We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic Location and stunning view” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Art Deco Hotel Montana Luzern

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Art Deco Hotel Montana Luzern
Ranked #3 of 69 Hotels in Lucerne
Brampton, Canada
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Fantastic Location and stunning view”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 27, 2013

Our room was very comfortable, fantastic and it had excellent view as the room was facing the lake. We received an unexpected shuttle service at Lucerne Rail Station. All the services were awesome and staff was also very nice and supportive. Rooms and all the amenities were excellent.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Saiju M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DirektorMontana, Marketing & Sales at Art Deco Hotel Montana Luzern, responded to this review, October 7, 2013
Dear guest,

The HOTEL MONTANA team is delighted to read all your compliments. We always give our best and improve constantly our service to see satisfied guests.

We would be glad to see you again in our HOTEL MONTANA.

Best regards
From the MONTANA team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,640 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,168
    358
    76
    24
    14
See reviews for
248
950
52
201
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (335)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Queensland, Australia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 23, 2013

We splurged on a penthouse spa suite for our stay at the Art Deco Montana and it was certainly worth it. The apartment was absolutely beautiful with gorgeous furnishings. The spa on the balcony was very private and featured incredible views. The views from the room itself were incredible with stunning views out over the mountains including Mt Pilatus and back over the lovely city of Lucerne. The jazz bar at the hotel was wonderful with fantastic musicians playing each night. The jazz jam session on the Thursday night was a real highlight. The restaurant was also fantastic and provides one of the best views I've had from a restaurant ever. It was particularly beautiful when the roof was rolled back to create an open air space. Only small criticism was a couple of slip ups with service such as staff forgetting to get back to us about massages and a couple of other little things. But the staff were otherwise friendly and very helpful. The masseuse was excellent. We would love to stay here again one day.

Room Tip: Room 602 was incredible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kim_and_Tom2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DirektorMontana, Marketing & Sales Manager at Art Deco Hotel Montana Luzern, responded to this review, September 24, 2013
Dear Kim and Tom

Thank you very much for your kind review. We are happy to hear that you liked the Penthouse Spa Suite and the public areas such as the Scala Restaurant/Terrace and Louis Bar. We appologize for the slip ups with services. This should not happen at any time. I will find a way to improve the internal communication between the different departments to make sure that your next stay at the Hotel Montana will perfect.

Best wishes from Lucerne

Patrick Erni
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
27 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 19, 2013

Despite some ongoing noise the first night we stayed (possibly from the hotel's restaurant or a building across the street), our room at the Hotel Montana Luzern was comfortable, cool (with the help of a fan) and refreshing after crowded days sightseeing in Lucerne. Our room did not face the lake: however, this turned out to be an advantage since, not getting the sun all day, it was cooler at night (and the threat of night-time mosquitoes, about which we were warned, never materialized -- well, maybe one or two, but we promptly dispatched them). We had a huge terrace/patio outside the sliding doors, where we would sit at sunset -- all around us were luxurious houses, gardens, and, of course, the mountains. Breakfasts were extraordinary -- we ate enough at breakfast to hold us all day; the breakfast rooms (both indoors and patio) were huge and all had fantastic views of the lake and of Mount Pilatus, one of the top attractions in the Lucerne area. American travelers accustomed to drinking milder, 'Columbian' coffees should be aware that coffee in Switzerland, as in much of Europe, is dark-roast and brewed in a different way than it is in the US - however, we quickly grew accustomed to it, and the rest of the hotel, which, by our last day, began to feel like home. Finally, since we were there in the middle of August, which, like New England, gets warm, slightly humid 'summer weather', be sure to ask the helpful desk about the free day passes to the 'Seebad', or Lakeside swimming facility, a 2 minute walk from the hotel. I went there twice and it was so enjoyable! Great seeing Lucernites enjoying the lake, drinking wine, relaxing and having fun. A real Rick Steves' experience. There is an amazing, 1930s, art-deco style bar in the hotel dedicated to American jazz musicians who played there, especially Louis Armstrong, that should not be missed. We didn't eat at what was probably the exorbitantly-priced LaScala restaurant, although we peeked in and it looked gorgeous. Anyone traveling to Switzerland needs to prepare herself/himself for ridiculously-high restaurant prices. We figured out that was the reason the supermarkets with takeout counters (forget the name) were always busy. (Smart tourists probably purchased a chicken or other prepared dish and had picnics because the restaurant prices are insultingly high, but I guess that's Switzerland.)

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank marilyn a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DirektorMontana, Marketing & Sales Manager at Art Deco Hotel Montana Luzern, responded to this review, September 24, 2013
Thank you Marilyn for your detailed review about the Montana and the tips about Lucerne`s attractions. Indeed local people go to the "Seebadi" during summer time to take a swim or for having a drink in the evening. We are very glad that you felt home in the Hotel Montana and we are looking forward to welcome you again. Restaurant prices are in Switzerland in general higher because of labour costs, We recommend our guests from abroad to to book a halfboard stay which includes a fantastic dinner menu in our Scala Restaurant.

Best regards from sunny Lucerne

Patrick Erni
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dorchester, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 12, 2013

This hotel is perched above the others that line the lake shore, giving it unrivaled views. It does not have the expected disadvantage of having to climb the hill, though, because it has its own funicular railway. Go into the lobby at lake level, press the button to call the carriage and up you go right into the hotel lobby.
The interior decoration is stunning and the food and service superb. This hotel definitely justifies its high ranking.

Room Tip: If you can afford it a lake view is fantastic, but the rooms on the other side are good too.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Peter H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DirektorMontana, Sales & Marketing at Art Deco Hotel Montana Luzern, responded to this review, September 15, 2013
Dear Peter H

Thank you very much for sharing your valuable thoughts and for your recent stay at the Art Deco Hotel Montana.

We are delighted to learn that you thoroughly enjoyed your stay with us.

It was a great pleasure to have you staying with us and it would be great to welcome you again soon.

Best regards

Your Montana team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United States
Level Contributor
239 reviews
108 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 10, 2013

I have stayed in hotels with great views but none that compare to the view from the Montana. I walked in the room and could see the lake through the doors opening to the balcony I immediately walked outside and was in awe. It was a clear day so I could see the mountains, the town, the lake, etc. Perfection. Definitely get a lake side room. The difference in cost is nominal. It is more than worth it.

Check-in - Maria checked me into the hotel. She was professional and polite but more importantly friendly and helpful. She offered me a bottle of water while I waited for my room to be ready which only took 10 minutes. I thought this was great since I checked in at noon and thought it would be three hours before I could get into my room. She also gave me a map and showed me some of the sights. She recommended Mt. Rigi and I am glad she did. It was great. The hotel is fortunate to have Maria welcoming guests. She offers a great first impression.

Other staff I encountered in the hallways, etc. always had a smile on their faces.

I had a single room. It was small but well laid out so it didn't feel cramped at all. It had a full size bathroom including a large bathtub. The bed was comfortable. There was an IPad docking station and a Bose sound system. I was there on vacation; however, there is a large desk that would be great if you were there on business. I've already talked about the view which you can see while laying in bed. Housekeeping did a great job considering the floors are hardwood or laminate and the dust from having the doors constantly open must make it tough to keep clean. Good job by them.

I really liked the funicular that takes you from street level to the hotel. Very unique and convenient. It is a very pretty and easy walk to the city center. It only took 15 minutes to walk to the train station.

I liked that they had apples located all over the hotel. One morning I grabbed one for breakfast on my way out the door. Speaking of food, I didn't eat in the restaurants because I was out early / late on day trips.

Air Conditioning - I hate to bring this up because it sounds like there is nothing the hotel can do about it (due to building or historical reasons); however, the room can get a little warm. There is a fan in the room. I was fortunate that the evenings cooled down so I could open the balcony doors and it wasn't too bad. It quickly cooled down the room. Hot or not, I would even stay here in the heat of summer, all because of the view.

Hotel Key: I read complaints about the room key. Simply review the room key from the unique block of wood and leave the wood in the room. Simple fix:)

Suggestion: It would be nice if an employee showed guests to their room. Not to carry their bags but to show them how everything works in the room. I've been to Europe quite a few times but always like it when the staff can show me how everything works in the room and where outlets, etc. are located.

In closing, I would definitely stay in this hotel again and of course request a room with a lake view.

Tip: There is a grocery store at the train station. Handy for wine, beer, snacks, water, etc. before you catch train to see the sites. I recommend a trip to Mt. Rigi and a trip to Lugano. Absolutely beautiful to take a boat ride on Lake Lugano. Also enjoyed Bern, Geneva, Interlaken, Zurich and Rapperswil. Switzerland is beautiful, clean and the people are kind and efficient.

Room Tip: Lake Side Room is a must
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Europabound
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DirektorMontana, Sales & Marketing at Art Deco Hotel Montana Luzern, responded to this review, September 11, 2013
Dear Europabound

It seems like you have enjoyed your stay in Lucerne and we would like to thank you for your feedback on TripAdvisor. We are happy that we could contribute with our service and amenities to your fabulous stay.

We would be pleased to welcome you again soon and hope you had a safe journey home.

Warm regards

Your Montana team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
georgia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 8, 2013

I made last minute, somewhat frantic, reservations made for my daughter and 4 others, in very busy Luzern, directly through the hotel - The group was able to find other accommodations and despite having paid in full for two rooms, the hotel manager was understanding and kind enough to refund all. Hope to have the opportunity to stay at what others have reviewed as a fabulous hotel!!

Room Tip: I didn't stay here but wanted to review because they were so wonderful to a frantic mom with a 1...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank dianebusch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DirektorMontana, Sales & Marketing at Art Deco Hotel Montana Luzern, responded to this review, September 9, 2013
Dear dianebusch

Thank you very much for your kind review on TripAdvisor even you have not stayed in our hotel yet.

An excellent service to our guests is our first priority and it would be a great pleasure to welcome you at the Montana soon.

Kindest regards

Your Montana team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hobart, Australia
Level Contributor
295 reviews
71 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 150 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 4, 2013 via mobile

Our room was spacious, immaculate, importantly the room was lovely and quiet. We had a hillside room but this did not offer any views to the mountains.The room did have a small balcony and the furnishings in the room were of a high standard.
On arrival our room was not ready which was not a problem so we sat on the balcony and had a drink and a snack, the views from the terrace restaurant over the lake/ mountains were just beautiful. When our snacks arrived the chicken looked good and it was after one mouthful that my husband discovered that the chicken was not cooked fully, we explained to the waiter and a replacement arrived, thankfully there were no ill effects from this. We did explain to the wait staff that were were concerned about the potential of illness from inadequately cooked chicken. Following written feedback survey on the hotel we did have an opportunity to discuss our concerns the next day with the manager who understood our concerns and was following up . We were impressed with the concierge who provided very good customer service.

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank tasannie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DirektorMontana, Sales & Marketing at Art Deco Hotel Montana Luzern, responded to this review, September 6, 2013
Dear tasannie

We really appreciate your comment on TripAdvisor and we are pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay at our hotel.

We apologize once again for the incident in our Scala Restaurant and we are assuaged that we could solve the problem directly with you.

It would be lovely to welcome you again at the Montana again soon.

Kind regards

Your Montana team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lucerne hotels
0.5 mi away
Hotel Schweizerhof Luzern
0.8 mi away
Hotel des Balances
Hotel des Balances
#5 of 69 in Lucerne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 953 reviews
0.8 mi away
Renaissance Lucerne Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Hotel des Alpes
Hotel des Alpes
#10 of 69 in Lucerne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 884 reviews
0.9 mi away
CASCADA Hotel
CASCADA Hotel
#7 of 69 in Lucerne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 838 reviews
1.7 mi away
Seehotel Hermitage Luzern
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Art Deco Hotel Montana Luzern? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Art Deco Hotel Montana Luzern

Property: Art Deco Hotel Montana Luzern
Address: Adligenswilerstrasse 22, Lucerne 6006, Switzerland
Phone Number:
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Lucerne > Lucerne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Lucerne
#3 Romantic Hotel in Lucerne
#3 Luxury Hotel in Lucerne
#3 Business Hotel in Lucerne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Art Deco Hotel Montana Luzern 4.5*
Number of rooms: 66
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Appealing Art Deco-style Hotel located on a hill overlooking Lake Lucerne. The epitome of outstanding hotel management, individuality and joie de vivre. With fantastic views across Lake Lucerne towards the central Swiss Alps, the hotel is in a peaceful location, yet still only a few steps away from Lucerne's picturesque old town. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda and Jetsetter so you can book your Art Deco Hotel Montana Luzern reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Art Deco Lucerne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing