We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay!”
Review of Hotel Seeburg

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Seeburg
Ranked #19 of 68 Hotels in Lucerne
Certificate of Excellence
Enterprise, Alabama
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great place to stay!”
Reviewed November 24, 2012

I was afraid at first when looking at a map that this hotel was too far out of town, but you can buy a bus pass all day for 6 CHF. The bus stop is 10meters outside the hotel and it runs on schedule. After a 10-15 minute bus ride your in town... No big deal.

The hotel itself was more really nice. Our room had a lake view which I recommend. Our room looked to be remodeled recently as everything looked newish. You wake up seeing the lake with the mountains in the back ground, truly remarkable. The staff was extremely friendly, the breakfast was great, and the Internet was pretty quick. With free parking to boot which is hard to beat. I see no reason to even look for another hotel if we go back to Lucerne. I will be staying at the Hotel Seeburg again!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Noakesd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seeburgluzern, Head of Administration at Hotel Seeburg, responded to this review, November 27, 2012
Dear Guest.

Thank you very much for your positive feedback. It gives us the possibility to check our quality and to improve ourselves consistently.

We always try our best that our guests feel welcome and are very pleased to hear that you have enjoyed your stay with us and you have appreciated our services.

Looking forward to welcoming you at another occasion at the Hotel Seeburg in Luzern we send you best regards from Luzern.

Simone Brun, Head of Administration
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

589 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    232
    244
    67
    24
    22
See reviews for
116
288
21
69
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (149)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed November 23, 2012

Comfortable, though a little tired Swiss hotel overlooking a beautiful lake with swans and the occasional boat. There is a bus stop right outside so easy to travel into the town centre. The staff are polite and efficient and help in any way they can. I heard that the hotel is up for sale now, at 30 million euros as there is a lot of land round it so the new owners can modernise it and make good use of the land around. A big plus at this hotel is the buffet breakfast with a wide selection of cereals, cheeses, eggs etc and champagne at weekends.

Room Tip: The 'new' part of the hotel had more modern rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JSTEAD32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seeburgluzern, Head of Administration at Hotel Seeburg, responded to this review, November 27, 2012
Dear Guest.
Thank you very much for your positive feedback. It gives us the possibility to check our quality and to improve ourselves consistently.

We always try our best that our guests feel welcome and are very pleased to hear that you have enjoyed your stay with us - especially the wonderful view and the breakfast buffet.

Looking forward to welcoming you at another occasion at the Hotel Seeburg in Luzern we send you best regards from Luzern.

Simone Brun, Head of Administration
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yass, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
237 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
Reviewed November 8, 2012

OK so the rooms that dont look at the lake are pretty ordinary and small for a 3 person stay but they are clean and there is plenty of wardrobe space. Free parking a relief and the bus stop right near the hotel was excellent for ease of going to town without the car. The view was spectacular and the nearby park for walks and sitting to enjoy sunsets was lovely. Unfortunately the staff were very cold and couldnt offer a lot of help regarding cruises and ferry trips. The buffet breakfast was lovely and a late checkout was most welcome.

Room Tip: Have to have a lake view or you will be disappointed. The road below is not as big a problem as havi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 1stimetraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seeburgluzern, Head of Administration at Hotel Seeburg, responded to this review, November 12, 2012
Dear Seeburg-Guest

Thank you very much for your kind feedback. It gives us the possibility to check our quality and to improve ourselves consistently.

It is a great pleasure to hear that you have enjoyed the stunning views and the good location.

We know that the seeburg 61, especially the standard rooms to the side and to the back, is in a condition that should be renovated. Last February we have realized the renovation of the standard rooms with lake view including a soft renovation of the bathrooms. The next stage is already in planning and will be carried out during the coming winter.

We hope that you have had enjoyed your stay with us.

Yours sincerely,

Simone Brun
Head of Administration



We do apologize for the unprofessional check-in, the half rotted fruit plate as well as the not working fridge. Please note that we have already talked to the receptionist as well as to the houskeeper.





We always try our best that our guests feel welcome. A complaint is not always just negative, the give us the chance to improve ourselves. Thank you!



We hope that you have had nevertheless a wonderful stay.



Yours sincerely,

Simone Brun
Head of Administration
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prilly, Vaud, Switzerland
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed November 4, 2012 via mobile

This hotel has Nothing exceptional ! Nice view on the lake, but the rooms are above a road ! The rooms are comfortable, but ours was rather small. little balcony above the parking + road. Breakfast and dinner: good quality. Value for money is correct. But there are nicer locations in Lucerne area ! Will certainly choose another hotel for another say in the area.

Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Daniel P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seeburgluzern, Leiterin Administration at Hotel Seeburg, responded to this review, November 7, 2012
Dear Guest.

Thank you very much for your feedback. It gives us the possibility to check our quality and to improve ourselves consistently. We always try our best that our guests feel welcome and are pleased to hear that you have enjoyed the nice view as well as the quality of our breakfast and dinner.

We do know that the building seeburg 61 is in a condition that should be renovated.
Last February we have realized the renovation of the standard rooms with lake view including a soft renovation of the bathrooms. The next stage, the renovation of the whole seeburg 61 building, is already in planning and will be carried out between the next 2 to 4 years.

Yours sincerely,

Simone Brun, Head of Administration
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pune, India
Level 6 Contributor
104 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
Reviewed October 30, 2012

We stayed here for 3 days ,while being in lucerne & the experience was strictly average.
1. No bell staff for helping with luggage ( though we had the same situation in zermatt , but they arranged someone to help us with luggage )
2. Though our room was suppose to be a 3 bed ,but looked very cramped ,with not much walking space left.
3. not sure which century they lived in ,they had a 14'' CRT TV in the room, extremely bland interiors
4. We called up the reception twice ( for TV remote not working & switching on lights in the passage ) , they told me they were both good & checking if i know how to operate a remote ( probably this could be the case ,as i have not operated primitive TV sets )
5. The reception staff was far from cordial ( had the same kind of exp. with 3 diff ppl ) , they use to furnish information as if it was a big favor being done.
6. the only place we felt some hospitality was the breakfast room.

The continental breakfast was wholesome & quite a variety offered. By the grace of Swiss govt. ( transportation system ) , though being some 3 kms from the luzern station ,still was well accessible till late in the evening. The hotel is placed just in front of the luzern lake so overall a nice view. Overall probably will choose something else if we return to luzern.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pbatra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seeburgluzern, Head of Administration at Hotel Seeburg, responded to this review, November 5, 2012
Dear Seeburg Guest

Thank you very much for your feedback on TripAdvisor. It gives us the possibility to check our quality and to improve ourselves consistently.

We do apologize for the unprofessional check-in.

We know that the building seeburg 61, especially the standard triple rooms, is in a condition that should be renovated. Last February we have realized the renovation of the standard rooms with lake view. The next stage, the renovation of the standard rooms with no balcony, will be carried out next winter.

We always try our best that our guests feel welcome. A complaint is not always just negative, the give us the chance to improve ourselves. Thank you!

Yours sincerely,
HOTEL SEEBURG LUZERN
Simone Brun


We always try our best that our guests feel welcome. A complaint is not always just negative, the give us the chance to improve ourselves. Thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Knysna, South Africa
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed October 24, 2012

I enjoyed staying at the beautifull hotel,along lake Lucerne.The service was 6 star,the setting like from a fairtale ,and the breakfast delicious. I must commend the hotel staff as they made me feel so welcome, and they were very attentive to not only my needs but other guests needs as well. I also work in the hospitatlity industry for the past 15 years,but this hotel amazed my. I also fell in love with Switzerland ,so beautiful and even the cab drivers made my two day stay the most memorable on my business trip. I will recommend Hotel Seeburg to everyone travelling to Lucerne.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Glendyrr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seeburgluzern, Head of Administration at Hotel Seeburg, responded to this review, October 28, 2012
Dear Guest.

Thank you very much for your positive feedback. It gives us the possibility to check our quality and to improve ourselves consistently.

We always try our best that our guests feel welcome and are very pleased to hear that you have enjoyed your stay with us.

Looking forward to welcoming you at another occasion at the Hotel Seeburg in Luzern we send you best regards from Luzern.

Simone Brun, Head of Administration
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
Level 6 Contributor
94 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 228 helpful votes
Reviewed October 17, 2012

The Hotel Seeburg is located on Luzern lake in Luzern, Switzerland. The location is extremely beautiful, staff are very cooperative and demonstrate courtsey. They serve break fast inclusive in room rent. One can take heavy break fast and skip lunch. Rooms are airy and well furnished. One should ask for lake facing room as it gives very good ambience and one can enjoy the amazing scene of lake during morning and evening. i find good value for money. I fully appreciate this hotel.

Room Tip: One should ask for lake facing rooms to enjoy amazing beauty of lake.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AKJAIN2406
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lucerne hotels
1.8 mi away
Hotel des Alpes
Hotel des Alpes
#9 of 68 in Lucerne
970 reviews
1.7 mi away
Ameron Hotel Flora Luzern
Ameron Hotel Flora Luzern
#10 of 68 in Lucerne
148 reviews
1.3 mi away
Art Deco Hotel Montana Luzern
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Seehotel Hermitage Luzern
1.9 mi away
Hotel des Balances
Hotel des Balances
#5 of 68 in Lucerne
1,070 reviews
1.6 mi away
CASCADA Hotel
CASCADA Hotel
#7 of 68 in Lucerne
920 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Seeburg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Seeburg

Property: Hotel Seeburg
Address: Seeburgstrasse 53 - 61, Lucerne 6006, Switzerland
Phone Number:
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Lucerne > Lucerne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 68 Hotels in Lucerne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Seeburg 3*
Number of rooms: 61
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hospitality and tradition, atmosphere and pleasure are united in the legendary Hotel Seeburg. It is not only the oldest hotel at Lake Lucerne, but an impressive destination offering exclusive comfort, well-being and a unique view of the lake and mountains. Hotel Seeburg 3* has 45 standard rooms, 11 deluxe rooms and 5 designer junior suites. The multipurpose Seeburg Room - with a spectacular view of the lake and mountains - unites the rich tradition of the Seeburg with contemporary architecture. The famous Panorama Room, dating from the 19th century, is among the most beautiful rooms in Switzerland. In the open-air Sunset Bar one can relax and enjoy the warm summer evenings while in the colder months, the Rigi Cabin awaits your visit for a rustic evening. You'll enjoy a wonderful sense of well-being in this lovely residence. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Expedia, Cancelon, Travelocity, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Seeburg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing