We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Ideal Location and View” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Krone Luzern

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel Krone Luzern
Ranked #15 of 69 Hotels in Lucerne
Certificate of Excellence
Oaxaca, Mexico
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Ideal Location and View”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 23, 2012

I spent two nights here and had very little contact with the staff. In general, the Swiss hotels I've stayed in have been immaculately clean, and the staff efficient, polite, and yet not particularly welcoming. Perhaps, this is just the Swiss way.

This hotel is situated in the heart of the historic center, and an easy walk from the train station. My room was on the top floor, and a good size for one person, if you can sleep in a twin bed. What made this room special was the view outside the window, which overlooked a set of fascinating German style historic buildings.

Because I was in the attic the ceiling was sloped, which I didn't mind. The Internet connection, always important to me, was free and excellent. I didn't eat at the hotel, and therefore can't comment on the food. For me, the hotel was a wise choice and I'd recommend it.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank oreenscott
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

439 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    134
    199
    75
    18
    13
See reviews for
130
166
30
35
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lucerne, Switzerland
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 21, 2012

Room no 15 on 1st floor was small with small toilet , the content on the internet site Trip Advisor or Booking.com mentioned rooms are spacious , not true , The toilets are also small , the so called free internet is useless and doesnt work . I am staying for 2 nites as I have already made the payment otherwise would have changed the Hotel . This place is good for students on a shoe string budget a typical bed and breakfast hostel .

Room Tip: If you are not on a shoe string budget stay at another Hotel to avoid inconvinience , dont get conne...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jibran S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 15, 2012

I stayed at this hotel with my family and two children in August and it proved to be a good choice for us. Firstly I booked the hotel in June and got a good deal directly from the hotel website which was a deal available for a short period.Fortunately I got it at the right price as family rooms in Lucerne and Switzerland generally are difficult to get.

The hotel is located a short walk from the station and is minutes away from the river with a good choice of restaurants around.After we got to the station we picked up a map from the kiosk and got to the station in about 10 mins.The checkin was quick and the receptionist efficient although not enthusiastic or particularly welcoming.The family room is a good size with 4 comfortable beds and the bathroom was also of a good standard.As has been mentioned by others there was no air conditioning which seems to be a problem with the majority of hotels in Switzeland but a powerful fan was provided which was helpful.The breakfast was reasonable with a selection of cereals, breads, boiled eggs and cold cuts.

While there my daughter fell sick and the male receptionist was very helpful in organising a taxi to take her to the hospital.

The other rooms do not appear to as spacious but the family room and hotel would be a good choice for a family of four.

Overall I would recommend ths hotel.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Aamir10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
england
Level Contributor
43 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 11, 2012

Stayed in Hotel Krone for two nights at the beginning of September. There was nothing either excellent or poor about the place. If you are arriving by train come out of the front of the station, cross the road bridge and turn left (not alongside the river but next one). This in a few minutes brings you to the square where the hotel sits.. I walked with one case from the station across the cobbles in about 10-12 minutes (including traffic light waits).
On arrival the two female receptionists didn't seem very friendly and didn't offer any advice about the hotel except to say whcih floor my room was one. Each time I passed recpetion after that the same two never looked up t oacknowedge but kept there heads together. However, they were helpful when I asked to borrow an adaptor. The male recpetionsit on check out seemed friendly and the lady in the breakfast bar was also pleasant. Once past the recpetion the hotel resembled a tenement building to me with no character just plain doors and walls.
The room itself however was more becoming of an hotel and was well furnished.The room a twin, was an 'L' shape which gave plenty of room and inlcuded a tea/coffee machine with plenty of supplies (though i'd preferred not to have powdered milk).The room and bathroom were comforatable and provided a good base though one problem some might have is the lack of storage for clothes.
Pillows were as I discovered in most of Switzerland very soft.
Breakfast was adequate with usual basic continental spread. This can be had inside or outside in the square. WIFI was free and was accessible in the room
THe hotel is in a good location for the sights being close to the centre and the lake with plenty of restaurants close by.
Overall if you looking for somewhere comfortable and convenient this hotel will serve its purpose, if you are looking for something more then look elsewhere and pay extra

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank brushstick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stouffville
Level Contributor
20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 9, 2012

We stayed here for 3 nights and were very happy we did. Loved the location in the Old Wine Market, walking distance to a lot of the sights. Not far from the train station either. We had read in other reviews that noise was a problem. We had our windows open at night and the square was quiet. Now first thing in the mornings when the deliveries are made it did get a bit noisy. The included breakfast was very nice. Staff at the desk were fine but not overly friendly. One tip, if you arrvie and do not want to pull your luggage over cobblestone streets, take a cab,but it is expensive, as is everything in Switzerland. If you are tired of spending a fortune on the food, go to the CO OP behind the Krone , Manor also sells food.
We would recommend this hotel, loved our time there.

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the fromt of the building, open the window and hang out and people watch.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank susieQstouffville
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
33 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 17, 2012

We only had.a couple of nights in this hotel but ey were great! Spacious , and the coffee machine !! A big plus !! Only used it a couple of times but it was well worth it, our room was very spacious and the staff were chatty and informative , which we loved. It was in a great location and an eay walk to the station a d all the sights, highly recommend

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Michelle M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, MA
Level Contributor
77 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 16, 2012

We stayed here the last couple nights of our Germany Christmas market trip. It was in a great location overlooking the square and a craft market. The rooms were simply done, nothing fancy but were very clean, along with the bathroom. For the cost, compared to other hotels - it was a great value for what we got this time of year.

Breakfast was good, simple but enough to get the day going.

I would even stay here again...if charm is not what you are seeking, it's perfect.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank NewtonTravelers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lucerne hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel des Alpes
Hotel des Alpes
#10 of 69 in Lucerne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 887 reviews
0.2 mi away
Ameron Hotel Flora Luzern
0.0 mi away
Hotel des Balances
Hotel des Balances
#5 of 69 in Lucerne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 954 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Continental-Park Hotel
Continental-Park Hotel
#9 of 69 in Lucerne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 482 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Wilden Mann
Hotel Wilden Mann
#8 of 69 in Lucerne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 393 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Waldstatterhof
Hotel Waldstatterhof
#11 of 69 in Lucerne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 995 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Krone Luzern? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Krone Luzern

Property: Hotel Krone Luzern
Address: Weinmarkt 12 | 6004 Luzern, Lucerne 6004, Switzerland (Formerly BEST WESTERN Hotel Krone)
Phone Number:
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Lucerne > Lucerne
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
#15 Family Hotel in Lucerne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Krone Luzern 3.5*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Altstadt Hotel Krone Luzern is located in the pedestrian and cobblestone zone of Luzern. For the arrival and departure, guests with a car are allowed (also taxi) to drive in front of the hotel for unloading. Public parking garages are located nearby. The Altstadt Hotel Krone Luzern offers its guests exclusive valet parking for CHF 27.00 per night. The front desk is on duty from 06:30 until 23:00. The check in after 23:00 takes place at the Hotel des Balances, just across the square. The Altstadt Hotel Krone Luzern is not suitable for disabled guests and wheelchair users. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, HostelWorld and Booking.com so you can book your Hotel Krone Luzern reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Krone
Best Western Lucerne
Lucerne Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing