We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fine, If You Don't Mind Crowds” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ameron Hotel Flora Luzern

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Ameron Hotel Flora Luzern
Ranked #17 of 69 Hotels in Lucerne
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
35 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Fine, If You Don't Mind Crowds”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 30, 2012

This is a large, beautifully appointed, modern hotel which appears to attract a multitude of large tour groups. Early and later in the day, the reception area becomes bustling and overcrowded as tour groups assemble or arrive. Our room on the 6th floor was very nice, reasonably spacious and was immaculately presented. It was also enhanced by having a private terrace balcony. From here we had a clear view of Mt Pilatus (when it wasn’t shrouded in clouds!) and in the other direction, a roof top view of the towers and fortifications of the old town. (It appeared that only the 6th floor rooms had balconies.) Staff were friendly and helpful. The buffet breakfasts provided a very good selection of top quality food. We thought that the restaurant (for evening dining) provided only an average/limited menu for a hotel of this class. More interesting dining was found elsewhere amongst the multitude of restaurants & cafes. Location is fine for walking to most attractions. Be aware that there is a nightclub in the basement at the end of the hotel. The nightclub itself isn’t a problem, but rather some noisy people exiting it at 2 am could disturb light sleepers. We were fortunate to be on the 6th floor. I don’t know what this problem would be like on the 1st floor! Only because of all of the tour groups and the early morning street noise, we have lowered our rating from 5 star to 4 star.

Room Tip: If you can’t book a room on the 6th floor overlooking Seidenhofstrasse - look elsewhere.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ian H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Direktion_Flora, Manager at Ameron Hotel Flora Luzern, responded to this review, September 8, 2012
Dear Guest

thank you very much for taking the time to share your impressions on tripadvisor! Even though you enjoyed your stay among us, we feel sorry that you felt uncomfortable due to the orchester groups staying at the Ameron Hotel Flora.

Lucerne is a cultural meeting spot and due to our proximity to the KKL, we do have orchesters of the Lucerne festival staying with us and we agree it might be busy in high season - specially during arrival and departure!

In Winter, you will experience a totally different atmosphere in Lucerne as well as less crowded.

Best regards, Jessica Ternes - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,282 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    361
    578
    218
    80
    45
See reviews for
242
634
59
145
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (139)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Truro, Cornwall
Level Contributor
75 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 18, 2012

Brilliant location - just a minute's walk to the famous wooden bridge and just over five to the main railway station. Peaceful too as it's mostly situated in a quiet, well lit side street. The decor was modern and in good condition. Our room was on the small side overlooking an enclosed courtyard. It was comfortable and well equipped. There was no view as such but the location meant that it was blissfully quiet at night and we experienced no problems with noise from nearby establishments. The A/C was slightly noisy but worked well.
Breakfast was included in the price and it was very good with lots of choice. Members of staff were all very attentive and helpful but over-enthusiastic when it came to clearing away as you could go to get more breakfast and find your table completely cleared! We didn't use the hotel restaurant for other meals as there was so much choice of places to eat in the town.
Hotel Ameron Flora isn't the cheapest place to stay but wins hands down on comfort, location and value for money. We would cheerfully return at a later date.

Room Tip: Rooms overlooking the inner courtyard are very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Ian B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Direktion_Flora, Manager at Ameron Hotel Flora Luzern, responded to this review, September 8, 2012
Dear Guest

we feel very happy to learn that you enjoyed our smart and friendly service. AS you mentionned the rooms facing the courtyards are very quite and even though you are in the heart of Lucerne and next to all attractions, you will have a calm stay among us.

Sincerely yours, Jessica Ternes - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level Contributor
87 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 17, 2012

This hotel is in an ideal location in Lucerne, easy walking distance from train station, parking underneath for our van and Chapel bridge is at the end of the street. Room was clean and of a good size, bathroom excellent. Lots of variety for breakfast and plenty of tables available for guests. Reception desk staff were helpful with information asked.Would stay here again and recommend to friends.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ikedeb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Direktion_Flora, Manager at Ameron Hotel Flora Luzern, responded to this review, September 8, 2012
Dear Guest

we would like to thank you for sharing your experiences with other tripadvisor users.
The fact that you would recommend us to your friends means a lot to us.
Thank you again!

Smart Greetings to Sydney, Jessica Ternes - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong
Level Contributor
40 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 6, 2012

The room we got was small, but very clean, neat and modern. A/C worked perfectly well, but make sure your windows are shut. A/C was a luxury in Switzerland and most hotels in small cities and towns in the country do not have it. Breakfast choices were plentiful. No problem with wi-fi in room.
We like the location best, just a stone's throw from Railway station. We were a group of 3 and had no problem walking there with 3 suitcases. We liked it on this side of the river which is quieter, instead of the other side where the busy old town lies. Tue morning is market day with plenty of flower, fruits and veggie stalls along both sides of the river. Try to make your stay a TUE. We also tried the Italian restaurant on G/F. Lunch Specials are a bargain at Swiss standard. Highly Recommended!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Roundfaced
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Direktion_Flora, Manager at Ameron Hotel Flora Luzern, responded to this review, September 8, 2012
Dear Guest

we are very pleased to learn that you enjoyed your stay among us. It's our aim to provide a smart and friendly service in order to make your stay in Lucerne something special.

Hope to welcoming you back among us and remain
with best regards,

Jessica Ternes - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
111 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 6, 2012

Ameron Hotel has a perfect location especially if you are coming from the main train station. Simply exit the station towards the lake / city center - near the McDonalds and Starbucks and walk till the first traffic light anjd you will see the sign 'Ameron'. Just turn into the lane and the hotel is right there. The main sights were just a few minutes walk from the hotel.

The room was a little small but comfortable. Breakfast was a simple spread but did get a little boring after 3 days. The hotel is superbly located to the main sights. Just turn right at the hotel entrance and a 3 minute walk will bring you right to the beautiful Water Tower and the lake Lucerne. We had an amazing time walking to the Chapel Bridge, Water Tower, Lion Monument, Jesuit Church, Water Spike, Spreuer Bridge, Ritterscher Palace and Swiss Museum of Transport. Will really recommend it to anyone looking for a great hotel. The hotel staff was real friendly too in providing assistance about our day trips to Mt. Titlis and Mt. Pilatus.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RMS83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Direktion_Flora, Manager at Ameron Hotel Flora Luzern, responded to this review, September 8, 2012
Dear Guest

thank you for your positive review! As you mentioned, the Ameron Hotel Flora is the ideal starting point for all excursions and sight seeing tours.
Your remark concerning buffet breakfast will be double ckecked - Thanks a lot!

Best regards, Jessica Ternes - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 5, 2012

Please heed carefully what some of the other reviewers have written about this hotel because I can vouch for their comments after my stay. First of all, the positives. Excellent location, the train stn, restaurants and beautiful river all within walking distance. However be aware of a noisy night club next door but one that kicks its revellers out at stupid hours in the morning and doesn't care whether they spend the next 3 hrs keeping everyone with a club facing window awake. We were on the 4th floor and that was bad enough so I cannot imagine how noisy it would be for lower floor residents. The breakfast is quite good (I would say one of the best I have had in my stays at various 4 star hotels in the last year). The staff were extremely friendly and helpful. Now for the negatives of which I am afraid there are many. A lack of extras which you would expect to come as standard at this price level (perhaps this is a swiss thing. I haven't stayed at any other swiss hotels and so cannot compare). For example: No tea making facilities in a superior category room? Makes you wonder what the superior bit is referring to, no slippers or bathrobe provided (you have to request every morning). Housekeeping is extremely poor. This in my opinion really let the hotel down. The cleaners left our window open on the first two days. We returned very late so this was a huge security risk. Took two requests to reception to sort this but was sorted in the end. Finally, the room size was very small for a superior double. We got our room on a special offer but this hotel still felt overpriced but then again so did the whole of Switzerland.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kadoka66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Direktion_Flora, Manager at Ameron Hotel Flora Luzern, responded to this review, September 8, 2012
Dear Guest

thank you for taking the time to share your impressions with other travellers. We are happy to learn that you enjoyed your overall stay. The well-being and security of our guest is very important to us and your remarks will allow us to re-adapt our standards.

Please note that all amenities like slippers, bathrobes etc are available on request in all actegories. Our Premium and Smart Premium categories provide those extra amenities as well as a coffee maschine.
In case that you are sensitive to sounds of the city, we recommend our rooms facing the courtyard.
We do hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back among us!
Best regards, Jessica Ternes - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
104 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 3, 2012

This is a Great location - 2 blocks from the train station & 2 blocks to the Kappel bridge; only 1/2 block to the river in this beautiful city. Wonderful a/c, great bathroom; full breakfast. The decorator should win some kind of an award for modern decor with a sense of humor: we had a white plaster cast of a deer's head - with antlers, above our bed. Facing us is an 8 X 10 portrait of a billy goat. Lots of wood veneer adds interest and contrast to the pergola floors. We were on the 6th floor with a nice balconz. Busload of well behaved Japanese children are here. thez're fine, but the 1/2 doyen Japanese business men tend to be verz loud in the evening. Conscientious staff. We`ll staz here again, and so should zou.

Room Tip: 6th floor, back side some rooms have balconies
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AstonV1213
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Direktion_Flora, Geschäftsführer at Ameron Hotel Flora Luzern, responded to this review, August 5, 2012
Dear Aston,

thank you for sharing your travel experiences. It is our please to hear that you have enjoyed your stay so much. Thank you for outstanding feedback for the design of our Smart Premium Rooms as well as for the breakfast.

We are looking forward to welcome you again soon.

Kind regards

Philipp van Dyck
Front of House-Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lucerne hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel des Alpes
Hotel des Alpes
#10 of 69 in Lucerne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 887 reviews
0.1 mi away
Continental-Park Hotel
Continental-Park Hotel
#9 of 69 in Lucerne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 482 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel des Balances
Hotel des Balances
#5 of 69 in Lucerne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 954 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel, Lucerne
0.1 mi away
Hotel Monopol Luzern
Hotel Monopol Luzern
#13 of 69 in Lucerne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 783 reviews
0.3 mi away
CASCADA Hotel
CASCADA Hotel
#7 of 69 in Lucerne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 838 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ameron Hotel Flora Luzern? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ameron Hotel Flora Luzern

Property: Ameron Hotel Flora Luzern
Address: Seidenhofstrasse 5 | 6002 Luzern, Lucerne 6003, Switzerland
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Lucerne > Lucerne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#12 Luxury Hotel in Lucerne
#18 Business Hotel in Lucerne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Ameron Hotel Flora Luzern 4*
Number of rooms: 161
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Ameron Hotel Flora is in a prime location, 500 ft from the Chapel Bridge and 320 yards from the train station and Lake Lucerne. It has stylish rooms. You can park your car on site and reach the historic Old Town or the KKL Culture and Congress Centre within a 5-minute walk of the property. The modernly furnished rooms feature air conditioning, minibars and satellite TV. From January-March 2016, guests staying 2 nights or longer receive the two-day Winter Tell Pass, which provides unrestricted access to the public transport and ski lifts in the region. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Ameron Hotel Flora Luzern reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Flora
Best Western Lucerne
Lucerne Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing