We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Rail Holiday”
Review of Hotel Seeburg

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Seeburg
Ranked #16 of 68 Hotels in Lucerne
Certificate of Excellence
Rotherham
Level Contributor
93 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Great Rail Holiday”
Reviewed May 30, 2011

An excellent Hotel situated by the lake shore just a short bus ride for the city centre.Nice bedroom with blacony overlooking the lake, great breakfast and evening meals. Very helpful staff definately can recommend this hotel

Room Tip: Book early
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jontonyrotherham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

569 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    225
    237
    64
    23
    20
See reviews for
108
281
21
68
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (146)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hyderabad, India
Level Contributor
24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed March 24, 2011

i was told that the name "SEEBURG" means castle in the sea.
i went there on dec 29, 2006 for my honeymoon.
the hotel is a little away from the railway station of luzern.
had to take a bus to reach there. the bus stop is right next to the hotel.
the hotel was very beautiful.
i checked into their
chalet gardenia 4****superior - deluxe twin room.
the hotel staff was very courteous.
even prior to my arrival they helped me a lot of chalk-out my plan with travel/ activity tips.
view from the room was amazing with the whole of lake luzern visible.
the room was spacious with beautiful amenities.
only complain was that the bed was not a king size bed but twin separate bed which are kept side by side.
apart from that the experience was amazing.
i took breakfast at the restaurant which was filling.
i even tried the dinner @ dec 31 and it was amazing. being a pure vegetarian who does not take fish/ meat/ egg or any other non-vegetarian item, they suggest a good dish which was amazing.
i visit king size!!

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank amit_sarda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed January 24, 2011

This hotel was a total disappointment from the service to the rooms, location and the cleanliness. We unfortunately booked to stay two nights in this hotel, to our regret. The receptionists were rude & unhelpul. The first two rooms were were shown in the unrenovated part of the hotel, smelt that badly of cigarette smoke they were almost uninhabitable. Asked for a third room and was shown to a room that some amateur had tried to decorate for Christmas. The decorations were appalling and they had removed the curtains from the room making it impossible to sleep at night due to the light coming throught the window. When I asked for the manager and another room we were treated with distain and told if we wanted another room we could have a suite, but at our cost. Manager never contacted us. Terrible expereince in a very pleasant city. Hotel is located well out of town & partly renovated. Internet is expensive and breakfasts average with service there bad as well. AVOID. For the cost there are better hotels in Lucerne.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank gdl_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 20, 2011

I have stayed at this hotel at least ten times both in summer and in winter... And it's fantastic! I would highly recommend upgrading to a 'seeroom' in the Chalet Gardenia - which is the refurbished accommodation. The rooms are modern, tasteful and the bathrooms are great.

You couldn't ask for a better view.

I have to confess that I haven't eaten in either of the Seeburg's two restaurants - there are so many great restaurants in Lucerne (The Old Swiss House and their house special is unmissable).

Only downside is the price of drinks in the bar - but a great place for a nightcap and always served with a smile!

Great hotel - I only wish they wouldn't ask if I've been to Lucerne, each time I arrive!

  • Stayed April 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank scsthorp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
81 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed December 28, 2010

This hotel was in a great location – right on the waterfront of Lake Lucerne – absolutely stunning.
We received a free upgrade to a lake view room on check in, and it had a great view!
We were in room 306, which had 2 singles beds pushed together, a small desk, bedside tables, wardrobe, bathroom and separate toilet. The room had good lighting. It doesn’t have modern furniture but is still nice. The view outweighs everything.
To get to town, you can catch bus 24 in approximately 10 minutes from right outside the hotel.
There is an included buffet breakfast which is fantastic.
Free internet is available in the foyer.
The hotel has an information station on TV about Lucerne. They also do a daily newsletter with world news for their guests which is in English.
There is a mini-bar and in-house safe (even though they are difficult to use (small).
Great hotel option for staying in Lucerne, and you can’t beat the view that you wake up to every morning. It was quite interesting sitting out on the balcony at night and washing the people pass by.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TimandKath
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed December 20, 2010

The hotel is located overlooking the breathtaking views of Lake Lucerne. When booking we requested a lake view room and we were delighted on arrival to have our request granted.

To reach the hotel from Lucerne central station, take bus 24 which stops right outside the hotel When buying your ticket, select a short distance ticket which is valid for 30 minutes and only costs 2 francs.

The hotel is about 30 mins walking distance from Lucerne, there is a petrol station located within 10 minutes walking of the hotel, which is useful for small groceries.

The hotel room was clean with a nice shower, the room itself was small but functional and it was nice to have a balcony.

The hotel restaurant served high quality food, however it was extremely expensive and there is much better value available in the town itself.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Broaden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Andrews, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed October 4, 2010

This is the second time we have stayed here in 2 years. Beautiful lakeside location which we could fully appreciate from our room with balcony facing the lake. Service in the restaurant was very good and the food first class. Compared to UK it is not good value for money but that's Switzerland!

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mike188064
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lucerne hotels
1.8 mi away
Hotel des Alpes
Hotel des Alpes
#9 of 68 in Lucerne
930 reviews
1.7 mi away
Ameron Hotel Flora Luzern
Ameron Hotel Flora Luzern
#19 of 68 in Lucerne
95 reviews
1.3 mi away
Art Deco Hotel Montana Luzern
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Seehotel Hermitage Luzern
1.9 mi away
Hotel Krone Luzern
Hotel Krone Luzern
#14 of 68 in Lucerne
457 reviews
1.8 mi away
Renaissance Lucerne Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Seeburg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Seeburg

Property: Hotel Seeburg
Address: Seeburgstrasse 53 - 61, Lucerne 6006, Switzerland
Phone Number:
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Lucerne > Lucerne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 68 Hotels in Lucerne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Seeburg 3*
Number of rooms: 61
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hospitality and tradition, atmosphere and pleasure are united in the legendary Hotel Seeburg. It is not only the oldest hotel at Lake Lucerne, but an impressive destination offering exclusive comfort, well-being and a unique view of the lake and mountains. Hotel Seeburg 3* has 45 standard rooms, 11 deluxe rooms and 5 designer junior suites. The multipurpose Seeburg Room - with a spectacular view of the lake and mountains - unites the rich tradition of the Seeburg with contemporary architecture. The famous Panorama Room, dating from the 19th century, is among the most beautiful rooms in Switzerland. In the open-air Sunset Bar one can relax and enjoy the warm summer evenings while in the colder months, the Rigi Cabin awaits your visit for a rustic evening. You'll enjoy a wonderful sense of well-being in this lovely residence. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Priceline, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Hotel Seeburg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing