We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect Hotel in every way!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel des Balances

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel des Balances
Ranked #4 of 68 Hotels in Lucerne
Certificate of Excellence
Oak Hill, VA
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Perfect Hotel in every way!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 15, 2006

We stayed at the Hotel Des Balances in early October for 2 nights and it was amazing! There is no other way to describe the view and hotel location besides exceptional. We had a river view room and it was definitely worth it. Everything is within walking distance to this hotel, including a ton of restaurants and all the sites. The room itself was superb, very large, clean and modern. The hotel staff was wonderful; spoke perfect English and very helpful. The breakfast buffet was great…fresh breads, juices, bacon, etc. I would highly recommend this hotel to anyone going to Lucerne and we will definitely stay here again!

  • Liked — Location, Staff, Rooms
  • Disliked — Nothing!
  • Stayed September 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank NikiInVA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

978 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    635
    267
    47
    20
    9
See reviews for
187
509
54
85
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (228)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 3, 2006

You absolutely can't beat this view. We just returned from our honeymoon and our two days here were a definite highlight. Waking up and watching the sunrise out of our window was unforgettable.
The room itself was clean and simple but not outstanding. If you go, make sure you have at least one dinner at the restaurant downstairs.

  • Liked — view
  • Disliked — price
  • Stayed September 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Z2006
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 27, 2006

We had a wonderful stay here. It is definitely worth the price to get a river view. The room was a good size and very clean. The bed was comfortable too. The staff was friendly, helpful and they spoke English. The location was fantastic. It was centrally located and we were able to walk to all of the shops and restaurants. From the train station, it was only about a 7 minute walk. We also had an enjoyable and delicious dinner on the terrance of the restaurant.

There is no air-conditioning in the room. With the windows open, you do get a slight breeze. We were there at the beginning of Sept. so the weather was quite nice anyways so it didn't matter too much.

We would definitely stay there again!

  • Liked — The location and cleanliness
  • Disliked — no air-conditioning and only one english channel
  • Stayed September 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 2newtravelers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blairgowrie
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 23, 2006

I was influenced by Tripadvisor's accolade as top hotel in Lucerne as the "Balances" is No.1 choice. It was a wonderful recommendation as the hotel lived up to expectations. There was one snag though and due to the fact - possibly - that the Lucerne Festival was on it was impossible to book dinner on four occasions. As dinner is served from 6.00pm to 11.00pm it seemed a lame excuse. They do book outside parties for the whole evening so I suppose it's feasible during a busy period of the Festival it could be difficult. It is irritating though when one stays for a week to have to eat out more than one would wish. We feel that some preference system should be in place for hotel guests.
The other little snag was that out of 35 TV channels there was only CNN in the english language. That seems a little mean on the english speakers who visit the city in droves, especially during the summer months.
Apart from this everything was great. The service was courteous, friendly and considerate at all times. The staff were all english speaking. The breakfast buffet was wonderful with hot food maintained at a good temperture and constantly refreshed. The standards in the kitchen are high. Dinner was very very good indeed on the occasions we had it, although the menu never changed, and when the weather allowed, eating on the terrace was a divine experience.
An expensive hotel though where bar bills can soon get rather hefty - stay off the malt whiskies!
Would we go back? You bet. Tomorrow please. The bag is packed!

  • Liked — Cleanliness, service, comfortable bed, excellent pillows and good food
  • Disliked — Dinner reservations difficult
  • Tips/Secrets — Ask for a room at the front overlooking the river
  • Stayed September 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank Geoff-trip-pages
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lambertville, New Jersey
Level Contributor
319 reviews
92 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 327 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 5, 2006

First off -- Les Balances is no longer affiliated with Best Western (I actually called to check!) and it is a lovely hotel with a perfect location, fantastic restaurant, elegant rooms and a gracious staff. We just loved our stay here and will definitely go back.

We'd actually learned about the hotel through a five year old copy of a Karen Brown Switzerland guide and the info was pretty out of date. Upon arrival (early) our room was ready and -- bliss! -- we were upgraded to one with a river view. The big dormer windows opened out onto the Jesuit church and a view of the mighty Mt. Pilatus...at night, the lights of the city and of the mountain (there is a circle of lights on the observatory center) and a half moon offered a romantic view.

We loved our room -- it was white on white with a huge comfy bed, crisp, crisp sheets, great pillows, and wonderful lighting (including this huge round drape-covered like floor lamp that was quite theatrical). There was a huge mirror facing the bed. The room was quite large (as well there were two comfy leather armchairs and a small table). The bathroom had a nice tub...the hotel is, I'll warn you, a tad chintzy with both towels and toiletries though we had no trouble getting more on request.

We ate a lunch and a dinner at the restaurant and though the service, as we found just about everywhere in Lucerne (and in Zurich, come to think of it) was weak, the food and ambiance made for lovely experiences. Try the veal in puff pastry (it is on the menu under classics).... The menu is pricey and is the same at lunch and dinner. There is a fantastic bar on one end and plenty of tables on its terrace, which is so low that it almost skims the river!

We also went to other places -- Opus, just across the river and an easy five minute walk, didn't impress us much despite the buzz we had heard before we went. We went to La Terrassa next door to the hotel. Service (again) rather bizarre (they seat you, take a drink order, ultimately return with drinks, and quickly depart despite the fact that you have a menu open and are ready to order! This happened numerous times and in numerous restaurants).

The best overall was Luce at the Radisson SAS (it is a new hotel with all the contemporary charm of a bus station but the food was outstanding).

Awesome trip overall....we'll definitely go back.

  • Liked — the location on the river and the size and decor of our room and the restaurant
  • Disliked — can't think of anything....
  • Tips/Secrets — Definitely try for a room on the river side, some have balconies!
  • Stayed September 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank Carolyn S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kelowna, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 1, 2006

We had rented a car and drove around Switzerland. This made the hotel very difficult to find because it is located in the old town and the roads are mainly for pedsetrians. Once we found the hotel it was amazing.

The room was fabulous, it had a balcony that over looked the river and the old town. The location was great. Walking distance to all the sites. It was very clean and the staff were very hospitable. We wished we had more nights.

  • Liked — The balcony view
  • Disliked — Driving to the hotel
  • Tips/Secrets — Take the train the staion is a 2 min walk
  • Stayed June 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank Dommich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naperville, Illinois
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 20, 2006

Booked through myswitzerland(-) and was tempted by the offer on the junior suite. My husband, 14 month old, and I, along with our dog very much enjoyed our stay here. The suite was very large as was the bathroom. We had lovely views out onto the river which we spent much time gazing at as my little one was ill one evening and we got take away and stayed in.

The decor was a bit bland and I can see how things might uncomfortable if Luzern experienced a heat wave, but all in all we were very pleased with our room.

The staff was pleasant and professional and assisted us in securing tickets for boat cruise, etc.

  • Liked — location, view
  • Disliked — difficult to find with vehicle
  • Tips/Secrets — secure directions beforehand
  • Stayed August 2006, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank dp_in_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lucerne hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel Schweizerhof Luzern
0.1 mi away
Hotel des Alpes
Hotel des Alpes
#10 of 68 in Lucerne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 897 reviews
0.8 mi away
Art Deco Hotel Montana Luzern
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Renaissance Lucerne Hotel
0.1 mi away
Hotel Wilden Mann
Hotel Wilden Mann
#6 of 68 in Lucerne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 409 reviews
0.4 mi away
CASCADA Hotel
CASCADA Hotel
#8 of 68 in Lucerne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 858 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel des Balances? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel des Balances

Property: Hotel des Balances
Address: Am Weinmarkt | 6004 Luzern, Lucerne 6004, Switzerland
Phone Number:
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Lucerne > Lucerne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Lucerne
#4 Family Hotel in Lucerne
#5 Business Hotel in Lucerne
#7 Romantic Hotel in Lucerne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel des Balances 4*
Number of rooms: 56
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Des Balances - a four star superior property – is located in the beautiful heart of Lucerne’s Old Town. The ideal starting point for shopping and sight seeing.It has 56 tastefully renovated rooms and suites with a view of the famous Chapel Bridge, Jesuit Church and Mount Pilatus.Enjoy market fresh creations in our Restaurant Balances with lounge, bar and terrace directly at the river Reuss. 14 Gault Millau points stand for culinary art.Individual premises impressively combine tradition and modern comfort and provide the perfect framework for your unique event.Treat yourself to insBrational moments at the Hotel des Balances. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Booking.com, Agoda, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel des Balances reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Des Balances Hotel
Des Balances Lucerne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing