We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent location!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Renaissance Lucerne Hotel
Ranked #8 of 66 Hotels in Lucerne
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 7, 2012

Great location, just a walking distance from the railway station, the main bus station, and the Old Town too.
Very warm and helpful welcome on check in.
The only problem we had was that there are not many parking places in the hotel(only 6), so we had to park our car outside, and was not easy and was expensive.
The room is very confortble, clean and cozy.
Delicious breakfast included in the room rate, plenty to chose from the buffet. The restaurant and bar get busy on fridays and saturdays, but there are many other options around the hotel.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Eduardo R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RenaissanceLucerne, General Manager at Renaissance Lucerne Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 17, 2012

Dear Eduardo R,

Thank you for your review of the Renaissance Lucerne Hotel.

We are pleased that you enjoyed the service, our well equipped and tidy rooms and the extensive breakfast offer, and that your stay at the Renaissance Lucerne Hotel remains unforgettable.

The hotel is located in the middle of Lucerne, where parking possibilities are indeed limited. However, we are happy to provide our guests with parking tickets for the street parking in the nearby vicinity, at a better price than the parking garages in the surrounding.

We hope to welcome you soon again.

Kind regards,

Kevin Salt

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (973)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

665 - 671 of 973 reviews

Reviewed December 4, 2012

Great location, walking distance from the railway station, the main bus station, and the Old Town too.
Very warm and helpful welcome on check in. The room was nicely done, warm, well equiped, and quiet, on the 6th floor.
Very enjoyable breakfast, plenty to chose from the buffet.
The restaurant and bar get busy on a saturday, but not over the top. Friendly staff, great service at both the bar and restaurant.
All in all a very enjoyable stay, will come back again!

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JC-Delage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RenaissanceLucerne, General Manager at Renaissance Lucerne Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 17, 2012

Dear JC-Delage,

Many thanks for your great feedback of the Renaissance Lucerne Hotel!

Our well equipped rooms and extraordinary service, paired with the proximity to the hotspots of Lucerne make the Renaissance Lucerne Hotel the ideal place to stay at. We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us and we are looking forward to welcoming you again.

Kind regards,

Kevin Salt

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 1, 2012

We arrived at the hotel for a two night stay after a short walk, with luggage, from the main train station. The hotel is conveniently located in an area filled with restaurants, shopping and scenic views. Upon arrival, we were greeted by Anne, who was very helpful to us after just having my wallet stolen at the Basel train station. From the front desk, she placed the phone calls to my CC company so I could alert them of the loss.
We were upgraded to a room on the 6th floor and given coupons for drinks at the bar.
Our room had an interesting configuration; large sink adjacent to the sleeping area, huge walk in shower, then a separate door to the toilet. There were two very tiny balconies to access from the sleeping area. The view was of other buildings nearby, so it was necessary to draw the curtains
for privacy. The bed was very comfy and clean, a small closet was tucked into a slant on the roof, drawers built under the slant, large desk with flat screen TV, digital alarm clock, water kettle for coffee or tea. Given the price point of the reservation, I was hoping to have breakfast included, and thought the pp charge a bit steep, so we ate at Starbucks nearby.
A plus at the hotel was having internet access and use of the computer in the business center. Each day the passwords and access codes change, so stop by the front desk to receive the updated info.
We enjoyed an excellent drink at the bar, that also included an assortment of Mexican salsa, dips and corn chips set up at a nearby counter.
If in Luzerne again, I would consider staying here.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Darcy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RenaissanceLucerne, General Manager at Renaissance Lucerne Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 17, 2012

Dear Darcy M,

Many thanks for your thorough review of the Renaissance Lucerne Hotel!

It gives us pleasure to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. It is our aim to provide excellent service, impeccable rooms and an unforgettable experience at the Renaissance Lucerne Hotel.

We hope to welcome you soon again.

Kind regards,

Kevin Salt

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 29, 2012

We arrived at the hotel after driving for 13 hours as Luzern was our stop of our road trip to Greece last summer. We were all tired and hungry wanting to relax have some room service and clean ourselves. When we arrived at night it was raining heavily and we had to take the children in side in a hurry so that they don't get wet. First surprise was that there is no valet service, noone to greet us or help us take the bags out of the car and into the hotel. My poor husband had to park outside the hotel while the receptionist warned him that he has to move the car asap otherwise he will get a ticket... So my husband was rushing in and out trying to unload the car and once that was done he had to find a place to park the car (it took him ages and he got lost a couple of times). The staff never offered to help him. The room was clean, it had a stale smell so I had to keep the windows open, the room service was limited and average. The breakfast buffet was ok and the ladies at the restaurant very sweet and helpful. For a short stay it was ok for a longer stay I would definitely prefer to stay in one of the hotels on the lake they must have incredible views.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Elian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RenaissanceLucerne, Reservations Manager at Renaissance Lucerne Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 7, 2012

Dear Elian,

Thank you very much for taking your time to point out the issues you experienced during your stay at the Renaissance Lucerne Hotel.

We take this opportunity to sincerely apologize for the lack of service you had upon your arrival at the hotel. This is totally inconsistent with what our staff has been trained to do and in fact always do with zest and dedication. We can assure you that this was a one time lapse.

I have spoken to each department concerned and the necessary steps have been implemented in order to avoid these shortcomings in the future.

I apologize once again and hope to have the pleasure in welcoming you back to the Renaissance Lucerne Hotel.

Kind regards,

Lara Rada

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 27, 2012

I stayed here with my partner for one night as we were seeing a band at Sudpol. The hotel is lovely, great location - close to the main station and walking distance to the old town. We even walked to the transport museum, it took about 30mins and if you're not in a hurry it's worth the walk, LOTS of beautiful scenery to photograph.
We had a standard room, which was comfortable, clean, the bed was nearly as comfortable as the Pullman Cologne but not quite. I've yet to find a bed more comfortable than the Pullman Cologne so second place is not to be sniffed at!
Breakfast was fairly small but a good selection and delicious! The hot food was replaced/filled regularly so you weren't eating eggs that have been sat out for hours.
Luzern is a beautiful city and the Renaissane hotel is a beautiful place to stay. Based on this experience I would stay in another Renaissance hotel.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Stephen J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RenaissanceLucerne, Reservations Manager at Renaissance Lucerne Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 4, 2012

Dear Stephen J,

Thank you for your positive feedback.

We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. Our proximity to the main attractions of Lucerne is very convenient. Just a few steps separate the hotel from the famous Chapel Bridge, the old city centre and the main station.

We hope to welcome you soon again.

Kind regards,

Lara Rada

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 26, 2012

My family stayed at Renaissance Luzern Hotel on 11/23/12. The hotel staff Anne and Carlos were extremely helpful, friendly, and accomodating. The hotel on has street parking, which was very difficult to find. However, the staff offered to park our car, which made parking stress-free. At the check-in counter, they even gave a toy to our son. During our stay, they gave us recommendations on restaurants and how to get around the city.

The Junior Suite was clean, nice, and spacious, and it is tastefully decorated. Our room was facing the street, which means there was no view, but it was not noisy either.

The hotel is in a good location, and it is within walking distance to the attractions. You don't need a car at all.

I would definitely stay there again.

Room Tip: Parking is only available on the street. The staff will be happy to park your car if you cannot find...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cindelala
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RenaissanceLucerne, Reservations Manager at Renaissance Lucerne Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 4, 2012

Dear Cindelala,

Thank you for taking your time to review the Renaissance Lucerne Hotel.

We are happy to know that your stay was an enjoyable one. Your positive comments have been already forwarded to Anne and Carlos. With our central location and proximity to the city's main attactions, it is easier to discover Lucerne's most hidden gems.

Looking forward to welcome you soon again at the City of Lights.

Best greetings,

Lara Rada

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 25, 2012

My husband and I just spent four nights at the Marriott Renaissance. The location is outstanding just three minute walknfrom the train station. Close to the old town and shops and restaurants. The rooms are clean and modern, the front desk staff very hospitable. The breakfast was fresh...we also appreciated the nespresso machine in our room.

Excellent value!

Room Tip: Away from the street
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Carol F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RenaissanceLucerne, Reservations Manager at Renaissance Lucerne Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 4, 2012

Dear 4639UAL,

Thank you for your great review.

We appreciate very much your comments. This feedback motivates us to maintain and improve the services and quality our hotel has to offer.

Hoping to welcome you back to the Renaissance Lucerne Hotel.

Kind regards,

Lara Rada

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lucerne hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel des Balances
Hotel des Balances
#4 of 66 in Lucerne
1,158 reviews
0.1 mi away
Ameron Hotel Flora Luzern
0.2 mi away
Hotel des Alpes
Hotel des Alpes
#10 of 66 in Lucerne
1,041 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel Schweizerhof Luzern
0.2 mi away
CASCADA Hotel
CASCADA Hotel
#7 of 66 in Lucerne
977 reviews
0.8 mi away
Art Deco Hotel Montana Luzern
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Renaissance Lucerne Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Renaissance Lucerne Hotel

Address: Pilatusstrasse 15, Lucerne 6003, Switzerland
Phone Number:
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Lucerne > Lucerne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#7 Business Hotel in Lucerne
#8 Romantic Hotel in Lucerne
#8 Luxury Hotel in Lucerne
Price Range: $141 - $280 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Renaissance Lucerne Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 86
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Renaissance Lucerne Hotel - a superior, first-class hotel offering a blend of personalised, stylish ambiance and cutting-edge technical amenities. Fine dining at the Renaissance Lucerne Hotel in the restaurant PACIFICO: Enjoy ever-popular fajitas, juicy steaks, home-smoked spare ribs and Cajun wings in a unique ambiance. Spacious and tasteful decor. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, Cancelon, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Renaissance Lucerne Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Schiller Hotel Lucerne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing