We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Modern, with amazing location!”
Review of Hotel Krone Luzern

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Krone Luzern
Ranked #17 of 67 Hotels in Lucerne
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 9, 2011

Situated in the heart of Lucerne, in the most characteristic Square with decorative buildings in every direction. Just a two minute walk to the beautiful Chapel bridge, 5 mins to the train station and one street away from the main shopping area. Surrounded by restaurants, this hotel was perfect. The rooms were modern and well appointed with a great office area and computer with free internet. Breakfast was fabulous, fresh and had wonderful variety with great service. This hotel would certainly be the hotel of choice if we were returning to Lucerne, I cannot recommend it highly enough.

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank DeniseShergold00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (477)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Krone Luzern
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

263 - 269 of 477 reviews

Reviewed January 23, 2011

We travelled to Lucerne by train and found this hotel easy to walk to from the station. It was situated in a pretty square surrounded by lovely old buildings. We could walk to all the main attractions from the hotel as well as enjoy great shopping and a wonderful selection of restaurants. Our room was modern and spacious for the 3 of us as well as being very clean. The breakfast was very good and the hotel provided an elevator to all floors. Our only negative was that the staff were not as friendly as the other hotels we stayed in on our 5 week European tour.

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank RichardMeg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 1, 2010

This hotel offered us their penthouse suite for two days. It had a small kitchen and a huge patio. The patio looks like it used to serve the hotel but is now reserved for the penthouse room: 2 tables and chairs and 2 chaises.

The included breakfast was plentiful.

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kcowan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 2, 2010

This was the most comfortable stay in my Switzerland trip. I stayed here for 3 nights. I had reserved earlier using a Rail Europe package & mentioned that we have 1 kid & 1 infant. The room they gave us was quite big, had 4 cots, free internet, a big wardrobe, good ventilation & a very good toilet. Unlike other hotels I had been (in swiss) everything was perfectly functioning. I enjoyed the stay here & would definitely go there again if I get a chance to visit Switzerland again. Room had a TV, coffee maker, a small round table & two chairs. Curtains & windows were big enough to provide ample light..

Room cleaners were very helpful & cooperative. Reception staff was OK. Not so friendly however didn't do anything terrible to make you feel bad. Just answers to your questions, nothing more or less.

Food in Switzerland is what we always struggled with. Here was not too different. Breakfast was ordinary, little bit less number of items when compared to other hotels.

Location was good, just around Lucerne lake. 10 minutes walk to train station. We had a little bit of problem in locating this hotel when we came, however a helpful swiss lady took us to the hotel. There was a little bit of maintenance in front of the hotel which would be finished by now. This did not create too much discomfort for us as windows were good enough to reduce the sound. Coop is located behind this hotel & Migros is just 5 minutes.

I would recommend this hotel...

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank krisbharath
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 26, 2010

I had read some negative reviews about this hotel, particularly about the staff.
We found the staff really kind and helpful and the hotel itself small but very clean. Large and clean bathrooms and really comfortable beds.
It was very warm inside the hotel, and as with many hotels in Europe did not have airconditioning. However, this is a small point which did not detract in any way, our enjoyment whilst in Luzern.
Breakfasts are great, with lots of choice and the hotel beautifully and centrally located in the middle of the old town.
Free wifi. Lifts to all floors.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank johannaaustralia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 23, 2010

First would like to say the stafff was great at the hotel. Very friendly and helpful, especially Lemka, who couldn't do enough to help us out. On the downside, it was hot as heck during our stay and the rooms did NOT have AC. They had a 4ft fan that supposedly did the job. We were in the backside of the hotel with a narrow city street outside our windows. Our first night, after a long flight from the states, we heard screaming, yelling and arguments ALL night long, and bottles/glass being broken against the walls. It finallystopped about 0400. I asked the hotel clerk what was back there and he said a couple of bars, Between the hot room and the noise, we got absolutely no sleep. We asked if we could change our rooms, and the desk said that was all he had. We also asked if there were any other hotels in the area, to which we got a "you can look around and see"-and let them know. I felt like he thought it was some kind of joke with all that noise, and felt like he could have helped us out or offered "something"---but apparently we were stuck. We had the noise our entire stay..not as much as the first night, but random LOUD yelling from the street arguments in the middle of the night. We had to keep the windows open to get some air with the hot rooms, so had no choice when it came to the tradeoff for the noise issue. We had no breezes, and needless to say..our sleep time (attempted sleep time) was miserable.
On the upside, the hotel was very clean, and the breakfast was great. The location of the hotel was perfect for dining near the lake, and we felt safe.
I would recommend the hotel. for Sping and Fall travel..... and with the exception of no air conditioning, makes me wonder what they do in the winter for heat.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank heather0509
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 18, 2010

We stayed for 3 nights in June. We were on the top floor. No one seemed to be smoking while we were there and the staff were friendly and helpful. I thought I detected a faint smoke smell in the bedding when we got there but this disappeared. We were on the 4th floor . comfortable room with views over the rooftops. Breakfast plenty to eat including boiled eggs painted red. Great town to wander round and lake to explore.

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Timothy B W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lucerne hotels
0.2 mi away
Ameron Hotel Flora Luzern
0.1 mi away
Hotel des Alpes
Hotel des Alpes
#10 of 67 in Lucerne
992 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel des Balances
Hotel des Balances
#5 of 67 in Lucerne
1,087 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
CASCADA Hotel
CASCADA Hotel
#7 of 67 in Lucerne
936 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Waldstatterhof
Hotel Waldstatterhof
#11 of 67 in Lucerne
1,066 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Monopol Luzern
Hotel Monopol Luzern
#16 of 67 in Lucerne
836 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Krone Luzern? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Krone Luzern

Address: Weinmarkt 12, Lucerne 6004, Switzerland (Formerly BEST WESTERN Hotel Krone)
Phone Number:
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Lucerne > Lucerne
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
#15 Family Hotel in Lucerne
Price Range: $133 - $331 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Krone Luzern 3.5*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Altstadt Hotel Krone Luzern is located in the pedestrian and cobblestone zone of Luzern. For the arrival and departure, guests with a car are allowed (also taxi) to drive in front of the hotel for unloading. Public parking garages are located nearby. The Altstadt Hotel Krone Luzern offers its guests exclusive valet parking for CHF 27.00 per night. The front desk is on duty from 06:30 until 23:00. The check in after 23:00 takes place at the Hotel des Balances, just across the square. The Altstadt Hotel Krone Luzern is not suitable for disabled guests and wheelchair users. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Cancelon, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Krone Luzern reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Krone
Best Western Lucerne
Lucerne Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing