We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasant stay in Luzern.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Art Deco Hotel Montana Luzern
Ranked #3 of 68 Hotels in Lucerne
Perth, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
293 reviews
87 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 167 helpful votes
“Pleasant stay in Luzern.”
Reviewed September 13, 2012

We stayed at the Art Deco Montana and arrived late having been on a trian from Venice (via Milan) which took most of the day.

Check in was very friendly and helpful and we were escorted to our room. The room was clean and pleasantly decorated with a small balcony and a window.

The bathroom was awkward with the toilet in a small alcove with a chest of drawers pushed right up against it making the space quite uncomfortable. Also the bathroom / toilet had a window that looked over the bed. Though some privacy could be had by closing the shower curtain this still means that if you are travelling with someone you're not very close to you'll want to avoid being in the bedroom at shower time. Also, the light from the bathroom illuminates the bedroom which can be bothersome at night.

Location wise the hotel offers spectacular views of the lake but you need to book a lake view room for this. There is a Funicular that offers access from the lake level up to the hotel.

At check out the Funicular was undergoing maintenance so the hotel had a shuttle bus service for us to get to the train station.

Room Tip: Go for the lake view if you can afford it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Maritime_Historian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Simone_Staubli, Sales & Marketing at Art Deco Hotel Montana Luzern, responded to this review, September 14, 2012
Dear guest

It is a pleasure to read your feedback on TripAdvisor and we are happy that you relish your stay in our hotel.

The view from our hotel is as you mentioned spectacular and you are able to enjoy a great panoramic view over Lucerne, the lake and the mountains.

I totally can understand your annoyance regarding the bathroom. Please note that all our rooms have a different shape so it is not a problem to give you another room for your next stay.

It would be a great pleasure to welcome you back in our hotel soon.

Best regards

Sven Flory
Sales & Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,814 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,303
    390
    77
    28
    16
See reviews for
285
1,038
56
225
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (371)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed September 13, 2012

I would have liked to give this hotel 5 stars but I have one strong criticism that I sincerely hope the manager will attend to. First let me say that the hotel truly lived up to its reputation in all ways and I especially commend it for the fact that the photos on the net are true to what you actually get. Our room was lovely. The view - fantastic. The food - excellent. The service at the restaurant - superb. But...The hotel is not all that convenient to the train station (or anything else for that matter) and it is ALL UP HILL. Even such inexpensive chains as Holiday Inn would be sure to supply a shuttle service for guests under these circumstances and it would be so easy to add this service to the hotel. After a long day of traveling we arrived at the train station at 9 pm. (BTW the Lucerne train station at that hour is as seedy as the port authority building in Times Square, NYC). Had I been warned properly I would certainly have taken a cab to the hotel but the hotel specifically told me to take a bus and it was a short ride and very very easy. It wasn't all that easy and it ruined my attitude upon arrival. There's really just no excuse for this hotel not to be supplying its own shuttle service - not just for train departures and arrivals but for daily trips to the downtown area as well. I hope they add that.

Room Tip: If you have heavy bags definitely take a cab to and from the train station. The restaurant is beauti...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Muzikboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Simone_Staubli, Sales & Marketing at Art Deco Hotel Montana Luzern, responded to this review, September 14, 2012
Dear guest

Thank you very much for you honest evaluation and we are pleased that could enjoy your stay in our hotel.

Regarding the shuttle service we would like to inform you that we have funicular from our hotel which brings you directly within two minutes to the lake-shore. From there you have very good bus connections to the city center (takes about 3 minutes). Nevertheless I will discuss this matter with our management.

It would be great to welcome you back again soon.

Best regards

Sven Flory
Sales & Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LINCS
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 12, 2012

We stayed here from July 25 to Aug 4th 2012 on a half-board basis. Everything was first class !
The room was spotless and spacious, with a fantastic view of the lake and mountains from the balcony. Breakfast was excellent with ample choice and the evening meals were all superb with very attentive service, ( and what a setting to dine in ! )
All the staff, without exception, were faultless.... very helpful and polite....nothing too much trouble.
The private funicular from street level straight to reception is a real bonus too !
Even after a ten night stay, there are still things we would like to do in the Luzern area, so we will certainly be returning to the Art Deco Hotel Montana in the not-too-distant future.

With many thanks to all the staff for a marvellous holiday.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DAVID S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Simone_Staubli, Sales & Marketing at Art Deco Hotel Montana Luzern, responded to this review, September 12, 2012
Dear guest

It’s a real pleasure to read your feedback and we are very pleased that you enjoyed your stay at the Montana.

I have sent your comment to all our departments and I am sure it will be a great motivation for them to read that.

It would be great to welcome you again soon and we wish you a wonderful week.

Warm regards

Sven Flory
Sales & Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Delhi
Level 6 Contributor
54 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed September 12, 2012

So on the second leg of our honeymoon we landed in Lucerne and picked Montana hotel to stay in.
Brief rating:
Hotel Location:7/10 (As it was a bit far from the main areas but walkable around 20mins by walk to old town and 10mins by taxi to station.)
Staff Courtesy: 9/10 (So far best in Switzerland)
Breakfast Spread:10/10 (Beautiful view from the deck with binocs provided to see the peaks)
Room Quality: 9/10 (Big clean rooms with huge bathroom)
Concierge:10/10 (Order taxi's at least 20mins before you have to go anywhere)
This was the only property in Europe that recognized our Honeymoon and made us feel special with a hand written card and a bottle of champagne.
Stay here without any doubt and fear.
Have fun and safe travel.

Room Tip: Take rooms on lake side. Keep windows closed in the evenings to prevent nasty gnat bites. Take roo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Umesh91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Simone_Staubli, Sales & Marketing at Art Deco Hotel Montana Luzern, responded to this review, September 12, 2012
Dear guest

Thank you very much for your kind feedback on TripAdvisor and we feel very honored, that you decided to stay in our hotel for your honeymoon. We wish you once again all the best for the future.

We hope you had a safe journey home and it would be great to welcome you again soon.

Best regards

Sven Flory
Sales & Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed September 9, 2012

We booked this hotel as a overnight stop off on our way to MIlan. We only had one night but have to say it is ones of the best places we've ever stayed in. We booked through SLH website and we got a good DB&B deal on one of the fantastic penthouse spa suites.

We arrived at the hotel after a 15 hour drive and as you can imagine was a bit tired. We decided to just have room service instead of the inclusive meal.

We arrived and the staff were courtous and efficent as well as excellent english speakers. We were shown round the hotels facilities including the great lift to the street level below. Our room was fantastic and exactly as the photos suggest. We enjoyed the hot tub and the steam shower, and loved the fact you could choose what scent was sprayed into the room.

I could wax lyrical all day about the hotel and Lucern but all I'll say is go there and if you can get one of the spa suites, you won't regret it.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dmabon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Simone_Staubli, Sales & Marketing at Art Deco Hotel Montana Luzern, responded to this review, September 9, 2012
Dear guest

We feel very honored that we are one of the best places you have stayed in and thank you for your great feedback on TripAdvisor.

Our Penthouse Spa Suites are really outstanding and you are even able to enjoy this fantastic view from your private terrace in the whirlpool.

We hope you had a good and safe journey to Milano and it would be great to welcome you back again soon.

Warm regards

Sven Flory
Sales & Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland Heights, Ohio
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed September 5, 2012

I have stayed at this hotel several times and it never fails to wow me! The views from the lake side rooms are amazing, as is the staff, which is wonderfully attentive. I look forward to returning in the future.

Room Tip: Make sure you get a lake view room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rfcurry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Simone_Staubli, Sales & Marketing at Art Deco Hotel Montana Luzern, responded to this review, September 9, 2012
Dear guest

Thank you so much for your feedback on TripAdvisor and we are happy that you enjoyed your stay at the Hotel Montana again.

As you mentioned, the view from our hotel is really nice and you are able to see the Lake of Lucerne, the mountains and the city.

The first priority of your staff is to make our guest happy and it is very nice to receive such a nice compliment.

I would be great to welcome you back again soon.

Warm regards

Sven Flory
Sales & Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed September 5, 2012

We were delighted by the wonderful views of the lake and mountains from our hotel room and from the restaurant, and we were struck by the extreme courtesy shown us by all the staff. Breakfast was diverse and generous, and our dinner on Sunday night a very stylish event.

We were unable to dine in the restaurant on the Saturday evening, but we can understand that sometimes hotel restaurants are fully booked (in this case for a wedding). However, we were a little disappointed that such a fine hotel should not be able to make any bar or lounge available for its residents to have a late evening coffee or drink, even when a function of this kind is taking place. Some reduction in the very high overnight charge would seem appropriate when guests have such restricted opportunities to enjoy the hotel's facilities, and it would also be appropriate for the hotel to warn people booking on the internet of the restrictions that they will encounter on particular nights.

There is also a matter which we would like the Hotel to take up with the town authorities. Almost all the town's museums seem to close on the same day, Monday. This does not seem very considerate towards visitors who come for only a short stay - particularly if the Monday is a wet one, with the mountains blotted from view. Could the hotel use its influence to persuade the town authorities to arrange for different museums to close on different days?

Room Tip: We felt that it was well worth paying the extra for a view of the lake and mountains
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wise-old-bird
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Simone_Staubli, Sales & Marketing at Art Deco Hotel Montana Luzern, responded to this review, September 6, 2012
Dear guest

Thank you very much for your great feedback on TripAdvisor and we are pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay in our hotel.

We deeply apologize for the happenings on Saturday evening. I have forwarded your comment to our directorate, because this is definitely not the Montana standard.

I have forwarded the problem with the opening hours of the museums in Lucerne to the Tourist Information. Thank you for your understanding.

Nevertheless it would be great to welcome you back again soon and we hope you had a safe journey back.

Warm regards

Sven Flory
Sales & Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lucerne hotels
0.8 mi away
Hotel des Balances
Hotel des Balances
#5 of 68 in Lucerne
1,070 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Schweizerhof Luzern
0.6 mi away
Hotel des Alpes
Hotel des Alpes
#9 of 68 in Lucerne
970 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
CASCADA Hotel
CASCADA Hotel
#7 of 68 in Lucerne
920 reviews
0.8 mi away
Renaissance Lucerne Hotel
1.7 mi away
Seehotel Hermitage Luzern
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Art Deco Hotel Montana Luzern? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Art Deco Hotel Montana Luzern

Property: Art Deco Hotel Montana Luzern
Address: Adligenswilerstrasse 22, Lucerne 6006, Switzerland
Phone Number:
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Lucerne > Lucerne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Lucerne
#3 Romantic Hotel in Lucerne
#3 Luxury Hotel in Lucerne
#3 Business Hotel in Lucerne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Art Deco Hotel Montana Luzern 4.5*
Number of rooms: 66
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Appealing Art Deco-style Hotel located on a hill overlooking Lake Lucerne. The epitome of outstanding hotel management, individuality and joie de vivre. With fantastic views across Lake Lucerne towards the central Swiss Alps, the hotel is in a peaceful location, yet still only a few steps away from Lucerne's picturesque old town. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Cancelon, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Art Deco Hotel Montana Luzern reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Art Deco Lucerne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing