We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect for City Exploration”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Ameron Hotel Flora Luzern
Ranked #19 of 68 Hotels in Lucerne
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Perfect for City Exploration”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 23, 2011

We enjoyed our four day stay in Lucerne and at this hotel. It is not luxurious, but luxury was not our goal. We wanted a clean, efficient, comfortable, well-located hotel and that is what we got. The beds were very comfortable and the duvets and pillows were lovely. We had a small balcony which was rarely used as we seemed to be out touring every single minute, but it was a nice feature. The bathroom is modern and well-equipped. Swiss engineering is apparent. The internet is FREE!! Breakfast was hearty and good and the staff, while young, were efficient and lovely. I've learned along the way that what what one 'puts out' is what one receives in return. We found so much to do in Lucerne and in the area that we were rarely in our room. Location can't be beat! Yes, there were tour groups but at least on our floor, I heard nothing. I would recommmend this hotel without question...unless what you are looking for is ultimate luxury which can be found elsewhere and at a completely different price level.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank vermonter1984
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,300 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    366
    586
    221
    80
    47
See reviews for
247
641
60
148
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (142)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
96 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 22, 2011

Stayed here with my mum for two nights as a treat and wished we hadn't bothered. The hotel is overpriced and in our opinion not worthy of the four stars given to it. To give a fair portrayal here are the positives and the negatives:

The positives:

- LOCATION - the hotel is perfectly located 5 mins walk from the train station and a few minutes from the Lucerne bridge;

- BREAKFAST - a great breakfast is provided every morning, with a wide choice of cereals, breads, jams, fruit, cooked breakfast;

- COMFY BEDS.

The negatives:

- PRICE - the hotel is overpriced for the poor service received;

- SERVICE - the hotel offers added extras to improve the stay, but when requested they had run out and promised to provide them the following day. However, on the following day they failed to provide them and we re-asked a further three times to be told each time they would bring them, and each time they didn't. They shouldn't offer extras when they can provide them as it leaves a bad taste in the mouth;

- CUSTOMER SERVICE - apart from one girl on the reception, the rest of the staff were extremely rude, unfriendly and arrogant. They were almost hostile on the reception.

- RESTAURANT - we ate one evening in the hotel restaurant as we had a 10 CHF voucher. What a mistake that was! The head waiter was rude and unfriendly. We placed out order and asked for two of the same dish. However, the waiter failed to listen and talked over us, so instead of ordering two he only ordered one, which meant I ate my meal one my own, and my mum's meal wasn't brought along until I'd all but finished. The waiter didn't apologise but tried to blame us! Also the restaurant has a cleanliness problem as it had a lot of flies flying around which landed on us and our food throughout. Thoroughly disgusting.

Overall I would not recommend this hotel at all and I would never go back there again.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank CLCC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
23 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 17, 2011

The Location of this hotel is the biggest positive mark for choosing this hotel.
Have a look at this: The Ameron Flora Hotel is just a 5-minute walk from the RailCity (if you're arriving by train), and a 10-minute walk to the Bahnofquai (Boat station from where you can go to Alpnachstad), 1 minute walk to the Chapel Bridge & Canal (the biggest attraction of Luzern) and 7 minute walk to the old side of Luzern.

The rooms are bit small small, and makes for some claustrophobic feeling. Service at the Restaurant was a bit slackening too.

On the positive side, the Breakfast selection is good spread. Rooms have good Wifi connectivity. They also provide an option of 10 items as part of a 'Sleep Smart' package which u can avail for free. Options include Hot Milk with honey, Massage Pillows, Extra quilts, Relaxation masks, etc.

Overall, I would recommend this hotel, mainly because of its proximity to absolutely everything in Luzern.
service was a bit slackening at the restaurant.

Room Tip: Rooms with balcony have better views
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nivas R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kolkata (Calcutta), India
Level Contributor
21 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 13, 2011

This hotel is just 5 mins from the train station and is located in the center of lucerne. You can go to any attraction from this hotel in 15 mins max . Its also near the chappel bridge , close to restaurants around . Good breakfast but the hotel is under staff if the breakfast table is full then you will have a terible time . Overall its a good hotel to stay in .

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anuj82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mumbai
Level Contributor
27 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 8, 2011

We were there from 19th May to 22nd may. The location of this hotel is good. But the racial discrimination was very much visible on breakfast table. Other visitors from India also supported. In fact one of the senior citizen couple even complained to the hotel manager. The hotel staff was overall non-supportive.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank pareshMumbai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth
Level Contributor
27 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 7, 2011

Great value and great location in Lucerne. Nice room with everything we would have needed. Excellent breakfast. The staff were very friendly and helpful. We would definitely stay again.

Make no mistake. If you book early and get a good rate then you won't do better in Lucerne. Deserves its **** rating and highly recommended.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank randspayne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 6, 2011

Just around the corner from the train station, this hotel is in a perfect location. We could see the old wooden bridge and river out our window. Great breakfast buffet though a lot of the time there were no plates on which to put it.
Loved the 'snuggle' pillows. Best nights of sleep that I'd had in weeks. Didn't feel that the room was small as some other reviews state. I've stayed in much smaller! Given how expensive Switzerland is we thought this was great value.

  • Stayed May 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KateShani
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lucerne hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel des Alpes
Hotel des Alpes
#10 of 68 in Lucerne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 897 reviews
0.1 mi away
Continental-Park Hotel
Continental-Park Hotel
#9 of 68 in Lucerne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 494 reviews
0.3 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel, Lucerne
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Renaissance Lucerne Hotel
0.1 mi away
Hotel Monopol Luzern
Hotel Monopol Luzern
#12 of 68 in Lucerne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 792 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel des Balances
Hotel des Balances
#4 of 68 in Lucerne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 978 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ameron Hotel Flora Luzern? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ameron Hotel Flora Luzern

Property: Ameron Hotel Flora Luzern
Address: Seidenhofstrasse 5 | 6002 Luzern, Lucerne 6003, Switzerland
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Lucerne > Lucerne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#14 Luxury Hotel in Lucerne
#18 Business Hotel in Lucerne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Ameron Hotel Flora Luzern 4*
Number of rooms: 161
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Ameron Hotel Flora is in a prime location, 500 ft from the Chapel Bridge and 320 yards from the train station and Lake Lucerne. It has stylish rooms. You can park your car on site and reach the historic Old Town or the KKL Culture and Congress Centre within a 5-minute walk of the property. The modernly furnished rooms feature air conditioning, minibars and satellite TV. NEWS : all our SMART Standard, Deluxe and Comfort rooms have been recently renovated and you benefit from a complimentary bottle of water as well as a coffee/tea maschine in all room types. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Ameron Hotel Flora Luzern reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Flora
Best Western Lucerne
Lucerne Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing