We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“amazing view....worth every penny” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Seeburg

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Seeburg
Ranked #14 of 69 Hotels in Lucerne
Certificate of Excellence
Malmo, Sweden
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“amazing view....worth every penny”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 16, 2014

Was there last month, booked this hotel after extensive research and took the advise of many to pay a premium for the lakeview room and I tell you it was a good decision in the end...the room was ordinary, yet comfortable. The toilets and bathroom were bit old fashioned, but if you have to be out of the room most of the time, it doesn't really matter however when you wake up and look outside the balcony, the view makes up for everything. The hotel is a bit away from the main city and shopping areas, however there is a good bus service almost every 15 mins, so no issue if you have a day pass. Highly recommended for the view and a calm stay in luzerne.

Room Tip: Go for the lakeview room...sure worth it
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Mayank_Nagar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Simone B, Head of Administration at Hotel Seeburg, responded to this review, March 19, 2014
Dear guests

Thank you very much for your kind feedback. It gives us the possibility to check our quality and to improve ourselves consistently. We always try our best that our guests feel welcome and are very pleased to hear that you have enjoyed your stay with us.

We do know that the Seeburg 61 3*, especially the bathrooms, is in a condition that should be renovated. During the last twelve months we have realized the renovation of all our standard rooms 3* including a soft renovation of the bathrooms. The next stage, the renovation of the complete seeburg 61 building, is already in planning and will be carried out between the next 2 to 4 years.

We would be very pleased to welcome you at another occasion at the Hotel Seeburg in Luzern so that we have the possibility to convince you of our improved standard of quality.

Yours sincerely,

Simone Brun
Head of Administration
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

554 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    220
    229
    62
    23
    20
See reviews for
107
274
18
66
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (142)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Basel, Switzerland
Level Contributor
81 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 15, 2014

We just stayed for one night and were upgraded to lake view. Looking at the hotel from the outside, it's pretty obvious that the main building is quite dated (50s or 60s I'd say). They beefed it up quite a bit in the interior, so one doesn't notice it much (WC and bathroom were still "original", albeit in pristine state of cleanliness). View is fantastic as well as the breakfast. We'd go there again.

Room Tip: try to get lake view if possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank deus_lo_vult
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Simone B, Head of Administration at Hotel Seeburg, responded to this review, February 19, 2014
Dear Seeburg guest

Thank you very much for your kind feedback. It gives us the possibility to check our quality and to improve ourselves consistently. We always try our best that our guests feel welcome and are very pleased to hear that you have enjoyed your stay with us.

We know that the Seeburg 61 3*, especially the bathrooms, is in a condition that should be renovated. During the last twelve months we have realized the renovation of all our standard rooms 3* including a soft renovation of the bathrooms. The next stage, the renovation of the complete Seeburg 61 building, is already in planning and will be carried out between the next 2 to 4 years.

We would be very pleased to welcome you at another occasion at the Hotel Seeburg in Luzern and send you best regards.

Simone Brun
Head of Administration
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Camberley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
45 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 6, 2014

We went to Switzerland for our honeymoon in June 2013, spending the first five days at this beautiful location. Our room had the most stunning lake view, which we could see from our bed! The perspex balcony front afforded us an uninterupted vista.
The hotel staff were friendly and helpful. The restaurant food was excellent and the variety of swiss wines outstanding. We would whole heartedly recommend this hotel to anyone.

Room Tip: Must have is a lake view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Anita P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Simone B, Head of Administration at Hotel Seeburg, responded to this review, February 19, 2014
Dear Seeburg guest

Thank you so much for your kind feedback. It gives us the possibility to check our quality and to improve ourselves consistently.

We always try our best that our guests feel welcome and are very pleased to hear that you have enjoyed your stay with us - especially the stunning view over the lake and mountains.

Thank you for recommending the Hotel Seeburg to anyone.

We would be very pleased to welcome you at another occasion at the Hotel Seeburg in Luzern and send you in the meantime best regards.

Simone Brun
Head of Administration
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Launceston, Australia
Level Contributor
18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 9, 2014 via mobile

It is well worth visiting this hotel just for the view (do request a lake view room). We also dined in Restaurant Alexander and the staff were wonderful; they bent over backwards meeting our dietary requirements. The food was lovely (prawn curry and the salmon) and dessert was sensational (sorbet). A tip: take bus 24 towards Meggen from the train station to bus stop Hotel Seeburg (we did this with
suitcases) and then buy tickets back to the station from the vending machine at the same stop (across the road from where you
alighted) on the day of your departure.

  • Stayed January 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Emily P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Simone B, Head of Administration at Hotel Seeburg, responded to this review, January 21, 2014
Dear guest.

Thank you so much much for your kind feedback. It gives us the possibility to check our quality and to improve ourselves consistently.

We always try our best that our guests feel welcome and are very pleased to hear that you have enjoyed your stay with us.

Looking forward to welcoming you at another occasion at the Hotel Seeburg in Luzern we remain,

with best regards

Simone Brun
Head of Administration
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Basle, Switzerland
Level Contributor
23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 2, 2014

For the second time we decided to celebrate new year in the Hotel Seeburg in Luzern where we were extremely pleased after our first visit. The hotel is first class so no problems there, but unfortunately our Silvester meal was not. It took place in the Restaurant Alexander. The soup course with ravioli was rather undercooked - the ravioli - otherwise soup was ok. Fish course was extremely bland and the salmon was resting on a macadamia pureé but the nuts were whole and really were not suitable. I am also sorry to say that the main course was served up almost cold. Dessert was good, as was the cheese although no bread available. We were rather disappointed as 2 years before it was excellent. Whether we will celebrate Silvester there again is written in the stars.

Room Tip: All rooms are good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Patricia255
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Simone B, Head of Administration at Hotel Seeburg, responded to this review, January 13, 2014
Dear guest

Thank you very much for your kind feedback. It gives us the possibility to check our quality and to improve ourselves consistently.

We always try our best that our guests feel welcome. We are very sorry to hear that our New Year's Eve did not meet your expectations. Thank you for your critical and honest feedback concerning the Silvester meal. Of course your feedback will we a part of our debriefing.

We would be very pleased to welcome you at another occasion at the Hotel Seeburg in Luzern so that we have the possibility to convince you of our improved standard of quality.

Yours sincerely,

Simone Brun
Head of Administration
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wiltshire
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 29, 2013

We stayed at the Hotel Seeburg for 4 nights over christmas 2013. We were a party of 5 and stayed on a half board basis. We had rooms at the front of the hotel. The views from our balcony over the lake and mountains were truely breath taking.

The rooms were clean with all the mod cons including tea and coffee making facilities, flat screen tv, hair dryer etc. A travel adpator plug was avalible from reception. When we arrived we received a plate of christmas cookies and fruit in our room.

As we were half board we eat in the restaurant every night and the food was lovely. On christmas eve we had a 6 course gala dinner. The breakfasts were plentiful and there was a good choice of food.

The christmas lights at the Seeburg were spectacular both inside and out and added to that christmasy feeling. We especially enjoyed a glass a gluhwein in the bar after a long days sight seeing.

We walked into Luzern every day from the hotel it takes 40 - 50 mins but it is a nice flat walk along the lake front, through park land. There is a bus service (bus 24) that stops outside the hotel every 20 mins and runs to Luzern city centre and the railway station. The public transport even runs on christmas day and boxing day.

The staff at the Seeburg were so helpful. They even went out of there way to organise a cake for my mums birthday.

We will definatly be staying at the Seeburg again when we are next in Luzern.

Room Tip: Choose a lake front room for stunning views
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jeannie40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Simone B, Head of Administration at Hotel Seeburg, responded to this review, January 13, 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you so much for your wonderful feedback! We are very pleased to hear that you have spent such a lovely stay with us and that we were able to give you the special Christmas feeling.

We would be very pleased to welcome you to the Hotel Seeburg at another occasion and send you our best regards from Luzern.

Simone Brun
Head of Administration
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lucerne hotels
1.8 mi away
Hotel des Alpes
Hotel des Alpes
#11 of 69 in Lucerne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 883 reviews
1.7 mi away
Ameron Hotel Flora Luzern
1.9 mi away
Hotel des Balances
Hotel des Balances
#5 of 69 in Lucerne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 953 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Seehotel Hermitage Luzern
1.9 mi away
Hotel Krone Luzern
Hotel Krone Luzern
#15 of 69 in Lucerne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 436 reviews
1.6 mi away
CASCADA Hotel
CASCADA Hotel
#7 of 69 in Lucerne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 837 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Seeburg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Seeburg

Property: Hotel Seeburg
Address: Seeburgstrasse 53 - 61, Lucerne 6006, Switzerland
Phone Number:
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Lucerne > Lucerne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 69 Hotels in Lucerne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Seeburg 3*
Number of rooms: 61
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hospitality and tradition, atmosphere and pleasure are united in the legendary Hotel Seeburg. It is not only the oldest hotel at Lake Lucerne, but an impressive destination offering exclusive comfort, well-being and a unique view of the lake and mountains. Hotel Seeburg 3* has 45 standard rooms, 11 deluxe rooms and 5 designer junior suites. The multipurpose Seeburg Room - with a spectacular view of the lake and mountains - unites the rich tradition of the Seeburg with contemporary architecture. The famous Panorama Room, dating from the 19th century, is among the most beautiful rooms in Switzerland. In the open-air Sunset Bar one can relax and enjoy the warm summer evenings while in the colder months, the Rigi Cabin awaits your visit for a rustic evening. You'll enjoy a wonderful sense of well-being in this lovely residence. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Hotel Seeburg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing