We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
3 people are viewing this hotel
Booking.com
$290
Fully refundable before Thu, Apr 18
Hotels.com
$289
Fully refundable before Fri, Apr 19
No prepayment needed
Get rewarded with One Key
Agoda.com
$278
Fully refundable before Thu, Apr 18
No booking fees
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (2,429)
Filter reviews
2,429 results
Traveler rating
1,740
521
109
38
21
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
1,740
521
109
38
21
Show reviews that mention
All reviews the river old town beautiful hotel welcome cocktail a river view room jesuit church perfect location train station junior suite air conditioning top floor hotel restaurant coffee machine mount pilatus switzerland reuss mountains
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
1,298 - 1,303 of 2,429 reviews
Reviewed June 15, 2011

Situated right on the lakeside in Lucerne the hotel which over the years has had many well known visitors is not large but is in the Old Town, but 7 minutes from the station and in a pedestrianised part of the town - the only disturbance comes from the swans on the lake. Nice rooms, with small balcony on lakeside, excellent service, no air con so you have the windows open at night - all of course comes at a cost. Breakfast can be taken outside overlooking lake in fine weather.

Date of stay: June 2011
  • Trip type: Traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 577peterc
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed June 13, 2011

we visited balances for one pre-dinner drink. the server was very smily and attentive. however, the bill came to chf 23. we handed over chf 30 at which point he thanked us and wished us a good evening. we assumed (correctly) that affairs were concluded. however, just out of interest i made my wife wait for 5 mins. predictably, no change was forthcoming. this is so typical of all hotels of this type. high end, snotty and run like a multi-national corporation - it's all about the money!! incidentally, we went to scala at the montana hotel for dinner, which was staggering. i am so glad we hadn't booked balances. i can guarantee the meal would have been very good, but routine. the service good, but routine. the bill enormous and without credence!!

Date of stay: June 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Howzit_CT
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed June 7, 2011

We stayed at the Hotel des Balances for two nights in May. It is a very pretty hotel in a central location in Lucerne. The hotel is right on the river and has incredible views of the mountains and surrounding area. We had a large room with a "king" bed (actually two twins moved together). The weather was warm and even with both windows open very little air came through the room and we had to use the fan continually just too cool off the room. This made it difficult to sleep as it was either loud with the fan or too warm without it. I recognize that it may be difficult to air condition such an old, historic building but it would make a big difference in the comfort of the room.

The restaurant in the hotel is very good. We had a wonderful fish dish for dinner one of the nights and thoroughly enjoyed the meal.

Date of stay: May 2011
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Barbie726
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed June 6, 2011

i stayed with may family at the hotel.. with three rooms...though we got all rooms on diff floors :( the hotel staff was extremely helpful and pleasent.. the rooms are small but so well equipped that there is nothing else you would want.. the whole of europe only room with an ipod dock, umbrella and everything you need... restaurant is at the river side-lovely. please insist on a river side room and i will def stay here again....

Date of stay: May 2011
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Palak G
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed May 17, 2011

This hotel is in the perfect location right on the river and in the heart of all the old town action. The rooms are nothing fancy (at least ours wasn't) but are clean and comfortable. The staff was helpful and friendly. Overall very nice place to stay.

Date of stay: April 2011
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Townsie
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews