We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“great base in luzern”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Ameron Hotel Flora Luzern
Ranked #18 of 68 Hotels in Lucerne
scotland
Level Contributor
94 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“great base in luzern”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 16, 2013

well the title says it all really.

we booked a superior room on 6th floor and it was really nice - although on the small side - which I think is common here.

the décor was very modern and romantic throughout the hotel especially the room.
we did have a balcony and it did have a view of lake and mt Pilatus so that was a plus.

breakfast was great with good coffee and good choice - probably the best value in Switzerland ;-)

the location is perfect just 2 mins walk from ridge into old town with the benefit that driving is easy compared to going into old town.

there is a garage which is a bit pricy at 22 francs plus tax - which was a bit surprising?

but I guess this is Switzerland and you have to get used to the prices for everything - nothing is cheap here.

my only faults were that the glasses / cups were not cleaned each day and we used the nesspresso sachets and they were never replaced over 3 days - I don't find the nespresso machine very good anyway but I would have thought that when you use it the sachets would be renewed each day and cups washed?

bonus points for lending us an iron and iron board ;-)

the staff were really friendly which is always a huge help - thanks!

Room Tip: make up a roll at breakfast for your lunch ;-) go up mt Pilatus and jungfrau
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank arky25Scotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Direktion_Flora, Manager at Ameron Hotel Flora Luzern, responded to this review, July 16, 2013
Dear Guest

thank you very much for your detailed description of your experiences at the Ameron Hotel Flora.
We are happy about your top rating for breakfast! Even though we already offer a good-value for money compared to the city of Lucerne in general, we understand that it might look pricy for our foreign guest. Referring to your remarks for our in-room- coffee service,w e would like to apologize. Of course, we will re-adjust our standards.
Wish you all the best, Jessica Ternes - General Manager -
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,294 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    366
    583
    218
    80
    47
See reviews for
246
639
59
147
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (141)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Basel, Switzerland
Level Contributor
21 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 14, 2013

I took my parents to Luzern for the weekend and we stayed at this hotel overnight. When I booked, I advised the hotel that my mother was disabled and requested a room that could accommodate this. The hotel telephoned me and we discussed my mothers requirements a number of weeks in advance of the trip. On arrival my parents were a given a room which had a bath tub, which was above average in height, which meant that she could not get in. When I told reception their comment was 'we discussed this with you' which was not the case. I do find this very disappointing and would not recommend this hotel for people with disabilities or who are slightly infirm.

Despite this, the hotel has a great location, a few minutes from the main railway station and also from the lake.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank n0mad_28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Direktion_Flora, Manager at Ameron Hotel Flora Luzern, responded to this review, July 16, 2013
Dear Guest

we are sorry to learn that the room was not well equiped for your mothers needs.
As mentioned in your review, we tried to find out your needs in a personal call weeks before your arrival. Please apologize if we did not met your expactations by the end.
Hope that you will give us the chance to show you that we are able to do better on a future stay.
Best regards, Jessica Ternes - General Manager -
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
163 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 14, 2013 via mobile

This was the best deal of our Swiss vacation, booked through Hotwire at a reasonable cost, and ending up at the Flora. As many have stated, the best feature is the hotels location literally a stones throw from beautiful Chapel Bridge and all of the old town. There is underground parking at a reduced rate right next door (22 francs/night is cheap by Lucerne rates). But above location and value, we were impressed by the truly four-star quality of this hotel. The room was not spacious but well appointed (we got 'upgraded' to the newly updated rooms on the 6th floor) and the modern bathrooms are a little tight. You can barely sit on the toilet the counter is so close. Nonetheless, we had a balcony, nice amenities, and a free Nespresso coffees in the room. The free WiFi was a little spotty but worked. A big plus was the excellent included breakfast, with a few warm choices, wide selection of cold options including excellent granola and fresh breads. All in all, a great value in what was a surprisingly beautiful town - right outside your door.

Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Brain_bleed_md
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Direktion_Flora, Manager at Ameron Hotel Flora Luzern, responded to this review, July 16, 2013
Dear Guest

thank you for your excellent rating and detailed description of your stay. We feel happy that we convince you by our quality and service and that you felt our warm welcome as well as our ambition to make you feel home far away from home!
Smart greeting from Lucerne - Jessica Ternes and the Flora Team-
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 13, 2013

I am my daughter recently spent 4 nights in this hotel and we're really impressed by the over all efficiency of the staff and the comfort levels....we were in a smart room on the sixth floor which was good only thing is view from our balcony was not the best...breakfast was decent and had one meal also which I would rate at 3 out of 5 taste.....the negetatives were that I felt the rooms a little small in size and a tad on the expensive side but then what is well priced in Switzerland....will surely stay here again whenever next in Luzern....

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anirudh A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Direktion_Flora, Manager at Ameron Hotel Flora Luzern, responded to this review, July 16, 2013
Dear Guest

thank you for your time sharing your impressions. We feel very pleased to learn that you have been impressed by the over all efficiency of the staff and the comfort levels...we take you at your word and hope that we will have you soon back staying among us....
Best regards, Jessica Ternes - General Manager -
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Sussex, England
Level Contributor
89 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 12, 2013 via mobile

Only a couple of minutes from the station and a minute from the lake it is an ideal place to stay for business or pleasure. Had a superior room which was well fitted out if not particularly large. Bathroom has both bath and shower but it is somewhat tight for space - especially the toilet.

It is somewhere to get a good nights sleep. The beds are very comfortable and nice big pillows. The air conditioning is good (air con is the exception rather than rule in Luzern) and not too noisy. Mini-bar fridge gurgles a bit but you get used to it. Electric blinds also help keep the room cool / dark in summer and the free bottle of water is appreciated.

Breakfast buffet is okay - not bad but not exceptional. Staff were all very friendly so I'm not sure why there have been comments to the contrary on here. Finally, free wi-fi worked well in my room on 6th floor so it looks like problems previously reported have been resolved.

Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank TheDonkeyCentreHalf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Direktion_Flora, Manager at Ameron Hotel Flora Luzern, responded to this review, July 15, 2013
Dear Guest

thank you very much for your detailed comments which show that contrary reviews have been resolved or happend by mistake.
We do hope to have the pleasure welcoming you soon back among us and wish you all the best,

sincerely yours, Jessica Ternes - General Manager -
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
67 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2013

As other reviewers have stated the best thing about this hotel is the location. 5 mins from the train station, the lake front and about 2 mins from the famous Lucerne bridge. The hotel seemed to be packed out the entire time we were there which probably means that the staff are rushed off their feet and too busy to assist their guests. Staff on reception were ok - not particularly friendly but we did not find them rude. There was one girl who was cheery and actively lifted her head when we passed by en route to breakfast to greet us.
Our room (214) was not fantastic. For a start we had paid for a superior room, thinking it would be larger and certainly large enough for 3 adults. Hmmm.. it only just fitted two adults. We spent the entire time we were there falling over each other and our belongings. Not enough storage space at all.
The window frame in our room was rotten, not a major problem but not something I would expect to see in a hotel of this calibre. Also, the sink was cracked and the shower...?! Well, it was ridiculous - it was a plentiful supply of hot water but the shower head wouldn't face any other way but against the tiles so if you wanted to wash your hair you had to hold the shower head above your head, taking it off the riser. More significantly, and worryingly, the position of the bath screen meant that to turn the bath taps on or off you had to actually get into the bath. If you weren't careful you could scald yourself.
Good points about the hotel - the breakfast was varied - fruit, yoghurt, muesli, cereal, coffee, tea, juices, and cooked items such as eggs and sausages. Breakfast staff were very hard working clearing tables as fast as they could.
As I said at the start, the best thing is the location, and the price is not too bad for Switzerland. WiFi is free, and seemed pretty reliable.

Room Tip: Don't choose 214! And don't go for one at the front over the nightclub!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lulu405
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Direktion_Flora, Manager at Ameron Hotel Flora Luzern, responded to this review, July 12, 2013
Dear Guest

thank you for your review. Your remarks will help us to adapt your standards and as already confirmed and stated in person, we already took messures to fix the conditions of the room you stayed in and hope that you accept our sincere apologies.
We do hope that you will give us a second chance to convince you that we are able to do better on a future stay and wish you all the best, sincerely yours, Jessica Ternes and the Flora-Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 7, 2013

location of hotel is the best part of this hotel.Every thing is nearby. THE BUS STATION, train station, lake front, market & other places of importance are all near by.
Nice breakfast, but menu is the same every day.
The staff is good but they are very specific in their answer. They do not behave friendly. The rooms are not spacious,but clean.
Value for money

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sujit r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Direktion_Flora, Manager at Ameron Hotel Flora Luzern, responded to this review, July 12, 2013
Dear Guest

tahnk you very much for your comment and top rating. We are very happy to learn that you enjoyed your stay and returned rich of nice memories.
Please note that beside our menu in the brasserie we offer daily specialsof salad, fish and meet!
Hope to welcome you soon back among us and remain,

with kind regards, Jessica Ternes -General Manager -
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lucerne hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel des Alpes
Hotel des Alpes
#10 of 68 in Lucerne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 897 reviews
0.1 mi away
Continental-Park Hotel
Continental-Park Hotel
#9 of 68 in Lucerne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 493 reviews
0.3 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel, Lucerne
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Renaissance Lucerne Hotel
0.1 mi away
Hotel Monopol Luzern
Hotel Monopol Luzern
#12 of 68 in Lucerne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 788 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel des Balances
Hotel des Balances
#5 of 68 in Lucerne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 973 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ameron Hotel Flora Luzern? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ameron Hotel Flora Luzern

Property: Ameron Hotel Flora Luzern
Address: Seidenhofstrasse 5 | 6002 Luzern, Lucerne 6003, Switzerland
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Lucerne > Lucerne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#13 Luxury Hotel in Lucerne
#18 Business Hotel in Lucerne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Ameron Hotel Flora Luzern 4*
Number of rooms: 161
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Ameron Hotel Flora is in a prime location, 500 ft from the Chapel Bridge and 320 yards from the train station and Lake Lucerne. It has stylish rooms. You can park your car on site and reach the historic Old Town or the KKL Culture and Congress Centre within a 5-minute walk of the property. The modernly furnished rooms feature air conditioning, minibars and satellite TV. NEWS : all our SMART Standard, Deluxe and Comfort rooms have been recently renovated and you benefit from a complimentary bottle of water as well as a coffee/tea maschine in all room types. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Ameron Hotel Flora Luzern reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Flora
Best Western Lucerne
Lucerne Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing