We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Central Location and Great Staff” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Renaissance Lucerne Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Renaissance Lucerne Hotel
Ranked #6 of 67 Hotels in Lucerne
Certificate of Excellence
Wolverhampton, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Central Location and Great Staff”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2013

Stayed for one night on a business trip in July and was very pleased with the staff and their service. This hotel is central to most things in Luzern and only a short walk from the railway station. Room quality was very good and although it is not the cheapest hotel in the city, I think the value was pretty good.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Martin H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RenaissanceLucerne, Manager at Renaissance Lucerne Hotel, responded to this review, September 14, 2013
Dear Martin

Many thanks for having stayed with us in July and great to learn that you enjoyed your stay at the Renaissance Lucerne hotel.

We are also pleased about your positive "value for money" feedback.

Looking forward to your next stay
Jana Jeschek & the Renaissance Lucerne team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

767 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    404
    278
    55
    21
    9
See reviews for
161
395
21
72
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (175)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
385 reviews
101 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 239 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2013

I was Gold member in Marriott Rewards program when I stayed at this hotel

In our recent Switzerland trip we chose Lucerne to be our base for exploring the country, primarily due to its central location, short driving distances to Berne, Zurich and other places, as well as for beautiful scenery. As I had some Marriott points to spend, we chose Renaissance Lucerne hotel. This hotel is not cheap - it required 35,000 points per night, as well as cash co-pay of CHF 100 to be upgraded into junior suite, as normal room can only accommodate 2 adults (we needed 3). Our stay was for 3 nights.

Although hotel is located in centre of Lucerne, it is not easy to find, as the only signs advertising hotel name were on the wall that faces side street. Moreover, when we arrived there was the tour bus blocking the entrance, so we had to drive several circles around before we found the hotel. Although hotel's address says "Pilatusstrasse", the actual entrance is from the unnamed side street (here are GPS coordinates of the entrance: 47.048959, 8.307213).

The biggest disadvantage of this hotel for people arriving by car, is that the hotel does not have it's own parking - they sell parking tickets for public parking spaces at the streets adjacent to the hotel for CHF 20, but if these spaces are full, you are out of luck and have to park at one of the parking garages and walk back to the hotel. Tickets hotel sells are only available for 24 hours, so one has to buy a new ticket every day - annoying.

Apart of the parking issue, hotel is located very centrally with railway station, Lucerne bridge and Lake are all short walking distance away. It is rather small hotel - upon the check-in they will probably tell you that the hotel is smallest Renaissance hotel in the world. Interesting fact in itself, but for the rest of the stay they will probably be using it as an excuse: "smallest renaissance in the world, so no parking"... "oh, no lounge either", "limited gym facilities because we are smallest..." ad nauseam.

Our room was ready when we arrived around 5pm so we were promptly checked in. As there is no executive lounge, we were told that we'll have breakfast in the restaurant for all. We also had free internet.

We were given "Junior Suite", which, I guess, can be considered as such as it has large separate sitting area, but honestly it was just large room with one bathroom. Room was on 4th floor and I believe it is only one room on the floor that had a balcony. There was king size bed, writing desk with the chair, sitting area with sofa, easy chairs and journal table. There was Nespresso coffee machine with selection of coffee options (lungo, ristretto, decaf). Bathroom was really large with rain shower, no bath, toilet, and washbasin with the mirror. Toiletries were of usual Renaissance kind (Peckniff's). Bathrobes and slippers were provided for everyone (3 sets).

Minibar existed but had very poor choice of options available - there was water (still and sparkling), toblerone chocolate and waffles. Each for CHF6 which is plain robbery. It however can be emptied and used as a fridge for chocolates and cheeses (we did exactly that).

Internet was free for us as Marriott Gold members - was fast but was disconnecting quite often.

We were given free breakfast in the restaurant for everyone as a part of Marriott Gold benefit. As far as I understand, breakfast is usually served at the lounge area on 1st floor, but at the time we visited, breakfast was served in the main restaurant (Pacifico). It was actually very good with varied buffet and eggs to order. Regular price of the breakfast is CHF 30 per day which is quite expensive in my opinion. We didn't dine in the restaurant as it was Mexico-themed and we wanted to try local food.

Gym was rather small and consisted of 3 machines (treadmill, bike and elliptic) and some weights. It seem to be located in repurposed small guest room. Most of the time it was empty but I would imagine it can become quite crowded if in demand.

When we were in the hotel there was large tour group staying in the hotel - when this happens reception area and breakfast spaces can become quite crowded.

Bottom line - one of viable options in downtown Lucerne if you have status with Marriott or want to stay on points. If possible, I'd avoid using car as sometimes there's nowhere to park.

If anyone has any questions related to this hotel I will be glad to answer (if I know the answer) - just ask.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank avsm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RenaissanceLucerne, Manager at Renaissance Lucerne Hotel, responded to this review, September 14, 2013
Dear guest

We thank you for choosing us for your vacation in Switzerland and hope you enjoyed it.

Also, many thanks for taking the time to write such an extensive review that serves not only to other Marriott Elite members but also to other Lucerne visitors.

Yes, we are the smallest Renaissance in the world, however this is not meant as an excuse for missing amenities. The facilities like a gym are just a bit smaller, according to out hotel's size. Our location in the heart of Lucerne does not leave us plenty of parking options, so at least we assist with the parking tickets. In Switzerland it is indeed recommended to travel by train, that is fast, clean, safe and relaxing.

Looking forward to welcoming you back one day
on behalf of the Renaissance Lucerne team
Jana Jeschek, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013

Maybe 2 blocks from train station, 5-10 walk at max. to river/old town. I would not hesitate to stay here again in the future. We had a room on the first floor (second floor for U.S.), overlooking the main street, but the street noise was non obtrusive, so it was fine. Air conditioning cooled the room fine and the room was actually large, and bed very comfortable.
Staff was very engaging, and helpful.
If I was to stay here again (which I hope I can), I would ask for a room higher to perhaps mitigate the bar noises below that seem to get loud around midnight or so. I heard some revelers, enjoying themselves, then I rolled over and went back to sleep. Other reviewers have noted this as well, but it did not really impact us negatively.
Like I said, I would certainly stay at this property again, without hesitation.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on a higher floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank tssms
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
76 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013

Perhaps the best service we had in Switzerland. Priska at the front desk was especially helpful; I mean she is world class. We received all of our food recommendations (and then reservations) from the front desk, as well as attraction recommendations we had not received elsewhere. We had a hell of a time finding the place, but that was beside the point. Nice clean room (about average size in Europe), hot shower, and a tiny balcony to let in some fresh air. Even though we were on the side of the hotel that overlooks the main road, our room was very quiet. Slept very well. The location was very central to lots of wonderful restaurants and easy access to everything in the city.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Robert W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RenaissanceLucerne, Manager at Renaissance Lucerne Hotel, responded to this review, September 14, 2013
Dear guests

Warm greetings to Washington D.C.

We are thrilled about your comment on our service and Priska is especially delighted about your feedback. Many, many thanks for such a nice review!

We hope to welcome you back one day and look forward to it.
Best regards
Jana Jeschek & the Renaissance Lucerne team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra
Level Contributor
59 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

Room good, location convenient, very friendly front desk. Would definitely recommend.
It must be an old building with some very narrow corridors and slight changes in level, but that is no problem. The balconies are ridiculously tiny, but that didn't matter either.
It would be nice if breakfast was included in the price.
Still, a very pleasant stay.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 60sAussiecouple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RenaissanceLucerne, Manager at Renaissance Lucerne Hotel, responded to this review, September 14, 2013
Dear guest

Many thanks for staying with us as well as for joining the chorus and writing such a nice review!

We are not only a historical building but also the smallest Renaissance Hotel in the world o:)
Small, warm, personal.

Looking forward to welcoming you again soon
Jana Jeschek & Renaissance Lucerne associates
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth
Level Contributor
52 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

Great location. Near station and all the places you need to see in central Lucerne. Walking distance to train station. Couldn't fault the service. My wife had to call home to check on her ill dad in Beijing. Did this in the lobby and the staff were happy to have us a make a 10 min call - no charge. Will go back without hesitation.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank phillc26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RenaissanceLucerne, Manager at Renaissance Lucerne Hotel, responded to this review, September 14, 2013
Dear guest

Many thanks for chosing us for your stay as well as for your recommendation to the Tripadvisor community.

Hoping to have you back one day
Your Renaissance Lucerne Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakarta, Indonesia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

We stayed there last month. A family of four and we reserved two of the deluxe room. The location is great few blocks from the train station and Lucerne famous covered wooden bridge. Breakfast was included with the room, the breakfast was ok. The staff were friendly and help us to make reservation for our dinner during our stay there. They gave us suggestions on activities and places to eat there. Oh and free Toblerone Chocolate bring it to the next level. They have lounge for guest to seat and they provide coffee and tea. I'll stay there again next time.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MercLim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RenaissanceLucerne, Manager at Renaissance Lucerne Hotel, responded to this review, September 14, 2013
Dear guest

Warm greetings to Jakarta.

Great to learn that you enjoyed your stay with us and many thanks for the nice review.

Good to know: there is still a bunch of Toblerone in stock

Looking forward to having you back soon

Jana Jeschek & the Renaissance Lucerne Associates
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lucerne hotels
0.4 mi away
Hotel Schweizerhof Luzern
0.2 mi away
Hotel des Balances
Hotel des Balances
#5 of 67 in Lucerne
4.5 of 5 stars 833 reviews
0.3 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel, Lucerne
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Ameron Hotel Flora Luzern
0.8 mi away
Art Deco Hotel Montana Luzern
0.2 mi away
Hotel Cascada
Hotel Cascada
#7 of 67 in Lucerne
4.5 of 5 stars 721 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Renaissance Lucerne Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Renaissance Lucerne Hotel

Property: Renaissance Lucerne Hotel
Address: Pilatusstrasse 15, Lucerne 6003, Switzerland
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Lucerne > Lucerne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#6 Luxury Hotel in Lucerne
#6 Family Hotel in Lucerne
#7 Business Hotel in Lucerne
#8 Romantic Hotel in Lucerne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Renaissance Lucerne Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 86
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Renaissance Lucerne Hotel - a superior, first-class hotel offering a blend of personalised, stylish ambiance and cutting-edge technical amenities. Fine dining at the Renaissance Lucerne Hotel in the restaurant PACIFICO: Enjoy ever-popular fajitas, juicy steaks, home-smoked spare ribs and Cajun wings in a unique ambiance. Spacious and tasteful decor. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Hotwire, Odigeo, Travelocity, Priceline and HotelTravel.com so you can book your Renaissance Lucerne Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Schiller Hotel Lucerne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing