope in spite of all to serve you again in one of our hotels or restaurants!

Yours sincerely,

Sheila
Quality Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 20, 2015 via mobile

Hotel Astoria is unusual in that is contains effectively three separate towers, although each tower is only 7 stories high. You enter from the main lobby area from there you are directed to the separate lifts for each tower. It appeared to me that the double rooms are in one tower and the single and twin rooms in a separate tower. The restaurants and bar are in the wing containing the single rooms. We stayed on a Friday night when the night club area was in full operation but we did not hear any noise in our tower (which was tower one), the club was in tower 3.

The rooms were comfortable and included a spacious bathroom with the shower over the bath.

The room featured a king size bed and also a couch seating area.

The Hotel is in easy walking distance of the main town centre, the railway station was also close by.

I was a little disappointed by the breakfast options which were limited and it was difficult to get tea and coffee. This could easily be improved.

I would definitely stay again given the location.

Stayed: September 2015, traveled as a couple
Thank Camrichi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
astorialuzern, Quality Management at Hotel Astoria, responded to this reviewResponded October 21, 2015

Dear Camrichi

Thank you for your detailed and interesting review about your experience at the Hotel Astoria. The Hotel Astoria team is happy to read, that you had an enjoyable time in our house.

Regarding your breakfast, it seems that a lot went wrong. Please accept our sincere apologies for this inconvenience. We have already informed our Food & Beverage department in order to improve the variety in the future.

Once again we thank you for your feedback and would be pleased to welcome you again soon at the Hotel Astoria Lucerne!

Yours sincerely,

Sheila
Quality Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews