We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great location and very helpful staff”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Ameron Hotel Flora Luzern
Ranked #18 of 68 Hotels in Lucerne
Williamsburg, Virginia
Level Contributor
75 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Great location and very helpful staff”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 3, 2012

This hotel is a block from the train station and a block from the Chapel bridge. It is right across the river from the old town shopping area via the Chapel bridge. The staff is warm and friendly and very helpful answering questions about how to navigate their ridiculous internet access. For the money you pay, internet should be more accessable without having to need a rocket science degree to figure it out. I was one of many standing in line at the front desk to ask what the magic trick was to get on-line. Other than that issue, this is a great hotel to tour Luzern. Breakfast was included and was a very good buffet presentation. They called a cab for us the one time we needed it. It was the second most expensive hotel we stayed in on our 2 week trip to Austria, Switzerland, Germany, but everything is more expensive in Switzerland than we ever dreamed it would be.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DocPhil2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Direktion_Flora, Manager at Ameron Hotel Flora Luzern, responded to this review, October 8, 2012
Dear Guest

thank you very much for your comment. We are glad that you were convinced by our services and enjoyed your stay among us.

We regret that it might be very complicated to benefit from our complimentary WIFI service. For security and law reasons our clients are obliged to register. Please accept our aplpoligize for the inconvenience.

We hope to welcome you back on a future visit to Lucerne and send greetings from Lucerne!

Best regards, Jessica Ternes - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,297 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    366
    585
    219
    80
    47
See reviews for
247
640
60
147
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (141)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
UK
Level Contributor
20 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 1, 2012

I visit Luzern regularly and on the most recent occasion could not get a reservation at my usual hotel. The Ameron Flora had rooms but I was aware, as a former resident of the city in the early 2000s, that the hotel did not have an especially good reputation. I could not have been more pleased with my stay. I had booked a smoking room expecting the hotel to be all non-smoking but no, there were smoking rooms but they were all let. So I was upgraded to a room with balcony. Reception services and the bistro restaurant very good, friendly and tremendously helpful staff. The room was a little quirky in design, but in a pleasant way. On the whole a fantastic experience and I shall return to this hotel in future.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bowland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Direktion_Flora, Manager at Ameron Hotel Flora Luzern, responded to this review, October 8, 2012
Dear Guest

we are more that happy to learn that we were able to convice you by our quality standards and services even though you heard about the old stories about the Hotel Flora.

Since 5 years, we are mamaging the hotel now and we made many renovations and adapted our service standards.

I will transfer your compliments to the entire team as they are the best motivation! Thank a lot and we do hope that your remark will convice other travellers to visit us!

Sincerely yours, Jessica Ternes - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Old Greenwich, Connecticut
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 29, 2012

We stayed here from Sep 5 to 8 2012. When we arrived at the hotel the desk said we were not going to be staying there as they had changed there computer system and our reservation was lost. They knew about it and then found us a new hotel for one night. They then gave us the best room in the hotel. It was very nice and new and very comfortable. The Bathroom was big . Also had eco friendly lighting. The most impressive thing was the desk staff girls ( especially the one that fist helped me) were very very helpful and friendly. The room was on the sixth floor and had a small balcony so we could open the doors for fresh air and as usual the bed were comfy and warm(down quilt). Location near the railroad was super. All in all a very good hotel for the money and convenient location.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sandra W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Direktion_Flora, Manager at Ameron Hotel Flora Luzern, responded to this review, October 8, 2012
Dear Guest

we were terribly sorry that due to a computer problem we were not able to find your reservation and we are very happy that we found finally a accomodate solution together so that you returned back home rich of nice memories of your stay at the Ameron Hotel Flora!

Sincerely yours, Jessica Ternes - General Manager -
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Paul, Minnesota
Level Contributor
68 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 20, 2012

We just spent two nights in the Ameron Flora while enjoying the sights in Lucerne. The location is wonderful - a quick walk, 5 minutes, from the train station and centrally located for all of our sightseeing, our lake excursions, etc. The price was at the top of our range, but the convenience was worth it. We arrived hours before check in time, and the staff was so friendly and helpful, storing our luggage until we returned much later in the day. The same was true when we checked out early before another all-day excursion. The included breakfast included just about everything we wanted - great bread assortment, along with meats, cheeses, many preserves, along with many other breakfast items. Our room was very spacious and a very nice 6th floor location. The extra amenities of heated towel rack, automatic blinds on the balcony doors, etc. made us feel quite luxurious. One thing, though, we never did figure out the coffee machine. Not sure if they were for us, but each afternoon there were lovely little snack plates in the lobby, which we indulged in. Lucerne is an expensive city to visit, but the Ameron Flora made us feel our money was well spent.

Room Tip: The 6th floor felt very comfortable, and our traveling companions on the first floor were very impre...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank teacherperson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Direktion_Flora, Manager at Ameron Hotel Flora Luzern, responded to this review, October 8, 2012
Dear Guest

thank you very much for your detailed experiences in the Ameron Hotel Flora. We are glad to learn that you enjoyed our new renovated Smart Premium Rooms on the 6th Floor as well as our guest services!

The little snacks in the lobby were a part of the coffee break of our conference participants that day - but good to know that you like them :)

Looking forward to welcoming you back among us and remain with smart greetings from Lucerne!

Jessica Ternes - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zagreb
Level Contributor
20 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 18, 2012

I stayed in this hotel for 2 nights in August. I was in room with french bed enough big with nice bathroom. Everything was clean and comfort. Stuff are very nice and helpful, if you need something just call them and they will bring you bathrobe or similar. Room has view on courtyard or better say parking which is quiet and you probably wouldn´t have problems with that. Breakfast is fine, nothing special but nice, and one older lady there is very helpful and just ask them for anything. Location is really great, center near the old bridge and close to main train station.
One minus is parking. Parking is in garage whithc is not in hotel ownership but public garage and it cost around 24 CHF per day. Also you need to walk through stairs to street to get to the hotel, and once happened that some suspicious guys deal with something strange on that stairs and another time ther was some dog in the middle of stairs and i choose to take lift and go on other street near the hotel. Not so god neither for Lucerne or this hotel.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ghost13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Direktion_Flora, Manager at Ameron Hotel Flora Luzern, responded to this review, September 20, 2012
Dear Guest

thank you very much for your remarks.

We are sorry to learn about your bad experiences in the public garage next door. Please be assured that we will have an eye on this fact and we will forward this information to the owner as we agree that those kind of images are neither good for the city as well as for our hotel.

Thanks a lot and greetings from Lucerne, Jessica Ternes - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sutton Coldfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
106 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 17, 2012

Stayed here for one night during the Lucerne Festival, whilst touring Switzerland and Germany

Hotel is ideally located in the central area, close to the lake, concert hall and train station.

I was allocated to a twin room on the top floor (6th), adequate size with good bathroom and small balcony facing an inner courtyard. Nice quiet location.

Breakfast was OK with the usual selection and good bar area.

Pleasant and helpful staff.

Room Tip: Try for a room on the top floor -
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JPSLittleAston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Direktion_Flora, Manager at Ameron Hotel Flora Luzern, responded to this review, September 20, 2012
Dear Guest

thank you very much for your positive comments on tripdavisor.

We are happy to learn that you chose the Ameron Hotel Flora during your visit of Lucerne Festival. We look forward to your next visit!

Sincerely,

Jessica Ternes - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bengaluru, India
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 16, 2012

We got down from the eurail and 2 mins later we were in front of our hotel. It's that close from the train station. It's a minute's walk from the famous lake and wooden bridge. The rooms are well done and spacious. We were on the 6th floor and it was quite peaceful. We even had a small adjoining balcony which we hardly used. The breakfast buffet had a decent spread and was good on both the days that we were there. The hotel staff is very warm and friendly. I would recommend this hotel and would definitely go back!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pragati S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Direktion_Flora, Manager at Ameron Hotel Flora Luzern, responded to this review, September 20, 2012
Dear Guest

thank you very much for your kind words ans sharing your impressions with other travellers.

We are very glad that you enjoyed your stay in our newly renovated Smart Premium room on the top floor and do hope to have the pleasure to welcome you back on a future trip to Lucerne.

Smart greetings,

Jessica Ternes - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lucerne hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel des Alpes
Hotel des Alpes
#10 of 68 in Lucerne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 897 reviews
0.1 mi away
Continental-Park Hotel
Continental-Park Hotel
#9 of 68 in Lucerne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 493 reviews
0.3 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel, Lucerne
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Renaissance Lucerne Hotel
0.1 mi away
Hotel Monopol Luzern
Hotel Monopol Luzern
#12 of 68 in Lucerne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 792 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel des Balances
Hotel des Balances
#4 of 68 in Lucerne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 978 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ameron Hotel Flora Luzern? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ameron Hotel Flora Luzern

Property: Ameron Hotel Flora Luzern
Address: Seidenhofstrasse 5 | 6002 Luzern, Lucerne 6003, Switzerland
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Lucerne > Lucerne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#13 Luxury Hotel in Lucerne
#18 Business Hotel in Lucerne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Ameron Hotel Flora Luzern 4*
Number of rooms: 161
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Ameron Hotel Flora is in a prime location, 500 ft from the Chapel Bridge and 320 yards from the train station and Lake Lucerne. It has stylish rooms. You can park your car on site and reach the historic Old Town or the KKL Culture and Congress Centre within a 5-minute walk of the property. The modernly furnished rooms feature air conditioning, minibars and satellite TV. NEWS : all our SMART Standard, Deluxe and Comfort rooms have been recently renovated and you benefit from a complimentary bottle of water as well as a coffee/tea maschine in all room types. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Ameron Hotel Flora Luzern reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Flora
Best Western Lucerne
Lucerne Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing