We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly comfortable hotel”
Review of Hotel Seeburg

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Seeburg
Ranked #18 of 67 Hotels in Lucerne
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 29, 2012

We approached staying at this hotel (with a group travelling by rail) with some trepidation after reading some lukewarm reviews on this site. In fact we actually enjoyed our stay, largely due to the friendly and efficient staff. Yes, the room we stayed in had been refurbished but it still left a little to be desired. For example, inside the wardrobe was the original scraped and worn interior which consisted of a hanging rail and one shelf above it. The balcony gave magnificent views over lake lucerne, but the peace was disturbed from early in the morning (no air-con so window open) by the busy road between the hotel and the lake. But.... the food was really excellent considering we were travelling as part of a group. One night we had the best lamb I think I have ever had! Once we had pre-dinner drinks under the shades in front of the hotel and were told they were on the hotel although the wine list certainly had eye watering prices. As others have mentioned the reception could not have tried harder to be helpful especially when it came to the provision of Swiss electrical adaptors and an excellent restaurant recommendation in Lucerne. Finally, the location was too far out of Lucerne town for a casual walk but the bus service stopped just outside and was easy to use (with advice from reception). A very good hotel for the four nights we stayed there and we would recommend.

Room Tip: The rooms on higher floors should be less affected by road noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank molarholer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seeburgluzern, Leiterin Administration at Hotel Seeburg, responded to this reviewResponded June 4, 2012

Dear Guest

Thank you very much for your positive reviews on TripAdvisor. We always try our best that our guests feel welcome. It is a pleasure to hear that you had a wonderful stay in our hotel.

The rooms haven't been completely refurbished because a big renovation is planned within the next 3 to 5 years and the building you have stayed in will be demolished.

We look forward to welcoming you again in our hotel.

Yours sincerely,

Simone Brun
Head of Administration

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (601)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

322 - 328 of 601 reviews

Reviewed May 10, 2012

Hotel Seeburg is an excellent place to stay. It is a little from downtown which was fine. We took the bus for a couple Euros right in front of the hotel and was there in abort 10min. We actually walked back and it was a nice 30 min or so walk back. The desk was excellent. Spoke english well and Melanie helped us out with a power adapter since we were not aware Switzerland was different from othe European countries. Very friendly and helpfull. Breakfast was great as well. Would definietly recommend upgrading to the lake side. We had a great view of the lake and Mt. Pilatus. Bed was very firm as all beds in Europe are. Loved Luzern.

Room Tip: Must get lake side room. Free parking right at the hotel was great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Robert W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seeburgluzern, Communication at Hotel Seeburg, responded to this reviewResponded May 11, 2012

Dear Robert

Thank you very much for your excellent rating.

We always try our best that our guests feel welcome. It is a pleasure to hear that you had a wonderful stay in our hotel and that you also loved Lucerne with its lake and Mt. Pilatus.

We look forward to welcoming you again in our hotel.

Yours sincerely,
Anja Huber – Communication

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 2, 2012

Location! Location! Location!
Easy to find.
A 3 star looking like a 4 star hotel.
Room facing the lake with view from the balcony and all the lights.
Ambience +++
Friendly staff and great customer service.
Fantastic decor.
Very large room.
Wi fi in the room that actually works!
Tea/coffee faciltiies which was rare.
Spotless!
Fast lift.
Easy walking distance to lots of lakeside attractions.
Very safe to walk at night,
Easy to drive around.
Plenty of outlets for food.
Safe in room.

Room Tip: The lakeside view is the best!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank GabBaz2212
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seeburgluzern, Communication at Hotel Seeburg, responded to this reviewResponded May 11, 2012
Google Translation

Sehr geehrter Gast

Vielen Dank für Ihre Bewertung. Wir schätzen es sehr, dass Sie uns ein differenziertes Feedback darüber gegeben haben, was ihnen gefallen hat und was weniger. Dies hilft, uns zu ständig zu verbessern. Es ist uns ein Anliegen, dass unsere Gäste mit Ihrem Aufenthalt glücklich sind. Wir freuen uns, dass uns dies bei Ihnen gelungen ist.

Vielen Dank! Wir freuen uns Sie erneut bei uns begrüssen zu dürfen.

Freundliche Grüsse
Anja Huber – Communication

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 23, 2012

This hotel is about 7-8 mins outside the city. It is on the bus route but not the train so is not convenient for those travelling by rail. The front rooms have a wonderful view across to Mt Pilatus. We were there in December and even though we had clear weather the mountain was closed so you need to check if you intend to visit. The room fronted the main road and as all rooms that do, was often noisy,

The hotel has a modern entrance but after that it becomes very tired very quickly. The room was clean and of good size. Room doors have a very poor locking system and need to be locked with the key before leaving and are not self locking...beware as if you forget, your room is open for all to enter. The lift is small, two person, one with luggage. Breakfast is in the downstairs dining room which also needs renovating. Selection of food was fair if you like sausages and cold meat. This seems to be typical European however they did have bacon but this was cooked with the sausages and thus took on the flavour of the sausages...rating 5/10.
In all, expensive for what you get but that is Switzerland, Would we stay there again, yes.... but would like to see the hotel updated and the door locking system changed.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Leafau
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 15, 2012

I was there for 3 nights from 4 th of jan till 7th jan and had an amazing time.hotel is located just 5 mins drive from the station so anyone staying wont have a problem in travelling.I was given a room with a lake side view which turned out to be wonderfull.all the staff were well mannered and friendly in helping out.The receiptionist was very helpfull in guiding us to places one can visit in lucerne and nearby.anyone staying will have a great time and its pocket friendly too.Will come next time for sure.
Chatwant singh gill.

  • Stayed: January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank chatwant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 2, 2012

+ the service, the great old grand ballroom, the setting right by the lake, the views form the restaurant and rooms, right by the bus stop which is every 15 minutes
- a bit naff in terms of taste, and currently quite expensive (thought still good value by Luzern standards); restaurants are OK though a bit overpriced in terms of the quality of the good

Room Tip: don't go for the junior suites - a bit naff and not a proper suite with 2 seperate bedrooms; wel...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank yesitsd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 16, 2011

A great hotel right infront of the lake!! beautiful view!!
Bus-stop right infront of it with buses every 15 minutes..
Room size was great..Breakfast excellent!!
Good value for money..
Would definitely love to stay again!!

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rishabh_bajaj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lucerne hotels
1.8 mi away
Hotel des Alpes
Hotel des Alpes
#10 of 67 in Lucerne
1,030 reviews
1.7 mi away
Ameron Hotel Flora Luzern
0.4 mi away
Seehotel Hermitage Luzern
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
CASCADA Hotel
CASCADA Hotel
#7 of 67 in Lucerne
963 reviews
1.9 mi away
Hotel des Balances
Hotel des Balances
#5 of 67 in Lucerne
1,144 reviews
1.3 mi away
Art Deco Hotel Montana Luzern
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Seeburg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Seeburg

Address: Seeburgstrasse 53 - 61, Lucerne 6006, Switzerland
Phone Number:
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Lucerne > Lucerne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 67 Hotels in Lucerne
Price Range: $127 - $236 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Seeburg 3*
Number of rooms: 61
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hospitality and tradition, atmosphere and pleasure are united in the legendary Hotel Seeburg. It is not only the oldest hotel at Lake Lucerne, but an impressive destination offering exclusive comfort, well-being and a unique view of the lake and mountains. Hotel Seeburg 3* has 45 standard rooms, 11 deluxe rooms and 5 designer junior suites. The multipurpose Seeburg Room - with a spectacular view of the lake and mountains - unites the rich tradition of the Seeburg with contemporary architecture. The famous Panorama Room, dating from the 19th century, is among the most beautiful rooms in Switzerland. In the open-air Sunset Bar one can relax and enjoy the warm summer evenings while in the colder months, the Rigi Cabin awaits your visit for a rustic evening. You'll enjoy a wonderful sense of well-being in this lovely residence. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Seeburg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing