We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very nice view” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Art Deco Hotel Montana Luzern

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Art Deco Hotel Montana Luzern
Ranked #3 of 69 Hotels in Lucerne
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Very nice view”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 1, 2014

This hotel has very nice view, kind staff and very clean room. I spent great time with my mother. Our room has balcony, it was very romantic place. I recoomend this hotel to couple or honeymooners. It is close from main station (15-20 min on foot).

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank yellemon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DirektorMontana, Sales & Marketing at Art Deco Hotel Montana Luzern, responded to this review, May 1, 2014
Dear guest

Thank you for your feedback on Tripadvisor. The MONTANA team is happy to read, that you had an enjoyable time in our house. Do you know that the ART DECO HOTEL MONTANA won TripAdvisor Travelers' ChoiceTM Award in 2014 and is one of the Top 25 Romantic Hotels in Switzerland?

We would be very glad to welcoming you and your mother again!

Best regards

Your HOTEL MONTANA team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,639 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,167
    358
    76
    24
    14
See reviews for
248
950
52
201
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (334)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
CT
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 30, 2014

Stayed only one night in this perfectly situated hotel and enjoyed every wonderful minute: jugo on the terrace, the pianist at the bar, the great breakfast buffet, the personable, friendly service but most of all the views...perfect!

Room Tip: it's worth it to pay extra to have a room with a view
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank GypsyCt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DirektorMontana, Sales & Marketing at Art Deco Hotel Montana Luzern, responded to this review, May 1, 2014
Dear guest

We thank you for your feedback on Tripadvisor. It makes us happy to read, that you had a good time and colored memories of Lucerne and the HOTEL MONTANA.

We are glad to welcoming you again in our house up the hill.

Best regards

Your HOTEL MONTANA team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol
Level Contributor
244 reviews
76 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 146 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 15, 2014 via mobile

The room was very comfortable and had great views of the lake. The breakfast buffet was good, though no one was around to ask for coffee on the first day. We would have preferred a double bed rather than 2 singles pushed together, but otherwise the room was fine. It was a short, but pleasant, walk to the town centre. We did not eat in the restaurant as the menu did not appeal, especially at the price! It was nice to have tea and coffee in the rooms.

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank chapyBristol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DirektorMontana, Sales & Marketing at Art Deco Hotel Montana Luzern, responded to this review, March 18, 2014
Dear guest

Thank you for your feedback on Tripadvisor. It makes us happy to read that you had a good time and colored memories of Lucerne and the ART DECO HOTEL MONTANA.

We hope that we can welcoming you again!

Best regards

Your HOTEL MONTANA team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 14, 2014 via mobile

We celebrated the start of our honeymoon by staying 4 nights at Art Deco Hotel Montana Luzern. Our room was a beautifully appointed Lake View double on the 4th floor with a breathtaking view of the lake, the old town and the towering mountains in the distance.
The ladies at reception were unbelievably welcoming and extremely helpful. We really appreciated our card and drink on arrival.
The funicular makes for an easy stroll into town, one that we obliged a few times each day.
We had a meal on our final night at the hotel's vibrant restaurant and absolutely loved the setting , service and quality. The finest meal we have had in a very long time and beats what Perth can offer...hands down.
For a romantic get-away in a beautiful Swiss town we would strongly recommend a stay at Art Deco Hotel Montana Luzern.

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Rob K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DirektorMontana, Sales & Marketing at Art Deco Hotel Montana Luzern, responded to this review, March 18, 2014
Dear Rob

We thank you so much for your opinion on Tripadvisor. The HOTEL MONTANA team is happy to read that you had a wonderful stay with us. We all hope that you returned with good memories from your trip and the city Lucerne. Our funicular is the shortest in the world and got this award from Guinness world records. Even we are still impressed from the marvelous view over lake Lucerne and mountains from the MONTANA hill.

We hope to welcoming you again in our house!

Best regards

Your HOTEL MONTANA team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 14, 2014

I only stayed the one night in the Art Deco Montana Hotel and it was a faultless experiance, everything was perfect. Nothing was too much trouble for the staff, the room was spotlessly clean and the view from the restaurant was stunning

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Phil S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DirektorMontana, Sales & Marketing at Art Deco Hotel Montana Luzern, responded to this review, March 18, 2014
Dear Phil

Thank you very much for your great feedback. We are very happy that you appreciated our delivered service as a whole. It is our everyday passion to give guests a great time. Starting at the entrance and finishing as a positive and memorable experience.

We are looking forward to welcoming you again in the ART DECO HOTEL MONTANA.

Sunny regards

Your HOTEL MONTANA team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sydney
Level Contributor
160 reviews
97 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 128 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 13, 2014

This is a vast, and generally empty hotel when we stayed. Might be a lot more fun at a time when there are actually other people staying rather than empty floors and restaurant spaces.
It is marketed as a 5 star but really a bit less...
Room was large but sparsely furnished. We didnt feel the that the decor was actually consistent with the claim of quality art deco style. Nice view of the lake from the room was good however. Bed consisted of two singles pushed together, so not a great nights sleep.

The funicular made walking into town easy, only about 10 minutes along the lake shore. Ok for one night but if we were any longer we would probably have relocated to the town centre somewhere.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sydneyslicer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DirektorMontana, Sales & Marketing at Art Deco Hotel Montana Luzern, responded to this review, February 16, 2014
Dear Mike

Thank you for your feedback. We are continuously investing into the infrastructure to keep ancient architectural elements preserved and newer things such as hotel rooms in the art deco style up to date. The MONTANA is a 4 star hotel and not a 5 five star hotel.

Our funicular is the shortest in the world and got this award from Guinness world records.

Best regards

Your HOTEL MONTANA team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia
Level Contributor
54 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 13, 2014

While pricey, this hotel was a fun place to stay. You can walk to city center or take the bus which stops near hotel. The funicular to the hotel was fun, but slow.
The staff were very helpful and friendly. We splurged and enjoyed breakfast in the hotel restaurant which was fantastic. The views from the dining area were beautiful. The breakfast buffet was the best we had.
Our room was average, but it did have a nice balcony which gave us a little view of lucerne from the far end.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mbh-travels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DirektorMontana, Sales & Marketing at Art Deco Hotel Montana Luzern, responded to this review, February 14, 2014
Dear guest

Thank you very much for your feedback. The perception of the prices is very individual and the impression if they are perceived as moderate or high is at the moment strongly linked to the currencies. The Swiss Franc is very high compared to other currencies these days. Just to let you know, that we did not increase our prices.

The HOTEL MONTANA team is happy to read that you had a wonderful stay with us. We all hope that you returned with good memories from your trip and the city Lucerne. Our funicular is the shortest in the world and got this award from Guinness world records. Even we are still impressed from the marvelous view over lake Lucerne and mountains from the MONTANA hill.

We hope that we can welcome you again!

Best regards

Your HOTEL MONTANA team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lucerne hotels
0.5 mi away
Hotel Schweizerhof Luzern
0.8 mi away
Hotel des Balances
Hotel des Balances
#5 of 69 in Lucerne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 953 reviews
0.8 mi away
Renaissance Lucerne Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Hotel des Alpes
Hotel des Alpes
#11 of 69 in Lucerne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 883 reviews
0.9 mi away
CASCADA Hotel
CASCADA Hotel
#7 of 69 in Lucerne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 837 reviews
1.7 mi away
Seehotel Hermitage Luzern
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Art Deco Hotel Montana Luzern? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Art Deco Hotel Montana Luzern

Property: Art Deco Hotel Montana Luzern
Address: Adligenswilerstrasse 22, Lucerne 6006, Switzerland
Phone Number:
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Lucerne > Lucerne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Lucerne
#3 Luxury Hotel in Lucerne
#3 Romantic Hotel in Lucerne
#3 Business Hotel in Lucerne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Art Deco Hotel Montana Luzern 4.5*
Number of rooms: 66
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Appealing Art Deco-style Hotel located on a hill overlooking Lake Lucerne. The epitome of outstanding hotel management, individuality and joie de vivre. With fantastic views across Lake Lucerne towards the central Swiss Alps, the hotel is in a peaceful location, yet still only a few steps away from Lucerne's picturesque old town. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda and Jetsetter so you can book your Art Deco Hotel Montana Luzern reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Art Deco Lucerne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing