We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel des Balances
Nearby Hotels
CASCADA Hotel(Lucerne)
$224
$217
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$253
$162
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$404
$392
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$253
$222
Renaissance Hotels
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$385
$246
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$490
$393
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$612
$404
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$198
$171
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$229
$221
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$265
Elvoline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (1,232)
Filter reviews
1,232 results
Traveler rating
817
323
59
23
10
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
817
323
59
23
10
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthe riverold townwelcome cocktaila river view roombeautiful hotell'occitane toiletriesjesuit churchtrain stationperfect locationair conditioningsmall balconytop floorhotel barjunior suitebeautiful roomcoffee machineloved this hotel
Filter
Updating list...
477 - 482 of 1,232 reviews
Reviewed May 30, 2014

What a treat to spend four days at the Hotel des Balances. Upon arrival we were upgraded to a room with a terrace overlooking the beautiful town of Lucerne. It was truly a postcard view. The welcome basket was a lovely treat. The beds were comfortable and rooms were luxurious. I loved stopping in the hotel bar for drinks and appetizers on the water. The staff were professional, kind, and incredibly helpful...they helped us plan a trip into the Alps for a day (HIGHLY RECOMMENDED!) All in all this hotel could not have been more perfect for us and I couldn't recommend it enough!

Room Tip: Splurge for a room with a view, it is worth it!
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mollyms619
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 17, 2014

My husband and I stayed here for 2 nigts over an Easter break. Despite the building works going on next door to our room, and the scaffolding interrupting our super view I can only say goods things about this hotel and all its staff. The online photos do not really do it justice, it is simply a charming hotel, (without being ostentacious), in a charming little city. Once arriving in the reception area there is a super welcoming relaxing atmosphere which carries through the whole hotel. Rooms were very comfortable, lovely balcony, views, breakfast had great selection and was very good quality, buzzing bar in the evening without noise intruding into hotel, lovely welcome cocktail was a very nice touch, very centrally located both for exploring the city by foot and the surrounding area for lots of interesting touring. I would have liked to stay longer and would definately stay again on any return trip to Lucerne.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Clerko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 15, 2014

We are here now and have had a great stay except for the renovations going on next door to our room, we have a partial river view and partial view of the scaffolding......the dining scene is very good, we highly recommend NIX, which is a small quaint Italian place across the river, the new beer hall next door is quite fun as well.....we will be back

Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
1  Thank tradrtrav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 27, 2014

Stayed here for 4 nights in business at the end of April. I had a nice room at the front of the hotel overlooking the courtyard. The bathroom was modern with L'Occitaine bathroom products and a powerful shower. A really nice touch was a world power adaptor left in the wardrobe, which you could use or buy. The small fridge was well filled and there was a Nespresso machine too. The service was excellent, breakfast was well prepared with fresh ingredients but as with all things here it was expensive. The hotel is a 5 min walk from a large selection of bars, breweries and restaurants. A colleague had a room facing the river which was airy with fantastic views to the lake and Mt Pilatus. My only small gripe was that there didn't appear to be a way of regulating the temperature in my room so I had the balcony doors open on the first night. Unfortunately, the 0530 street cleaning was far too noisy to sleep through, and even with the door shut, local businesses seemed to wheel their rubbish bins across the cobbles at the same time making for an unplanned alarm call. I would most certainly stay here again, only next time I'd go for a riverside room.

Room Tip: Go for a riverside room for peace and a good night's sleep.
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Brands_03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 15, 2014

Very comfortable Hotel. Our room overlooked the Reuss River and the Jesuit Church. Our room had tv and a small refrigerator with a selection of drinks. The Bar and Restaurant friendly Service and Good Food. The breakfast is very Elaborate and a Good Start in the Morning.

Room Tip: Room 304 is our Favorite. It Faces the River
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Burlingame
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews