We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Completely perfect”

Wilhelm Tell Express
Ranked #13 of 26 Tours in Lucerne
Attraction details
Level Contributor
69 reviews
24 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Completely perfect”
Reviewed May 26, 2013 via mobile

We travelled from Luzern to Lugano and the boat trip was great. The views were fantastic and the meal was delicious. I did however get a little sea sick. We had first class tickets for the rail leg and we had the whole carriage to ourself and we had a a lovely lady looking after us the whole way. Would definitely recommend travelling this way.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
4 Thank Gabro58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

29 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    15
    10
    3
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
sydney
Level Contributor
200 reviews
64 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
“A must to see”
Reviewed May 9, 2013 via mobile

We did this trip from Lucerne to Lugano in early May. The weather although a little chilly was great and we enjoyed seeing the snow covered mountains along the lake fronts. The homes that skirted the shore line were amazing and made the trip worth doing. The paddle steamer leaves from the dock right opposite the train station and we enjoyed a set 3 course menu without drinks in the first class lounge. The staff were excellent and knowledgable about the paddle steamer and also about the areas we were passing through on the 3+ hour trip to Lugano. This is a must as you can see so much not only by the water but also by train where you can commute to either Locarno or Lugano after leaving the paddle steamer. This trip is a must.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank review53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Lake Luzern with Wilhelm Tell”
Reviewed October 23, 2012

We specially booked this trip , and it was a wonderful experience. The journey starts from Luzern Lake to Fluelen through steam Paddle steamer,the ship itself a beautiful and looks like a historic attraction. During the travel we have seen awesome scenic views. This trips also includes lunch and one lovely souvenir.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
10 Thank Rashid_Nizamani
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
221 reviews
119 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
“A touch of luxury”
Reviewed September 2, 2012

We booked this trip as part of a holiday package, and it was a wonderful experience. We started on a steam paddle steamer across the lake from Luzern to Fluelen. When we got on the boat we were given a welcome pack which contained an information book about the trip, a voucher for a meal on board and a lovely small real 'Swiss Army' knife. (Just make sure you put this in your checked in baggage when you fly home!). The trip across the lake takes just under two hours, which passes very quickly as you eat and watch the beautiful scenery go by. At Fluelen you then board a train which takes you on a wonderful trip through mountains and the Gothard tunnel. Those who designed and built this railway were masters of engineering! The twists and turns to gain height are remarkable. At Bellinzona we changed trains for Lugano, but you can continue your journey to Locarno.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
5 Thank Hooligan-59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
58 reviews
25 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“Very nice scenic trip”
Reviewed September 6, 2011

The Wilhelm Tell Express is relatively unknown, although it is one of the top four advertised scenic rail trips in Switzerland. The special part of this trip is that it actually is a combination of a boat trip and a train trip.

The boat goes from Luzern to Flüelen on the Vierwaldstätter See. The scenery on this lake is great indeed. The ship itself is also special: it is a historic steamship paddle boat, which gives a very nice atmosphere.

The train then continues on to Locarno, but you can also go to Lugano if you like. The rail line itself is a great engineering feat, with special tunnels doing 270 and 360 degree turns while gaining height. The landscape itself I didn't find too exciting, at least compared to the other scenic trains in Switzerland. But still very nice, of course.

Visited August 2011
Helpful?
16 Thank Miguel-Aleman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Wilhelm Tell Express also viewed

Lucerne, Canton of Lucerne
Lucerne, Canton of Lucerne
 
Lucerne, Canton of Lucerne
Lucerne, Canton of Lucerne
 

Been to Wilhelm Tell Express? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing