We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel, Great Location, Great People”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Renaissance Lucerne Hotel
Ranked #8 of 68 Hotels in Lucerne
Certificate of Excellence
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Great Hotel, Great Location, Great People”
Reviewed April 29, 2014

We had a great time at this hotel. The hotel had a good blend of the cushy amenities we American's are accustomed to, a little old school European classiness and very helpful staff--who encouraged us to enjoy handfuls of their Swiss chocolate at the front desk. And, it's conveniently located near the river and the old town. This was a favorite spot for us.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank srmcel1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

889 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    481
    309
    63
    24
    12
See reviews for
187
461
26
85
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (198)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Landstuhl, Germany
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed April 28, 2014

One of the few places we have found in Europe that offers King size beds and good size rooms!. The bed was very comfortable with nice linens. The bathroom was spotless and updated. The room was a nice size and had a Nespresso coffee machine which was refilled each night of our stay. I believe the websites are a little misleading in describing the view/balcony. It had a window that opened about an inch into a courtyard.... of parked cars and and the basic inner workings of the hotel. There was no parking at the hotel and our only complaint was we got a 100.00 Swiss Franc parking ticket for a 30 minute lapse between feeding the meter and getting a parking voucher from the hotel. Ouch! So parking ended up costing us 130.00 Swiss Francs as we bought the voucher from the hotel and also fed the meter! Couldn't have asked for a better location with everything in walking distance. Staff was delightful and very helpful.

Room Tip: Note all of the rooms will hear outside traffic and noise being in the heart of the city. Courtyard...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Oneempress
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RenaissanceLucerne, Manager at Renaissance Lucerne Hotel, responded to this review, April 30, 2014
Dear guest

We thank you for staying at the Renaissance Lucerne Hotel.

Great to learn that you liked our rooms and service.
We deeply regret that you have got a parking ticket on the street, unfortunately it is something beyond our control.

We hope to welcome you soon again!
Your Renaissance Lucerne team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed April 25, 2014 via mobile

This hotel is a great value for the money. The rooms were very nicely appointed and comfortable. The location is within walking distance to everything in town. It's not on Lake Lucerne though, so no view sadly. But the staff was great and was very helpful with directions, restaurant recommendations, and even called and made us a dinner reservation one night. Our family of 5 had adjoining rooms at the hotel that came with breakfast buffet. The buffet was wonderful and the service staff at breakfast were do nice--even making our kids pancakes which weren't on the buffet. We would definitely recommend this hotel and will be back the next time we are in Lucerne. It's a great value in an expensive town!

Stayed April 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank CPinParis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RenaissanceLucerne, Manager at Renaissance Lucerne Hotel, responded to this review, April 30, 2014
Dear guest

Many thanks for choosing us for your stay in Lucerne as well as for your very nice review and recommendation to other travellers.

Looking forward to welcoming you soon again
Your Renaissance Lucerne team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munich, Germany
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed April 17, 2014

Staff and location were great. My main concerns were the bathroom, TV programming, breakfast expense, and lack of air conditioning. Whoever designed the bathroom should be made to correct the shower, which sprays everywhere, and install doors on both the shower and the bathroom. Also. it would be nice to have at least one English TV station which was not just news. We were delighted that the weather was so warm in mid April but disappointed the air conditioning was not available. The traffic noise prevented us from leaving the single window open. (We had a similar problem in a Venice hotel but their excuse was that a law prevented the hotel from turning the air on too early in the season.)

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mhlaca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RenaissanceLucerne, Manager at Renaissance Lucerne Hotel, responded to this review, April 21, 2014
Dear mhlaca

Thank you for staying with us. It is a pleasure to hear that you enjoyed your stay and the location in the heart of Lucerne. We are assigned to our guest’s feedback to improve our performance.

In spring-time the decision between heating and air condition will be made on the weather forecast for the whole next week. Due of our system it takes a day to change the temperature for a few degrees. Because of the English TV program (not only news channels) we will contact our provider to make us some suggestions. The bathroom situation is on the “to do” list for the next refreshment of our rooms.

We look forward to welcoming you soon again.

Best regards
Your Renaissance Lucerne team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed April 10, 2014

The hotel has a brilliant location.
just 5 minutes from the train station.
5 min to the chapel bridge.
1 min to the movenpick ice cream parlor. :)

the staff was extremely nice, always smiling and courteous.

the breakfast options are nice, fresh and hot. the waitress was more than willing to chat up with you and suggest options for shopping or sightseeing should you require.

we had a brilliant corner room on the top floor that provided a magnificent view of the street leading up to the lake and the train station.

being privileged Marriott Silver members, we got acknowledged by small things such as chocolates and a congratulations for your wedding card in our room.

The Nespresso machine in our room was a most welcome addition and was kept well stocked with varieties of coffee.

What really impressed was the time when my wife bought some pre-cooked chicken from the local super market to try and we politely asked the lady at the reception if we could have access to a microwave to reheat this one piece. Not only did she oblige but she brought it up to our room personally nicely aid out on a plate with cutlery, sauces and soft drinks for us to enjoy. This small gesture from her really blew me away.

I would stay their every time I end up going to Switzerland.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JDLifestyle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RenaissanceLucerne, Manager at Renaissance Lucerne Hotel, responded to this review, April 14, 2014
Dear guests

Warm greetings from the Renaissance Lucerne Hotel and many thanks for your very nice review.

Our credo is "spirit to serve" and we are glad to learn that it is perceived by our guests.

Looking forward to welcoming you soon again we remain
with our best regards
Your Renaissance Lucerne team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Soddy Daisy, Tennessee
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed April 10, 2014

We stayed at this hotel after reading positive reviews online. They SAID our room was upgraded due to our 25th anniversary but room was NOT what was expected. We could not sleep all night due to being hot and having to open balcony doors only to hear loud banging of trash bins both nights. Staff was very nice and helpful but be careful of being put on 6th floor due to heat and noise

Room Tip: Dont get room at top
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank paulette d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RenaissanceLucerne, Manager at Renaissance Lucerne Hotel, responded to this review, April 11, 2014
Dear guests

Many thanks for choosing us for your 25th wedding anniversary as well as for sharing your experience.

We regret that your stay comfort has been affected by the hot temperature. April is in Switzerland a very willful month. The temperatures vary between 5C and 25C and it is often difficult to reach the ideal room temperature. Now, since the spring seems to have definitely arrived, we start cooling all our rooms.

Wishing you all the best for the future and many lovely memories of the day.
Your Renaissance Lucerne team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norman, Oklahoma
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed April 9, 2014

Great location especially if you arrive by train. Just a short walk from the station. Just blocks from Chapel Bridge in nice area. Breakfast not included in rate but very nice breakfast. Small hotel but very nice and friendly, helpful staff. Would stay again if in the area!!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lesa L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RenaissanceLucerne, Manager at Renaissance Lucerne Hotel, responded to this review, April 21, 2014
Dear Lesa L

Thank you for staying with us and you great feedback. It is nice to learn that you enjoyed your stay and the location in the heart of Lucerne.

We look forward to welcoming you soon again.

Best regards
Your Renaissance Lucerne team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lucerne hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel des Balances
Hotel des Balances
#4 of 68 in Lucerne
1,045 reviews
0.8 mi away
Art Deco Hotel Montana Luzern
0.2 mi away
Hotel des Alpes
Hotel des Alpes
#9 of 68 in Lucerne
954 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
CASCADA Hotel
CASCADA Hotel
#7 of 68 in Lucerne
904 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Schweizerhof Luzern
0.1 mi away
Ameron Hotel Flora Luzern
Ameron Hotel Flora Luzern
#15 of 68 in Lucerne
123 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Renaissance Lucerne Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Renaissance Lucerne Hotel

Property: Renaissance Lucerne Hotel
Address: Pilatusstrasse 15, Lucerne 6003, Switzerland
Phone Number:
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Lucerne > Lucerne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Lucerne
#7 Business Hotel in Lucerne
#8 Romantic Hotel in Lucerne
#8 Luxury Hotel in Lucerne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Renaissance Lucerne Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 86
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Renaissance Lucerne Hotel - a superior, first-class hotel offering a blend of personalised, stylish ambiance and cutting-edge technical amenities. Fine dining at the Renaissance Lucerne Hotel in the restaurant PACIFICO: Enjoy ever-popular fajitas, juicy steaks, home-smoked spare ribs and Cajun wings in a unique ambiance. Spacious and tasteful decor. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Ctrip TA, Hotwire, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Renaissance Lucerne Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Schiller Hotel Lucerne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing