We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Price-quality ratio is very good”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Seminarhaus Bruchmatt
Ranked #8 of 14 Lucerne B&B and Inns
Reviewed November 26, 2013

During our eurotrip me and my husband we stayed in Luzern in this hotel. In general Switzerland is very expensive place, so we were really surprised how good the hotel was for the price we paid. Shared bathrooms are very clean, nice breakfast, free parking (!), really attentive stuff. Location is perfect, 5 min walking to the center.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Eugen1a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (40)
There are newer reviews for Seminarhaus Bruchmatt
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

19 - 25 of 40 reviews

Reviewed September 17, 2013

Don't expect much from the property and you won't be disappointed. The rooms are small, but neat and clean. The bathrooms are common, but there's a sink in the room. It's situated a little uphill and it's best to take the bus from the station while going here.Not exactly prime location, but decent for a night. The wi - fi works only in the common area.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SaunakGhosh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 12, 2013

Nothing is cheap in Switzerland, so if you're traveling solo, then it's important to find decent, cheap lodgings that aren't a hassle to get to and are a bit of an upgrade from a hostel. This place runs about $70 USD per night (cheap for Luzern!)

From the Hauptbahnhof, go out the front doors and hop onto Bus 10. It's free if you've just arrived using your Swiss/Swiss Flexi Pass (valid same day travel). Get off at Berglistrasse. Out of the bus, go back the direction you came (downhill) and cross the street. The seminary is right there. Everything is within walking distance--major sites are about 15 to 20 minute leisurely stroll away.

Don't forget that this is a seminary, so the people working there are somehow church connected. Don't let that bother you, because they aren't there to convert you.

The room I stayed in was spartan, yet clean as a whistle. It did, however, smell like mothballs; I just opened the windows to alleviate that issue. The room has a single bed with comforter, a table with chair, and a lounge chair, along with a basin area. To use the WC or shower, you have to head down the hall. So...don't forget to bring cheap slippers or shower shoes. Also, you'll need to bring your own shower gel/soap, because they don't provide it (which they should--it's not a hostel and soap is cheap!)

The place isn't exactly quiet because there are major train tracks right near, so you'll hear trains from about 7 a.m.-11 p.m.--ish. And it will depend on who else is staying there because regardless of what part of the world you're in, over half of humanity is totally clueless as to how their behavior affects others...as in, people talking loudly in the hall when they come in, not smart enough to figure out not to let the door slam and/or how to use a skeleton key without waking everybody and their brother up! So bring some earplugs, otherwise you'll be awakened at midnight or six a.m. by other guests.

Even though there isn't any AC, and it's hot in the summer in Luzern, you can open the windows, pull the shutters that will still vent air in, and use your shoe to prop your door open to get a breeze.

There's a TV room, one computer, and free wifi in the club room areas. The property has a nice little garden with tables and chairs for your use, which is nice if you want to read, have a picnic, or just relax. Don't forget your bug spray!

Breakfast is available for a very reasonable price--do yourself a favor, and book it. You won't find breakfast for under ten USD unless you go to the grocery store, and even then, you won't be able to get a coffee except at a cafe. If you want to buy groceries, there's a COOP and a Migros about nine minutes away on foot.

I do have to say, overall the place was good for a budget option; however, the cleaning crew did not lock my door after they emptied the trash (but luckily nothing was stolen--or so far as I can tell!) The shortbread-jam cookie was a nice touch upon arrival in my room. Seminarhaus Bruchmatt gets a solid B.

Room Tip: A room on the back side of the building is probably far quieter than a room with a view in the front...
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Ceejinator
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 3, 2013

We stayed here one night in mid October 2012. The place was a little tricky to find (we turned the wrong way when we got off the bus) but we were pleasantly surprised when we found it. There was a very pretty garden on the premises, which was nice. The room was small and simple, with a small sink in the room, full size bed and a desk. There was a computer that you could use if you needed and also a tv room and dining room. We used the tv room to have a picnic dinner. When I was booking our hotels, the price on this B&B could not be beat. It is close enough to downtown, but far enough away to bring down the price significantly.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jen_S470
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 15, 2012

We don't normally stay in hostels so I can't really compare Seminarhaus Bruchmatt to a hostel experience, but if it is similar I would do it again.

We stayed two nights at Seminarhaus Bruchmatt. It is very well located, only a few minutes walk from the heart of town but far enough away that is was peaceful and quiet. Our room was small. and a little dated, but clean. We were at the end of the hall in a corner room for two overlooking the peaceful garden. The room had a sink. As this is a seminary you have to share a bathroom but we never found that to be a problem at all. In our "wing" there were ten rooms, serviced by four bathrooms -- two with showers. Free wi-fi and TV is available in the common spaces. Breakfast is available for a fee but we did not eat at the seminary.

We would stay here again and recommend it to others.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DarrenofKent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 24, 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: February 2017, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Fei c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 12, 2017
Google Translation

Room Tip: Se possibile, meglio le stanze lato parcheggio, con vista dalla collina sulla città
  • Stayed: December 2016, traveled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank stefano t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lucerne hotels
0.7 mi away
ibis budget Luzern City
ibis budget Luzern City
#39 of 67 in Lucerne
1,579 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Alpha
Hotel Alpha
#35 of 67 in Lucerne
348 reviews
1.6 mi away
ibis Luzern Kriens
ibis Luzern Kriens
#2 of 6 in Kriens
575 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hotel Krone Luzern
Hotel Krone Luzern
#17 of 67 in Lucerne
476 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Magic
Hotel Magic
#43 of 67 in Lucerne
174 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Wilden Mann
Hotel Wilden Mann
#6 of 67 in Lucerne
499 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Seminarhaus Bruchmatt? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Seminarhaus Bruchmatt

Address: Bruchmattstrasse 9, Lucerne 6003, Switzerland
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Lucerne > Lucerne
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 14 B&Bs / Inns in Lucerne
Price Range: $72 - $146 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 25
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda and TripOnline SA so you can book your Seminarhaus Bruchmatt reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing