We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Art Deco Hotel Montana Luzern
Ranked #2 of 66 Hotels in Lucerne
Reviewed June 13, 2014

We were lucky enough to have a superior double room with lake view and the extra cost was well worth it. The room had 2 balconies with one giving a superb view of the lake and mountains. With our luggage delayed by the airline the excellent hotel staff were very helpful in providing an overnight pack and taking messages in connection with our delayed luggage. The terrace restaurant was excellent and buffet breakfast on the terrace was first class. We definitely hope to stay at this hotel in the not too distant future. Hopefully next time our luggage will accompany us! MP & SM

Room Tip: Lake view rooms are worth the extra cost.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Michael P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DirektorMontana, Sales & Marketing at Art Deco Hotel Montana Luzern, responded to this reviewResponded June 15, 2014

Dear Michael

Thank you for your feedback on TripAdvisor. The HOTEL MONTANA team is happy to read that you had a wonderful stay with us. We all hope that you returned with good memories from your trip and the city Lucerne.

We hope to welcome you again in our house!

Best regards

Your HOTEL MONTANA team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,930)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

467 - 473 of 1,930 reviews

Reviewed June 11, 2014

We stayed at the Art Deco Hotel Montana in Lucerne for 3 nights in May. We went for the lakeside view rooms and they were worth the extra cost. Non-stop gorgeous views of the mountains and lake! The room I had (a single) was quite nice, definitely clean and comfortable. But some of the singles are quite small. Buyer beware, I guess.

One of the "fun" things about this hotel was the funicular which brings you up to the hotel from the street on the lake. I had originally been a little concerned about the location, halfway up the hill. After a day of sightseeing, the idea of trudging "up the mountain" to get home was not that appealing. But the funicular solved that problem admirably and it seemed...I don't know...quite "Swiss".

We ate at the restaurant (La Scala) two of the three nights we were there. Beautiful view of Mount Pilatus and the lake and very good food. Not cheap, however, I must say. But the waiters were knowledgeable and able to give us some tips on Swiss wine, which was great.

I would certainly stay here again if I find myself back in Lucerne.

Room Tip: go for a room with a view of the lake.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pm03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DirektorMontana, Sales & Marketing at Art Deco Hotel Montana Luzern, responded to this reviewResponded June 12, 2014

Dear guest

We thank you so much for your opinion on TripAdvisor. The HOTEL MONTANA team is happy to read that you had a wonderful stay with us. We all hope you returned with good memories from your trip and the city Lucerne. Our funicular is the shortest in the world and got this award from Guinness world records. Even we are still impressed from the marvelous view over lake Lucerne and mountains from the MONTANA hill.

We hope that we can welcome you again!

Best regards

Your HOTEL MONTANA team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 11, 2014 via mobile

Beautiful hotel with amazing views of the lake.

No aircon so uncomfortably hot at night. Worth paying extra for a lake view.

New Beach Club area is very trendy and views are awesome, but it gets very busy with non-hotel guests.

Buffet breakfast at 25CHF is fabulous value - especially considering the amazing view from the terrace.

Walkable from the train station (20 mins around the lake path). There is a handy incline lift from the road level which takes you straight to the reception.

Concierge super friendly, helpful and knowledgable.

Will certainly return to this hotel if visiting there again.

Stayed: June 2014
Thank Molly C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DirektorMontana, Sales & Marketing at Art Deco Hotel Montana Luzern, responded to this reviewResponded June 12, 2014

Dear Molly

We thank you for your feedback on TripAdvisor. It makes us happy to read that you had a good time and colored memories of Lucerne and the HOTEL MONTANA.

We are glad to welcoming you again in our house up the hill!

Best regards

Your HOTEL MONTANA team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 9, 2014

Very nice hotel, amazing view, though we were not given the lake view so we had to go the terrace to see the lake.
Its not very close by the train station. We had to take the bus to the hotel.
An important tip for newbies: theres a lift that takes to the reception of the hotel so look for that, DONOT follow the road sign which say Hotel Montana because then you will have to walk all the up and its not easy...

The receptionist Maria Koen and Boris were extremely helpful in guiding us. Special thanks to both of them.

The room was BIG and the washroom was also very big.

Room Tip: Ask for the room with the lake view, otherwise no use in spending so much money for this hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Haneef R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DirektorMontana, Sales & Marketing at Art Deco Hotel Montana Luzern, responded to this reviewResponded June 10, 2014

Dear Haneef

Thank you for your feedback on TripAdvisor. The HOTEL MONTANA team is happy to read that you had a wonderful stay with us. We all hope that you returned with good memories from your trip and the city Lucerne. Our funicular is the shortest in the world and got this award from Guinness world records.

We hope that we can welcome you again!

Best regards

Your HOTEL MONTANA team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 7, 2014

We stayed here during a driving tour through France and Italy, and what a great decision it was. The rooms were extremely comfortable, and the views over the lake to die-certainly request a lake view. We did not have dinner in the restaurant but we were recommended by other travellers to book a table overlooking the lake in advance. It is also advisable to request a car parking space at the time of booking. Great atmosphere in the piano bar if you fancy an after dinner drink. The hotel is within an easy walk to the town which has many great restaurants.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank peterms294
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DirektorMontana, Sales & Marketing at Art Deco Hotel Montana Luzern, responded to this reviewResponded June 9, 2014

Dear Peter

We thank you so much for your opinion on TripAdvisor. The HOTEL MONTANA team is happy to read that you had a wonderful stay with us. We all hope that you returned with good memories from your trip and the city Lucerne. Even we are still impressed from the marvelous view over lake Lucerne and mountains from the MONTANA hill.

We are looking forward to welcoming you again!

Best regards

Your HOTEL MONTANA team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 6, 2014

We stayed in room 507 for a week. The location of this hotel is truly breathtaking, perched up high with the fabulous Lake Lucerne below. If you can afford it go for a lakeside view, so worth it. We went with Inghams and had half board which turned out to be an excellent decision. The food was fabulous and when I struggled one evening with their choices I asked for an alternative from the al a carte, it was no problem. The restaurant staff were always attentive especially Tamara who had only recently joined the hotel, she will be a great asset. The hotel was very clean and the decor very well presented. It's a shame the only lounge is Louis bar which is not very big and only a few comfy chairs, the others being high stools. They do however have the beach bar now, which is great if the weather is good. We would have no hesitation in recommending this beautiful hotel and find it hard to understand some of the other reviews.

Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank PamDes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DirektorMontana, Sales & Marketing at Art Deco Hotel Montana Luzern, responded to this reviewResponded June 9, 2014

Dear PamDes

We thank you for your feedback on TripAdvisor. It makes us happy to read that you had a good time and colored memories of Lucerne and the HOTEL MONTANA.

We would be glad to welcome you again!

Best regards

Your HOTEL MONTANA team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 5, 2014 via mobile

I have just checked into this hotel that I would rate as a two star.

The front desk person was very cold to deal with.

I had emailed the hotel that I was coming for my honeymoon and they told me that they have upgraded me to a "superior" double room which would lead you to believe a nice room. What we got was a disgusting little room that seems like a spare room in someone's apartment.

To top it off, we were lucky enough to get two single beds joined together and no air conditioning.

If I wanted to stay in the servant quarters then I would not have paid this much money and better spent it somewhere worthwhile.

Thanks art deco hotel momtana lucerne for this amazing experience and spoiling around with a well planned honeymoon.

Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
2  Thank Anu M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DirektorMontana, Sales & Marketing at Art Deco Hotel Montana Luzern, responded to this reviewResponded June 11, 2014

Dear Anu

Thank you for your honest critique. First of all, we are utterly sorry that we could not win you for our ART DECO HOTEL MONTANA.

We have received your hotel booking via an online booking platform. You have made a booking for a hill side standard room, which we had upgraded for free into a superior room hill side because of your special occasion.
Right after you told us that you are not happy with the room upgrade and you would like to move into a lake side room, we switched the rooms immediately.
Very often the hotel is so busy that we are not able to change rooms at all. We are glad that you could move into a lake view room and enjoy all nights the stunning view over the Swiss Alps, mountains and the lake.

Best regards

Your HOTEL MONTANA team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lucerne hotels
0.5 mi away
Hotel Schweizerhof Luzern
0.8 mi away
Hotel des Balances
Hotel des Balances
#4 of 66 in Lucerne
1,185 reviews
1.7 mi away
Seehotel Hermitage Luzern
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Renaissance Lucerne Hotel
0.6 mi away
Hotel des Alpes
Hotel des Alpes
#10 of 66 in Lucerne
1,061 reviews
0.7 mi away
Ameron Hotel Flora Luzern
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Art Deco Hotel Montana Luzern? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Art Deco Hotel Montana Luzern

Address: Adligenswilerstrasse 22, Lucerne 6002, Switzerland
Phone Number:
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Lucerne > Lucerne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Lucerne
#2 Luxury Hotel in Lucerne
#3 Romantic Hotel in Lucerne
#3 Business Hotel in Lucerne
Price Range: $248 - $506 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Art Deco Hotel Montana Luzern 4.5*
Number of rooms: 61
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
From its hilltop location, the hotel offers breathtaking views over Lake Lucerne, the city of Lucerne and the mountains of central Switzerland. The 'living hotel' has so much to offer: 42 Art Deco rooms and 19 penthouse suites; outstanding gastronomy at the Scala Restaurant (awarded 15 points by the Gault & Millau restaurant guide) and the hotel's Kitchen Club; a variety of events in the Louis Bar and Hemingway Rum Lounge, and indulgent massages at the day spa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Art Deco Hotel Montana Luzern reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Art Deco Lucerne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing