We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worth aStay”
Review of Hotel Seeburg

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Seeburg
Ranked #18 of 67 Hotels in Lucerne
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 5, 2014

Stayed here for 2 nights in June on the way to Tuscany. Excellent on-site parking and the hotel is reasonably easy to find. Rooms fine, the one we had was in the 'old' part of the hotel and had a balcony overlooking Lake Lucerne with obvious fantastic views, bathroom which is always important was very good. Although the main road runs between the hotel and Lake Lucerne, Hotel Seeburg owns and run the Sunset Bar across the road in nice grounds on the Lake. The Sunset Bar is great and staff young ad nice, it has large fantastic daybed loungers to pass the time relaxing and the excellent Hotel Wi-Fi can be picked up here as well. We ate in the restaurant one night, we wanted to sit outside but a storm put paid to that and everything went crazy. Food was nothing to get excited about and the interior décor/atmosphere was just average but then again no doubt outside seating is probably the normal default option. Breakfast was good but overtaken by a coach trip which made breakfast a tad busy with the tour agent interrupting her holidaymakers and talking throughout breakfast, in all honesty she was a pain....but we shouldn't hold this against the hotel. Staff were great and friendly. Hotel Seeburg is a bit out of town, which we liked, and has a delightful lakeside walk to Lucerne city centre about 2km maybe 3km away.

Room Tip: Surely a room with a balcony over the lake is a must and stayed in room 611 which is fine
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Kenbeenthere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Simone B, Head of Administration at Hotel Seeburg, responded to this reviewResponded August 14, 2014

Dear Guest

Thank you very much for your kind feedback. It gives us the possibility to check our quality and to improve ourselves consistently.

We always try our best that our guests feel welcome and are very pleased to hear that you have enjoyed your stay with us - except the experience during the dinner. Thank you for your critical and honest feedback.

We would be very pleased to welcome you at another occasion at the Hotel Seeburg in Luzern so that we have the possibility to convince you of our improved standard of quality.

Yours sincerely,

Simone Brun
Head of Administration

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (594)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

220 - 226 of 594 reviews

Reviewed August 5, 2014 via mobile

I had been to Lucerne in October 2012 with my wife and another couple. The hotel is situated at a very scenic place and has good access to various places to visit in the City. The hotel staff was helpful and cordial during our stay there. We had booked rooms with forest view but they had upgraded us to lake view rooms on arrival at no extra cost.

During our stay we only had breakfast at the hotel, which was probably our best meal of the day. Good spread of buffet breakfast.

Overall, a good place to have a comfortable stay in Lucerne. Recommended for travelers to try this place.

Stayed: August 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank adityamodani
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Simone B, Head of Administration at Hotel Seeburg, responded to this reviewResponded August 14, 2014

Dear Guest

Thank you very much for your kind feedback. It gives us the possibility to check our quality and to improve ourselves consistently.

We always try our best that our guests feel welcome and are very pleased to hear that you have enjoyed you stay with us.

We would be very pleased to welcome you at another occasion at the Hotel Seeburg in Luzern and remain with best regards.

Simone Brun
Head of Administration

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 4, 2014

We stayed two nights here. After staying elsewhere in Switzerland in Old Town situation, the quiet location of this hotel was greatly welcomed! In the evening, it is so quiet, we had the best nights of sleep here. We reserved over 6 months ago for a forest view room, but when we arrived, we were pleasantly informed that we got a complimentary upgrade to the lake view room on the 5th floor.

Our room had direct view to the lake as well as Mt. Pilatus. On the nice morning, it was simply breath taking beautiful. For a nice sunset, be sure to enjoy it from your own private balcony. The room is very large, with the toilet separate from the bathroom. That was very convenient. The shower is great, with a tub. Even the hair dryer works well, far better than the wimpy ones in our other hotels.

As for the hotel restaurant Alexander, we did do a separate Trip Advisor review. Just wanted to mention that the Front Desk gave us $20 discount vouchers to use. We found the entress delicious, service excellent. Really enjoyed our lake view window table, and the chocolate torte dessert with ice cream was the highlight of the dinner. We did not find the prices to be outrageous, it seemed pretty in line with a high end restaurant that offer nice view such as this one. The waitress spoke English well, which made us more comfortable.

We only wish all our Swiss hotels can be as nice and reasonable as the Seeburg! Had to peek at the going rate for a lake view hotel, it was well over $500 per night. So glad we reserved many months ago when the rates were still very low.

The room rate does not include breakfast. Room does have a coffee / tea tray with hot water boiler. They gave us two small bottles of drinking water complimentary. The parking lot is good and free, as the Wi Fi.

Room Tip: Fifth floor end room will be the most quiet. Get lake view for an amazing experience.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Brown_Samantha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Simone B, Head of Administration at Hotel Seeburg, responded to this reviewResponded August 14, 2014

Dear Guest

Thank you so much for your kind and detailled feedback. It gives us the possibility to check our quality and to improve ourselves consistently.

We always try our best that our guests feel welcome and are very pleased to hear that you have enjoyed your stay with us.

We would be very pleased to welcome you at another occasion at the Hotel Seeburg in Luzern and remain with best regards.

Simone Brun
Head of Administration

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 4, 2014

Highly recommend must stay here great staff understand English great breakfast . Would come back next time. Only couple of km out of town with bus to town at front door. Boats go pass toot there horn each time

Stayed: August 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank Bigtoes L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Simone B, Head of Administration at Hotel Seeburg, responded to this reviewResponded August 14, 2014

Dear Guest

Thank you very much for your kind feedback. It gives us the possibility to check our quality and to improve ourselves consistently.

We always try our best that our guests feel welcome and are very pleased to hear that you have nning and will be carried out between the next 2 to 4 years.

We would be very pleased to welcome you at another occasion at the Hotel Seeburg in Luzern and remain with best regards.

Simone Brun
Head of Administration

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 3, 2014

Hotel Seeburg is a very friendly hotel with magnificnt views of the mountains and the lake from the Chalet gardenia 4 star deluxe twin rooms. All the staff are well trained and very helpful. The food is good and well presented. We eat vegetarian/fish and were offered a very good half board deal. This suited us well, as we did not want to go out looking for restaurants to suit us after a day out. You can walk into the city along the lake road (about 50 minutes) or take the 24 bus. If you are unfortunate enough to need medical treatment there is a state of the art clinic only 10 minutes away (Hirslanden Klinik St. Anna) where the service is superb! The hotel sent my wife a lovely bouqet of flowers there!

Room Tip: Go for the Gardenia 4 star rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Michael B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Simone B, Head of Administration at Hotel Seeburg, responded to this reviewResponded August 5, 2014

Dear Michael B.

Thank you very much for your kind and positive feedback. We are very pleased to hear that you have enjoyed your stay with us.

We would be very pleased to welcome you at another occasion at the Hotel Seeburg in Luzern and wish you and your wife all the best.

Kindest regards

Simone Brun
Head of Administration

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 28, 2014

This hotel is located a little away from the center of the city but easily reachable by Bus no 24. The bus stop s name itself is Seeburg :) .. Very calm place and the rooms are good. We chose the lake view room with balcony . Had a very nice experience. Staff is courteous and breakfast buffet is also very good.

Room Tip: Go for the lake view room with balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Hemant B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Simone B, Head of Administration at Hotel Seeburg, responded to this reviewResponded August 1, 2014

Dear Guest

Thank you very much for your kind feedback. It gives us the possibility to check our quality and to improve ourselves consistently.

We always try our best that our guests feel welcome and are very pleased to hear that you have enjoyed your stay with us.

We would be very pleased to welcome you at another occasion at the Hotel Seeburg in Luzern and send you best regards.

Simone Brun
Head of Administration

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 15, 2014

A nice hotel a bit outside the center of the city, at reasonable price. It is a short bus ride from the city center, and relatively quiet. Very nice view of the lake and the mountains across it. The breakfast is o.k, and the rooms are fine.

Room Tip: The view is all the money!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled solo
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Nikos C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Simone B, Head of Administration at Hotel Seeburg, responded to this reviewResponded August 1, 2014

Dear Guest.

Thank you very much for your kind feedback. It gives us the possibility to check our quality and to improve ourselves consistently.

We always try our best that our guests feel welcome and are very pleased to hear that you have enjoyed your stay with us.

We would be very pleased to welcome you at another occasion at the Hotel Seeburg in Luzern and remain with best regards.

Simone Brun
Head of Administration

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lucerne hotels
0.4 mi away
Seehotel Hermitage Luzern
1.8 mi away
Hotel des Alpes
Hotel des Alpes
#10 of 67 in Lucerne
1,012 reviews
1.7 mi away
Ameron Hotel Flora Luzern
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Art Deco Hotel Montana Luzern
1.6 mi away
CASCADA Hotel
CASCADA Hotel
#7 of 67 in Lucerne
947 reviews
1.9 mi away
Hotel des Balances
Hotel des Balances
#5 of 67 in Lucerne
1,101 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Seeburg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Seeburg

Address: Seeburgstrasse 53 - 61, Lucerne 6006, Switzerland
Phone Number:
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Lucerne > Lucerne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 67 Hotels in Lucerne
Price Range: $144 - $277 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Seeburg 3*
Number of rooms: 61
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hospitality and tradition, atmosphere and pleasure are united in the legendary Hotel Seeburg. It is not only the oldest hotel at Lake Lucerne, but an impressive destination offering exclusive comfort, well-being and a unique view of the lake and mountains. Hotel Seeburg 3* has 45 standard rooms, 11 deluxe rooms and 5 designer junior suites. The multipurpose Seeburg Room - with a spectacular view of the lake and mountains - unites the rich tradition of the Seeburg with contemporary architecture. The famous Panorama Room, dating from the 19th century, is among the most beautiful rooms in Switzerland. In the open-air Sunset Bar one can relax and enjoy the warm summer evenings while in the colder months, the Rigi Cabin awaits your visit for a rustic evening. You'll enjoy a wonderful sense of well-being in this lovely residence. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Seeburg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing