We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great View at a Price”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Art Deco Hotel Montana Luzern
Ranked #3 of 67 Hotels in Lucerne
Reviewed July 4, 2013

The Hotel Montana sits on a high vantage point overlooking beautiful Lake Lucerne. There is a funicular elevator that transports guests down the hill to lake level - and back. As the name implies, the hotel is nicely done in Art Deco style. We enjoyed the bar with a view and live piano. Service was great with on exception: when we decided at 5pm that we wanted to dine in the hotel restaurant, we found the restaurant was sold out for the night and there were no tables held for guests. That meant a long walk (or taxi) into town to find a restaurant. I think a top hotel would have made room.

I've stayed at the hotel a few times in the last 10 years. Overall, nice hotel, nice people, great view. Not sure how many times more I'll pay the rate, but I didn't mind paying it for a couple nights while on vacation. I should note the staff upgraded us to a "penthouse spa" room which was unexpected but appreciated and helped mitigate the rate angst.

Room Tip: If you're interested in the view, go for the lakeside rooms but recognize you will pay more.
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BW-LA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DirektorMontana, Sales & Marketing at Art Deco Hotel Montana Luzern, responded to this reviewResponded July 15, 2013

Dear BW-LA

We are delighted that you had a nice stay at the Montana and we would like to thank you that you wrote you experience about your stay on TripAdvisor.

The view from the rooms which are facing the lakeside is incredible and you are even able to enjoy the view from the Scala Restaurant, the Louis Bar or from the Lake View Lounge..

We totally can understand your annoyance regarding the table. We have informed our F&B Manager and we apologize for this happening.

It would be great to welcome you again soon.

Kindest regards

Your Montana team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,836)
There are newer reviews for Art Deco Hotel Montana Luzern
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

542 - 548 of 1,836 reviews

Reviewed July 2, 2013

This a large traditional hotel in an excellent location. Refurbished and well maintained. Rooms well appointed, lovely staff. We had a delicious lunch on the terrace overlooking the lake, but the restaurant was full in the evening - recommend booking when making room reservation. Lovely beds and bedding. Lucerne was very busy during the day but quite peaceful in the evening. The view from the hotel is amazing.

Room Tip: Book a room overlooking the lake.
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Silverhighway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DirektorMontana, Sales & Marketing at Art Deco Hotel Montana Luzern, responded to this reviewResponded July 2, 2013

Dear JuneHills

We really appreciate your great feedback on TripAdvisor and we are glad, that you enjoyed the Montana experience.

Our Scala Restaurant is very outstanding and from the restaurant and the terrace you enjoy a pictures view from there.

It would be great to welcome you again soon at the Montana.

Best regards

Your Montana team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 1, 2013

I have stayed at many upscale hotels but the Montana is really at step ahead of most. It has a great setting,, the grounds and facility are excellent and very well kept. The furnishings are very nice and the rooms very nicely decorated. The staff really make this a nice stay and their concierge "Boris" may be one of the best I have every met. Boris not only knew the city and region off the top of his head, he called ahead and made all of our arrangements and reservations, gave us the specific itineraries, and detailed maps. The only thing I would change is strictly a regional preference. I would like a top sheet on my bed, which the staff supplied in a few minutes, but seems that European hotels have done away with. I highly recommend the Montana. I forgot one of the most important things, that is the view from your room. WOW, the lake, the mountains, the city lights.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank zepaman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DirektorMontana, Sales & Marketing at Art Deco Hotel Montana Luzern, responded to this reviewResponded July 1, 2013

Dear zepaman

It was a pleasure for us to read your great detailed feedback about your stay in our hotel and it seems like you had a great time. Thank you very much for sharing your impressions on TripAdvisor.

We would be pleased to welcome you again soon.

Kindest regards

Your Montana team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 30, 2013

The hotel is beautiful. Perfectly situated on a hill overlooking Lake Lucernee, with its own private lift down to the lake, this hotel is awesome! The rooms were nice and clean, the bathrooms and sitting areas were spacious, and the lounge facilities overlooking the lake were magnificent. The staff was friendly, including the concierge, who was very helpful in recommending restaurants, amking reservations, and providing very helpful information for day trips, including a trip to Mt. Pilatus - which is a must see for anyone traveling to Lucerne. I would not hesitate staying here again, and would without hesitation recommend it to anyone.

Room Tip: You definitely want a lakeview room - it will be worth it!!
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mark E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DirektorMontana, Sales & Marketing at Art Deco Hotel Montana Luzern, responded to this reviewResponded July 1, 2013

Dear Mark E

Thank you for this outstanding feedback and we are pleased, that you enjoyed your stay in our hotel.

It is always our ambition that our guests are coming back and it’s great to read that you would choose the Montana again.

As you mentioned, the location is perfect. It is quiet, not too far from the city center and you have a wonderful view over Lucerne, the mountains and the lake.

We wish you a nice day and look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Best regards

Your Montana team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 29, 2013

We enjoyed a whole week in Lucerne at the Montana (34 deg.C, so pretty nice).

The staff at the Montana really make the hotel what it is today. Lisa on reception and the legendary Boris, the concierge, with good humour (tolerating my Deutsch) made our stay as good as it possibly could be. Since it was our wedding anniversary the staff went the extra mile with a bottle of wine, a card and the best seat in the restaurant the Saturday night we arrived.

Our room (516) was a hillside view but was spacious, impeccably clean, comfortable and enjoyed a large balcony. The hillside view helped in keeping the room in the shade (which lakeside rooms don't enjoy) and helped keep the room cool(er). Though a fan in each room would have been welcome!!!! You will have to weigh up if the extra cash for a lake view and warmer room are worth it :-)

Boris was extremely helpful with our trips and days out. A top tip was to take the 'Golden Route' to Mount Pilatus in reverse; ie bus, cable car, Mount Pilatus, train, steamer - going the other way would have been a nightmare with the crowds (who for some reason prefer to take the steamer first) as would the queue for the bus at the end.

Aside from how expensive Switzerland is, we would certainly return to the Montana next time we are in Lucerne.

Room Tip: Lakeside rooms get the full sun during the day and with temperatures at 34deg.C could get a bit warm...
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mal747
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DirektorMontana, Sales & Marketing at Art Deco Hotel Montana Luzern, responded to this reviewResponded July 15, 2013

Dear Mal747

We are delighted to read your great review on TripAdvisor and we are pleased to read that you truly enjoyed your stay.

We particularly appreciate your very kind comment because the great satisfaction that you speak to us is a wonderful motivation for the entire Montana team.

It would be a great pleasure to welcome you again soon.

Kindest regards

Your Montana team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 23, 2013

We had a wonderful week at the hotel. Our superior lake view room had a lovely bathroom with a free standing bath but no overhead shower so we asked if there was another room available with both bath and shower. The reception staff were great and offered to move us the following morning. Our new room was excellent with plenty of wardrobe and storage space and two balconies. The views over the lake were amazing as the hotel is in an elevated position.

We dined on three evenings in the beautifully appointed Scala Terrace restaurant. Great food and excellent service. Breakfast was also very good.

It was my birthday during our stay and the hotel staff left a birthday card and bottle of Prosecco in our room and our table at dinner that evening was decorated with ribbons and baubles! Such a nice touch.

We must particularly mention Boris, the concierge, who was really friendly and helpful and gave us wonderful recommendations and advice that helped make our stay truly enjoyable. Thanks Boris.

Our only negative comment is that the temperatures during our stay were in the 30s and although the room had a portable fan, sleeping was difficult. Our suggestion would be to fit overhead ceiling fans that would actually suit the Art Deco design very well and work better than the small table fan provided.

We very much hope to visit Luzern again and stay at the Montana. When you find a superb hotel, why go anywhere else!

Room Tip: The lake view rooms are wonderful and worth paying extra for. I don't think it really matters wh...
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank happytourist44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DirektorMontana, Sales & Marekting at Art Deco Hotel Montana Luzern, responded to this reviewResponded June 24, 2013

Dear happytourist44

Thank you very much for your superb feedback on TripAdvisor and we appreciate that you took time to write a comment about your impressions.

We particularly appreciate your very kind comment because the great satisfaction that you speak to us, is a wonderful motivation for the entire Montana team.

It would be great to welcome you again soon at the Montana and we wish you a wonderful summer.

Warm regards

Your Montana team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 23, 2013

Through business and pleasure trips my wife and I have stayed at some of the world's finest hotels, often in premier suites. Even though my visit to your hotel was for business, I had a Lake View room, which was fantastic. But what compelled me to call home to tell my wife about what I was experiencing at the Montana, was a two hour stint sitting on your View Terrace looking out at the sail boats plying the lake on a sunny June afternoon, with a light breeze, a Campari and great friends. We shall be coming back later this year to permit my wife to experience dinner on your Veranda dining terrace with whatever the chef has chosen from the freshest available that day. Thanks for the memories and for providing us with a fresh destination for us to look forward to experiencing together.

Room Tip: Just let the receptionist know what you would prefer when you check in. she will do her best to pro...
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank robert p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DirektorMontana, Sales & Marketing at Art Deco Hotel Montana Luzern, responded to this reviewResponded June 23, 2013

Dear Robert P

We really appreciate your lovely feedback on TripAdvisor very much and we are happy, that you enjoyed your stay in our hotel.

We are already looking forward to welcoming you with your wife the next time.

Kindest regards

Your Montana team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lucerne hotels
0.8 mi away
Hotel des Balances
Hotel des Balances
#5 of 67 in Lucerne
1,086 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Schweizerhof Luzern
0.9 mi away
CASCADA Hotel
CASCADA Hotel
#7 of 67 in Lucerne
936 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Hotel des Alpes
Hotel des Alpes
#10 of 67 in Lucerne
989 reviews
0.8 mi away
Renaissance Lucerne Hotel
1.7 mi away
Seehotel Hermitage Luzern
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Art Deco Hotel Montana Luzern? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Art Deco Hotel Montana Luzern

Address: Adligenswilerstrasse 22, Lucerne 6006, Switzerland
Phone Number:
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Lucerne > Lucerne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Lucerne
#3 Luxury Hotel in Lucerne
#3 Business Hotel in Lucerne
#3 Romantic Hotel in Lucerne
Price Range: $244 - $517 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Art Deco Hotel Montana Luzern 4.5*
Number of rooms: 66
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Appealing Art Deco-style Hotel located on a hill overlooking Lake Lucerne. The epitome of outstanding hotel management, individuality and joie de vivre. With fantastic views across Lake Lucerne towards the central Swiss Alps, the hotel is in a peaceful location, yet still only a few steps away from Lucerne's picturesque old town. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and Evoline ltd so you can book your Art Deco Hotel Montana Luzern reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Art Deco Lucerne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing