We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location and Amenities”
Review of Hotel des Balances

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Hotel des Balances
Ranked #4 of 68 Hotels in Lucerne
Certificate of Excellence
Great Falls, Virginia
Level 5 Contributor
42 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Great Location and Amenities”
Reviewed July 11, 2013

My 27 year old son and I recently spent 3 nights here and thoroughly enjoyed it. Eating on the terrace along the river is an absolute must. The staff and accomodations were top notch. The location is easy walking distance to many of the "must see" and "must do" things in Luzern.

Room Tip: The view from the balcony on the 5th floor is wonderful
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mike C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,043 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    682
    280
    51
    21
    9
See reviews for
204
544
55
90
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (238)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Brussels, Belgium
Level 6 Contributor
170 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
Reviewed July 6, 2013 via mobile

Let's start with the obvious: the location. Ideally situated in the centre of Lucerne, right on the waterfront. If you can afford it, ask for a river-side room, it is well worth the extra to wake up to stunning views of the mountains. My room was very well furnished, very comfortable bed, good lighting, a roomy balcony with a table and chairs and last but not least, a superb bathroom. A goody bag of l'Occitane products and some nibbles were waiting for me in my room, a very nice and appreciated touch.
The restaurant offers good quality food, albeit on the expensive side but there are also plenty of good restaurants within walking distance.
All in all, a very pleasurable stay and I definitely recommend les Balances.

Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank LisaK_511
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level 6 Contributor
24 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed July 5, 2013

It was a pleasent stay. Our room was very nice with a river view. We really enjoyed having our coffee on the balcony(there is a coffee machine in the room, check the pics).
The room is well designed but the bathroom was a bit small. I liked how they put Loccitane products (shampoo, lotion, shower gel and many other stuff) in a small bag in the bathroom!
You will find an umbrella in the room and we asked for another one.

The hotel staff were very helpful and professional.

Recommended!

Room Tip: river view !
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hadya A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed July 5, 2013

We have stayed in Hotel des Balances twice, the first time over 20 years ago, and now again in June/ July with our adult children for 5 nights. The hotel has been fully renovated, in a fairly modern style, which I am not sure sits so comfortably with the historical nature of the building.
Check in was smooth, our rooms were ready on arrival. We had a suite with whirlpool and river views which was very large, with a large bathroom (2 separate toilets)and wonderful views of the river and city, and our children had a twin river view room which was rather small, but lovely views. The reception staff are very helpful. Breakfast was delicious and plentiful, although would prefer it included in the room rate. The bar was buzzing on most nights, with many locals as well as tourists.
The reception recommended 2 wonderful local Swiss restaurants, as we wanted to try the local food - The Swiss House was just incredible - a unique experience and worth the very high price point.
Negatives - basic housekeeping, thin towels and not very plentiful.
The position of the hotel was perfect for us, right in the middle of things, but not too busy or noisy because of the water.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank freddiefrog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed June 30, 2013

We really enjoyed the location in the Altstadt and our room overlooking the river, with balcony. The rooms are well designed and the hotel staff is very professional and helpful. Two caveats: (1) breakfast is not included; and (2) on the last Saturday of June the live music from the Luzernerfest stage across the river will keep you up until 4am. The restaurant is excellent for dinner; we particularly enjoyed the sampling of different starters offered as an option on the menu.

Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Dave K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 22, 2013

Great Hotel, great location. Beautiful views of the lake. make sure you get a balcony room. The food was ok, and they charged extra for 2 hour late check out. but still worth it, and will come back again.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lily S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Georgia
Level 5 Contributor
72 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed June 21, 2013

Located in the heart of the "old city" of Luzern directly on the bank of the river near the famous Chapel Bridge, the Hotel des Balances was a wonderful place to call home while exploring Luzern.

It's central location made walking anywhere, on either side of the river, very easy. Shops and places to eat were numerous and varied. Lots to explore. Our room was spacious and well appointed with all the necessary conveniences.

The view from our balcony was truly amazing! Internet was complimentary and functioned well enough to make SKYPE calls back to the US. Breakfast was a little unusual in that there were many "small dishes" of meats and cheeses served. Typical yogurt, bread and fruit selections. the homemade jam was a exquisite and a treat! Eggs on request.

Room Tip: If you can get it, a room on the river side of the hotel with a balcony provides incredible views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TravlinMan_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lucerne hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel des Alpes
Hotel des Alpes
#9 of 68 in Lucerne
952 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Schweizerhof Luzern
0.8 mi away
Art Deco Hotel Montana Luzern
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Renaissance Lucerne Hotel
0.1 mi away
Hotel Wilden Mann
Hotel Wilden Mann
#6 of 68 in Lucerne
454 reviews
0.4 mi away
CASCADA Hotel
CASCADA Hotel
#7 of 68 in Lucerne
902 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel des Balances? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel des Balances

Property: Hotel des Balances
Address: Am Weinmarkt | 6004 Luzern, Lucerne 6004, Switzerland
Phone Number:
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Lucerne > Lucerne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Lucerne
#4 Luxury Hotel in Lucerne
#5 Business Hotel in Lucerne
#7 Romantic Hotel in Lucerne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel des Balances 4*
Number of rooms: 56
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Des Balances - a four star superior property – is located in the beautiful heart of Lucerne’s Old Town. The ideal starting point for shopping and sight seeing.It has 56 tastefully renovated rooms and suites with a view of the famous Chapel Bridge, Jesuit Church and Mount Pilatus.Enjoy market fresh creations in our Restaurant Balances with lounge, bar and terrace directly at the river Reuss. 14 Gault Millau points stand for culinary art.Individual premises impressively combine tradition and modern comfort and provide the perfect framework for your unique event.Treat yourself to insBrational moments at the Hotel des Balances. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Agoda, Priceline, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and HRS so you can book your Hotel des Balances reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Des Balances Hotel
Des Balances Lucerne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing