We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“If this is a 4-star, I'm Pamela Anderson”
Review of Hotel Wilden Mann

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hotel Wilden Mann
Ranked #6 of 68 Hotels in Lucerne
Certificate of Excellence
Austin, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
119 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“If this is a 4-star, I'm Pamela Anderson”
Reviewed June 27, 2013

... I'm 6'4 and male.

I can't really express how disappointing the Romantik Hotel Wilden Mann was. We had booked the hotel for two nights so that we could tour around Lucerne while on vacation. We booked a standard room with one bed. We were so unhappy with the hotel, we forfeited our second night (which was paid in advance) and left.

When we arrived, the lobby was under construction (the tile floors were being replaced). We couldn't use the elevator as it was out of order because of the floors I suppose. That meant we got to walk up 4 flights of stairs to get to our room. It's worth noting that when we were finally able to access the elevator, that internally - it's missing a wall! Yes, the bare wall glides by you as the elevator moves - watch your children's fingers :-).

The room itself was cramped and uncomfortable. The furnishings were old. We found remnants of the previous guests - a plastic tag in the middle of the floor when we walked in, small bits of trash. The bathroom only had one small light for the entire room, and if you wanna talk tiny - well, I've had larger bathrooms on cruise ships. Yes, I'm 6'4" - and an average-size American - the shower was nearly impossible to use it was so tight, and it felt gross to have to come into contact with the curtain and the walls as I attempted to turn around.

The night we stayed was uncharacteristically hot for Lucerne (or so we were told), so we asked for a fan, which was placed in the room before we checked in - however they left the windows closed - so it didn't have a chance to keep the place cool.

If you're a design fan, it's worth noting that the room had drapes made out of a pierre frey teacup pattern - a fabric that's probably $200/yard. In my opinion, they should have spent the money on getting internet throughout the building. The wireless signal was too weak to use (if we were actually able to connect to it), and the sole workstation on the second floor was a joke.

I'm not sure what's wrong with the star rating system in Switzerland, or with this hotel, but if you want a comparison, look at the website for the Hotel Montana, also a 4 star.

Our biggest mistake was booking this room as pre-paid (as we feared what the price might jump to if we waited)... yeah, that's how they got us... my new rule is to never prepay for a room.

Skip this place - you'd be better off sleeping on the street.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PlatinumStrider
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andr_s_C188064, Manager at Hotel Wilden Mann, responded to this review, July 19, 2013
Dear NewYorkStrider

Thank you for comments on Tripadvisor.
We apologize for the inconveniences caused because of the renovation works of our lobby. The construction works are now longer finished and the results are wonderful.
The Romantik Hotel Wilden Mann is extended across seven town houses dated 1517 so, air conditioning the rooms is very difficult if not impossible.
Concerning the elevator, it is an small one but all safety measures are fulfilled.
The prepaid option is always a good one since booking such arrangement you get a considerable reduction on the rates of the chosen room type.
Thank you for appreciated the quality of the furnishings. 3 to 5 rooms are completely refurbish every year.
We considered your last sentence definitely a «too hard one»
Next time you come to Lucerne, try one of our superior rooms called Romantic rooms as well or a Junior suite. You will love them.
Best regards

Andrés Calvo
Marketing & Sales Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

474 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    259
    161
    34
    14
    6
See reviews for
76
246
29
46
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (72)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Taunton
Level 6 Contributor
142 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 165 helpful votes
Reviewed June 16, 2013

This is quite an expensive hotel and for the rates charges we were a little disappointed. Location is excellent; staff very friendly, room well furnished (albeit very hot and stuffy); good bathroom with separate bath and a great shower and a good breakfast.It seems to cater extensively for touring groups who stay for one or 2 nights at most. Our main disappointment was with the food particularly with that served in the Burgerstube. The cost was outrageous for the quality of the food as was the cost of the wine served in minute portions.Dinner in the other restaurant of this hotel (Sauvage) was a little better than in the Burgerstube but still it was far from what one would expect in this level of hotel. We were a little too tired ( after some sightseeing) to look for somewhere else to eat but that would be my recommendation if staying at the Wilden Mann. Avoid both restaurants.

Room Tip: Rooms on first or second floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Aart8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andr_s_C188064, Manager at Hotel Wilden Mann, responded to this review, June 21, 2013
Dear Aart8

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us in TripAdvisor.
Thank you as well for pointing out: staff, room, baht and breakfast. It is always a great motivation for the whole team.

Concerning your comments on your visit to our restaurants, we are sorry not to exceed your expectations.
It would be our great pleasure to welcome you back soon at the Romantik Hotel Wilden Mann. When so, please try again the Burgerstube or the Sauvage, we think, you will change your mind.

Best regards
Your Romantik Wilden Mann Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
el paso texas
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed June 15, 2013

The Wilden Mann is a jewel in this beautiful city. The rooms were all uniquely furnished, spacious and clean. Everything was modernized without loosing the charm of a 500 year old building. You will find that the location makes for an easy walk to the old town, Lake Lucerne, Chapel Bridge and the train station. Breakfast was exceptional with high quality cheeses and freshly baked breads. I would stay there again.

Room Tip: Seek out a second floor room facing the front of the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jeff_elp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andr_s_C188064, Manager at Hotel Wilden Mann, responded to this review, June 16, 2013
Dear Romantik Hotel Wilden Mann Guest

Thank you for you for staying with us during your Lucerne visit. Your review is much appreciated.
Your statement: «I would stay there again» it's a big compliment! Thank you.
Looking forward accommodating you soon again.
Best regards
Andrés Calvo
Marketing & Sales Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level 6 Contributor
190 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed June 10, 2013

This hotel has been in existence since 1517 and it is so unique, quaint, and top notch! Each room is updated and different and the hotel has historical character and ambiance. Located a short walk from the Chapel Bridge, the Lake, and the shopping area it also has a breakfast room and nice sitting room. The staff was professional and accommodating. The rooms were clean, beds were very comfortable, but the showers were tiny as you can imagine from an 500 year old building!

Room Tip: Self service tea or coffee at all hours was a big plus for us.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jmits1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andr_s_C188064, Manager at Hotel Wilden Mann, responded to this review, June 12, 2013
Dear Jmits1

Thank you for your kindness sharing with us your experience at the Romantik Hotel Wilden Mann.
Much appreciated your comment on the coffee & tea self-service. Nice to see that not for all guest is that obvious to get this service for free as we offer.
Looking forward accommodating you again soon.
Kind regards.
Andrés Calvo
Marketing & Sales Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia
Level 6 Contributor
1,085 reviews
122 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 856 helpful votes
Reviewed June 3, 2013

You cannot get more centrally located in Luzern. The current Hotel zum Wilden Mann dates from 1517 and was transformed in the 19th Century with the merger of six properties. It is a classic hotel with modern and historic aspects. Its lineage is evident both outside and in. Some reviewers criticized it as dated, musty and old-fashioned. I am afraid they did not know what they were looking at. If you want modern glitz, I suggest Dubai. If you want the feel, style and comforts of a bygone age, then you will appreciate zum Wilden Mann. We had Room 102 which is decorated and furnished in the Empire style. It was a corner room and had three windows overlooking two uninteresting, narrow streets. The complaints of street and hotel noise were accurate, but the noise was brief and mostly from the street during our stay. Our sleep was not disturbed. The hotel breakfast was better than average for a hotel in this class. There is valet parking available for 25 Swiss Franks a day. It is essential if you drive there. There was one big negative. It is rare to find a hotel in this class that still charges for the WiFi. The Wilden Mann gives you 30 minutes free and then you must pay. I find that an annoyance characteristic of a budget hotel, not a 4-Star claimant.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DonPaulo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andr_s_C188064, Manager at Hotel Wilden Mann, responded to this review, June 10, 2013
Dear Don Paulo

Thank you very much for your staying with us during your stay in Lucerne. Thank you for sharing with us your experience about.
Your comments on the characteristics and singularity of the Romantik Hotel Wilden Mann are much appreciated.
Our uniqueness is not always understood as you did.
We are working on the WiFi charges. In fact, last year it was for payment from the very first minute. However at the Mezzanine floor there is an internet corner totally free of charge.

Looking forward accommodating you soon again.

Best regards
Andrés Calvo
Marketing & Sales Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed April 25, 2013 via mobile

This quaint hotel offered lovely rooms with much charm and was spotlessly clean. The beds were so comfortable it was ridiculous. The building was a bit noisy throughout the night with overhead footsteps but otherwise we had a wonderful stay.
No in room tea and coffee but there was a self service coffee bar in the hallway.
The service was lovely - especially the receptionists and cleaners.
A typical European hotel breakfast with a good selection to choose From - the cheese on offer was good quality and delicious.
Would definitely recomend staying here.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lux_travel2015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andr_s_C188064, Manager at Hotel Wilden Mann, responded to this review, April 28, 2013
Dear Lisette S

Thank you choosing the Romantik Hotel Wilden Mann for your stay in Lucerne. The time you take to tell us and other user about your experience with us is very much appreciated.
Look forward accommodating you again.

Andrés Calvo
Marketing & Sales Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Palm Beach, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
156 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed March 3, 2013

Great location....in the center of old town. 5 min walk to most area, including train and rail station. Cost is decent, rooms are mixed. It's a very old building, crooked floors, odd shaped rooms but that's the price for staying in a piece of history. Check in and out is a breeze, hotel is very clean and I was very comfortable all three nights I stayed there. Would stay there again no problem.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank IrishCreamers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andr_s_C188064, Manager at Hotel Wilden Mann, responded to this review, March 5, 2013
Thank you very much for staying with us and for taking the time to comment your stay at the Romantik Hotel Wilden Mann.
Look forward accommodating you soon again.
Andrés Calvo – Marketing & Sales Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lucerne hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel des Balances
Hotel des Balances
#5 of 68 in Lucerne
1,068 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel des Alpes
Hotel des Alpes
#9 of 68 in Lucerne
967 reviews
0.2 mi away
Renaissance Lucerne Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
CASCADA Hotel
CASCADA Hotel
#7 of 68 in Lucerne
919 reviews
0.9 mi away
Art Deco Hotel Montana Luzern
0.4 mi away
Hotel Schweizerhof Luzern
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Wilden Mann? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Wilden Mann

Property: Hotel Wilden Mann
Address: Bahnhofstrasse 30, Lucerne 6003, Switzerland
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Lucerne > Lucerne
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#6 Luxury Hotel in Lucerne
#9 Family Hotel in Lucerne
#9 Business Hotel in Lucerne
#13 Romantic Hotel in Lucerne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Wilden Mann 4*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Cancelon, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Hotwire, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Wilden Mann reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Romantik Hotel Lucerne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing