We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean Room, Great Breakfast, Good Walking Location”
Review of CASCADA Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
CASCADA Hotel
Ranked #7 of 67 Hotels in Lucerne
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 12, 2012

Enjoyed two nights at Cascada with my husband and sister in law. Room for 3 was very large, clean, and big bathroom. We did face the street so there was some late night noise as people were leaving the bar but nothing that would take away from experience. Walk to main Lucerne was about 10 min, very close to train station. Breakfast was great, large selection as well as cooked to order eggs. We did have a car and the hotel parking was at a lot about 3 min walk. Getting the car in & out did involve getting a gate key from front desk and returning it once you got your car. A tad bit annoying. Overall, great place and would stay again if my travels took us back to Lucerne

Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
Thank Elizabeth G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CASCADA_11, Leiter Front Office at CASCADA Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 2, 2012

Dear Guest
Thank you for your feedback. We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us. We would like to welcome you again at hotel CASCADA.

Best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (963)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

568 - 574 of 963 reviews

Reviewed April 29, 2012

I stayed at the Hotel Cascade as the usual Hotels I am booking, when my lectures at the University of applied science Lucerne end late and a return back home is not reasonable coming back next day early in the morning, where either fully booked or too high priced for what they offer.

I was really surprised how near this hotel was located from my school and how much things are offered for less cost compared to the Hotel Alpina or Hotel Waldstätterhof eg AC, free WLAN, Minibar. Alpina does not offer WLAN at all and Waldstätterhof you have to pay for. Minibar is neither available in the one nor in the other mentioned hotel.

The room in Cascada hotel are simple, but clean. My room had even a little balcony. I guess it could be quite noisy the weekends as there are bars and restaurants around and a huge complex of cinema around the corner. As there was an AC I did not open the window anyway, but used the AC during the night. The bed is comfy and I had a good sleep.

What is a nice add on in the hotel is the restaurant Bolero situated in the hotel itself. It's a spanish restaurant that offers a range of typical Spanish dishes such as different style Paella, Tapas etc. As my school finished late I did not have a main dish, but orderet Tapas at the restaurant bar to take away to my room. If you order it via room service they bill you with CHF 10.- which is absolutely not necessary as you just have to go down by the elevator order your meal or Tapas, take it on a salver (they give you a salver where the plates are placed on) up to your room and you saved CHF 10.- :-)

Hotel staff is helpful, friendly and the service is very efficient. I will stay at the Cascada now more often when I have to stay in Lucerne over night.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SwissGulliver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CASCADA_11, Manager at CASCADA Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 30, 2012

Dear Client

Thank you very much for your kind words! We always try to make our best for our dear guests and we are looking forward to seeing you again in our hotel!

Best regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 5, 2012

With a big suitcase in tow, we were very grateful to roll our of the train station and around the corner to the hotel. We got in early and the held our bags for us and transferred them to our room wen it became available. The room had a mini balcony which was cute. Mattress was exceptionally good, and on the night we were there we did not have any issues with noise-- we were on a higher floor. Breakfast had a range of choices.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Homestead_And_Abroad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 16, 2012

This hotel is very close to the train station, get out of train looking onto street, turn right and left, and its justabout behind the station on the right. We had our GPS which made it very easy to find. This hotel was lovely, our room windows opened up and we had a great view of Mt Pilatus. The bathroom was very nice, and spacious. The hotel staff were excellent! Just a short walk to the town. We spent two days here. There is lots to see and do but very expensive. A little piece of laszana was 25.00 CHF. no garlic toast with that. We took a ferry over to Mt Pilatus and went up, look over the side at the little church that was built on a cliff, only way to get up there is helicopter. Once down on the gondola, we went to the bus stop which is so close to the end of the gondola ride back into town. This hotel is a great location. Very expensive but everything else is too

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing Mt Pilatus, the windows open right up! Bring binoculars
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ctanski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CASCADA_11, Manager at CASCADA Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 30, 2012

Dear guest,

Thank you for your appreciated feedback!
We are looking forward to seeing you in our hotel and wish you all the best.

Best regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 3, 2012

I just came back from a business trip to Lucerne. I stayed for one night at the Hotel Cascada which is conveniently close to the railroad station. This convenience does come at a price, you can frequently hear the sounds of the passing trains which can disturb your sleep. The pillows are awful, very big and extremely soft. Naturally you can contact the reception for a normal pillow but I was so tired I didn´t bother. The hotel has a nice restaurant which is Spanish style.
The food is quite good and the atmosphere is very pleasant. The same restaurant is used in the morning for breakfast.
The hotel offers you free wifi which is a plus and the signal strength is extremely good. Normally in Switzerland, internet connection in hotels is extremely expensive. Also the hotel is very close to the various bus stops.
All in all it´s a very good hotel but make sure you get a room facing the back of the hotel.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LoveSun50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CASCADA_11, Manager at CASCADA Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 8, 2012
Google Translation

Lieber Gast,

Vielen Dank für Ihr Feedback und die netten Worte.
Grundsätzlich sind alle unsere Zimmer sehr ruhig und besitzen gut, isolierte Fenster. Es kann aber in der Tat vorkommen, dass man in den Zimmern im Eck (Richtung Bahnhof) die ein- und ausfahrenden Züge hören kann.

Wir freuen uns aber, Sie in Zukunft wieder einmal bei uns begrüssen zu dürfen.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 2, 2012

Very nice hotel with a great location near the main train station. Walking distance to everything. Car parking. Very friendly and helpful staff. Rooms are clean and calm. I had a nice view on the roofs of the houses around. Would stay again and again!

Stayed January 2012 during a trade show in the area (Allmend Luzern)

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NatBin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 1, 2012

We stayed here in July 2010. Hotel was a short 10-15 minute walk from the train station and old-town Lucerne. Staff was very friendly. Air conditioning worked very well, bed was comfortable. Bathroom was very clean and nice. We ate in the hotel restaurant for dinner and breakfast the next morning. Dinner was very good, and the breakfast was the best we had during our weeklong trip to Italy and Switzerland. We initially wanted to stay in an older hotel in the historic area of Lucerne but they were either too pricey or didn't have air conditioning. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank matthews72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lucerne hotels
0.3 mi away
Ameron Hotel Flora Luzern
0.4 mi away
Hotel des Balances
Hotel des Balances
#5 of 67 in Lucerne
1,143 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel des Alpes
Hotel des Alpes
#10 of 67 in Lucerne
1,030 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Renaissance Lucerne Hotel
0.9 mi away
Art Deco Hotel Montana Luzern
0.6 mi away
Hotel Schweizerhof Luzern
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to CASCADA Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about CASCADA Hotel

Address: Bundesplatz 18, Lucerne 6003, Switzerland
Phone Number:
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Lucerne > Lucerne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Lucerne
#6 Business Hotel in Lucerne
#7 Luxury Hotel in Lucerne
#9 Romantic Hotel in Lucerne
Price Range: $162 - $321 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — CASCADA Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 66
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A modern individual hotel, centrally located close to the railway station and only a few minutes walk away from the lake, the old town and the city sights. Comfortable and modern air-conditioned rooms with highspeed Wi-Fi. In keeping with the hotel’s name, “CASCADA”, all rooms feature an impressive mural of a Swiss waterfall. The in-house BOLERO Restaurante, well-known for its creative Spanish cuisine, ensures your culinary well-being with tapas, paellas y vinos. A large selection of gins and open wines is served in the trendy bar & lounge. The rooms are equipped with bath or shower/toilet, air conditioning, Flatscreen-TV, Safe, kettle with tea and coffee, hair dryer, vanity mirror and Minibar with some free drinks. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your CASCADA Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cascada Hotel Lucerne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing