We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, views and hospitality”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Art Deco Hotel Montana Luzern
Ranked #2 of 67 Hotels in Lucerne
Reviewed April 28, 2013

We stayed at the Montana in April 2013 as part of our honeymoon in Switzerland. A fun feature is the funicular journey up to the hotel. All staff that we met were more than helpful and friendly. The room had a spectacular view over Luzern and the lake. Overall we would highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hough_john1979
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DirektorMontana, Sales & Marketing at Art Deco Hotel Montana Luzern, responded to this reviewResponded April 29, 2013

Dear Hough_john1979

It is a real pleasure to read your comment on TripAdvisor and we are very pleased that you will highly recommend us – thank you.

Besides the outstanding view the Montana offers a very unique and romantic atmosphere as well – perfect for a honeymoon.

It would be great to welcome you again soon.

Warmest regards

Your Montana-Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,914)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

598 - 604 of 1,914 reviews

Reviewed April 24, 2013

This hotel was really good but not quite at the heights of a genuine 5 star hotel.

The best feature of the hotel without doubt is it's views. Our room had a lake view which was brilliant and my decision to order ahead a bottle of Prosecco on arrival to drink on our balcony was a great one.

The room itself was good but not over the top outstanding. It would be a 4 star room if you take into account the double bed being a combination of 2 pushed together singles which is quite common in europe.

Restaurant was although pricey very good. We had a degustation menu and the food was excellent. The decor of the resturant combined with the views added to it all with a feel of being taken back to a time when Art Deco was in it's prime.

Breakfasts were good although staff were often hard to find to get more coffee. There seemed to be only a couple of staff looking after a full breakfast room of people.

The hotel was a bit of a walk to town after the trip down in the funicular but that didnt worry us and was actually quite romantic at night along the lake.

I would definitely stay there again even just to take in that beautiful view.

Room Tip: Ensure you go for a lake view room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank P H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DirektorMontana, Sales & Marketing at Art Deco Hotel Montana Luzern, responded to this reviewResponded April 25, 2013

Dear Montana guest

Thank you very much for your kind and great comment regarding your stay at the Art Deco Hotel Montana.

We highly appreciate that our guests taking the time to let us know when they are content with our staff as well as the service and the facilities.

Your compliments are a great and intensive motivation for our employees and we are looking forward to welcoming at the Montana again soon.

Kindest regards

Your Montana team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 23, 2013

We stayed at the Montana in April. I don't believe it to be as good as some of m fellow reviewers have said.

But firstly the good points. It is set in a perfect position overlooking the lake. We had a Lake view suite and the room was very nice - but not outstanding. It was clean and well appointed. The staff were polite and friendly. The restaurant serves excellent food but it quite expensive. Breakfast was excellent. Wifi was excellent.

The hotel lets itself down, in my opinion, but allowing a huge smoking bar just near reception. The smell is overwhelming as you enter the lobby. Non smokers are afforded a bar next door but we went elsewhere for a drink.

The rooms can be noisy. They have huge heavy doors and with wide corridors it is quite easy to hear others leaving and entering their rooms. Running water noise is also audible from other rooms. So beware if you want a quiet place.

We found the reception staff polite but unhelpful in assisting us to see Lucerne. Public transport options were not explained. We were advised that a five hour cruise of the lake was available. On checking at the Information Office we took a two hour one. The same Information Office also has to show us how to get to Pilatus. Our hotel staff could only assist with the web cam from the top. I believe in a hotel of this standing that the Reception staff should be able to adequately advise (in English) on sightseeing activities - and what is possible to see and how to book. And if not advise where to go....for example the Inormation Office at the Railway Station.

Small criticism - but valid in my opinion.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dannyg555
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DirektorMontana, Sales & Marekting at Art Deco Hotel Montana Luzern, responded to this reviewResponded April 24, 2013

Dear Dannyg555

Thank you very much for you honest evaluation on TripAdvisor and we feel sorry that we were unable able to fully satisfy your expectations.

Our Louis Bar has a special ventilation system which allows the bar to be used as a "fumoir" by smokers while ensuring that non-smokers are not disturbed. We apologize that you could smell the smoke even in the lobby and we have already informed our
Technician to double check the system.

Further more we really apologize for the disappointed service at the reception. This is definitely not our standard.

Nevertheless it would be a great pleasure to welcome you again soon in our hotel to prove you otherwise.

Best regards

Your Montana team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 18, 2013

Our family of 4 stayed at the Montana for 3 nights in July of 2012. The hotel is situated high on a hill above one row of hotels on the lake. The Montana looks over the tops of these hotels, and has amazing views. There is a cool funicular that brings you from the lower street level straight into the lobby. It is easy to walk everywhere in Lucerne, including the train station. We did not have a car, and we never took a taxi. We stayed in a lakefront junior suite. It was on a corner on the 3rd floor (4rth floor American) and the views were amazing. We had 3 step-out balconies with small tables and chairs on them. The room was large and we had one king bed and a large sofa bed. We had our tall 12 year old sleep on the fold-out sofa bed and we had a portable bed (comfy cot) brought in for our 9 year old. There was plenty of room to still move around the room. The bathroom was beautiful, with a separate shower, huge tub, double vanity & an amazing view! The linens on the bed were very nice quality, with pure white super clean down comforters and pillows. Even in July it can get cool at night, so we did use the comforters one night. This hotel doesn't have AC, and on a warm night we used fans to stay cool. There were too many mosquitos to leave the windows open all night. The room was very clean, with nice amenities. The staff was always very helpful and friendly. We had one dinner at Scala, and while it was spendy, it was fabulous food and wine. We also had snacks and drinks outside on the big terrace one afternoon, with the same amazing views. We enjoyed the Louis Bar at night and had late night drinks and snacks and listened to music. All of the staff speak English and they were all friendly, and very serious about providing great customer service. We had the hotel book day passes to take the lake cruise, then to the top of Mt. Pilatus, then come down the back side. The only problem was that while we were checking in at the docks they informed us that due to high winds, the back side tram was closed, and they don't refund you for the round trip ticket. We were still able to make it to the top of Pilatus on the cog railway, and it was incredible. Either buy the tickets at the dock yourself, or have the concierge check on what is open at the mountain. We went back up the back side of Pilatus the next day, but spent a lot more money than we needed to! The concierge staff was very helpful with dinner recommendations, and made reservations for us. If you have kids be sure to take them zip-lining on the par cours on Mt. Pilatus. The course looks to be taken care of in typical precise Swiss fashion; very well-maintained and safe. We found the hotel on various booking sites, but we couldn't see a clear way to book one room for the 4 of us with the extra 1-2 beds, so we booked directly with the hotel by email. They quoted us a rate in writing, and gave us a deadline to book at that rate. We had no problems with prices changing. I did make sure that they listed the extra beds, type of room, lake front and price in writing. We also called to ask a few more questions and again to reconfirm right before we arrived, and received excellent service. I look forward to returning some day.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Kelly A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DirektorMontana, Sales & Marketing at Art Deco Hotel Montana Luzern, responded to this reviewResponded April 23, 2013

Dear Kelly

It was a pleasure for us to read your great detailed feedback about your stay in our hotel and it seems like you and your family had a great time. Thank you very much for sharing your impressions on TripAdvisor.

We would be pleased to welcome you and your family again soon.

Kindest regards

Your Montana team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 15, 2013

We spent a night in Montana, my son and I for his 10 years birthday. Very luxurious and relaxed, we were conquered. It is a "small" luxury hotel perched on colline.Reception is attentive and smiling. Our room overlooked the lake and the Alps. Original art deco style with a touch of modernism décallé. A spacious bathroom with bathtub in the center. Room with balcony, spacious and clear. I recommend the bar, with its large windows and piano or bartender has put together an excellent cocktail in a jazzy atmosphere. To visit the city, just take the private funicular to the hotel, along the banks of the lake and you are in 10 minutes. The breakfast was also excellent, with good Swiss products and fresh fruit juice. We did the round trip from Bordeaux just for a weekend, but I certainely will come back here with my wife for a relaxing holiday!!

Room Tip: View to the lake, of course, but ask upper levels for calm.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bleu33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DirektorMontana, Sales & Marketing at Art Deco Hotel Montana Luzern, responded to this reviewResponded April 23, 2013

Dear Montana guest

We really appreciate your great feedback on TripAdvisor and we are glad, that you and your son enjoyed the Montana experience.

Our Louis Bar which is famous for its jazz music is a great please to enjoy the evening with a lovely Whisky or cocktail.

It would be great to welcome you and your family at the Montana again soon.

Best regards

Your Montana team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 7, 2013

Hotel Montana Luzern is within walking distance to the old town (less than 10 minutes walk) and we even walked to the train station (around 15 minutes walk) a few times. With this convenient location, it is up the hill a little and most rooms have breath-taking lake views. It is very cool to have the shortest "train" (technically elevator) to "commute" up and down. We enjoyed the dining experience at the restaurant and got spoiled with daily campagne breakfast. And we would like to thank Boris, the Concierge as he is extremely helpful and take care of us throughout our stay. We love this hotel and will recommend it.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sheepo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DirektorMontana, Sales & Marketing at Art Deco Hotel Montana Luzern, responded to this reviewResponded April 9, 2013

Dear Sheepo

Thank you for your great review on TripAdvisor and we are delighted that you enjoyed your stay in our hotel.

We have forwarded your feedback to our Concierge Boris and we are sure that he will be very pleased to read that.

We hope you had a safe journey back and it would be a great pleasure for us to welcome you back soon.

Best regards

Your Montana team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 4, 2013

We spent one night in the Art Deco Montana hotel upon recommendation from a friend who stayed there 7-8 years ago and were thrilled! We chose the special romantic package with dinner and breakfast and stayed in the Spa suite. What a wonderful experience!
Room was spacious and decorated with rose petals, loung music was playing and a cool bottle of champagne was awaiting us in an ice bucket! We enjoyed it in the terrasse jacuzzi and it was a very special moment with snow falling at the same time! A shame we were not able to enjoy view because of weather though.
We were suprised with an aperitif brought to our room and enjoyed a wonderful dinner in their restaurant. Breakfast was brought to our room as well and we really appreciated the late check out as well as the goodies given to us upon our departure! Many thanks to the staff for their kindness and constant attention.
We would highly recommend this hotel and hope to be able to stay there again!

Room Tip: Spa suite is definitly worth the money!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 161SabrinaV161
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DirektorMontana, Sales & Marketing at Art Deco Hotel Montana Luzern, responded to this reviewResponded April 7, 2013

Dear Montana guest

It is a real pleasure to read that you enjoyed your time in our hotel and we really appreciate your feedback on TripAdvisor. The package “Time for Emotions” is the perfect setting for a romantic getaway and the view from our Penthouse Spa Suites makes it even better.

It would be great to welcome you back again soon and we hope you had safe journey home.

Warmest regards

Your Montana team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lucerne hotels
0.5 mi away
Hotel Schweizerhof Luzern
0.8 mi away
Hotel des Balances
Hotel des Balances
#4 of 67 in Lucerne
1,157 reviews
1.7 mi away
Seehotel Hermitage Luzern
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Hotel des Alpes
Hotel des Alpes
#10 of 67 in Lucerne
1,041 reviews
0.8 mi away
Renaissance Lucerne Hotel
0.7 mi away
Ameron Hotel Flora Luzern
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Art Deco Hotel Montana Luzern? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Art Deco Hotel Montana Luzern

Address: Adligenswilerstrasse 22, Lucerne 6002, Switzerland
Phone Number:
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Lucerne > Lucerne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Lucerne
#2 Luxury Hotel in Lucerne
#3 Romantic Hotel in Lucerne
#3 Business Hotel in Lucerne
Price Range: $236 - $463 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Art Deco Hotel Montana Luzern 4.5*
Number of rooms: 61
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
From its hilltop location, the hotel offers breathtaking views over Lake Lucerne, the city of Lucerne and the mountains of central Switzerland. The 'living hotel' has so much to offer: 42 Art Deco rooms and 19 penthouse suites; outstanding gastronomy at the Scala Restaurant (awarded 15 points by the Gault & Millau restaurant guide) and the hotel's Kitchen Club; a variety of events in the Louis Bar and Hemingway Rum Lounge, and indulgent massages at the day spa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, Priceline, getaroom.com, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and TripOnline SA so you can book your Art Deco Hotel Montana Luzern reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Art Deco Lucerne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing