We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice hotel with great views...”
Review of Hotel des Balances

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Hotel des Balances
Ranked #4 of 68 Hotels in Lucerne
Certificate of Excellence
Lexington, Ky.
Level 6 Contributor
140 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Very nice hotel with great views...”
Reviewed July 22, 2010

Very nice hotel with great views, comfortable beds, above average service. We had a view of the lake, it was pretty expensive but it was nice.

    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kypat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,043 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    682
    280
    51
    21
    9
See reviews for
204
544
55
90
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (238)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Tiburon, CA
Level 6 Contributor
180 reviews
140 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 534 helpful votes
Reviewed July 13, 2010

The Des Balances enjoys a fabulous location in the old town, on the river, with comfortable rooms (all of which have plusses and minuses) and beds, helpful service, and an excellent restaurant.

So, about those rooms. We had booked a standard room, overlooking the busy square, which would have been a neat view in itself. But we were upgraded to a "river view" room on the 5th (top) floor. The river side rooms all have small balconies and great views, except for most of the top floor rooms where stone balustrades cut off the view. But the plusses on this floor are huge balconies - terraces, really - with electrically retractable awnings, and it's the only floor with air conditioning, which was a lifesaver for us with July temperatures in the 80s, since the building doesn't cool off a lot at night and the river side gets the sun.

The restaurant serves excellent food, with punctilious service once you get someone's attention, which can take a while. The manager gave us a complimentary chocolate souffle with a sparkler for my wife's birthday.

There are any number of cafes along the river next to the hotel, and the location is super for just walking around. One street to the north is a Coop super market.

The reception staff had generally good English and gave helpful advice.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank toolworker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pago pago
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed July 1, 2010

I got a bad case of food poisoning at this hotel restaurant. When I emailed the hotel manager to suggest he check the kitchen and refrigeration he wrote back and said "they serve 300 meals a day and never had a case of food poisoning". Well they do now! He insulted me by denying the possibility as if it was my imagination. I did not ask for a refund only to suggest that he check the kitchen and I received a rude reply.DON'T EAT HERE

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled solo
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank srhsamoa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Balances, General Manager at Hotel des Balances, responded to this review, July 13, 2010
It is with deep regret and astonishment that we have noted the recent comments posted on tripadvisor.com regarding our hotel and restaurant. We consider these remarks to be completely unfounded. Following this guest’s initial complaint, we investigated the matter thoroughly and with extreme care, and responded accordingly.

The meal this guest ordered, was also ordered by numerous other guests on the same evening. It is illogical that only one person alone could have contracted the bacteria associated with food poisoning from our restaurant. Were these accusations true, every person who ate the same meal would have inevitably also suffered from food poisoning. We conduct internal hygienic controls on a daily basis. Additionally, inspections are conducted bi-monthly by official external authorities. Our hotel, as well as our restaurant, is recognized as being among those with the highest hygienic and quality standards in Switzerland.

As stated in your contributor’s comments, we have never had a single case of food poisoning to date.

Consequently, we consider this non sequitur, slanderous assertion as an unfounded, serious affront to our hard-earned reputation. As a matter of course, we reserve the right to take legal action.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ipoh, malaysia
Level 5 Contributor
46 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed June 16, 2010

stayed at this hotel on 3rd week of May for 4 nights. was a bit disappointed once we arrive as there was some construction going on right in front of the hotel.
1) Location - within walking distance from the train and bus station. And if you are early riser, there is a morning market not far from the hotel.
2)Room -nice looking room .very spacious with a living area separating the bedroom and bathroom. The bathroom was huge but the toiletries was a letdown...for 500franc p/night i expect more than just a small bar of soap!
Anyway , overall it was good. But if you are on tight budget, look somewhere else. And if you intend to stay here, get a room facing the river...great view with snow capped mountains .

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank missylee28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
delhi india
Level 6 Contributor
152 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
Reviewed June 14, 2010

this is one fantastic hotel.normally inspite of paying loads oh cash the hotels are dissapointing in europe.this is one great hotel.fantastic location,6 min to trainstation,an easy walk.opp the river,we had a room opp the river with two balconies on the top floor!huge room and huge bathroom,choc everynight on the bed.cocktail for the welcome drink and somebody to help with luggage.does it get any better !yup it does super breakfast....french toast and hot choc?one hoteli hope and pray I return to!

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank alok
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Mateo
Level 4 Contributor
21 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed June 12, 2010

This hotel is lovely. The location is as described - right on the river and in the midst of the Old Town setion of Lucerne. It was a short walk from the train station and easy to get to. Only a few rooms seem to not face the river so definitly request a river facing room and if possible, one with a balcony. It's really relaxing to sit out there and people watch or read.

I'm traveling solo so they've placed me in one of their smaller rooms which is on par with many European hotels and quite adequate just for me. It appears other rooms are much bigger. THe room has a small closet, a minibar, a small desk and chair, huge mirror, modern bathroom, the balcony and another chair for relaxing if you don't want to be outside. It's everything you really need and the quality level is high.

THey have many small touches too that are thoughtful such as an adapter kit in the room available for your use, turndown service with chocolates, a welcome note personally addressed with a few snacks and a very helpful front desk staff. Fans are provided in the room as they don't have air conditioning. Internet access is free. The hotel does not have a separate concierge but the two different women I talked to were knowledgeable about excursions and restaurants. Passes for the boats can be bought right from the front desk.

The restaurant is good too. Breakfast isn't cheap and I would probably go elsewhere if you want to just pick up pasteries but dinner was excellent with nice service and a good range of choices. If the rates here work for you, I recommend this hotel.


Only negative I've encountered was mentioned by a previous writer and that's the bugs that come in at night if you leave the window and door wide open. I made that mistake the first night but tonight, I dropped the screen provided and am not having the same problem. There is a reason for those screens - use them as dusk hits!

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dsa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 6 Contributor
274 reviews
133 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 185 helpful votes
Reviewed June 4, 2010

We unwisely ignored the guide-book comment that rooms overlooking the square could be noisy and were woken in the early hours by noisy groups as well as first thing in the morning by construction workers that another reviewer has mentioned. We stayed there during a cool rainy period in May and yet the room was very hot and stuffy and there was no air conditioning - only a table-top fan which wasn't much use.

The room was not large but adequate with the usual 4-star amenities including an espresso machine but the decor might not be to everyone's taste.

We chose this hotel for its proximity to the train station (an 8 minute walk) and in fact its location generally is great and easy to walk to all the sights, restaurants etc. We had also read the favourable reviews. Staff were good and breakfast extremely good. We would recommend eating in the restaurant at least one evening. Not cheap but definitely worth it. Our best meal during our whole stay in Switzerland.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jinty27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lucerne hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel des Alpes
Hotel des Alpes
#9 of 68 in Lucerne
950 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Schweizerhof Luzern
0.8 mi away
Art Deco Hotel Montana Luzern
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Renaissance Lucerne Hotel
0.1 mi away
Hotel Wilden Mann
Hotel Wilden Mann
#6 of 68 in Lucerne
454 reviews
0.4 mi away
CASCADA Hotel
CASCADA Hotel
#7 of 68 in Lucerne
902 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel des Balances? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel des Balances

Property: Hotel des Balances
Address: Am Weinmarkt | 6004 Luzern, Lucerne 6004, Switzerland
Phone Number:
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Lucerne > Lucerne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Lucerne
#4 Luxury Hotel in Lucerne
#5 Business Hotel in Lucerne
#7 Romantic Hotel in Lucerne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel des Balances 4*
Number of rooms: 56
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Des Balances - a four star superior property – is located in the beautiful heart of Lucerne’s Old Town. The ideal starting point for shopping and sight seeing.It has 56 tastefully renovated rooms and suites with a view of the famous Chapel Bridge, Jesuit Church and Mount Pilatus.Enjoy market fresh creations in our Restaurant Balances with lounge, bar and terrace directly at the river Reuss. 14 Gault Millau points stand for culinary art.Individual premises impressively combine tradition and modern comfort and provide the perfect framework for your unique event.Treat yourself to insBrational moments at the Hotel des Balances. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Hotel des Balances reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Des Balances Hotel
Des Balances Lucerne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing