We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely Fabulous In Every Way!”
Review of Hotel des Balances

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel des Balances
Ranked #4 of 66 Hotels in Lucerne
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 20, 2012

We recently did a quick stopover in Lucerne and decided to stay at Hotel des Balances. This was not our first time in Lucerne. Last year we stayed for a week at the Art Deco Montana which was ok, but not great, in our opinion. Conversely, I have to say that we were completely thrilled in every way with Hotel des Balances. We were lucky enough to have received an upgrade and the room/suite we stayed in was one of the loveliest rooms we have ever occupied. Lots of space and tons of style and a wonderful balcony where one could look out at the river and the covered bridge. Our treatment at reception and in the bar was first rate and we so wished we could have stayed in this wonderful hotel a couple of days longer. We have traveled all over Europe over the years and I would have to say this was one of our best hotel experiences ever. Kudos to a beautiful place which combines the charm of a historic hotel with wonderful modern amenities and first rate service.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank barbley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,187)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

622 - 628 of 1,187 reviews

Reviewed June 5, 2012

This is a very Swiss hotel in every inch. Looks and location are superb. How could you not like this gracious building with its beautiful fin de siècle details: marble stairs, shiny mirrors, wooden staircase. Same for the atmosphere, pleasant combination of classy and cosy.

My room had a little balcony (with table and chairs) overlooking the river, a wonderful view. It was very clean and well maintained, although I found it a bit on the small side for an double. The mattress felt soft - which I normally don't like - but was very comfy to sleep on. Bathroom was quite small as well, more bothering though was the hand use only shower head... impossible for a 4-star hotel! Also the heavily home perfume was too much for my taste.

But the breakfast makes everything up for that... the selection is impressive. Very tasty food and nice organic alternatives. The waiters are very attentive. But the cherry on the cake is to enjoy your breakfast at that lovely river terrace. I had lunch there once, it was also very satisfying (as well as the welcome cocktail).

All together I was absolutely satisfied about the comfort and service. If only more hotels in Europe would try a bit harder to reach this level...

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank supergaggle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 23, 2012

It's easy to give the Hotel des Balances five stars. Our room (they upgraded us to a suite) was one of the best I've ever had, including anywhere in the US or Europe. A modern room in an old hotel, so the best of both worlds. We did not eat at the restaurant, but had drinks at the bar and it was a lovely space. In fact, we got two free drinks upon check in, with no strings attached. ( I was waiting to hear; "Oh, you can only have this cheap wine...") but it was nothing like that.

Service was smart, friendly and attentive. Our car was brought around in less than ten minutes.

One note if you stay there. You have to turn on the small cobblestone street that is just over the bridge in Lucerne (Kapellgasse) which looks like a pedestrian-only street -- but it is not. You drive down there a bit (slowly!) and you'll see the des Balances on your left. A Valet will then scoop up you car. And you can only turn onto that small street from one direction, so you may have to circle around once to get headed in the right direction.

Finally, try to get a room overlooking the river. Watch the street life and the swans floating along.....

Room Tip: Go for a river view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank overeasy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 6, 2012

Almost a 5 star ranking, but the Hotel Balances is a bit pricey for what you get. However, you do get a great deal given the perfect location of this classy hotel in Lucerne. Its right on the river, and you can enjoy picture perfect views from the balcony of your room, or the bar/restaurant below. The Chapel Bridge (Kapellbrücke) is right there and across the river is one of the more impressive churches in the city. The rooms were nice, plenty of site-seeing near-by and access to all the restaurants. We did like the staff. You will pay for the location, but its worth it as Lucerne is fantastic.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Smitter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 3, 2012

Hotel Des Balances is a wonderfully situated hotel with the balcany literally over the river so you can watch the swans whilst you are enjoying a champagne breakfast. The room was comfortable but the view non existant as we had not requested a river view. It took us all week to work out we could press a button on the wall to autommatically close the blinds! However, the hotel was lovely, staff helpful and polite. The view from the hotel up the river was of the Capel Bridge which was, being high summer, beautifully adorned with flowers from end to end. We ate dinner one evening at the hotel and watched a stunning electrical storm rocketing round the mountain ranges. We both enjoyed this clean, well appointed Hotel Des Balances.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a river view if possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank teel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 29, 2012

We have had dinner (5 courses menu) which was delicious! Service was very good too and the view from the terrace great. Good price/quality ratio

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Thank luca b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 28, 2012

We booked the Hotel des Balances in preparation for a world trip ( we are currently half way through same). On arrival we noted the reception area was under rennovation, and the temporary area was adequate if not impressive. Our introduction to the room, with requested river view! was much more appealing. Tastefully furnished with a separate shower AND bath where the latter gaining privacy from a shutter screen wall that could be opened to invite a view of the lounge and beyond ( not to mention , with some amusement, the reverse view, from the lounge to the bather!!!!) Of course this was not so much a highlight as the espresso machine provided in the room - any hotel that can supply my caffeine requirements so amply deserves special praise. With minor exception, the staff were friendly and attentive. I have a simple requirement that staff realize they are in the service industry - not the servant industry, so I expect nothing more than friendly and professional service. Hotel des Balances met this requirement with a special mention to the dark-haired well-groomed young lady in reception who suggested we try a trip to Mt. Rigi since some transport to Pilatus was prone to unannounced closure.
This young lady knows how to assist in the way of a truly professional and helpful hotel staff member, as did the young man who provided additional coffee pods by cheerily bringing them up to the room, even though I had offered to collect same from reception. Small gestures but meaningful, and well done to both persons.
Breakfasts were attractively served and again staff were attentive and efficient in a comfortable and tasteful dining room.
The view from our room's balcony was a frequent delight at various times of day as we looked over the river and to the Chapel bridge, and elsewhere snow capped peaks in the background.
I can't fault the Hotel des Balances and am most appreciative of the efforts of both staff and management for providing my highest ranking hotel to date. Hope to return someday!

Room Tip: Request a river room if expense allows, but either way admire the murals outside on the front door...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank designmatters2me
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lucerne hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel Schweizerhof Luzern
0.1 mi away
Hotel des Alpes
Hotel des Alpes
#10 of 66 in Lucerne
1,061 reviews
0.2 mi away
Renaissance Lucerne Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Art Deco Hotel Montana Luzern
0.2 mi away
Ameron Hotel Flora Luzern
2.2 mi away
Seehotel Hermitage Luzern
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel des Balances? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel des Balances

Address: Am Weinmarkt | 6004 Luzern, Lucerne 6004, Switzerland
Phone Number:
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Lucerne > Lucerne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Lucerne
#5 Business Hotel in Lucerne
#7 Romantic Hotel in Lucerne
Price Range: $191 - $453 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel des Balances 4*
Number of rooms: 56
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Des Balances - a four star superior property – is located in the beautiful heart of Lucerne’s Old Town. The ideal starting point for shopping and sight seeing.It has 56 tastefully renovated rooms and suites with a view of the famous Chapel Bridge, Jesuit Church and Mount Pilatus.Enjoy market fresh creations in our Restaurant Balances with lounge, bar and terrace directly at the river Reuss. 14 Gault Millau points stand for culinary art.Individual premises impressively combine tradition and modern comfort and provide the perfect framework for your unique event.Treat yourself to insBrational moments at the Hotel des Balances. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel des Balances reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Des Balances Hotel
Des Balances Lucerne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing