We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent Hotel!!!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of CASCADA Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
CASCADA Hotel
Ranked #7 of 69 Hotels in Lucerne
Certificate of Excellence
Knoxville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
47 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Excellent Hotel!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 2, 2014 via mobile

This hotel was one of the best places we stayed on our 10 day stay in Switzerland. Daniela was at the front desk and was a tremendous help. She was exceptional! She went out of her way to help all guests that were there. She advised us as to what to see the afternoon we arrived and when to try and see Mt. Pilatus. Her advice helped us better manage our time in Luzern. The hotel had a parking lot for our rented car and the distance from the center of town was not a long or tiring walk. I would highly recommend this hotel in Luzern.

Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Jane B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Direktion_CASCADA, Leiter Front Office at CASCADA Hotel, responded to this review, August 4, 2014
Dear Jane B

We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay at CASCADA. Your review on TripAdivsor is also a great motivation for us and we have forwarded your feedback. We all are very happy about your comment and especially Daniela.

We would be pleased to welcome you again and hope you had a safe journey home.

Warm regards
Your CASCADA Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

838 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    425
    324
    65
    16
    8
See reviews for
217
325
47
142
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (102)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Minneapolis
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 2, 2014 via mobile

We love this place. Ours (410-Bärglistüber) was a clean, well appointed room with a delightful balcony in this Spanish / Swiss waterfall themed hotel in an active, but not overly so neighborhood. Fantastical gratis breakfast, and don't overlook the comped beer, soda, etc. in the daily restocked mini fridge.

Staff consistently and sincerely worked hard to please . . . even happily accommodating my borderline obsessive but oft unrequited love affair with bedside fans.

Spanish theme comes through in the Gaudi-esque flourishes in the renovated building as well as the thoughtfully conceived and well executed restaurant offerings. It should be said that they don't exactly "give it away" and while it's true that the restaurant itself is white linen and a bit more posh than we generally look for, the exterior seating offers a pleasant, casual alternative. This beer loving patron does ask himself if it would kill them to offer more than one beer selection in the entire building, but even this objection is somewhat muted by my earlier point concerning the freebies. San Miguel is a highly drinkable brew after all.

Bonus tracks: easy walk to HBh, frigid AC, intriguing lighting, and a ridiculously comfortable bed. All in all this a well run, excellent little gem of a hotel I emphatically recommend and look forward to coming back to.

Stayed August 2014
Helpful?
4 Thank jhisley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CASCADA_hotel, Manager at CASCADA Hotel, responded to this review, August 6, 2014
Dear jhisley

We are very delighted that we could contribute to your fabulous stay.
We are also very proud and thankful for your great and detailed feedback. We forward this feedback to the whole staff and hope that you had a safe journey back home.

It would be a great pleasure to welcome you again.

Warm regrads
Your CASCADA Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dusseldorf, Germany
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 31, 2014

I stayed at Cascade in July and was totally impressed by this lovely hotel.

First the check in was extremely well done, Wireless Lan codes were handed over as well as information about Lucerne, before I even asked for it. All employees are very friendly and carry a smile on their face!

Once I entered the room the first impression was confirmed, the room was really nice, clean and well equipped, including make up mirror in the desk!

The location is really handy, close to the main train station, but very little noise.

I will be visiting the hotel again and can only recommend it!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Zsu78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Direktion_CASCADA, Leiter Front Office at CASCADA Hotel, responded to this review, August 4, 2014
Dear Zsu78

We particularly appreciate your very kind comment. The great feedback is a wonderful motivation for the entire CASCADA team. Thank you very much for this detailed description.

It would be a great pleasure to welcome you again soon.

Warm regards
Your CASCADA Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2014

Hotel Cascada was a lovely modern, clean and tidy hotel. When booking we requested a room at the back of the hotel as it is on a busy road, our request was granted and we had a room looking out over the back of an enclosed courtyard (not a pretty view but it was quiet). Ideally located 5 minutes from the train station on the 'new' side of Lucerne and 10 minutes to the old town. Room was very clean, spacious and had a kettle to make hot drinks and plenty of toiletries, lovely powerful shower!
Breakfast was nice, cold and hot buffet with plenty to choose from. Eggs make to order, pleasant staff.
A lovely hotel, great location. Can not fault it.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mojotravels1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Direktion_CASCADA, Leiter Front Office at CASCADA Hotel, responded to this review, August 4, 2014
Dear Mojotravels1

Thank you very much for your great and informative review. We are delighted to hear you enjoyed your stay at our hotel. We'll keep on improving to offer best service and spoil our guests.

It would be a great pleasure to welcome you again.

Kind regards
Your CASCADA Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcestershire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 28, 2014

Stayed here for 5 nights in July 2014, as a family of three. Good sized comfortable modern room, quiet, very clean and well appointed. Buffet breakfast was a good choice of fresh produce in a nice bright room. Location is hard to beat being a ten minute stroll to the main railway station and a similar distance to the old town. Very helpful friendly staff on reception and throughout the hotel suggesting and recommending places to visit, all in perfect English!
Excellent experience in a beautiful city.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Keith B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Direktion_CASCADA, Director of Sales at CASCADA Hotel, responded to this review, July 29, 2014
Dear Keith B

Thank you very much for your great comment. We are glad to hear you and your family enjoyed your stay at our hotel. We are happy that we could contribute with our service and amenities to your fabulous stay.

We are looking forward to welcome you back again.

Best regards
Your CASCADA Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
21 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 28, 2014

This is a great hotel in an excellent location. Five minutes walk to the train station and ten minutes to the Old Town of Lucerne. We used this as a base to visit the Alps and were very pleased with the accommodation.

Our room was newly renovated and quite spacious, with a good bathroom and comfortable bed. Roll down window shutters blocked any street noise and the hotel itself was quiet. Everything was spotlessly clean and staff were very friendly and helpful.

A big bonus was the free minibar (water, coke and beer) and an all inclusive breakfast, which included a fully cooked assortment. This was very welcome in a country as expensive as Switzerland. My advise would be to eat up and skip lunch - you'll save a fortune!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Traci M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Direktion_CASCADA, Front Office Manager at CASCADA Hotel, responded to this review, July 29, 2014
Dear TraciM

It is a pleasure to read your review on TripAdvisor and we are happy that you enjoyed your stay with us. Thank you very much for sharing your thoughts.

We are looking forward to welcome you another time at CASCADA.

Best regrads
Your CASCADA Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Groningen, The Netherlands
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 28, 2014

Luzern is an ideal pitstop between the North of the Netherlands and Tuscany. When we travel there we like to make an overnight stay there. It's a very romantic city, lots of restaurants, the lake, parks, the very kind and hospitable people. Although Switzerland is a rather expensive country, the circumstances make an overnight stay there more than pleasant. When we are there we like to book a hotel near the centre and the Cascade hotel really is. The have parking facilities, very nice staff, the rooms are okay, up to date, (unfortunately the airco makes too much noise), breakfast was perfect (bonus: NO MUSIC!) and all in all it's a relaxing place to stay when being on the road.
We might book again if we go to Italy next year.

Room Tip: any room will do, we were on the fifth floor, traffcinoise is no problem then when sleeping with ope...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Albert L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Direktion_CASCADA, Front Office Manager at CASCADA Hotel, responded to this review, July 29, 2014
Dear Albert L

Thank you for your good and inormative feedback. It seems like you've enjoyed your stay in Lucerne. We apologize for the circumstanes with the aircon and already checked it.
Next time you definitely have to stay longer in the most beautiful city of switzerland.

We are looking forward to welcome you back again.

Best regards
Your CASCADA Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lucerne hotels
0.4 mi away
Hotel des Balances
Hotel des Balances
#5 of 69 in Lucerne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 953 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel des Alpes
Hotel des Alpes
#11 of 69 in Lucerne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 885 reviews
0.2 mi away
Renaissance Lucerne Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Continental-Park Hotel
Continental-Park Hotel
#9 of 69 in Lucerne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 482 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Wilden Mann
Hotel Wilden Mann
#8 of 69 in Lucerne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 393 reviews
0.3 mi away
Ameron Hotel Flora Luzern
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to CASCADA Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about CASCADA Hotel

Property: CASCADA Hotel
Address: Bundesplatz 18, Lucerne 6003, Switzerland
Phone Number:
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Lucerne > Lucerne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Lucerne
#6 Business Hotel in Lucerne
#7 Luxury Hotel in Lucerne
#9 Romantic Hotel in Lucerne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — CASCADA Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 66
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
CASCADA Hotel is a modern 4**** non-smoking city hotel which is centrally located near the trainstation. A few minutes walk away from the lake, the Old Town, the KKL and Lucerne's main attractions. All 66 rooms have been renovated recently, and are named and decorated after a Swiss waterfall. The rooms are equipped with bath or shower/toilet, air conditioning, Flatscreen-TV, Safe, kettle with tea and coffee, hair dryer, vanity mirror and Minibar with some free drinks. Throughout the hotel high-speed wireless LAN is available for free. The Spanish BOLERO restaurant is well known in Lucerne. The restaurant offers various specialities from the spanish and hispanic culture like Paella, Mejillones, Tortilla und Fajitas. Daily from 5 pm to 11 pm you can help yourself from the tasty Tapas buffet. Enjoy your time in the warm and exceptional ambience of the mediterranean BOLERO with it's hospitable and friendly staff. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity and Cheap Tickets so you can book your CASCADA Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cascada Hotel Lucerne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing