We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Marriott, Lucerne”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Renaissance Lucerne Hotel
Ranked #8 of 68 Hotels in Lucerne
Certificate of Excellence
Norman, Oklahoma
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Marriott, Lucerne”
Reviewed April 9, 2014

Great location especially if you arrive by train. Just a short walk from the station. Just blocks from Chapel Bridge in nice area. Breakfast not included in rate but very nice breakfast. Small hotel but very nice and friendly, helpful staff. Would stay again if in the area!!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lesa L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RenaissanceLucerne, Manager at Renaissance Lucerne Hotel, responded to this review, April 21, 2014
Dear Lesa L

Thank you for staying with us and you great feedback. It is nice to learn that you enjoyed your stay and the location in the heart of Lucerne.

We look forward to welcoming you soon again.

Best regards
Your Renaissance Lucerne team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

889 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    481
    309
    63
    24
    12
See reviews for
187
461
26
85
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (198)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Arden, North Carolina
Level 6 Contributor
338 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 164 helpful votes
Reviewed April 8, 2014

We have been staying at Marriotts for years and are always treated special when we stay at one. We might as well be strangers at this hotel. How VERY different from our treatment at Hiltons in Europe. The hotel was ok, but nothing special. And Lucerne is such a wonderful place. When we return, we'll find another hotel. Nothing really wrong here other than very poor company hospitality.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank PGinNC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RenaissanceLucerne, Manager at Renaissance Lucerne Hotel, responded to this review, April 9, 2014
Dear guests

We thank you for having chosen us for your stay last October.

Your review makes us concerned as we do appreciate the loyalty of Marriott Rewards members and honour it with upgrades and other little benefits whenever possible.
Therefore, we would like to learn more about your experience in our property and kindly ask you to contact us at rhi.emlbr.gm@renaissancehotels.com.

Looking forward to your feedback!
The Renaissance Lucerne Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed April 6, 2014

Yes, it's true that this is the smallest Marriott in the world. It is by no means the Northamerican "Marriott" type of place. Location is just great, close to all what you may need in the small city of Luzern (population 60,000). Parking is not included in the price, nor is breakfast. And since you are in Switzerland, prepare to pay. Rooms are comfortable but small. However, there are many different types of rooms in the hotel so here is my advice: room 220 is very quiet since it is facing the inner part but Luzern is not a busy city and at night is quiet anyway. The problem with this room is that the bathroom is at a higher level and you have to clime 2 steps to go there. During the night this is not the best. Bathroom is very big. Room 320 is super small. Just don't book it. A good one to book is 317 - bigger but with small bathroom.
Windows in the hotel open, you can enjoy the fresh air coming from the Alps.
Staff at the front desk is friendly, fluent in English and helpful. Breakfast is nice - not big variety but more than enough for 2-3 days.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank marisarali
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RenaissanceLucerne, Manager at Renaissance Lucerne Hotel, responded to this review, April 9, 2014
Dear guests

Warm greetings to Montreal!

We thank you for staying with us as well as for your valuable comment.
Great to learn that you liked our small property as well as our associates.

Looking forward to welcoming you soon again
Your Renaissance Lucerne team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed April 4, 2014

Our party of 4 stayed 3 nights in March in1 room and 1 junior suite. We booked using Marriott Points, which covered the rooms, but which involved up-charges for the junior suite and extra cot. The hotel is nicely renovated, clean, comfortable, and has very large rooms. Room windows open. Note that all rooms have modern walk-in showers but no tubs. The staff is very helpful and pleasant. Because the hotel doesn't have a member lounge, we all received free buffet breakfast each morning with my husband's platinum Marriott status - not always the case in Europe. There is a lovely small park less than a block away with a playground, big chess boards, ping pong tables and several shady benches. The train station is a couple of blocks away - very handy for arrival and departure, eliminating the need for transit or taxis. The Old Town is within easy walking distance and the Rosengart Collection is right across the street! We had a strange experience with arriving the day after Carnival. All free-standing restaurants in town were closed. We finally decided to go back to the hotel, and after having looked at the menu in the busy hotel restaurant, decided to go back to the room and order room service. The burgers and club sandwiches (not the Swiss food that we had been looking for) were generous and very tasty, but less expensive by room service than the menu in the restaurant had indicated - by CHF 4 or 5 each! Very odd. I understand that this hotel is not inexpensive if you are paying fully for it, but it is a lovely, well-run hotel in a perfect location for a visit to Lucerne.

Room Tip: Pilatusstrasse is a very busy street. Try to get a room on the side street or courtyard, or at the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank euromarch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RenaissanceLucerne, Manager at Renaissance Lucerne Hotel, responded to this review, April 9, 2014
Dear guests

Many thanks for choosing us for your stay in Lucerne as well as for your review.

We are happy to learn that you liked our hotel, its location as well as our associates.

The carnival is a very exceptional event in Lucerne and many restaurants close after having celebrated three days long...we regret that you could not enjoy the wonderful Swiss food in the old town.

Hoping to see you soon again
The Renaissance Lucerne Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pattaya, Thailand
Level 4 Contributor
21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed March 30, 2014

My husband and I stayed at this hotel on 14-17 March, we went out of town for few days and came back for another stay 21-25 March. We loved everything about this hotel that we decided to come back and stay here.

Location is only 5 mins from Lucerne main railway station, dragging the luggages from railway station to the hotel was not a problem at all. There is a Coop (supermarket) in this railway station so our stay was very convenient. We've stayed at room on the 3rd floor and another trip on the 4th floor (417). Both rooms were very quiet, bed was very comfy with many pillows, 3 English speaking TV channels (which were good enough for us), Wifi was fast and stable, checking in and out were very fast, hot water and zircon worked perfectly. And reception are there 24 hrs.

I can't find any negative thing about this hotel. The hotel sure made our stays perfect. Staffs are so friendly and helpful. We arrived at the hotel about 10 am and they checked us in right away, thanks to staff name Priska. Before we left Lucerne for other towns, we left our luggages here for 4 nights, on the night we came back, the luggages were already in our new room, nice huh.

I highly recommend this hotel to anyone. If I have a chance to go back to Switzerland, I will sure stay at this hotel.

Room Tip: We stayed at room 417 and it was really quiet and spotless.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Wopim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RenaissanceLucerne, Manager at Renaissance Lucerne Hotel, responded to this review, April 1, 2014
Dear Wopim

Thank you for choosing the Renaissance Hotel for your stays in Lucerne. We are very happy to learn that you liked our hotel and its location. We will share your comment with our associates and look forward to your next stay.

Best regards
Stefan Bischoff
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur
Level 6 Contributor
175 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 122 helpful votes
Reviewed March 30, 2014 via mobile

Having arrived by train, it was rewarding to find this hotel 5min away on foot with the bus station nearby (to head to Mt Pilatus cable car station 15 min away) and that the riverside was just 7 min walk. This was a blessing for us, being independent travelers.
The rooms are spotless with the most comfortable beds ever!
Breakfast is so-so for a five-star hotel. One can give this a miss as there are several nearby cafés .
Staff are friendly and helpful and were eager to help first-timers like us with necessary advice.
As is the case for a hotel near a busy street, specify a higher floor for some peace and quiet.

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank DoctorBakar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RenaissanceLucerne, Manager at Renaissance Lucerne Hotel, responded to this review, April 1, 2014
Dear DoctorBakar

Thank you for staying with us as well as for taking the time to share your experience with the tripadvisor community. We feel proud about your comment on our staff and are grateful for your feedback on our breakfast. We are always searching for areas for improvement and your comment helps us.

We look forward to welcoming you again.

Yours sincerelly
Stefan Bischoff
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laguna Beach, California
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed March 29, 2014 via mobile

The girls at the desk are very nice, the hotel in General is fine. However our room is over a very loud nightclub that didn't stop the music until 2:00 at the minimum. This room 103 should not be rented out. Made for a horrible stay! Will not return.

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
6 Thank Pjlieb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RenaissanceLucerne, Manager at Renaissance Lucerne Hotel, responded to this review, April 1, 2014
Dear Pjlieb

Thank you for your feedback. Unfortunately your stay was not to your satisfaction. We deeply regret that you could not sleep that night. We do our best to find a technical solution together with our ovnership. However it still may take some time.

Despite this unfortunate issue we would be more than happy to welcome you again at the Renaissance Lucerne Hotel.

Best regards
Stefan Bischoff
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lucerne hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel des Balances
Hotel des Balances
#4 of 68 in Lucerne
1,043 reviews
0.8 mi away
Art Deco Hotel Montana Luzern
0.2 mi away
Hotel des Alpes
Hotel des Alpes
#9 of 68 in Lucerne
951 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
CASCADA Hotel
CASCADA Hotel
#7 of 68 in Lucerne
902 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Schweizerhof Luzern
0.1 mi away
Ameron Hotel Flora Luzern
Ameron Hotel Flora Luzern
#18 of 68 in Lucerne
120 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Renaissance Lucerne Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Renaissance Lucerne Hotel

Property: Renaissance Lucerne Hotel
Address: Pilatusstrasse 15, Lucerne 6003, Switzerland
Phone Number:
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Lucerne > Lucerne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Lucerne
#7 Business Hotel in Lucerne
#8 Romantic Hotel in Lucerne
#8 Luxury Hotel in Lucerne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Renaissance Lucerne Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 86
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Renaissance Lucerne Hotel - a superior, first-class hotel offering a blend of personalised, stylish ambiance and cutting-edge technical amenities. Fine dining at the Renaissance Lucerne Hotel in the restaurant PACIFICO: Enjoy ever-popular fajitas, juicy steaks, home-smoked spare ribs and Cajun wings in a unique ambiance. Spacious and tasteful decor. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Renaissance Lucerne Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Schiller Hotel Lucerne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing