We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful Lucerne Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Art Deco Hotel Montana Luzern
Ranked #3 of 68 Hotels in Lucerne
Chicago
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Wonderful Lucerne Hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 14, 2012

We celebrated a couple days/nights of our Honeymoon at Hotel Montana in September 2012. We had a delightful experience. The staff were professional and efficient and knew us by name (which was surprising given that the hotel isn't small). We hesitated on spending the extra money on a Lake Room but splurging for this room was definitely worth it. As you'll read from others, the room was spacious, very comfortable and modern. The air flow in the room was a little challenging but everything else was great. The hotel at first may appear far but walking distance or with luggage an easy bus ride 2 stops to the hotel from the train station. If you're not sure if this is the place for you, I'm confident you won't find anything better than Hotel Montana. Boris helped us make reservations before our arrival and was very attentive. Given it was a special trip, this was very important to us. We spent an afternoon drinking on the open aired terrace - definitely make time for that! We ate in the restaurant one evening (very, very early) as we changed our mind last minute on where to go. The restaurant was high-end, good but a bit pricey. We had brunch the day we left and found that to be quite enjoyable and worth the splurge again. Maybe we'll make it back there one day to try the penthouse!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Elizabeth L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Simone_Staubli, Sales & Marketing at Art Deco Hotel Montana Luzern, responded to this review, November 18, 2012
Dear Montana-guest

It is a real pleasure reading your comment and we are pleased that you enjoyed your stay in our hotel. Thank you for this great feedback on TripAdvisor.

We feel very honored, that you celebrated your honeymoon at the Hotel Montana and it is definitely worth to come back and to try our breathtaking Penthouse Spa Suites.

It would be great to welcome you back again soon.

Kindest regards

Sven Flory
Sales & Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,667 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,192
    361
    76
    24
    14
See reviews for
255
964
53
203
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (345)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level Contributor
99 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 7, 2012

We spent 2 days at the end of September 2012 celebrating our anniversary.
Everything was just perfect
The staff was very efficient and friendly from the first moment.
The room was big, nice looking, modern and comfort. It had a balcony with a great view over the lake and the city. Just to make a nice cup of coffee or tea to sit there and…
At the first moment the hotel seems to be a little away from the old city but it has a funicular down the hill and it takes only a 10 min walk along the lake.
The hotel has a closed and safe car parking just across the street (for extra charge) that we had reserved in advanced.
We also had a unique gourmet dinner at the hotel restaurant. The staff was doing a lot of effort to find us a place even though it was a Friday night and a last moment reservation.
We will definitely come back !

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Eric_Or_G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Simone_Staubli, Sales & Marketing at Art Deco Hotel Montana Luzern, responded to this review, November 8, 2012
Dear Montana-guest

What a great feedback and we are very happy that you enjoyed your stay so much.

The location of our hotel is just perfect. Our funicular (shortest of the world) brings you within 2 minutes directly from the lobby to the lakeshore of Lucerne.

From our Scala Restaurant you are able to enjoy a breathtaking view and it would be great to welcome you again soon.

Warmest regards

Sven Flory
Sales & Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caledonia, Michigan
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 25, 2012

Beautiful views of the lake. Great food. Friendly. Service was great! We had the penthouse room. It was smaller than we thought it would be, but the view was awesome. Hot tub on the balcony. Nice....!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jayne C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Simone_Staubli, Sales & Marketing at Art Deco Hotel Montana Luzern, responded to this review, November 8, 2012
Dear guest

Thank you so much for this great feedback on TripAdvisor and we are happy that you truly enjoyed your stay.

Our Penthouse Spa Suites are very special and it is definitely a unique experience.

It would be great to welcome you again soon.

Kindest regards

Sven Flory
Sales & Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wash DC
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 23, 2012

Spent my birthday at the Montana in one of the Junior Spa suites with the Celebrations Package, and it was the single best night in a hotel I have ever had. Fun, just formal enough, wonderful surprises on arrival, very thoughtful services, romantic and delicious gourmet meal with wine pairings. Everything was wonderful -- especially the view from the hot tub watching the sun come up over the Alps!!! I normally don't spend this kind of money on a hotel for a single night, but I would do it all over again and will recommend the Montana to all of my friends here in the US. If the website makes you giggle, then go ahead -- splurge, treat yourself well... The Montana delivers all it promises and more.

Room Tip: MUST book a lakeview/mountain room -- the Alps are magnificent. To do otherwise would be contrary t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SALinNoVa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Simone_Staubli, Sales & Marketing at Art Deco Hotel Montana Luzern, responded to this review, October 24, 2012
Dear Montana-guest

Wau, we really feel honored that you enjoyed your stay that much and that you had your best single night in our hotel. It is very nice that you celebrated your birthday in our hotel – thank you.

Our Celebration Package is just perfect for events like yours. The view from the Penthouse Spa Junior Suite is breathtaking and you are able to enjoy this view even from the whirlpool on the private terrace.

We hope you had a safe journey back and we look forward to welcoming you again soon.

Warm regards

Sven Flory
Sales & Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cranbrook, BC
Level Contributor
31 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 21, 2012

We stayed here for 6 nights as part of a conference, and loved it. While fairly pricey, the service was excellent. The staff were very helpful in an under-stated way, and the rooms had all the comforts needed. Loved the balcony view over the lake and city, and while a bit removed from downtown, it's only a 10 min walk after taking the funicular down the hill. Buses go to the town centre and bus/train only a 100 m from the lower door of the funicular.

Breakfast buffets were expensive, and became somewhat predictable after 6 mornings.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the front side (facing lake), or side facing town.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CranbrookDave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Simone_Staubli, Sales & Marketing at Art Deco Hotel Montana Luzern, responded to this review, October 22, 2012
Dear Montana-guest

We really appreciate that you enjoyed your stay in our hotel and thank you very much that you commented your impressions on TripAdvisor.

With the smallest funicular of the world you reach our hotel from the lakeshore within 2 minutes. From the hotel you’ve got a spectacular view over Lucerne.

It would be great to welcome you again soon and we hope you had a safe journey back.

Kindest regards

Sven Flory
Sales & Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 20, 2012

We stayed in this hotel in July and the location was perfect- on top of a hill overlooking lake Lucerne, with all rooms having balconies with a view. Really easy to get into town on the funicular. Staff really friendly and helpful. There were a few hotels located just by the lake, probably more expensive, but the rooms wouldn't have a view like Art Deco. We would definitely stay there again!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rumi_x
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Simone_Staubli, Sales & Marketing at Art Deco Hotel Montana Luzern, responded to this review, October 21, 2012
Dear Montana-guest

Thank you very much for your kind feedback on TripAdvisor and we are pleased that you enjoyed your stay in our hotel.

The view from our hotel is fantastic and you are able to see the Lake of Lucerne, the city itself and the mountains.

It would be a great pleasure to welcome you again soon.

Warm regards

Sven Flory
Sales & Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Isle of Man, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 17, 2012

Arrived to a wonderful greeting from our rep Michael, however our suitcases didnt arrive until the following morning, our rep went to the train station to make sure they were at the hotel by 8am. however, on the return journey we left our suitcases at the reception by 8am and seen them when we arrival at heathrow. We had a wonderful lake view room with balcony well worth the extra to wake up to every morning to this breath taking view of the lake and mountains. the staff were so friendly and always smiling, nothing was to much for them. we booked dinner for the 7 nights we were there and again the resturant staff and our meals were 5*. Everynight in the Louis bar there was music/paino player wonderful to listen to whilst you are having a lovely glass of wine. iI would recommend this wonderful hotel, my husband and i was taken there by my mother in law as she had been there a few years earlier with her husband and she wanted to go back, she was not disappointed. Hope to go back to the Swizerland one day and we would definatly return to The Montana you could walk to the train station and where you get the river boats about 15mins walk everything was walking distance and i would recommend you go on the river and take the cog train to Pilatus and come down on the cable car this is a trip you shouldnt miss....Congratulatons Montana on providing 5* service to your customers and a big thank you to all your staff, there was not one member of staff you could complain about,we asked one night in the restuarant why everyone was so happy.."the reply" we are a happy family and love to come to work.......thank you all for a lovely holiday, you all made it extra special.

Room Tip: we were in room 209 and that was really wonderful, however if it was summer we were right on top of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank chris p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Simone_Staubli, Sales & Marekting at Art Deco Hotel Montana Luzern, responded to this review, October 19, 2012
Dear family Peregrine

What a great comment – thank you so much! It is a real pleasure to read your feedback and we are very happy that you enjoyed your stay that much!

It is true, that Montana crew is like a big family and we give every day our best to make our guests happy.

It would be lovely, to welcome you back again soon.

Regards from the whole Montana-team

Sven Flory
Sales & Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lucerne hotels
0.5 mi away
Hotel Schweizerhof Luzern
0.8 mi away
Hotel des Balances
Hotel des Balances
#4 of 68 in Lucerne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 978 reviews
0.8 mi away
Renaissance Lucerne Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Hotel des Alpes
Hotel des Alpes
#10 of 68 in Lucerne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 897 reviews
0.9 mi away
CASCADA Hotel
CASCADA Hotel
#7 of 68 in Lucerne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 856 reviews
1.7 mi away
Seehotel Hermitage Luzern
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Art Deco Hotel Montana Luzern? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Art Deco Hotel Montana Luzern

Property: Art Deco Hotel Montana Luzern
Address: Adligenswilerstrasse 22, Lucerne 6006, Switzerland
Phone Number:
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Lucerne > Lucerne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Lucerne
#3 Business Hotel in Lucerne
#3 Romantic Hotel in Lucerne
#3 Luxury Hotel in Lucerne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Art Deco Hotel Montana Luzern 4.5*
Number of rooms: 66
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Appealing Art Deco-style Hotel located on a hill overlooking Lake Lucerne. The epitome of outstanding hotel management, individuality and joie de vivre. With fantastic views across Lake Lucerne towards the central Swiss Alps, the hotel is in a peaceful location, yet still only a few steps away from Lucerne's picturesque old town. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Booking.com, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Art Deco Hotel Montana Luzern reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Art Deco Lucerne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing