We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Spacious room, great breakfast”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of CASCADA Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
CASCADA Hotel
Ranked #8 of 68 Hotels in Lucerne
Certificate of Excellence
Singapore
Level Contributor
29 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Spacious room, great breakfast”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 26, 2012 via mobile

Hotel is in a quiet area, and easily accessible from the train station, about 8 minutes walk. However, it is slightly far from the old town (about 15 mins). Staff are friendly, giving us good recommendations on where to go and the costs. Room is spacious with 3 sets of windows. There is airconditioning, free wifi in the room. The television has many channels to view. From the windows, there is a good view of the street, a glimpse of the old town as well as the alps. Bathroom is very spacious as well, with full set of toiletries provided. Breakfast selection was great (the best we had in Europe) with a selection of hot and cold foods, including a choice of different egg styles which is prepared upon each order.

Overall a good hotel to stay in if you don't mind the distance from the old town.

Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Joy80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CASCADA_11, Leiter Öffentlichkeitsarbeit at CASCADA Hotel, responded to this review, September 3, 2012
Dear Joy80

Thank you very much for your feedback. It is fantastic that you had a good time in our hotel.

Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

858 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    437
    332
    65
    16
    8
See reviews for
223
332
49
144
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (104)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
41 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 21, 2012

We've checked-out early from the Iris Style Hotel and move to this hotel - this hotel is reasonably price in an expensive tourist town of Luzern. The hotel is a 10 minutes easy stroll to the old town and Chapel bridge with all the facilities as you expect from a modern hotel: good hotel staff, air-conditioning, car parking, free wifi and good breakfast. The sliding curtains in the middle of the room provide some form of privacy between us and the kids in the room - this is a nice touch !

As well as eating in the old town, we could find quite a lot of restaurants within 5 minutes from the hotel. All in all, if we were to visit Luzern again, we will definitely come back stay in this hotel.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JohnF_2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CASCADA_11, Leiter Öffentlichkeitsarbeit at CASCADA Hotel, responded to this review, August 25, 2012
Dear johnfu

Thank you for your feedback. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay at hotel CASCADA. We are looking forward to welcome you again in Lucerne.

Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vantaa, Finland
Level Contributor
18 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 16, 2012 via mobile

Spent 3 days in Cascada hotel Luzern with my family. Hotel has a very convenient location right next to the railway station. However its peaceful neighbourhiid without any disturbing noise at night. Staff was really friendly and professional and wi-fi was included in the room. A special credit to the breakfast with fresh fried eggs based on your order and good variety of coffee available. Perfect way to start a new day!

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TeemuS3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CASCADA_11, Leiter Öffentlichkeitsarbeit at CASCADA Hotel, responded to this review, August 25, 2012
Dear TeemuS3

Thank you very much for your great feedback. We are looking forward to see you again in hotel CASCADA.

Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Plymouth, New Zealand
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 13, 2012

Hotel Cascada In Luzern was an easy 5 minute stroll from the train station. The staff are really friendly and helpful and spoke several languages, including English. The hotel was clean, in a lovely area and also close to the 'old town', the river and all transfers for any tourist activities. The staff knew about and shared 'good deals', even the best places to shop for certain items - we followed this up and checked comparisons and found that they advised us well. The restaurant attached to the hotel offers both a good deal breakfast and good a-la-carte dining.
If we come back to Luzern we will definitely stay at the Cascada - it offered great value for a very reasonable price.

Room Tip: Rooms overlooking the side street are quiet and picturesque
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kathy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CASCADA_11, Verkaufsleiter at CASCADA Hotel, responded to this review, July 21, 2012
Dear Kathy

Thank you for your great feedback. It is a pleasure to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us.

We are looking forward welcoming you next time in Luzern.

Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, GA
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2012

Had a very nice stay at the Cascada. It was an easy walk from the train station, if you are traveling light. The staff was friendly and efficient. My room was clean and comfortable. Although the room was small, it was well designed and laid out. Especially liked the desk space for working on my computer. The shower was strong and there was plenty of hot water. My room was very quiet – perhaps because it faced the back rather than the street side. Free wifi internet speed was fine – certainly good for email and looking up travel information. I thought breakfast was excellent with a diverse assortment of breads, cheeses, fruit, juices, yogurt, cereal, bacon and potatoes. They also have a little pad on each table where you can order eggs to your liking or an omelet with a variety of ingredients. Although this hotel is not in the center of the tourist district near the river, it was only about a 10 minute walk through a nice neighborhood to get to the tourist action. Was pleased with my experience at this hotel and would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GeorgiaPenguin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CASCADA_11, Verkaufsleiter at CASCADA Hotel, responded to this review, July 21, 2012
Dear Guest

Thank your very much for your feedback. It is a pleasure for us when our guests feel comfortable.

We are looking forward to welcome you again at hotel CASCADA.

Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
zoe17
Level Contributor
180 reviews
170 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 136 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 5, 2012

I chose this hotel because it had air conditioning and was within walking distance (6 blocks, roughly) of the central train station. And it was cheaper than hotels with similar features.

The main part of the room measured about 8 by 7 feet. When I lay on the bed, my feet touched the wall. The feathers of the duvet were all at the sides when I woke up in the morning. The hotel provided the smallest piece of soap I'd ever seen in a hotel, and didn't replace it after the first day. (I stayed 2 days.)

On the plus side, the hotel offered a great breakfast and reception staff was very helpful.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank zoe17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 4, 2012

Stayed there for two days. Room was small but comfortable. Good thing is the proximity to the station and the best thing is the very helpful nature of their Chief of Reception Ms. Harri. She has answers to all your queries and was kind enough to guide us on selecting our sightseeing tours and shopping. Our breakfast packets (fully loaded) were ready at the reception at 4.30 am (!) since we were catching very early morning train to Zurich. Very good hospitality!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 2gentlemen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lucerne hotels
0.4 mi away
Hotel des Balances
Hotel des Balances
#4 of 68 in Lucerne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 978 reviews
0.2 mi away
Renaissance Lucerne Hotel
0.4 mi away
Hotel des Alpes
Hotel des Alpes
#10 of 68 in Lucerne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 897 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Continental-Park Hotel
Continental-Park Hotel
#9 of 68 in Lucerne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 494 reviews
0.9 mi away
Art Deco Hotel Montana Luzern
0.4 mi away
Hotel Wilden Mann
Hotel Wilden Mann
#6 of 68 in Lucerne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 409 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to CASCADA Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about CASCADA Hotel

Property: CASCADA Hotel
Address: Bundesplatz 18, Lucerne 6003, Switzerland
Phone Number:
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Lucerne > Lucerne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Lucerne
#6 Business Hotel in Lucerne
#8 Luxury Hotel in Lucerne
#9 Romantic Hotel in Lucerne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — CASCADA Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 66
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
CASCADA Hotel is a modern 4**** non-smoking city hotel which is centrally located near the trainstation. A few minutes walk away from the lake, the Old Town, the KKL and Lucerne's main attractions. All 66 rooms have been renovated recently, and are named and decorated after a Swiss waterfall. The rooms are equipped with bath or shower/toilet, air conditioning, Flatscreen-TV, Safe, kettle with tea and coffee, hair dryer, vanity mirror and Minibar with some free drinks. Throughout the hotel high-speed wireless LAN is available for free. The Spanish BOLERO restaurant is well known in Lucerne. The restaurant offers various specialities from the spanish and hispanic culture like Paella, Mejillones, Tortilla und Fajitas. Daily from 5 pm to 11 pm you can help yourself from the tasty Tapas buffet. Enjoy your time in the warm and exceptional ambience of the mediterranean BOLERO with it's hospitable and friendly staff. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your CASCADA Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cascada Hotel Lucerne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing