We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Cascada” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of CASCADA Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
CASCADA Hotel
Ranked #7 of 69 Hotels in Lucerne
Certificate of Excellence
Stuart, Florida, United States
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Cascada”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 29, 2013

The Hotel is in a nice location, a very safe neighborhood. it appears to have recently remodeled and our room was spotless, had a very functional bathroom .The bas was very busy and comfortable and the breakfast buffet was excellent. The front desk attendants were very helpful. They deserve their four stars. each room haa different swiss waterfall with full size picture on the room walls

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Carlos M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

837 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    424
    324
    65
    16
    8
See reviews for
217
325
47
142
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (102)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Shanghai, China
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 20, 2013

Room is clean, break fast is very good. Receptionist is very friendly. Location is also good, within 10 minutes walk to the railway station. The only thing I don't like is that the hotel seems to be newly renovated, and hence there's a smell in the room...

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lynn_est26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
24 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 20, 2013 via mobile

We arrived at around 11am and was given and early check-in.. The room was very huge for the 4 of us.. We are a couple with 2 young kids.. We loved the nespresso machine, complimentary fruits & bottled water.. My kids really love this hotel and rated this as their best hotel during our stay in Switzerland.. All the staff of Cascada are friendly & helpful, including the waitresses during breakfast.. Just right across the hotel is a Kebab kiosk if you are looking for cheap & halal meals.. The supermarket and tourist office is about 7 mins walk from the hotel, towards the train station.. Luzern old town is around 10 to 15 mins walk from the hotel.. Tip top on the Cleanliness of the hotel.. It was drizzling during our 2 nights stay.. There was a huge umbrella provided in our room, which we can use during our stay. This really comes in handy.. Thumbs up to Cascada for being pro-active..

The only negative part is, the wooden flooring is kind of hollow. When the kids run around, seems to be have this noisy echo.. We are just so afraid that the guests beneath us would complain, as its hard to control the kids from running around. We did hear noises from above us during our second day stay but its not that disturbing. However there is no train or traffic noise at all.

The perfect Hotel for us in Luzern. Thank you Cascada..

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank KikinY3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salem, India
Level Contributor
43 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 17, 2013

1. I have booked the single bed room directly with the hotel website, so price was less than the other website (Expedia) offered. Other advantage of booking directly is, you will get the 20% reduction of food coupons to use in the Bolero restaurant.
2. The location is closer to Lucerne train station (not more than 7 mins to reach from the station), fortunately there was no noise heard from the trains inside this property.
3. The room I have booked was, single bed one, which was smaller in size for the price (I felt like I was in the hotel room in Japan). For this price, I would have got better room in the middle east or in the USA. The room has got all the basic amenities, with a small bathroom (smaller than what other European hotels offered).
4. The rooms aren't well sound proofed, can hear TV sound from other room and noise while someone walking on the corridor.
5.The morning breakfast buffet has regular cold cuts, breads, cheese and fruit, nothing exciting.
6. If you on business trip and single, this hotel good for the location, otherwise find an alternative hotels in this city.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MMDSI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Murfreesboro, Tennessee
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 14, 2013

We stayed two nights at the Hotel Cascada and had a great experience. We traveled to Lucerne by overnight train and arrived at around 9 in the morning. We anticipated that we would only be able to drop our bags off but were thrilled to find out that our room was ready and we could take a much needed nap and clean up. The staff at the front desk during our stay was friendly, helpful, and courteous. Our room was clean, well appointed, and stylish. The hotel is located very close to both the train station and Lucerne's historic downtown. Even with its proximity to the train station noise was not a problem (we were in a room away from the street so this may have helped).

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jandlthay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chantilly, Virginia
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 29, 2013

The location was perfect! Within walking distance to the train station and town. The staff, especially Bettina were very, very helpful! Free WIFI was a nice surprise! Free breakfast was incredible!!! The only complaint was that the bed was a bit hard.

Room Tip: We had a room with a balcony facing the circle. It was nice to sit and watch the people and traffic...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PamelaM1111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bern, Switzerland
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 6, 2013

We were welcomed by a very helpful and cheerful lady, managing the check-in process for our group of five within just a couple of minutes, including all relevant details on i.e. breakfast, parking etc. Very efficient.
Our rooms were on the third and fourth floor, all of them had only just recently been completely renovated. Although both the room and bathroom are very small, the modern decor, wooden floor and layout make the most out of it and I enjoyed the comfort of the rooms.

People with a light sleep are better off asking for a room at the end of the corridor or facing the inner courtyard. The rooms are not all that sound-proof.

All the same a great place to stay, within walking distance of the train station, all major points of interest, the shopping and dining areas of Lucerne.

Although we only had a drink at the hotel bar, the restaurant looked very busy and the food served around us looked yummy.

Room Tip: ask for a newly renovated room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sunshine0606
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lucerne hotels
0.4 mi away
Hotel des Balances
Hotel des Balances
#5 of 69 in Lucerne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 953 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel des Alpes
Hotel des Alpes
#12 of 69 in Lucerne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 883 reviews
0.2 mi away
Renaissance Lucerne Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Waldstatterhof
Hotel Waldstatterhof
#11 of 69 in Lucerne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 993 reviews
0.2 mi away
Continental-Park Hotel
Continental-Park Hotel
#9 of 69 in Lucerne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 480 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Wilden Mann
Hotel Wilden Mann
#8 of 69 in Lucerne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 392 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to CASCADA Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about CASCADA Hotel

Property: CASCADA Hotel
Address: Bundesplatz 18, Lucerne 6003, Switzerland
Phone Number:
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Lucerne > Lucerne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Lucerne
#6 Business Hotel in Lucerne
#7 Luxury Hotel in Lucerne
#9 Romantic Hotel in Lucerne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — CASCADA Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 66
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
CASCADA Hotel is a modern 4**** non-smoking city hotel which is centrally located near the trainstation. A few minutes walk away from the lake, the Old Town, the KKL and Lucerne's main attractions. All 66 rooms have been renovated recently, and are named and decorated after a Swiss waterfall. The rooms are equipped with bath or shower/toilet, air conditioning, Flatscreen-TV, Safe, kettle with tea and coffee, hair dryer, vanity mirror and Minibar with some free drinks. Throughout the hotel high-speed wireless LAN is available for free. The Spanish BOLERO restaurant is well known in Lucerne. The restaurant offers various specialities from the spanish and hispanic culture like Paella, Mejillones, Tortilla und Fajitas. Daily from 5 pm to 11 pm you can help yourself from the tasty Tapas buffet. Enjoy your time in the warm and exceptional ambience of the mediterranean BOLERO with it's hospitable and friendly staff. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets and Travelocity so you can book your CASCADA Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cascada Hotel Lucerne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing