We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Back again and even better”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Renaissance Lucerne Hotel
Ranked #8 of 67 Hotels in Lucerne
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 27, 2013

We stayed here earlier in December and enjoyed it so much we came again for two nights. Although the Hotel isn't located on the water with views it is centrally located and the rooms are lovely. The beds are really comfortable and the rooms very spacious and quiet. The staff at reception and breakfast couldn't have been more helpful or welcoming. Would recommend this Hotel for comfort, convenience and a nice place to come back to after a day exploring beautiful Lucerne. The bathrooms in the standard rooms are on the small side but if you spend a little extra and upgrade you will enjoy a much larger bathroom with a rain shower. The breakfast selection and service was very good. We look forward to returning to Lucerne one day and when we do will stay at this Hotel again.

Room Tip: We stayed on the 3rd and 4th floors during our two separate stays. We enjoyed our room 302 as it wa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JOBright
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RenaissanceLucerne, Manager at Renaissance Lucerne Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 30, 2013

Dear JO

Many thanks for staying with us as well as for sharing your nice experience with other travelers.

We are very happy about your review and about the fact that you liked our hotel, the rooms and our staff.

We hope to welcome you at the Renaissance Lucerne Hotel soon again and wish you a Happy New Year and all the best.

Jana Jeschek & the Renaissance Lucerne team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (965)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

496 - 502 of 965 reviews

Reviewed December 26, 2013 via mobile

Awesome hotel, very cozy room, spacious and very well located, walking distance from every major attraction and restaurant in the city and the main train station!

Staff was super friendly!!!!

Would reccomend this hotel for sure

Stayed: December 2013, traveled with friends
Thank Andre M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RenaissanceLucerne, Manager at Renaissance Lucerne Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 30, 2013

Dear Andre

Many thanks for staying with us as well as for your nice review and recommendation.

We are happy that you enjoyed your stay with us and look forward to welcoming you soon again.

Best regards

Jana Jeschek & the Renaissance Lucerne team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 22, 2013

Excellent hotel with a superb location. Only an easy 5 minute stroll to the old bridge and the train station. Reception staff were excellent and friendly. Very quick and efficient check in. The room I got on the 6 floor was really nice and spacious enough for 1 person. The walk in shower was huge and loved it - no bath though but I think this is simiilar to other hotels in Switzerland? Breakfast was adequate - reasonable enough selection but don't expect 'American buffet large choice selections'. Overall, an excellent stay and I have already booked up for January 2014.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Broonaldo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RenaissanceLucerne, Manager at Renaissance Lucerne Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 25, 2013

Der Broonaldo

Many thanks for your stay with us as well as for your nice review.

We are happy to learn that you liked our property and look forward to your January stay.

Merry Christmas and Happy New Year!

Jana Jeschek & the Renaissance Lucerne team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 17, 2013

It is a very nice hotel right in the center of Lucerne. It is in fact a bit expensive. However the room was lovely, very nicely decorated, it had a nice balcony. The bathroom was tiny tiny tiny. Nice but very small. Staff was nice. Breakfast was so so, it all tasted very good but there wee some problems with communication as some staff apparently do not speak german?!? Also room service is rather slow….after ordering drinks first we got a call that they run out of the ingredients, then we ordered something else and still had to wait for a loooong time.
The location is excellent. It is one of the nicest hotels in Lucerne that I have stayed in. I do however have mixed feelings relation the price/quality ratio…

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank papeetee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RenaissanceLucerne, Manager at Renaissance Lucerne Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 20, 2013

Dear guest

Many thanks for staying with us as well as for taking the time to share your experience with others.

We are happy that you liked your room as well as our location.
Our sincere apologies for the delay of the room service delivery. We appreciate your feedback as it helps us to improve (and sometimes to speed up) our services.

Our breakfast associates are partially foreign students of the local hotel management schools. They work hard on their knowledge of the German language and some of them just started to learn. We hope that their language skills did not cause any incenveniences to you.

Hoping to welcome you soon again we wish you a Merry Christmas and Happy New Year!

Jana Jeschek & the Renaissance Lucerne Hotel team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 9, 2013

Had the lea sure of staying here for one night when in Lucerne. Staff was excellent-was upgraded to junior suite which was very nice with great window overlooking the street and opened allowing fresh air in. The hotel had busy cool bar Pacifico on first floor and was an excellent choice. Price was best in Lucerne

Stayed: November 2013, traveled with friends
2  Thank BellaField
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RenaissanceLucerne, Manager at Renaissance Lucerne Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 11, 2013

Dear BellaFiel

Warm greetings from Lucerne and many thanks for your visit and your nice review.

We are happy to share your comments with our associates, Feedbacks like yours are highly motivating for them.

We look forward to your next stay with us.
Jana Jeschek & the Renaissance Lucerne team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 5, 2013

The hotel is not far (probably about 5 minutes) from the Chapel Bridge and about 10 minutes walk to the Lion monument. The hotel is not very big but that made it all the more cosy and the staff took the time to familiarise us with the property and town.

Reception lent us a electrical converter for our cameras as we had misplaced one. This was a blessing as we needed to recharge our cameras. The rooms were very generous in size and more than enough storage space. The beds were heaven and made for a great night sleep before exploring Lucerne the next day. The wall paper behind the bed was interesting and made the room feel luxurious. The window was also a welcome sight as it meant we didn't need to use the A/C.

Breakfast was more than adequate and a great selection of things to eat.

Definitely would recommend this hotel for anyone staying in Lucerne. Can't beat the location, staff or rooms.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kylie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RenaissanceLucerne, Manager at Renaissance Lucerne Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 11, 2013

Dear Kylie

Many thanks for staying with us as well as for sharing your nice experience with the Tripadvisor community.

We are glad to learn that you liked our hotel, the room as well as our staff.
Your feedback shows us that our daily efforts pay off.

Looking forward to your next visit!
Jana Jeschek & the Renaissance Lucerne team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 3, 2013

We stayed in Renaissance for 3 days during our honeymoon in Europe, the hotel was very nice and clean. The staff was very friendly, they even put rose petals in a heart shape on the bed when we first arrived, which we thought to be very nice and thoughtful. The bed was very comfortable, though the room is quite small, and during our stay they also replenished the moisturizer in the bathroom with expired ones...:( (I have very dry skin, and uses a lot of moisturizer every day, hence noticed it)

Other than that it's a nice hotel nevertheless..

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jane C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RenaissanceLucerne, Manager at Renaissance Lucerne Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 11, 2013

Dear Jane

Many thanks for choosing us for your honeymoon trip as well as for your valuable review.

Great to learn that you liked our honeymoon decoration, our property and staff.
Our apologies for the expired body lotion, in the meantime we changed the product a replaced all our bathroom amenities.

Looking forward to welcoming you again, maybe on one of your wedding anniversaries...

Best regards
Jana Jeschek & the Renaissance Lucerne Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lucerne hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel des Balances
Hotel des Balances
#5 of 67 in Lucerne
1,145 reviews
0.1 mi away
Ameron Hotel Flora Luzern
0.2 mi away
Hotel des Alpes
Hotel des Alpes
#10 of 67 in Lucerne
1,030 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
CASCADA Hotel
CASCADA Hotel
#7 of 67 in Lucerne
963 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Schweizerhof Luzern
0.8 mi away
Art Deco Hotel Montana Luzern
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Renaissance Lucerne Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Renaissance Lucerne Hotel

Address: Pilatusstrasse 15, Lucerne 6003, Switzerland
Phone Number:
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Lucerne > Lucerne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Lucerne
#7 Business Hotel in Lucerne
#8 Luxury Hotel in Lucerne
#8 Romantic Hotel in Lucerne
Price Range: $142 - $314 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Renaissance Lucerne Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 86
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Renaissance Lucerne Hotel - a superior, first-class hotel offering a blend of personalised, stylish ambiance and cutting-edge technical amenities. Fine dining at the Renaissance Lucerne Hotel in the restaurant PACIFICO: Enjoy ever-popular fajitas, juicy steaks, home-smoked spare ribs and Cajun wings in a unique ambiance. Spacious and tasteful decor. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Renaissance Lucerne Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Schiller Hotel Lucerne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing